Hostelworld.com

Group of 15 or more?

Contact our Group Travel team directly for a tailor made solution for your group

Kiwi Basecamp

Group of 15 or more?

Contact our Group Travel team directly for a tailor made solution for your group

Prices
map
reviews
8.9
Fabulous 833 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 9.1
  • Security 9.2
  • Location 8.3
  • Staff 9.1
  • Atmosphere 8.6
  • Cleanliness 9.2
  • Facilities 8.9
BOOK NOW
8.9
Fabulous 833 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 9.1
  • Security 9.2
  • Location 8.3
  • Staff 9.1
  • Atmosphere 8.6
  • Cleanliness 9.2
  • Facilities 8.9

The rating percentage is calculated from customers who booked within the last 12 months. All ratings and reviews are based on the feedback and opinions of the customers who submitted them and do not express the opinions of Hostelworld.com. This way, you get an up-to-the-minute opinion of just how good a hostel really is.
Read our review guidelines

  • Show:
  • Sort By:
  • Anonymous
  • Wales, Mixed Group, 25-30
  • Avid Traveller
  • 14 reviews
20th May 2017
10.0

Lovely friendly hostel, good location, delicious fresh bread made in their kitchen everyday.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • New Zealand, Female, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
17th May 2017
5.4

Very clean place and friendly staff. We were very happy when we first arrived, however the problems started at night time. We were in a twin room next to a toilet and two showers. There was a big noise problem, the doors are very heavy and all through the night we could hear people opening and closing them, the bathroom ones were the worst because we were so close, but we could even hear the doors downstairs slamming. No sleep for us.

    • 2.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 6.0Location
    • 2.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 2.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
11th May 2017
9.1

Great place! Originally booked 2 nights but ended up spending 4. Bathrooms were very clean with great showers and beds were comfy. Common areas were nice and although it seemed like a lot of long termers lived there, they were friendly so there was a good atmosphere. Only negative would have to be the kitchen. A lot of people didn't clean up after themselves and sometimes I struggled to find basic items such as mugs or forks. There isn't a lot of fridge space either.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
9th May 2017
8.9

Really nice and spacious rooms, had a 4 bed dorm and have stayed in dorms that size with 8 beds squeezed into it! Codes for all doors so good security. Really good WiFi, 2 kitchens and 2 lounges, really nice staff and the fresh baked bread was AMAZING!

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 6.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
5th May 2017
9.1

Although a small hostel, this place has a great charm about it. The staff are incredibly friendly and really helped me make the most of NZ, plus the place was spotless and the atmosphere was pretty chilled. Just on the border of CBD, it's easy enough to walk to anywhere in the centre and I would definitely stay here again if I were to visit CHC in the future :)

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
1st May 2017
9.4

Fantastic hostel. Clearly purpose built and new it has two good kitchens, two lounges and a patio, the rooms are spacious with good beds with outlets and they do a great job cleaning. Not to mention the free fresh bread every morning! The staff were friendly and helpful and the wifi was free, fast, and everywhere. It is a bit on the edge of town and not near any supermarkets or other food, and the bathroom setup isn't great, but honestly neither were really an issue at any point.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 6.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • England, Female, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
27th Apr 2017
8.6

Friendly staff, great wifi and lovely fresh bread every morning. The rooms were very clean and comfortable and the bathrooms were big and spacious. Great hostel to stay in if you're just using it as a base, otherwise the communal areas lacked a bit of atmosphere but I'm sure that says more about the people staying at that time than the establishment! Would definitely stay again.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Australia, Female, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 5 reviews
25th Apr 2017
6.9

Bed was comfortable however sharing with workers who left belongings everywhere - no room for my bag and ended up leaving in middle of room. Room with boys was pretty dirty however bathrooms very clean Staff helpful however minimal to no interaction. Location is about 20 min from city centre

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 6.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 6.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 6.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • England, Male, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 4 reviews
24th Apr 2017
9.4

A very nice hostel, with friendly and helpful staff, good wi-fi and delicious free bread every morning. Would stay again if I ever return to Christchurch!

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Australia, Male, 31-40
  • Novice Nomad
  • 2 reviews
24th Apr 2017
8.6

The house spaces are great and clean, the only issue was that it was noisy, some guys had music in the backyard and we could hear it in the room, also every time a door of the other rooms and toilets was closed it made a big noise that kept waking me up :( So if you really need to rest and sleep this is not the place to be.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 4.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness

Hostelworld Mobile Apps

Book on the go with the new Hostelworld mobile apps.

Search and book more than 33,000 properties in over 170 countries, from anywhere.

Newsletter Sign Up

Submitting your info

Thank you for signing up to our newsletter!

Sign up for our newsletter to get the best hostel deals and news sent straight to your inbox. You can unsubscribe at any time.