Hostelworld.com

Group of 15 or more?

Contact our Group Travel team directly for a tailor made solution for your group

Kiwi Basecamp

Group of 15 or more?

Contact our Group Travel team directly for a tailor made solution for your group

Prices
map
reviews
9.0
Superb 904 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 9.1
  • Security 9.2
  • Location 8.2
  • Staff 9.3
  • Atmosphere 8.7
  • Cleanliness 9.1
  • Facilities 9.0
BOOK NOW
9.0
Superb 904 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 9.1
  • Security 9.2
  • Location 8.2
  • Staff 9.3
  • Atmosphere 8.7
  • Cleanliness 9.1
  • Facilities 9.0

The rating percentage is calculated from customers who booked within the last 12 months. All ratings and reviews are based on the feedback and opinions of the customers who submitted them and do not express the opinions of Hostelworld.com. This way, you get an up-to-the-minute opinion of just how good a hostel really is.
Read our review guidelines

  • Show:
  • Sort By:
  • Anonymous
  • Germany, Male, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
13th Sep 2017
9.4

Best stay I so far experienced in NZ. Super friendly staff and very clean. It's quite near the city centre. Would definetly recommend the hostel to anyone who wants to stay in Christchurch!

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Australia, Male, 18-24
  • Avid Traveller
  • 16 reviews
11th Sep 2017
8.9

The only downside is that the location of this hostel is a little bit far from the city center - about 20mins walk. Otherwise, the beds are excellent, the rooms are spacious, and there are a few areas to hang out/ dine.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 6.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Netherlands, Female, 31-40
  • Globetrotter
  • 46 reviews
28th Aug 2017
9.1

Lovely hostel with a feeling of home! The staff really try to engage everyone and the fresh bread in the morning is just amazing!

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Ireland, Female, 25-30
  • Avid Traveller
  • 14 reviews
18th Aug 2017
8.9

One of the nicer hostels in NZ. The toilets/showers weren't the best though but were cleaned daily so that may be more down to the other guests than the staff. My only complaint was that it was quite noisy. My room was by the front door and people seemed to gather outside to smoke/chat before and after they went out throughout the night, but in a another room I probably would have been alright.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 6.0Cleanliness
  • rushishukla12303
  • India, Male, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
18th Aug 2017
9.7

Was one of the best backpackers experience I ever had will definitely reckon to stay thr specially with the price n cleniness

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • England, All Female Group, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
18th Aug 2017
9.4

A lovely clean hostel. Comfy beds and my room was ready early so I could start my jet lag recovery!! X

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
17th Aug 2017
10.0

Great place to start your New Zealand adventure! We were there for a week and got everything set up for our working holiday visa. Great staff and very knowledgeable!

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
17th Aug 2017
9.4

I didn't have much time at the hostel, since I arrived quite late to get an early train in the morning so the only thing I can say is that the staff was really helpful and nice.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • England, Female, 18-24
  • Avid Traveller
  • 12 reviews
16th Aug 2017
9.4

Super cute place to stay, a lot cheaper than anywhere else. Only issue was it was freezing the whole time!

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
15th Aug 2017
9.4

The best backpackers in Christchurch.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 6.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness

Hostelworld Mobile Apps

Book on the go with the new Hostelworld mobile apps.

Search and book more than 33,000 properties in over 170 countries, from anywhere.

Newsletter Sign Up

Submitting your info

Thank you for signing up to our newsletter!

Sign up for our newsletter to get the best hostel deals and news sent straight to your inbox. You can unsubscribe at any time.

×