Hostelworld.com

Kipps Brighton

Prices
map
reviews
8.7
Fabulous 680 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 8.8
  • Security 8.8
  • Location 9.7
  • Staff 9.0
  • Atmosphere 8.1
  • Cleanliness 8.5
  • Facilities 8.3
BOOK NOW
8.7
Fabulous 680 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 8.8
  • Security 8.8
  • Location 9.7
  • Staff 9.0
  • Atmosphere 8.1
  • Cleanliness 8.5
  • Facilities 8.3

The rating percentage is calculated from customers who booked within the last 12 months. All ratings and reviews are based on the feedback and opinions of the customers who submitted them and do not express the opinions of Hostelworld.com. This way, you get an up-to-the-minute opinion of just how good a hostel really is.
Read our review guidelines

  • Show:
  • Sort By:
14th Feb 2017
6.3

A very average hostel. I wish they would put an age limit on the dorms, because it's hard to feel comfortable as a young solo female traveler when you're in a room filled with middle-aged men.

    • 6.0Value For Money
    • 6.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 6.0Facilities
    • 6.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 6.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Canada, Female, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 3 reviews
12th Feb 2017
8.6

Perfectly centered with great view! The staff was very friendly and helpful. Couple of things that could be improved : getting rid of the black mold in the bathrooms (I hear that's a bit dangerous) and opening the kitchen in the morning for those who want to cook breakfeast. Great stay overall!

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 6.0Cleanliness
View Property Reply

Thanks for your kind feedback, and thanks for staying with us, we have treated the black mold in the bath room, we try to be on the top of it all the time. hope to see you again soon. in regards the kitchen as we serve breakfast form the kitchen in the morning, it is unhygienic to let guest using the kitchen while serving breakfast.

29th Jan 2017
7.1

Great location!!! It's an old building that creeks but there isn't much they can do about that. The bathroom was gross. Lots of mold! Not much social vibe but it's really a great location.

    • 6.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 6.0Facilities
    • 6.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 6.0Cleanliness
  • Jackwebber87
  • England, Male, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 5 reviews
18th Jan 2017
10.0

Can't fault this hostel. Next time I visit Brighton this is where I will be staying. Amazing value for money!

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
View Property Reply

Many thanks for your kind review, hope to see you again soon

  • Anonymous
  • Australia, Female, 18-24
  • Avid Traveller
  • 10 reviews
11th Jan 2017
7.7

Great location and very affordable. The rooms were very cramped with not enough space to put your bags so I had to sleep the first night with my bag at the end of my bed. I think they need more bathrooms around the place as well. I didn't like that you got kicked out from 11am-2pm every day for them to clean. If I am paying to stay there I should be allowed to stay during those hours but I appreciate the cleanliness of the place.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 6.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 6.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
View Property Reply

Many thanks for your feed back hope to see you again

2nd Jan 2017
3.1

BLACK MOLD IN ROOMS. Health violation. I spent a night awake in a severe allergic reaction because the wall was covered in black mold. And not a little-a lot. The next morning the staff found me a bed in another room, but they did not offer any refund or compensation at all. Very unimpressed.

    • 2.0Value For Money
    • 4.0Security
    • 4.0Location
    • 2.0Facilities
    • 4.0Staff
    • 4.0Atmosphere
    • 2.0Cleanliness
View Property Reply

Ok I can understand your ratings on all the above but the one that i cant get my head around is the low rate on location, which shows that your review does not reflect the true picture of our hostel. I had spent hours trying to transferring you to another room as we were fully booked, I even tried to move your friend with you who assured me that everything was ok and that she was very happy with the room you complained about.

  • Anonymous
  • England, Couple, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
1st Jan 2017
9.1

Staff couldn't do enough for us, dorms comfortable, quiet and clean, and dorm beds surprisingly roomy (at 6'3, I was a fan). And all super reasonably priced! Highly recommended.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 6.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
View Property Reply

Many thanks for your feed back, hope to see you again soon, it was a pleasure having you staying with us

29th Dec 2016
9.4

Damien and the staff were very friendly and helpful. There's a comfortable vibe in the lounge and bar area. The bathrooms are very clean. A lot of effort has been put into updating the facilities. I enjoyed my stay. Thank you!

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Australia, Female, 18-24
  • Globetrotter
  • 31 reviews
14th Dec 2016
8.6

Really nice place, in a very good location to see the city. Very clean would recommend to others

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
View Property Reply

Many thanks for your feedback, thanks for staying with us, hope to see you again soon

  • Anonymous
  • Australia, Female, 18-24
  • Avid Traveller
  • 12 reviews
12th Dec 2016
8.0

Cute little hostel run by a friendly guy who however is new to the area so couldn't help too much with recommendations. Really ideal location near the pier and city centre. Everything all quite clean just a lack of a formal common area so could be tricky to meet other people

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 6.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
View Property Reply

Thanks for your feedback, sorry that I could not recommend places to you, I am working on it, maybe I should go out more, it was a pleasure having you staying with us, hope to see you again soon.

Hostelworld Mobile Apps

Book on the go with the new Hostelworld mobile apps.

Search and book more than 33,000 properties in over 170 countries, from anywhere.

Newsletter Sign Up

Submitting your info

Thank you for signing up to our newsletter!

Sign up for our newsletter to get the best hostel deals and news sent straight to your inbox. You can unsubscribe at any time.