Hostelworld.com

Group of 15 or more?

Contact our Group Travel team directly for a tailor made solution for your group

Kipps Hostel Canterbury

Group of 15 or more?

Contact our Group Travel team directly for a tailor made solution for your group

Prices
map
reviews
9.1
Superb 1645 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 9.1
  • Security 9.2
  • Location 8.5
  • Staff 9.3
  • Atmosphere 9.0
  • Cleanliness 9.7
  • Facilities 8.8
BOOK NOW
9.1
Superb 1645 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 9.1
  • Security 9.2
  • Location 8.5
  • Staff 9.3
  • Atmosphere 9.0
  • Cleanliness 9.7
  • Facilities 8.8

The rating percentage is calculated from customers who booked within the last 12 months. All ratings and reviews are based on the feedback and opinions of the customers who submitted them and do not express the opinions of Hostelworld.com. This way, you get an up-to-the-minute opinion of just how good a hostel really is.
Read our review guidelines

  • Show:
  • Sort By:
4th Jul 2017
10.0

This is the best hostel I have ever stayed at . YHA is good , but value for money I found Kipps the tops . I congratulate the team there, so helpful and informative. Ive already booked a further visit with them in near future Best wishes to the team!!

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Germany, Female, 41+
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
5th Jun 2017
5.4

I could not believe this was an award-winning hostel. A room with five beds and nowhere to put your suitcase, your small belongings or anything else for that matter. Beds that shake when the person above or below is turning. No reading-lights. Dirty carpet. No boards for telephone, keys etc. on upper beds. If you want to get out, you have to turn 180 degrees in your bed, try to crawl out beside your pillow and make your way above the nighttable and lamp of the beds below.

    • 4.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 6.0Location
    • 4.0Facilities
    • 4.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 6.0Cleanliness
View Property Reply

Hi Its a shame you decided to write such a negative review, when the staff went out of their way to make you feel welcome. You hadnt stayed in a backpackers before/ or hostel, and this is why your review is negative, and the rating low. We would suggest to book hotels for future stays around Europe. You only have to look back at other guest reviews, and can see people who are used to staying in Backpackers Hostels have rated us with great reviews. Regards Kipps

4th Jun 2017
8.0

Nice hostel with good beds and clean sheets. Feels a but like an oldskool BnB but that's no problem. Perfect for getting your head down in the evening. Big continental breakfast for 3 quid was great too. Cheers!

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
View Property Reply

Thank you for your Rating and taking time out comment. Its a shame you thought the hostel was like an oldskool B&B, we think the hostel has great character throughout, from the cosy lounge, to medieval dining room and large garden. Most places dont have much character now ,and are all decorated very similar? Regards Kipps

  • Anonymous
  • Israel, Female, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 9 reviews
21st May 2017
9.1

Very clean and orgenized hostel. The dorms are big and the bed are very nice. It is not realy a youth hostle, and there was a gourp of kids stayig there, but it was still nice and quite. Great hostle!

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
View Property Reply

Hi Thank you for taking the time to rate and comment Regards Kipps

  • Anonymous
  • USA, Couple, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
8th May 2017
9.7

About a month ago my boyfriend and I took a trip through England and we had the great pleasure to stay here! We took the train in from London and it was a bit of a walk to the hostel, but the location is the only downside here. We absolutely loved the building. The whole place is beautiful (especially the backyard!), clean, and with friendly staff. We did not want to leave!

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Mikimeiko
  • Italy, All Female Group, 31-40
  • Avid Traveller
  • 13 reviews
3rd May 2017
7.7

This hostel is really nice: the common areas are cozy and well decorated, the kitchen clean and big enough, and it has a big garden on the back. Our room was a little cramped. We had the misfortune of sharing the hostel with a large group of people, for whom special arrangement had been made, which made nearly impossible for us to enjoy the hostel: they probably shouldn't accept large groups and regular travellers at the same time, since the building is not really ready for that.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 6.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 6.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
View Property Reply

Hi Thank you for your comments, sorry to see the rating so low and you were not 100% happy with your stay. Usually at Kipps we have lots of experience welcoming both individuals and groups at the same time. Unfortunately during your stay we had a few staff away unexpectedly, which led to only a few staff working 24/7, and they worked hard that week and tried their best to accommodate both the group and individuals staying at Kipps. Regards Kipps

  • Anonymous
  • Australia, Couple, 41+
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
30th Apr 2017
10.0

We thoroughly enjoyed out stay at Kipps, small room but very clean, with absolutely everything you need in the room. The facilities handy to the room and good. The staff were extremely friendly and helpful and had a good knowledge of the area. As it turned out the hostel was very close to the areas we planned to visit. We would recommend the hostel and stay again. The only minus for us was the lack of parking but we were able to park on the street close by.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • macdonaldheather3515
  • Canada, Female, 25-30
  • Globetrotter
  • 72 reviews
10th Apr 2017
9.1

Very nice hostel! Extremely friendly staff, who gave fabulous suggestions for day trips. Only a few minutes walk from the city centre/bus station/train station. Only downside was the room was on the small side, so not much room for backpacks etc.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
View Property Reply

Hi Thank you for your Comments/ Compliments and Rating Regards Kipps

  • Anonymous
  • Ireland, Female, 41+
  • Novice Nomad
  • 2 reviews
8th Apr 2017
10.0

Excellent, friendly hostel, will come again.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
View Property Reply

Hi Thank you for Rating. Glad you enjoyed our Friendly Hostel !! We hope to see you again ! Regards Kipps

25th Mar 2017
7.4

Good location (short walk to central area). Clean. Nice room. Secure bicycle parking is limited. No access to kitchen before 8am, which I think is quite late. Woken in early hours by argument in next room.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 6.0Facilities
    • 6.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
View Property Reply

Hi Thank you for your Comments, At the moment we are making over our garden, and there will be a bike shed in the back, this is why there was limited space this weekend. We do state clearly on Hostelworld, the times of the kitchen, This is due to the rooms located next to the kitchen/ and if we were to open up earlier, we would then get complaints from these rooms Re. Noise from the Kitchen.- however the staff did open the kitchen early on Sunday Morning at 7.00am for you and some other guests, and it is unfortunate that the couple was arguing, I would suggest always speaking to a staff member (24 hours) who would have spoken to the guests in the room next door Regards Kipps

Hostelworld Mobile Apps

Book on the go with the new Hostelworld mobile apps.

Search and book more than 33,000 properties in over 170 countries, from anywhere.

Newsletter Sign Up

Submitting your info

Thank you for signing up to our newsletter!

Sign up for our newsletter to get the best hostel deals and news sent straight to your inbox. You can unsubscribe at any time.