Hostelworld.com
HostelBookers Logo

Group of 15 or more?

Contact our Group Travel team directly for a tailor made solution for your group

Kiwi Airport Backpackers

Group of 15 or more?

Contact our Group Travel team directly for a tailor made solution for your group

Prices
map
reviews
5.6
Rating 94 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 5.1
  • Security 6.8
  • Location 7.1
  • Staff 6.0
  • Atmosphere 4.9
  • Cleanliness 4.8
  • Facilities 4.6
BOOK NOW
5.6
Rating 94 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 5.1
  • Security 6.8
  • Location 7.1
  • Staff 6.0
  • Atmosphere 4.9
  • Cleanliness 4.8
  • Facilities 4.6
Kiwi Airport Backpackers Located at 144 McKenzie Road, Mangere, Auckland.
Kiwi Airport Backpackers
New Zealand
Auckland North Island 2022 144 McKenzie Road, Mangere
56% 94
-36.9660436 174.7857213
Kiwi Airport Backpackers
    Rooms available

The rating percentage is calculated from customers who booked within the last 12 months. All ratings and reviews are based on the feedback and opinions of the customers who submitted them and do not express the opinions of Hostelworld.com. This way, you get an up-to-the-minute opinion of just how good a hostel really is.
Read our review guidelines

  • Show:
  • Sort By:
  • Anonymous
  • New Zealand, Female, 31-40
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
23rd Aug 2016
4.9

Facilities where dirty, mould, cobwebs & dirty drains in the bathroom . Too many beds in the room, Very cramped. Bed was uncomfortable. We where told that we couldn't store luggage for a few hours after checkout because there was no room.

    • 4.0Value For Money
    • 6.0Security
    • 6.0Location
    • 4.0Facilities
    • 6.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 2.0Cleanliness
5th Aug 2016
7.1

Just what you need if you're flying or landing early/late on. Don't expect much. Definitely wouldn't recommend for more than one night, just stay in the city.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 6.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 2.0Atmosphere
    • 6.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • New Zealand, Male, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 3 reviews
21st Jun 2016
7.7

Good for overnight stay close to airport. Didn't notice any lockers but had nice communal kitchen and TV room. Cheap to catch the 380 bus or use their 5$ shuttle

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 4.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 6.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • New Zealand, Female, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 5 reviews
2nd Jun 2016
3.4

This hostel was grim. There was literally no heating and you only received one blanket per bed so bring something with you if you stay outside of the summer months. The place was filthy, bathrooms disgusting...shuttle bus is handy to get to the airport, and this would be the absolute only reason you would stay there.

    • 4.0Value For Money
    • 6.0Security
    • 4.0Location
    • 2.0Facilities
    • 4.0Staff
    • 2.0Atmosphere
    • 2.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Finland, Female, 31-40
  • Novice Nomad
  • 3 reviews
13th May 2016
4.9

The outside areas were nice because there's a hotel and a motel which share them. Positives are the close proximity to the international airport and the low price of accommodation. However, the rooms were not that nice. There was writing on the wall. The bedding was a weird assortment of old textiles from the hotel; my blanket wasn't actually a blanket. The toilets were filthy. It looked like they hadn't been cleaned for weeks or months even in some places.

    • 6.0Value For Money
    • 6.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 4.0Facilities
    • 4.0Staff
    • 4.0Atmosphere
    • 2.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Netherlands, Female, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 2 reviews
22nd Mar 2016
5.1

The staff was marginally helpful but didn't express much joy in their work. The room was very small with only a tiny window. The kitchen for the 4rooms with 6 beds each had only 2 cooking elements. Mattress was good, location convenient.

    • 2.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 4.0Facilities
    • 4.0Staff
    • 4.0Atmosphere
    • 4.0Cleanliness
14th Mar 2016
4.9

If you are looking for a place to sleep by the airport, than this is good. On their profile page they say they offer shuttle service but don't tell you that it is $5 each way, and that they offer internet that you have to pay for. The cost was more than other hostels in the area that had much better reviews, but I chose this place because I thought it came with shuttle service to/from airport. I had to pay $15 more than I planned and they did not care at all. Outlets did not work either.

    • 2.0Value For Money
    • 4.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 4.0Facilities
    • 4.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 6.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Australia, Male, 41+
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
7th Mar 2016
8.9

A good hostel – front house staff, Vicky, was excellent in looking after me. Other people getting up several early was a pain – but that's the way it goes.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness

Hostelworld Mobile Apps

Book on the go with the new Hostelworld mobile apps.

Search and book more than 33,000 properties in over 170 countries, from anywhere.

Newsletter Sign Up

Submitting your info

Thank you for signing up to our newsletter!

Sign up for our monthly Newsletter to get the best hostel deals and news sent straight your inbox. You can unsubscribe at any time.