Hostelworld.com

Group of 15 or more?

Contact our Group Travel team directly for a tailor made solution for your group

Knockree Hostel (Hostelling International)

Group of 15 or more?

Contact our Group Travel team directly for a tailor made solution for your group

Prices
map
reviews
8.8
Fabulous 481 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 8.8
  • Security 9.1
  • Location 9.1
  • Staff 8.9
  • Atmosphere 8.5
  • Cleanliness 8.9
  • Facilities 8.4
BOOK NOW
8.8
Fabulous 481 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 8.8
  • Security 9.1
  • Location 9.1
  • Staff 8.9
  • Atmosphere 8.5
  • Cleanliness 8.9
  • Facilities 8.4

The rating percentage is calculated from customers who booked within the last 12 months. All ratings and reviews are based on the feedback and opinions of the customers who submitted them and do not express the opinions of Hostelworld.com. This way, you get an up-to-the-minute opinion of just how good a hostel really is.
Read our review guidelines

  • Show:
  • Sort By:
9th Aug 2017
6.9

Knockree was a lovely hostel. However, the staff and hostelling association should be much more honest to travelers about how to get there. It is miles long walk/hike uphill- and extremely hard to find. I am an elderly person- with a suitcase and backpack. This is not at all doable- the blurb about Knockree makes it sound "easy" and no trouble to get to...this is a blatant lie- I fortunately got a ride there... The location is spectacular and wonderful- right next to the Wicklow Way

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 4.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 6.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
  • England, Male, 41+
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
8th Aug 2017
6.6

I DID send you a review, not a favourable one. And got a response

    • 6.0Value For Money
    • 6.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 6.0Facilities
    • 6.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
  • Ireland, Female, 41+
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
22nd Jul 2017
10.0

Beautiful scenery Friendly staff and nice atmosphere Very clean Safe Suitable for children Looking forward to coming back again!

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • England, Male, 41+
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
20th Jul 2017
10.0

Beautiful location! There needs to be a better road sign above the bridge. We missed the turning and ended up going in circles.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Netherlands, All Male Group, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
18th Jul 2017
4.6

Knockree hostel was amazing! Felt absolutely like home! the manager yelling and cursing all the time reminded me of my own sweet father,He was aggressive and not friendly at all. Didn't close an eye because the matras was as thin and bony as the models on America's next top model. You also really experienced the outdoor feeling with broken toilet, water and coffee machine. After the check out the manager tries to bully you away from the property. The workaway staff were cool.

    • 6.0Value For Money
    • 4.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 2.0Facilities
    • 2.0Staff
    • 2.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
6th Jul 2017
10.0

This hostel was one of the best I've ever stayed in. Absolutely beautiful location and views, great kitchen and living room area, super clean and spacious rooms, very clean bathrooms (separate shower and toilet rooms). There was nothing negative about this hostel. I think it would help to have a car; I'm not sure if public transportation wasa close-by.... But this hostel raises the bar for other hostels! Note: This is not a party hostel.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • England, Male, 41+
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
24th Jun 2017
9.4

Consisting of a motel style building and an older converted house. The fabric and gardens are well maintained with a fabulous views across the Wicklow countryside. Friendly staff got us located into our spacious and immaculate room in the older house and which included tea, coffee and kettle. Self catering, the kitchen and food storage facilities were excellent. Although our night was disturbed by a group of inconsiderate, drunken idiots singing loudly at 3am, I think we were just unlucky.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
14th Jun 2017
9.4

Great hostel for people wanting a relaxing place to get a few hikes in or just chill out . Amazing views of the Sugarloaf, nice sight when you have your morning coffee. Staff at reception very friendly and engaging, nice area to chill out with good wifi. Would need to stock up with food as next decent supermarket is in Bray

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
16th May 2017
9.7

Excellent. Would highly recommend. Very remote and peaceful area with plenty of relaxing areas to rest. Room 17 was amazing with floor to ceiling windows which had great views of the hillsides.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
4th May 2017
10.0

Staff were friendly and helpful, rooms were clean.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness

Hostelworld Mobile Apps

Book on the go with the new Hostelworld mobile apps.

Search and book more than 33,000 properties in over 170 countries, from anywhere.

Newsletter Sign Up

Submitting your info

Thank you for signing up to our newsletter!

Sign up for our newsletter to get the best hostel deals and news sent straight to your inbox. You can unsubscribe at any time.