Hostelworld.com
HostelBookers Logo

Group of 15 or more?

Contact our Group Travel team directly for a tailor made solution for your group

Kipps Hostel Canterbury

Group of 15 or more?

Contact our Group Travel team directly for a tailor made solution for your group

Prices
map
reviews
9.2
Superb 1623 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 9.2
  • Security 9.4
  • Location 8.6
  • Staff 9.3
  • Atmosphere 9.1
  • Cleanliness 9.7
  • Facilities 9.0
BOOK NOW
9.2
Superb 1623 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 9.2
  • Security 9.4
  • Location 8.6
  • Staff 9.3
  • Atmosphere 9.1
  • Cleanliness 9.7
  • Facilities 9.0

The rating percentage is calculated from customers who booked within the last 12 months. All ratings and reviews are based on the feedback and opinions of the customers who submitted them and do not express the opinions of Hostelworld.com. This way, you get an up-to-the-minute opinion of just how good a hostel really is.
Read our review guidelines

  • Show:
  • Sort By:
  • Anonymous
  • Canada, Female, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 4 reviews
8th Feb 2017
9.7

Super friendly staff, GREAT atmosphere (couldn't get over how cute the deco was) and very close to town. Only thing, and that is not their fault, it was weird that the water taps were not in the shower rooms. Oh and a bit inconvenient that you could not stay in the dorms and kitchens between 11 and 2. Still my favorite hostel so far!

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
View Property Reply

Hi Thank you for your nice comments and rating. At the moment we are having a look at all our bathrooms, which we will transform throughout the year. as we are looking at transferring guests comments into making the bathrooms work better for all guests staying. So will note all these comments and try to put them into action. The reason the dorms are closed, is as we are only a small team, we carry out everything ourselves from reception to house-keeping to maintenance. and those 3 hours are the only time we are able to carry out house-keeping/ maintanance throughout the hostel on a daily basis. The lounge is open for you to relax in, and if we finish early, do open the dorms and other areas much earlier than 2pm Enjoy your travels, and glad we are your favourite hostel !! Regards Kipps

  • Anonymous
  • England, Male, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 3 reviews
2nd Feb 2017
9.4

Great hostel only a short walk from the city centre with all the facilities you need and friendly staff.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
View Property Reply

Hi Glad you enjoyed your stay at Kipps, and the facilities in the hostel. Come back in the summer, to see our transformed garden, with games area, and new seating areas. Regards Kipps

  • Anonymous
  • England, Female, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 8 reviews
29th Jan 2017
5.1

basicallt felt like school children with the headmistress and teachers watching over us. Very hard to relax here and get to know other people under the intrusive staff members. They lock everything between 11am-2pm so you cannot stay in your room or cook in the kitchen. It's also a small place but the staff were the worst I've ever experienced shouting at people on more than one occasion.

    • 4.0Value For Money
    • 6.0Security
    • 6.0Location
    • 4.0Facilities
    • 2.0Staff
    • 4.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
17th Jan 2017
10.0

Kipps is an excellent hostel. The atmosphere is welcoming and if there are any problems they really do fix them within a few minutes! It is the cleanest hostel I've ever stayed in, the kitchen is very well equipped and the living room makes one feel like family. The only negative comment I would make is that the common areas were cold while I stayed. They were working to correct that, and I would certainly stay again if I were in the area!

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
View Property Reply

Hi Thank you for your lovely comments and rating. We are glad to inform, that the heating issue has now been resolved. Enjoy your travels Kipps

  • Anonymous
  • New Zealand, Female, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
10th Dec 2016
10.0

We had that best time staying at Kipps. Very warm and friendly place with a nice homely atmosphere. Very clean and tidy and exceeded all expectations we had. Great Location with very friendly and helpful staff. We will be back!

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
View Property Reply

Hello, Thank you for the lovely comment and we look forward to seeing you in the future. King regards, Carmen

21st Nov 2016
9.1

Really great hostel, extremely clean and neat. This is genuine classic English house, with great facilities, very comfortable beds and very good facilities. The staff is friendly, the breakfast is convenient, costs 2,5£, but not great, they provide the service of washing clothes for 5£, there's plenty of showers and toilets. The bed gets made everyday, but you have to be out of the room at 11am, which is kinda annoying. Common rooms lacks a atmosphere, not really a great set up to meet others.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • England, Female, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 3 reviews
22nd Sep 2016
8.9

A lovely little quiet hostel, a short walk from the centre of Canterbury. They have an amazing garden which is great for relaxing in and the staff were all very friendly. The rooms were cleaned and beds made every day (although there are some dusty and dirty corners in the room). The bed was really very comfortable and its a great hostel to use as a base when exploring the city and surrounding areas.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
8th Sep 2016
10.0

Great- would stay again

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Albania, Female, 31-40
  • Novice Nomad
  • 6 reviews
3rd Sep 2016
9.1

The hostel is beautiful. Very clean. A gorgeous garden perfect for breakfast and reading. The complimentary breakfast was very nice. The only issue I had was when I arrived I was told the twin room I had booked online via hostelworld was not available due to previous guests damaging the beds the night before. So I was reallocated to a dorm room which my self and my friend could have as a private room. On the bright side the dorm had its own bathroom. Overall had a very good time.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Australia, Female, 41+
  • Novice Nomad
  • 8 reviews
1st Sep 2016
10.0

My favourite hostel ever. I wish they were all that good.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness

Hostelworld Mobile Apps

Book on the go with the new Hostelworld mobile apps.

Search and book more than 33,000 properties in over 170 countries, from anywhere.

Newsletter Sign Up

Submitting your info

Thank you for signing up to our newsletter!

Sign up for our newsletter to get the best hostel deals and news sent straight to your inbox. You can unsubscribe at any time.