Hostelworld.com

Kiwi House

Prices
map
reviews
8.1
Fabulous 232 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 8.0
  • Security 8.5
  • Location 7.1
  • Staff 8.7
  • Atmosphere 7.7
  • Cleanliness 8.0
  • Facilities 8.4
BOOK NOW
8.1
Fabulous 232 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 8.0
  • Security 8.5
  • Location 7.1
  • Staff 8.7
  • Atmosphere 7.7
  • Cleanliness 8.0
  • Facilities 8.4

The rating percentage is calculated from customers who booked within the last 12 months. All ratings and reviews are based on the feedback and opinions of the customers who submitted them and do not express the opinions of Hostelworld.com. This way, you get an up-to-the-minute opinion of just how good a hostel really is.
Read our review guidelines

  • Show:
  • Sort By:
  • kittykat222
  • England, Female, 25-30
  • Avid Traveller
  • 10 reviews
2nd Feb 2017
8.9

Location is about a 15 minute walk into the city centre, quiet area. The hostel is very clean and very cosy. Enjoyed my stay. Lots of long term stayers which means the atmosphere isn't that if a usual backpackers. Staff are very friendly

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 6.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • India, Female, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 3 reviews
22nd Jan 2017
8.0

Nice hostel and friendly staff and accommodating. I would have liked it more if they had more tourist info on Christchurch and could recommend places to visit. The 8 share dorm is super cramped and stuffy in the morning. The kitchen was in another block but was big and spacious. There are lockers in the kitchen. There is a TV room and library which is pretty nice.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 6.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Netherlands, Female, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
11th Dec 2016
6.3

The kitchen was almost always a mess. The dishes stayed in the sink for quite a while and was not dryed before it was put into the the cupboards. There was a limited amount of cutlery, sometimes we could not even eat with fork and knife. The place to sit down and eat was also very limited for the size of the hostel. There were 3 stove, only most of them only had 2 burners which were working.

    • 6.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 6.0Facilities
    • 6.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 4.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Czech Republic, Female, 25-30
  • Avid Traveller
  • 16 reviews
11th Dec 2016
9.7

one of the nicest hostels ever. Even though it's big and there's a lot of people, it has really nice atmosphere.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Canada, Female, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 9 reviews
7th Dec 2016
8.6

Was a bit far from town in a little bit of a shady area, but I think that might just be the Christchurch way... The place itself was great and the hostel staff were absolutely lovely. Very keen to help and very sweet. Also, probably the best sleep I've had in a hostel on this trip (although that is often dependent on who is in the room with you), but still

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 6.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • USA, Mixed Group, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
24th Nov 2016
10.0

We spent 5 days at Kiwi House and after a year in New Zealand, I have to say this was the best hostel we have been to here. It felt very safe and was very clean. The staff is friendly and always willing to help out if you have a question. The beds were the comfiest I have ever slept in in a hostel. I would definitely stay here again if in Christchurch.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
11th Nov 2016
8.6

Staff is very friendly. The only real downfall is the Internet was a bit sketchy. But it was a decent stay and they have a shuttle that will drop you off at locations in the city (eg museum for my bus, bus exchange so I could go to the airport). I would stay there again!

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 6.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
17th Sep 2016
10.0

KiWi House is a fantastic hostel! Room rates are very reasonable even for single rooms. The hostel has free WiFi. It sometimes slow because the accommodation has many customers. So, don't expect too much, but still you can use the WiFi unlimitedly. The location is very convenient. The hostel locates in the city of Christchurch. You can walk anywhere from the hostel. Also, the hostel offers picking up service from the airport or the center bus station. The staffs are very friendly and helpful.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness

Hostelworld Mobile Apps

Book on the go with the new Hostelworld mobile apps.

Search and book more than 33,000 properties in over 170 countries, from anywhere.

Newsletter Sign Up

Submitting your info

Thank you for signing up to our newsletter!

Sign up for our newsletter to get the best hostel deals and news sent straight to your inbox. You can unsubscribe at any time.