Hostelworld.com
HostelBookers Logo

Group of 15 or more?

Contact our Group Travel team directly for a tailor made solution for your group

Kiwi Basecamp

Group of 15 or more?

Contact our Group Travel team directly for a tailor made solution for your group

Prices
map
reviews
8.8
Fabulous 662 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 9.0
  • Security 8.6
  • Location 8.2
  • Staff 9.0
  • Atmosphere 8.7
  • Cleanliness 9.2
  • Facilities 9.0
BOOK NOW
8.8
Fabulous 662 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 9.0
  • Security 8.6
  • Location 8.2
  • Staff 9.0
  • Atmosphere 8.7
  • Cleanliness 9.2
  • Facilities 9.0
Kiwi Basecamp Located at 69 Bealey Ave, Christchurch, Christchurch.
Kiwi Basecamp
New Zealand
Christchurch 69 Bealey Ave, Christchurch
88% 662
-43.5206330 172.6299628
Kiwi Basecamp
    Rooms available

The rating percentage is calculated from customers who booked within the last 12 months. All ratings and reviews are based on the feedback and opinions of the customers who submitted them and do not express the opinions of Hostelworld.com. This way, you get an up-to-the-minute opinion of just how good a hostel really is.
Read our review guidelines

  • Show:
  • Sort By:
  • Anonymous
  • Ireland, Male, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 3 reviews
20th Nov 2016
8.6

Great spot, only stayed one night but had no issues.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 6.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
11th Nov 2016
8.0

Decent Hostel. Could be more strict with guests, I was trying to have dinner in the lounge and people started smoking right next to me. Lounge and kitchen can get packed at times. Bathrooms are nice.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
8th Nov 2016
8.3

Kiwi Basecamp is a very decent hostel in Christchurch. The location is adequate for accessing the city, and there is plenty of off-street parking. Beds have AC outlets, as well as USB ports. WiFi is unlimited and fully functional. The only real negatives is security - doorcodes are the same as the room numbers, which makes it something of a joke. Many of the guests are long-term construction workers inn Christchurch, which is not necessarily bad, but limits the "backpacker" vibe.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 6.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
8th Nov 2016
9.1

It was overall a great hostel. The walls were a bit thin but the kitchens were nice and clean and there was plenty of bathrooms. Our biggest complaint was how far the grocery stores were if you didn't have a car. A lot of the people staying there seemed to be there long-term and people were up and about really early in the morning, but no staff around to check us out at 8:15..

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 6.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Germany, Female, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 7 reviews
2nd Nov 2016
7.7

I assumed this was going to be a small and quiet hostel- it's not. If you are looking to socialize it may be the place for you. The bedrooms are quiet though. Good facilities (bath/kitchen) and decent cleanliness. The staff definitely is the biggest up- always ready to help and very friendly.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 6.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 6.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • England, Male, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
13th Oct 2016
10.0

What a great hostel! The owner had waited for us to arrive at the hostel to give us a warm welcome! Really friendly staff and also helped us with printing something out last minute. Great all round atmosphere and would definitely stay again! Thank you!

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Canada, Female, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 6 reviews
9th Oct 2016
9.1

We loved it here! Staff was great and everyone was super friendly. It's a great location for bars restaurants etc. Not a far walk from the main city centre. Fresh bread in the morning was delicious and the wifi was really good as well. Would definitely stay here again should we come back!

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
  • benwallace100
  • England, Couple, 31-40
  • Avid Traveller
  • 11 reviews
6th Oct 2016
7.1

Overall a good hostel but security is rediculous. They have spent loads of money putting keypads on doors. But the rooms all have the same code pattern so anyone can get into any room (and the hostel) and there was no lockers. Either use the old fashioned key or change the codes!

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 2.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 6.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
4th Oct 2016
8.9

This place is great and has potential to be even better. I was surprised by how messy the kitchens were, not because staff didn't clean but because guests didn't seem to understand the concept of cleaning up after themselves. Most surfaces were covered in crumbs, staff cleaned and then they were covered again. I can't comment on the atmosphere as I avoided most of the people. The building is new.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
3rd Oct 2016
9.7

Great location right up from the park. Close to town center. Room was slightly small but clean. Bathrooms and kitchen were updated and nice. No security lockers in the room but that wouldn't stop me from staying here again. Great wifi that's free and the warm fresh bread in the morning was amazing.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness

Hostelworld Mobile Apps

Book on the go with the new Hostelworld mobile apps.

Search and book more than 33,000 properties in over 170 countries, from anywhere.

Newsletter Sign Up

Submitting your info

Thank you for signing up to our newsletter!

Sign up for our newsletter to get the best hostel deals and news sent straight to your inbox. You can unsubscribe at any time.