X

Home to the world's greatest Hostels

30,000 properties, 180 countries Over 3.5 million guest reviews 21 million bookings

Kinlay House Dublin Reviews

2-12 Lord Edward Street, Temple Bar, Dublin, Ireland

Reviews & Ratings Explained

79%

Rating
3793 Total Reviews
  • 79%Value For Money
  • 79%Security
  • 93%Location
  • 79%Staff
  • 76%Atmosphere
  • 74%Cleanliness
  • 72%Facilities

The rating percentage is calculated from customers who booked within the last 12 months.

All ratings and reviews are based on the feedback and opinions of the customers who submitted them and do not express the opinions of Hostelworld.com. This way, you get an up-to-the-minute opinion of just how good a hostel really is.
Read our review guidelines »

  • Show:

74%

- no socket in the bathroom

  • 18th Oct 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Germany
  • Female, 18-24
  • (1 review)


89%

I'll maybe come back if I need to stay at Dublin, a very good place.

  • 17th Oct 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • France
  • Male, 18-24
  • (1 review)


100%

I allways stay in Kinlay House as it has just what i need in Dublin city center at great price. Staff now know me and are wonderful, Regards, James in Limerick.


94%

I was only in Ireland for a weekend but Kinlay House made my experience that much better! Your staff is amazing and your location is perfect. I hope to return soon and when I do, I shall stay at this hostel again. Thank you for everything!

  • 16th Oct 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • USA
  • Mixed Group, 18-24
  • (1 review)


94%

The rooms were very clean, the common areas needed to me better maintained. But, this is a comment to the people who stay there as well. There are many people who do not pick after themselves and this is a shame. The staff were very helpful and the location in amazing.

  • 16th Oct 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • USA
  • Female, 41+
  • (1 review)


100%

Was a really good night sleep.

  • 16th Oct 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • England
  • Mixed Group, 25-30
  • (1 review)


86%

The old commom room was great for groups and has been converted into a bedroom. Rather crowded during meals.


83%

Wi-Fi is atrocious. Sort out the Wi-Fi!


89%

Lovely place, cool vibe...friendly staff and lots of great music playing.


69%

Did the job but wasn't a fun place.


71%

Fairly good hostel and reasonably priced for Dublin. Super comfortable bed for a hostel. Disappointing not to have lockers in the rooms (even bring-your-own-padlock ones). Also not a fan of the button-press showers, single square toilet paper dispensers, and lack of enough power points in the room.


60%

Not the nicest hostel but great location.


91%

I stayed at Kinlay House Dublin for 3 nights. Was in a dorm of 14. Very clean, tidy, Well done.


63%

Hard to get staff to help. General areas not very nice and it's older.


89%

Too far to the woman's washroom. on't like sharing a bathroom with men.D


57%

No wifi everywhere in the building or cutting. Beds clean.


80%

Be forewarned that there is no lift! If you have a wheeled suitcase, this means you'll be dragging it up at least 1-2 flights of stairs. Not very fun when you've just arrived tired from traveling.

  • 3rd Oct 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • USA
  • Female, 25-30
  • (1 review)


49%

The service throughout my stay was really rude. The room was average an the bathroom bleak as the shower leaked to the toilet. Was meant to stay there a second time but went else where down the road which was cheaper an better.

  • 28th Sep 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • New Zealand
  • Female, 25-30
  • (1 review)


69%

Unfortunately the WiFi was broken - for over a week, the place smelt a bit but other than that it was fine for one night.

  • 28th Sep 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • New Zealand
  • Male, 25-30
  • (1 review)


77%

A lot of people stay here, not all are younger backpackers so the atmosphere isn't the greatest for meeting new people. Free breakfast is a nice extra bonus. Wifi connection not great.


(148 results)


View all Dublin Hostels

Please give us your feedback