Hostelworld.com
HostelBookers Logo

Group of 15 or more?

Contact our Group Travel team directly for a tailor made solution for your group

Kiwi Basecamp

Group of 15 or more?

Contact our Group Travel team directly for a tailor made solution for your group

Prices
map
reviews
8.8
Fabulous 694 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 9.0
  • Security 8.7
  • Location 8.3
  • Staff 9.1
  • Atmosphere 8.6
  • Cleanliness 9.0
  • Facilities 9.0
BOOK NOW
8.8
Fabulous 694 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 9.0
  • Security 8.7
  • Location 8.3
  • Staff 9.1
  • Atmosphere 8.6
  • Cleanliness 9.0
  • Facilities 9.0
Kiwi Basecamp Located at 69 Bealey Ave, Christchurch, Christchurch.
Kiwi Basecamp
New Zealand
Christchurch 69 Bealey Ave, Christchurch
88% 694
-43.5206330 172.6299628
Kiwi Basecamp
    Rooms available

The rating percentage is calculated from customers who booked within the last 12 months. All ratings and reviews are based on the feedback and opinions of the customers who submitted them and do not express the opinions of Hostelworld.com. This way, you get an up-to-the-minute opinion of just how good a hostel really is.
Read our review guidelines

  • Show:
  • Sort By:
  • Anonymous
  • England, Female, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 9 reviews
11th Jan 2017
8.3

A nice hostel, only small but with a nice outdoor area. Not right in the city but not too far of a walk to the main attractions, a good hostel.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 6.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
8th Jan 2017
9.7

Had a very nice stay, great location also. Hostel very clean with nice amenities/common space and friendly/helpful staff. Only negative comment is that the policy of no showers between 10pm - 6am is inconvenient and unneccesarily strict for travelers passing through, who are looking to freshen up from the road. Other than that, very nice stay.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • England, Male, 41+
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
7th Jan 2017
10.0

The staff were helpful and well informed. The room and bed linen was clean. I had a choice of four separate showers and toilets. They provided freshly baked bread in the mornings along with butter and jam. There was tea and coffee provided. I stayed in Room 4 which had one window above one of the six bunk beds. If the guest next to the window chose to keep it closed there was no ventilation. This meant rather a hot and airless night. The other rooms were better so I am informed.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Australia, Female, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 4 reviews
6th Jan 2017
8.0

A nice hostel. About 20minute walk from ChCh central. High security and the beds were comfortable. Only staff member i saw was when i checked in No powerpoints in the shared bathrooms.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 6.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 6.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • England, Female, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
4th Jan 2017
8.3

Really nice, clean and well situated hostel with lovely communal areas both inside and outside. Staff were extremely friendly and helpful - would definately recommend!

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • England, Female, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
30th Dec 2016
10.0

Only stayed for one night but the cleanliness was fantastic and my bed was so comfy. The bathrooms were immaculate - I've never been in such a nice hostel. Will definitely come back!

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Australia, Mixed Group, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 3 reviews
28th Dec 2016
9.4

Great spot in Christchurch. Lots of excellent modern facilities, clean secure rooms, and friendly staff. Pros: - Big washrooms - Lounges/outdoor areas - Good kitchen - Great, friendly staff - Clean Cons: - Fridge space was lacking (and a bit smelly) - Advertised as continental breakfast *and* bread, only bread was available - Smoking area was outside rooms, which brought the smell in often. As in really strongly. (We realise that smoking is hard to deal with, so take that as you will)

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
23rd Dec 2016
9.4

Very clean, well run hostel. Everyone seemed friendly but also were all long-term "residents" - so it was a bit odd coming in for just a night. Still had a nice stay.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
21st Dec 2016
9.1

These beds! I had been couch surfing, and camping for about three weeks but the bed was still comfy as. I slept like a baby both nights. The six bed dorm was a bit crowded - the arrangement of the beds is a bit weird & left little space for our bags! My next night in the 4 bed dorm was much better with way more room. The staff was super friendly, the outdoor area and lounge were nice for conversations. Kitchen is a bit crowded, toilets get busy in morning, but if youre flexible, no worries

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
9th Dec 2016
8.0

Great place, pretty far out of town but great atmosphere and the staff is really friendly. Good facilities as well, and free bread in the morning!

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 6.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness

Hostelworld Mobile Apps

Book on the go with the new Hostelworld mobile apps.

Search and book more than 33,000 properties in over 170 countries, from anywhere.

Newsletter Sign Up

Submitting your info

Thank you for signing up to our newsletter!

Sign up for our newsletter to get the best hostel deals and news sent straight to your inbox. You can unsubscribe at any time.