Hostelworld.com

Group of 15 or more?

Contact our Group Travel team directly for a tailor made solution for your group

Kipps Hostel Canterbury

Group of 15 or more?

Contact our Group Travel team directly for a tailor made solution for your group

Prices
map
reviews
9.0
Superb 1663 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 8.9
  • Security 9.2
  • Location 8.5
  • Staff 9.3
  • Atmosphere 9.1
  • Cleanliness 9.6
  • Facilities 8.7
BOOK NOW
9.0
Superb 1663 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 8.9
  • Security 9.2
  • Location 8.5
  • Staff 9.3
  • Atmosphere 9.1
  • Cleanliness 9.6
  • Facilities 8.7

The rating percentage is calculated from customers who booked within the last 12 months. All ratings and reviews are based on the feedback and opinions of the customers who submitted them and do not express the opinions of Hostelworld.com. This way, you get an up-to-the-minute opinion of just how good a hostel really is.
Read our review guidelines

  • Show:
  • Sort By:
1st Sep 2017
9.4

Great place, full of character. We were given the James bond room which was the attic. My son ( and I) loved it. We ended up watching the dvd which was left for us, casino royale :)) only downside the shower didn't have much pressure. But was OK and worked.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
View Property Reply

Thank you for your lovely comments, we are glad you enjoyed your stay here with us, the shower has now been replaced and we look forward to seeing you again one day

  • Anonymous
  • USA, Female, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
28th Aug 2017
10.0

Clean, organized, and friendly! I kept adding more nights to my stay because it was just the place for my boyfriend and I to have as a home base while we looked for a rental. Staff went the extra mile to help us, such as stashing bulky luggage and lending us some cutlery we needed for a trekking trip! Would recommend this place to anyone wanting a well-run, tidy place to stay in Canterbury.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Canada, Female, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 5 reviews
26th Aug 2017
10.0

This was my second time staying at Kipps, one year apart. Still remains the best hostel I stayed out to date. Amazing facilities and staff. Great location. Zero complaints!

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Canada, Female, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
3rd Aug 2017
8.3

Very nice, clean, and friendly hostel with wonderful kitchen facilities and basic breakfast for an added 2.50£ - the first night we stayed in a private room and the second night we stayed in the dorm due to the room being booked. Both spots were nice, comfy beds, tv in the private room, and both rooms had a shared bathroom that was tidy and clean. Reception is open basically all day, and the staff is very friendly and helpful. Luggage storage wasn't a problem, though lockers in dorm are small.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 6.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
View Property Reply

Hi Thank you for your nice comments and rating Glad you enjoyed your stay Regards Kipps

30th Jul 2017
8.9

An absolutely superb hostel with a real homely feeling, a great place to stay which i can't recommend enough. feels like being in a friends mothers house.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
22nd Jul 2017
9.7

This is the best hostel I ever went to within the month of traveling I did in England, the Netherlands, and Ukraine.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
View Property Reply

Hi Thank you for your 10/10 rating and great comments :) Kipps

4th Jul 2017
10.0

This is the best hostel I have ever stayed at . YHA is good , but value for money I found Kipps the tops . I congratulate the team there, so helpful and informative. Ive already booked a further visit with them in near future Best wishes to the team!!

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
View Property Reply

Hi Thank you for your lovely ratings, and comments. See you again soon Kipps

  • Anonymous
  • Germany, Female, 41+
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
5th Jun 2017
5.4

I could not believe this was an award-winning hostel. A room with five beds and nowhere to put your suitcase, your small belongings or anything else for that matter. Beds that shake when the person above or below is turning. No reading-lights. Dirty carpet. No boards for telephone, keys etc. on upper beds. If you want to get out, you have to turn 180 degrees in your bed, try to crawl out beside your pillow and make your way above the nighttable and lamp of the beds below.

    • 4.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 6.0Location
    • 4.0Facilities
    • 4.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 6.0Cleanliness
View Property Reply

Hi Its a shame you decided to write such a negative review, when the staff went out of their way to make you feel welcome. You hadnt stayed in a backpackers before/ or hostel, and this is why your review is negative, and the rating low. We would suggest to book hotels for future stays around Europe. You only have to look back at other guest reviews, and can see people who are used to staying in Backpackers Hostels have rated us with great reviews. Regards Kipps

4th Jun 2017
8.0

Nice hostel with good beds and clean sheets. Feels a but like an oldskool BnB but that's no problem. Perfect for getting your head down in the evening. Big continental breakfast for 3 quid was great too. Cheers!

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
View Property Reply

Thank you for your Rating and taking time out comment. Its a shame you thought the hostel was like an oldskool B&B, we think the hostel has great character throughout, from the cosy lounge, to medieval dining room and large garden. Most places dont have much character now ,and are all decorated very similar? Regards Kipps

  • Anonymous
  • Israel, Female, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 9 reviews
21st May 2017
9.1

Very clean and orgenized hostel. The dorms are big and the bed are very nice. It is not realy a youth hostle, and there was a gourp of kids stayig there, but it was still nice and quite. Great hostle!

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
View Property Reply

Hi Thank you for taking the time to rate and comment Regards Kipps

Hostelworld Mobile Apps

Book on the go with the new Hostelworld mobile apps.

Search and book more than 33,000 properties in over 170 countries, from anywhere.

Newsletter Sign Up

Submitting your info

Thank you for signing up to our newsletter!

Sign up for our newsletter to get the best hostel deals and news sent straight to your inbox. You can unsubscribe at any time.

×