Hostelworld.com

Group of 15 or more?

Contact our Group Travel team directly for a tailor made solution for your group

Kiwi Airport Backpackers

Group of 15 or more?

Contact our Group Travel team directly for a tailor made solution for your group

Prices
map
reviews
5.2
Rating 158 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 4.6
  • Security 6.3
  • Location 7.1
  • Staff 4.8
  • Atmosphere 4.6
  • Cleanliness 5.0
  • Facilities 4.3
BOOK NOW
5.2
Rating 158 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 4.6
  • Security 6.3
  • Location 7.1
  • Staff 4.8
  • Atmosphere 4.6
  • Cleanliness 5.0
  • Facilities 4.3

The rating percentage is calculated from customers who booked within the last 12 months. All ratings and reviews are based on the feedback and opinions of the customers who submitted them and do not express the opinions of Hostelworld.com. This way, you get an up-to-the-minute opinion of just how good a hostel really is.
Read our review guidelines

  • Show:
  • Sort By:
  • danielbranco17
  • USA, Male, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 3 reviews
17th Aug 2017
3.7

Mosquitos everywhere, no handsoap no wifi no staff onsite.

    • 6.0Value For Money
    • 4.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 2.0Facilities
    • 2.0Staff
    • 2.0Atmosphere
    • 2.0Cleanliness
  • savonahmac
  • Canada, Female, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
29th Jul 2017
5.1

there are only 2 bathrooms, the heat pump in the common area wasn't working, theres not a lot of room to cook and no oven. only 1 of the hot plates work the other one just flickers on and off. The staff wernt the nicest they acted like they had better things to do. And the wifi that you have to pay for dosnt work. It's a okay location if your spending the night or just trying to get a couple hours sleep but I wouldn't recommend it for more then a day.

    • 4.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 2.0Facilities
    • 4.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 4.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • England, Male, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 3 reviews
22nd Jun 2017
2.0

The worst hostel I have ever stayed in!!! And I've been around the world. They charge you for everything Wifi, Breakfast, Checking out 5 minutes late, even if you want to leave your bags somewhere before you check in it's $5. The staff are EXTREMELY RUDE! Make sure you book somewhere else other than here, wouldn't wish staying there on my worst enemy.

    • 2.0Value For Money
    • 2.0Security
    • 2.0Location
    • 2.0Facilities
    • 2.0Staff
    • 2.0Atmosphere
    • 2.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • USA, Mixed Group, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
19th Jun 2017
5.4

Expensive wifi that operates intermittently, scratchy wool blankets, mosquito infested humid rooms, dirty shared facilities, and uncomfortable beds. Convenient location close to airport, but we wish we would stayed slightly farther for a better experience.

    • 6.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 4.0Facilities
    • 4.0Staff
    • 2.0Atmosphere
    • 4.0Cleanliness
  • flo1998
  • Germany, Male, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
1st Jun 2017
5.4

Have never experienced such an unfriendly staff in a backpackers. Next thing is in the night it gets freezing. You just get a really thin blanket and there are no heaters at all. Only advantage is the airport nearby. Won't stay here again.

    • 4.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 2.0Facilities
    • 2.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 6.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • England, Male, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 6 reviews
26th May 2017
9.4

Not sure where all the low ratings came from. Nice basic hostel facilities, I had to make my own bed when I arrived but that was fine. Plenty of room for my luggage. I only spent one night here.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • New Zealand, Female, 41+
  • Novice Nomad
  • 5 reviews
24th May 2017
7.1

This was our first Hostel stay so we have nothing to compare it to. However, the bunk rooms were quite nice, clean crisp sheets, pillowcase and blankets. We had to sleep in our assigned bunk but that was tricky when someone else is in it already. The bathrooms (there are two) need a tidy up as they're quite shabby. The location is pretty good. The shuttle is confusing - it says it is free and that it costs $5. It does cost $5 per person per trip which is pretty reasonable.

    • 6.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 6.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 6.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Malaysia, Female, 31-40
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
15th May 2017
4.3

Too pack in 6 ppl dorm (backpacker).. The room is extremely small but intend to squeeze 6 ppl in a room. We feel uncomfortable when staying and not worth in term of value of money.Strongly recommend owner to rearrange the bed.

    • 2.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 6.0Location
    • 2.0Facilities
    • 4.0Staff
    • 2.0Atmosphere
    • 6.0Cleanliness
  • reinawickliffe4863
  • New Zealand, Female, 41+
  • Novice Nomad
  • 7 reviews
6th May 2017
6.3

Ok for an overnight. Wouldn't stay any longer

    • 6.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 6.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 4.0Atmosphere
    • 4.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Germany, Male, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 6 reviews
13th Mar 2017
5.7

It's relatively close to the airport but you still have to pay $5 for an airport shuttle and the hostel itself isn't very nice - small kitchen (equipment was okay, I guess - I didn't cook as I was only staying one night), little space in the dorm rooms and no lockers. Wouldn't recommend staying there but it's okay for one night (between flights, for example).

    • 4.0Value For Money
    • 6.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 6.0Facilities
    • 6.0Staff
    • 4.0Atmosphere
    • 6.0Cleanliness

Hostelworld Mobile Apps

Book on the go with the new Hostelworld mobile apps.

Search and book more than 33,000 properties in over 170 countries, from anywhere.

Newsletter Sign Up

Submitting your info

Thank you for signing up to our newsletter!

Sign up for our newsletter to get the best hostel deals and news sent straight to your inbox. You can unsubscribe at any time.