Hostelworld.com

Group of 15 or more?

Contact our Group Travel team directly for a tailor made solution for your group

Kipps Hostel Canterbury

Group of 15 or more?

Contact our Group Travel team directly for a tailor made solution for your group

Prices
map
reviews
9.4
Superb 1632 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 9.5
  • Security 9.3
  • Location 8.7
  • Staff 9.7
  • Atmosphere 9.1
  • Cleanliness 10.0
  • Facilities 9.3
BOOK NOW
9.4
Superb 1632 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 9.5
  • Security 9.3
  • Location 8.7
  • Staff 9.7
  • Atmosphere 9.1
  • Cleanliness 10.0
  • Facilities 9.3

The rating percentage is calculated from customers who booked within the last 12 months. All ratings and reviews are based on the feedback and opinions of the customers who submitted them and do not express the opinions of Hostelworld.com. This way, you get an up-to-the-minute opinion of just how good a hostel really is.
Read our review guidelines

  • Show:
  • Sort By:
  • macdonaldheather3515
  • Canada, Female, 25-30
  • Globetrotter
  • 72 reviews
10th Apr 2017
9.1

Very nice hostel! Extremely friendly staff, who gave fabulous suggestions for day trips. Only a few minutes walk from the city centre/bus station/train station. Only downside was the room was on the small side, so not much room for backpacks etc.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Ireland, Female, 41+
  • Novice Nomad
  • 2 reviews
8th Apr 2017
10.0

Excellent, friendly hostel, will come again.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
View Property Reply

Hi Thank you for Rating. Glad you enjoyed our Friendly Hostel !! We hope to see you again ! Regards Kipps

25th Mar 2017
7.4

Good location (short walk to central area). Clean. Nice room. Secure bicycle parking is limited. No access to kitchen before 8am, which I think is quite late. Woken in early hours by argument in next room.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 6.0Facilities
    • 6.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
View Property Reply

Hi Thank you for your Comments, At the moment we are making over our garden, and there will be a bike shed in the back, this is why there was limited space this weekend. We do state clearly on Hostelworld, the times of the kitchen, This is due to the rooms located next to the kitchen/ and if we were to open up earlier, we would then get complaints from these rooms Re. Noise from the Kitchen.- however the staff did open the kitchen early on Sunday Morning at 7.00am for you and some other guests, and it is unfortunate that the couple was arguing, I would suggest always speaking to a staff member (24 hours) who would have spoken to the guests in the room next door Regards Kipps

24th Mar 2017
8.6

Nice and clean with good staff. But cancelled my last night because I had to leave my room at 11 until 1 for it to be cleaned. Also kitchen closed until 2pm. So had to leave hostel early. Some my not care but had plans to eat and shower when others left. 8 bed dorm too small for 8 people not enough room to move around. WiFi was good,kicthen well stocked​. Hostel is a big house. Common was good, big TV comfortable chairs.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 6.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
View Property Reply

Hi Thank you for your comments and ratings. Its a shame you felt you had to leave a day earlier. We do make it clear on Hostelworld, and on arrival, and in the rooms that the rooms are closed for a couple of hours for cleaning/ maintenance. I can see you rated us 10/10 out for cleanliness. If we didnt close the dormitorys down for a couple of hours, and people were in the rooms, how would we be able to clean the rooms, and get the new beds ready for the new arrivals.It just wouldnt work, we have tried this already. It is exactly the same as the kitchen, if we didnt close it for short period, we wouldnt be able to clean the fridges/ ovens and kitchen as people would be in and out throughout cleaning. Even a simple task of mopping the floors would be difficult. I would suggest next time booking a private room, and you would have been able to have stayed in the room as long as you wanted. Regards Kipps

  • Anonymous
  • England, Male, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 8 reviews
24th Feb 2017
9.7

My stay here was fantastic. It is the first time that I have stayed in a hostel that provides a clean towel everyday for free, and makes the bed too. The location is a 10 minute walk from the city centre. The staff were very very friendly, and knowledgeable about the area. I would recommend Kipps to anyone staying in Canterbury.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
View Property Reply

Hi Thanks for your lovely comments and rating. Look forward to seeing you on your return visit Regards Kipps

8th Feb 2017
9.7

Super friendly staff, GREAT atmosphere (couldn't get over how cute the deco was) and very close to town. Only thing, and that is not their fault, it was weird that the water taps were not in the shower rooms. Oh and a bit inconvenient that you could not stay in the dorms and kitchens between 11 and 2. Still my favorite hostel so far!

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
View Property Reply

Hi Thank you for your nice comments and rating. At the moment we are having a look at all our bathrooms, which we will transform throughout the year. as we are looking at transferring guests comments into making the bathrooms work better for all guests staying. So will note all these comments and try to put them into action. The reason the dorms are closed, is as we are only a small team, we carry out everything ourselves from reception to house-keeping to maintenance. and those 3 hours are the only time we are able to carry out house-keeping/ maintanance throughout the hostel on a daily basis. The lounge is open for you to relax in, and if we finish early, do open the dorms and other areas much earlier than 2pm Enjoy your travels, and glad we are your favourite hostel !! Regards Kipps

  • Anonymous
  • England, Male, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 3 reviews
2nd Feb 2017
9.4

Great hostel only a short walk from the city centre with all the facilities you need and friendly staff.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
View Property Reply

Hi Glad you enjoyed your stay at Kipps, and the facilities in the hostel. Come back in the summer, to see our transformed garden, with games area, and new seating areas. Regards Kipps

17th Jan 2017
10.0

Kipps is an excellent hostel. The atmosphere is welcoming and if there are any problems they really do fix them within a few minutes! It is the cleanest hostel I've ever stayed in, the kitchen is very well equipped and the living room makes one feel like family. The only negative comment I would make is that the common areas were cold while I stayed. They were working to correct that, and I would certainly stay again if I were in the area!

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
View Property Reply

Hi Thank you for your lovely comments and rating. We are glad to inform, that the heating issue has now been resolved. Enjoy your travels Kipps

  • Anonymous
  • New Zealand, Female, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
10th Dec 2016
10.0

We had that best time staying at Kipps. Very warm and friendly place with a nice homely atmosphere. Very clean and tidy and exceeded all expectations we had. Great Location with very friendly and helpful staff. We will be back!

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
View Property Reply

Hello, Thank you for the lovely comment and we look forward to seeing you in the future. King regards, Carmen

21st Nov 2016
9.1

Really great hostel, extremely clean and neat. This is genuine classic English house, with great facilities, very comfortable beds and very good facilities. The staff is friendly, the breakfast is convenient, costs 2,5£, but not great, they provide the service of washing clothes for 5£, there's plenty of showers and toilets. The bed gets made everyday, but you have to be out of the room at 11am, which is kinda annoying. Common rooms lacks a atmosphere, not really a great set up to meet others.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness

Hostelworld Mobile Apps

Book on the go with the new Hostelworld mobile apps.

Search and book more than 33,000 properties in over 170 countries, from anywhere.

Newsletter Sign Up

Submitting your info

Thank you for signing up to our newsletter!

Sign up for our newsletter to get the best hostel deals and news sent straight to your inbox. You can unsubscribe at any time.