Hostelworld.com
HostelBookers Logo

Group of 15 or more?

Contact our Group Travel team directly for a tailor made solution for your group

Kiwi Airport Backpackers

Group of 15 or more?

Contact our Group Travel team directly for a tailor made solution for your group

Prices
map
reviews
5.2
Rating 110 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 4.8
  • Security 5.4
  • Location 6.4
  • Staff 5.8
  • Atmosphere 4.9
  • Cleanliness 4.6
  • Facilities 4.4
BOOK NOW
5.2
Rating 110 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 4.8
  • Security 5.4
  • Location 6.4
  • Staff 5.8
  • Atmosphere 4.9
  • Cleanliness 4.6
  • Facilities 4.4
Kiwi Airport Backpackers Located at 144 McKenzie Road, Mangere, Auckland.
Kiwi Airport Backpackers
New Zealand
Auckland North Island 2022 144 McKenzie Road, Mangere
52% 110
-36.9660436 174.7857213
Kiwi Airport Backpackers
    Rooms available

The rating percentage is calculated from customers who booked within the last 12 months. All ratings and reviews are based on the feedback and opinions of the customers who submitted them and do not express the opinions of Hostelworld.com. This way, you get an up-to-the-minute opinion of just how good a hostel really is.
Read our review guidelines

  • Show:
  • Sort By:
  • Anonymous
  • Malaysia, Couple, 31-40
  • Novice Nomad
  • 8 reviews
18th Nov 2016
3.7

1) handle for room door broken and should fix asap. 2) gas stove malfunction. I am really dissappointed becuase i cannot cook. 3) shower curtain torn. Should replace asap. 4) internet not free u should buy coupun. 5) there is surchage fee if you put your begs in the storage room. They want to charge 20 nzd but i am lucky it just 10nzd 6) dorm not clean and no locker. Overall. Not highly recommended

    • 2.0Value For Money
    • 2.0Security
    • 6.0Location
    • 2.0Facilities
    • 6.0Staff
    • 4.0Atmosphere
    • 4.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • USA, Male, 31-40
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
7th Nov 2016
3.7

no care or desire to better their facilities. . . poor interaction with front desk and staff, terrible mattress and sleeping accommodations. . I could go ok but not worth it, I would never stay here again. only benefit is the location to airport. cheers.

    • 2.0Value For Money
    • 6.0Security
    • 6.0Location
    • 2.0Facilities
    • 4.0Staff
    • 4.0Atmosphere
    • 2.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • England, Male, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 3 reviews
5th Nov 2016
5.7

As expected it lived up to the low expectations and clearly this hostel doesn't take on board these comments. They only give you one sheet and the blanket that's available doesn't smell clean at all. The room looked like it hadn't been PROPERLY cleaned in months. One of the beds we were given wasn't really a bed, more of just a mattress on the floor. No lockers. None or no decent cooking equipment. There's a $5 ea shuttle to the airport. Not close to the airport? Only good for an overnight stay.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 4.0Security
    • 6.0Location
    • 4.0Facilities
    • 6.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 6.0Cleanliness
5th Nov 2016
2.6

What a rubbish place to stay, smelly, dark, beds squashed together. The only thing good about this place is the location. The staff are rude and they told me I could store my luggage and then when I was about to do so, they told me they can't and that if I do it will probably be stolen. Disgraceful

    • 2.0Value For Money
    • 2.0Security
    • 6.0Location
    • 2.0Facilities
    • 2.0Staff
    • 2.0Atmosphere
    • 2.0Cleanliness
26th Oct 2016
8.0

I only stayed here one night but it was a nice place to stay. The staff was friendly and the rooms were clean. Near airport, but not a great location if you want to go downtown. Bed was fine, and the atmosphere was very laid back. Good value for money.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 6.0Security
    • 4.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • USA, Male, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
21st Oct 2016
4.6

Unclean, noisy doors, and unflinchingly uncooperative staff.. only a viable choice if you have an early morning flight the next morning..

    • 4.0Value For Money
    • 6.0Security
    • 6.0Location
    • 4.0Facilities
    • 4.0Staff
    • 4.0Atmosphere
    • 4.0Cleanliness
2nd Sep 2016
3.4

Awful services, very unclean and broken down, only good for the location if you have an early flight but otherwise not a good hostel to spend time in

    • 2.0Value For Money
    • 2.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 2.0Facilities
    • 4.0Staff
    • 4.0Atmosphere
    • 2.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • New Zealand, Female, 31-40
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
23rd Aug 2016
4.9

Facilities where dirty, mould, cobwebs & dirty drains in the bathroom . Too many beds in the room, Very cramped. Bed was uncomfortable. We where told that we couldn't store luggage for a few hours after checkout because there was no room.

    • 4.0Value For Money
    • 6.0Security
    • 6.0Location
    • 4.0Facilities
    • 6.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 2.0Cleanliness
5th Aug 2016
7.1

Just what you need if you're flying or landing early/late on. Don't expect much. Definitely wouldn't recommend for more than one night, just stay in the city.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 6.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 2.0Atmosphere
    • 6.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • New Zealand, Male, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 3 reviews
21st Jun 2016
7.7

Good for overnight stay close to airport. Didn't notice any lockers but had nice communal kitchen and TV room. Cheap to catch the 380 bus or use their 5$ shuttle

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 4.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 6.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness

Hostelworld Mobile Apps

Book on the go with the new Hostelworld mobile apps.

Search and book more than 33,000 properties in over 170 countries, from anywhere.

Newsletter Sign Up

Submitting your info

Thank you for signing up to our newsletter!

Sign up for our newsletter to get the best hostel deals and news sent straight to your inbox. You can unsubscribe at any time.