Hostelworld.com

Group of 15 or more?

Contact our Group Travel team directly for a tailor made solution for your group

Knockree Hostel (Hostelling International)

Group of 15 or more?

Contact our Group Travel team directly for a tailor made solution for your group

Prices
map
reviews
8.8
Fabulous 461 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 8.8
  • Security 9.1
  • Location 8.9
  • Staff 9.0
  • Atmosphere 8.7
  • Cleanliness 8.9
  • Facilities 8.6
BOOK NOW
8.8
Fabulous 461 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 8.8
  • Security 9.1
  • Location 8.9
  • Staff 9.0
  • Atmosphere 8.7
  • Cleanliness 8.9
  • Facilities 8.6

The rating percentage is calculated from customers who booked within the last 12 months. All ratings and reviews are based on the feedback and opinions of the customers who submitted them and do not express the opinions of Hostelworld.com. This way, you get an up-to-the-minute opinion of just how good a hostel really is.
Read our review guidelines

  • Show:
  • Sort By:
14th Jun 2017
9.4

Great hostel for people wanting a relaxing place to get a few hikes in or just chill out . Amazing views of the Sugarloaf, nice sight when you have your morning coffee. Staff at reception very friendly and engaging, nice area to chill out with good wifi. Would need to stock up with food as next decent supermarket is in Bray

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
16th May 2017
9.7

Excellent. Would highly recommend. Very remote and peaceful area with plenty of relaxing areas to rest. Room 17 was amazing with floor to ceiling windows which had great views of the hillsides.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
4th May 2017
10.0

Staff were friendly and helpful, rooms were clean.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
27th Apr 2017
9.7

The hostel was in a very beautiful part of the Wicklow Mountain area and was nicely arranged with a cabin feel to it. Access to hiking trails was at the doorstep and the staff were very friendly and helpful. I can see why this place is a great draw for youth groups which could be a little loud at times but the hostel staff were excellent in ensuring that by 11pm all was quiet and that the privacy of other guests was paramount. Great place. I'd stay again for sure!

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Germany, Female, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 3 reviews
7th Apr 2017
9.4

Booked two beds in a dorm room, but "I'll check you guys in a private room". Amazing! Rooms were basic, very clean, exactly what we were looking for. Hostel is quiet difficult to reach if you don't have a car, but then again, that is not unusual in Ireland. However, the location was great for having great walks and hikes around the lonely and beautiful Wicklow.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
7th Apr 2017
10.0

I absolutely loved this hostel! It was no where near the city, in the middle of the beautiful hills, surrounded by nature and serenity. You are close to amazing hikes but not far (10-15 min drive) to the town to go to a bar/restaurant. The staff was very friendly and cooks a delicious breakfast. The rooms were neat and clean, and so were the bathrooms. I was lucky enough to be there when it wasn't very busy so I had a 3 bunk room all to myself! I would recommend this place!

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Ireland, Couple, 41+
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
4th Apr 2017
10.0

We received a warm welcome and received our swipe cards for our room. The room was great with a fantastic view of the Sugarloaf mountain and surrounding countryside. The room was spotless. The room was the best in the hostel and it kept it's promise. The bedlinen was fresh and clean and the public facilities and amenities were excellent. The dining room and the grounds have a view to die for. The one man army Graeme was terrific as were the rest of the crew. Our stay flew in but we will return.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Malaysia, Female, 31-40
  • Novice Nomad
  • 7 reviews
1st Apr 2017
7.7

Location - as mentioned in their website, its quite far from the closest town. Environment - fresh air as its far for city noisy. Facilities - all function well except need to replace the mattress (too thin). Staffs - friendly at reception but not at breakfast hall. Since the hostel is built as eco friendly - you can hear clearly when peoples walked around the floor. One con is the washroom light works on sensor and will go off after a few minutes - only works if you outside the toilet/bathroom.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 6.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
  • RussellCoight
  • Australia, Female, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 2 reviews
18th Feb 2017
8.3

Great hostel in a beautiful location!! You should really only stay in this hostel if you are walking the Wicklow Way or have a car due to its relatively remote location - however, it is clean and all the facilities (especially for cooking) are very good. Make sure you bring your own food as shops are far away. One suggestion for the hostel is to supply reasonably sized bowls as the existing ones are tiny!

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 6.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Ireland, Male, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
26th Jan 2017
5.4

Nice place, but the beds are very hard and uncomfortable, and there was a sky box which had virtually no channels. Also nothing in the room to secure your items as you sleep.

    • 4.0Value For Money
    • 6.0Security
    • 2.0Location
    • 4.0Facilities
    • 6.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness

Hostelworld Mobile Apps

Book on the go with the new Hostelworld mobile apps.

Search and book more than 33,000 properties in over 170 countries, from anywhere.

Newsletter Sign Up

Submitting your info

Thank you for signing up to our newsletter!

Sign up for our newsletter to get the best hostel deals and news sent straight to your inbox. You can unsubscribe at any time.