Hostelworld.com
HostelBookers Logo

Group of 15 or more?

Contact our Group Travel team directly for a tailor made solution for your group

Kiwi Airport Backpackers

Group of 15 or more?

Contact our Group Travel team directly for a tailor made solution for your group

Prices
map
reviews
5.4
Rating 136 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 5.1
  • Security 5.9
  • Location 6.1
  • Staff 5.9
  • Atmosphere 5.1
  • Cleanliness 5.1
  • Facilities 4.7
BOOK NOW
5.4
Rating 136 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 5.1
  • Security 5.9
  • Location 6.1
  • Staff 5.9
  • Atmosphere 5.1
  • Cleanliness 5.1
  • Facilities 4.7

The rating percentage is calculated from customers who booked within the last 12 months. All ratings and reviews are based on the feedback and opinions of the customers who submitted them and do not express the opinions of Hostelworld.com. This way, you get an up-to-the-minute opinion of just how good a hostel really is.
Read our review guidelines

  • Show:
  • Sort By:
  • Anonymous
  • Australia, Female, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 2 reviews
20th Feb 2017
7.7

The stay is great for one night. It's close to the airport and is clean. The bathroom was a little rundown and the light didn't work. You have to pay for wifi and you only get enough to last you an hour. If you are just needing a place to crash before your flight, it's great. Otherwise don't stay here!

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 6.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
  • jorgehuysmans4374
  • Belgium, Male, 25-30
  • Globetrotter
  • 23 reviews
19th Jan 2017
5.7

I only booked this accomodatin because I had an early flight the next day. They do provide a shuttle to and from the airport for 5 dollars one way. Wouldn't book it for any other reason, 50 dollars for one night was also way too much for a dorm. I guess most people just use this accommodation to get to the airport.

    • 4.0Value For Money
    • 6.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 4.0Facilities
    • 6.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 4.0Cleanliness
15th Jan 2017
6.9

Brilliant crash pad for an early or late flight but I wouldn't recommend it for any other reason

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 6.0Security
    • 6.0Location
    • 6.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 6.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Australia, Female, 31-40
  • Novice Nomad
  • 3 reviews
6th Jan 2017
4.9

Poor facilities, particularly bathrooms. Not value for money at all.

    • 2.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 6.0Location
    • 2.0Facilities
    • 6.0Staff
    • 4.0Atmosphere
    • 6.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Germany, Female, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 6 reviews
4th Jan 2017
6.0

The location is really great (just 15 minutes away from the airport by bus). Other than that my stay wasn't so good: - Bathroom: There was only one bathroom for 18 people! You couldn't even use the toilet separately because the toilet was part of the bathroom + shower. Bathroom was not well cleaned and flooded after every shower as the shower curtain was too short. -Living Room/kitchen: not spacious enough for so many people.

    • 4.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 4.0Facilities
    • 6.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 4.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • England, Couple, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 3 reviews
27th Dec 2016
7.1

Main issue was you have to pay for internet, was not expecting that. Facilities were good standard otherwise though. Good if you need to be close to airport.

    • 6.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 6.0Location
    • 6.0Facilities
    • 6.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
22nd Dec 2016
9.1

Saw a lot of negative reviews about this place so was very interested to stay here. Firstly it's not really a hostel. It's a small backpackers accommodation attached to the back of a hotel. Has all basic facilities. A small kitchen/dining room/tv room with dorm rooms around the side. It was clean, dorms were average and the staff were lovely. I the morning I had the entire place to myself as everyone else was flying early. Felt like I was staying in my own bach! Don't understand the bad reviews.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • England, Couple, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 2 reviews
18th Dec 2016
2.6

Utterly dreadful place - avoid at all costs. Disgustingly dirty beds (when we asked staff about the lack of sheets on the bed they replied that 'most guests provide their own'). Wifi was poor and overpriced - even though it was advertised as free! 2 members of staff were particularly rude and seemed not to care about our needs as we were staying at the backpackers and not the hotel next door. Kitchen floor was badly broken up with tiles missing and scattered all over floor. Dirty in general.

    • 4.0Value For Money
    • 4.0Security
    • 2.0Location
    • 2.0Facilities
    • 2.0Staff
    • 2.0Atmosphere
    • 2.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • England, Male, 31-40
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
15th Dec 2016
7.4

I had previously read a lot of negative reviews, although I found kiwi backpackers excellent value for money. I arrived late and staff were incredibly accommodating. Location is ideal and no complaints. Cleanliness wasn't too bad Front door kept jamming which was only real negative. You get what you pay for in this world, and without doubt the most convenient option for early morning flight out of Auckland

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 4.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 6.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 6.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Malaysia, Couple, 31-40
  • Novice Nomad
  • 8 reviews
18th Nov 2016
3.7

1) handle for room door broken and should fix asap. 2) gas stove malfunction. I am really dissappointed becuase i cannot cook. 3) shower curtain torn. Should replace asap. 4) internet not free u should buy coupun. 5) there is surchage fee if you put your begs in the storage room. They want to charge 20 nzd but i am lucky it just 10nzd 6) dorm not clean and no locker. Overall. Not highly recommended

    • 2.0Value For Money
    • 2.0Security
    • 6.0Location
    • 2.0Facilities
    • 6.0Staff
    • 4.0Atmosphere
    • 4.0Cleanliness

Hostelworld Mobile Apps

Book on the go with the new Hostelworld mobile apps.

Search and book more than 33,000 properties in over 170 countries, from anywhere.

Newsletter Sign Up

Submitting your info

Thank you for signing up to our newsletter!

Sign up for our newsletter to get the best hostel deals and news sent straight to your inbox. You can unsubscribe at any time.