Hostelworld.com
HostelBookers Logo

Group of 15 or more?

Contact our Group Travel team directly for a tailor made solution for your group

Kiwi Basecamp

Group of 15 or more?

Contact our Group Travel team directly for a tailor made solution for your group

Prices
map
reviews
8.9
Fabulous 772 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 9.0
  • Security 9.0
  • Location 8.3
  • Staff 9.1
  • Atmosphere 8.7
  • Cleanliness 9.2
  • Facilities 9.0
BOOK NOW
8.9
Fabulous 772 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 9.0
  • Security 9.0
  • Location 8.3
  • Staff 9.1
  • Atmosphere 8.7
  • Cleanliness 9.2
  • Facilities 9.0

The rating percentage is calculated from customers who booked within the last 12 months. All ratings and reviews are based on the feedback and opinions of the customers who submitted them and do not express the opinions of Hostelworld.com. This way, you get an up-to-the-minute opinion of just how good a hostel really is.
Read our review guidelines

  • Show:
  • Sort By:
  • Anonymous
  • Thailand, Female, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 2 reviews
21st Mar 2017
9.4

Awesome hostel, clean and comfortable. Good security. Staffs are friendly and Free wifi is very fast.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 6.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
16th Mar 2017
10.0

Very nice, clean and modern hostel. Staff are helpful and the owner very nice and friendly. Good location just a couple blocks from Hagley Park. 2 kitchens, 2 community rooms and a nice outdoor patio. Relaxing atmosphere.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Amraspalantir
  • USA, Male, 31-40
  • Novice Nomad
  • 3 reviews
16th Mar 2017
10.0

Very clean. Two nice kitchen spaces. Good rooms. Nice space out back.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • USA, All Female Group, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 5 reviews
13th Mar 2017
9.4

Loved the keypad to get into the rooms so we weren't always worrying about having a key with us. The house had been recently remodeled with really nice facilities, very clean and comfortable. The homemade bread is a great touch. Not too far of a walk from the city center and just a few minute walk to where the airport bus picks up/drops off. Loved it, would definitely stay again!

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • England, Female, 25-30
  • Avid Traveller
  • 17 reviews
11th Mar 2017
9.4

Really good hostel - would definitely recommend! Good security with passcodes for doors, no lockers but I felt my stuff was completely safe! Really nice bread for breakfast each morning! Bathrooms were clean and the kitchen was very well stocked for all your cooking needs. Thanks a lot!

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Warden90
  • Scotland, Male, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
8th Mar 2017
10.0

My first stay in a hostel and its definitely set the bar high. Great location within walking distance to the centre of Christchurch. Great facilities. Fast WiFi. Would recommend staying here on your travels in Christchurch.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • England, Female, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 5 reviews
2nd Mar 2017
10.0

A really nice hostel! Friendly staff, good location and lots if comfy areas to relax in and outside. A home away from home!

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
28th Feb 2017
9.4

Women at the front desk was amazing with helping us around Christchurch. Bread in the morning was delicious and the whole place was well kept

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • England, Female, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 2 reviews
26th Feb 2017
9.7

This hostel is awesome! The location for Christchurch is great, only a 29 minute walk to the city centre or a 2 minute walk to the bus stop. Laura and Chris are fantastic, they really made me feel welcome. The whole place is super clean, with the nicest bathrooms I have ever seen in a hostel. Overall, one of the best hostels I have stayed in. If I went back to Christchurch, I would definitely choose to go back to KiwI Basecamp.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
24th Feb 2017
10.0

We really enjoyed staying here at the hostel. I slept so well, the homemade German style bread was amazing (my partner is still raving about it!), and Chris the owner is such a sweetheart! I've got an injured foot and he so graciously gave us a lift to where we were going. Thank you kindly! We'd defiantly stay here again, the atmosphere and people were so lovely.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness

Hostelworld Mobile Apps

Book on the go with the new Hostelworld mobile apps.

Search and book more than 33,000 properties in over 170 countries, from anywhere.

Newsletter Sign Up

Submitting your info

Thank you for signing up to our newsletter!

Sign up for our newsletter to get the best hostel deals and news sent straight to your inbox. You can unsubscribe at any time.