X

Home to the world's greatest Hostels

30,000 properties, 180 countries Over 3.5 million guest reviews 21 million bookings

Koa Wood Hale Reviews

75-184 Ala Onaona St, Hawaii's Big Island, Kailua-Kona, USA

Reviews & Ratings Explained

80%

Rating
389 Total Reviews
  • 83%Value For Money
  • 73%Security
  • 86%Location
  • 86%Staff
  • 81%Atmosphere
  • 73%Cleanliness
  • 75%Facilities

The rating percentage is calculated from customers who booked within the last 12 months.

All ratings and reviews are based on the feedback and opinions of the customers who submitted them and do not express the opinions of Hostelworld.com. This way, you get an up-to-the-minute opinion of just how good a hostel really is.
Read our review guidelines »

  • Show:

97%

Great hostel in an excellent location with awesome staff! I have stayed there several times and wouldn't hesitate to go back. Great value for the money.

  • 19th Jul 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • USA
  • Male, 31-40
  • (1 review)


94%

I stayed for only 1 night but wish had arrived earlier and stayed longer. The staff was absolutely wonderful, extremely helpful! It is a hostel with a spirit, no doubts. It was simply a good stay; very calm neighbourhood at the same being really close to the ' downtown' , Mcdonalds and supermarket.


63%

Really hot in the rooms. More cockroaches than anywhere else.


89%

Awesome ! Nice place with great atmosphere !!!

  • 6th Jul 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Brazil
  • Male, 31-40
  • (1 review)


77%

The atmosphere is very relaxed and welcoming. Great place to meet other travellers or hang out with the staff :p. The dorm and bathrooms were clean enough, but the kitchen was, you know, standard hostel-cleanish.


66%

Mosquito infested, steaming hot mess with broken taps and steaming hot rooms, I didn't expect aircon but at least well ventilated rooms without mosquitos would have been good. Cleanliness was other concern. The entire place could do with a bit more TLC.


83%

Good Hostel and a decent location, staff was very friendly and helpful, good friendly vibes all around and wonderful system implemented for travelers to get to exchange experiences/meet/get rides. If you're a magnet for mosquitoes like me bring bug spray but that can be said of anywhere in Hawaii really.


80%

He was very nice , but I just think that the sistem is not to good, my reservation didn't appear , but he helped to me Anyway . All the people there was nice .

  • 7th Jun 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Mexico
  • Female, 18-24
  • (1 review)


77%

Good wifi; staff can come across rude when being straightforward but overall nice and helpful

  • 6th Jun 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • USA
  • Male, 25-30
  • (1 review)


83%

Very nice Crew. Almost supernatural :)

  • 1st Jun 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Germany
  • Female, 31-40
  • (1 review)


94%

I booked for a private room and it was exactly what I expected. I arrived a little early but Eric let me keep my suitcase in the office while I killed a couple of hours down at the Ali'i Drive Markets. Eric checked me in quickly - bed was comfortable and the girls dorm area was clean. Met some great people to socialise with; made my first visit to Hawai'i a great experience. Just make sure you a) bring mozzie repellant and b) chill/go with the flow. Great for the solo traveller!

  • 17th May 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Australia
  • Female, 31-40
  • (1 review)


63%

The whole hostel is pretty worn out and needs to be updated. There are no lockers and doors to the building are left open all night. The Mosquitos are also a nightmare, we got at least 30 bites each during our 3 night stay. The bug screens are inadequate and the external doors don't have any screens at all. Everything in the kitchen is pretty grubby and needs washing before use. The fan in the mixed dorm is also broken so it was very hot! The staff were good guys and the wifi is good too.


57%

The cleanliness could have been better. The outdoor was not closed for the night. The bathroom could have been cleaner. There were no lockers. The location was good and the staff was nice.


57%

Pros: It´s a good price if you compare to the others places in the town. Location is very good. Cons: The cleanner (Ben) is the only nice person over there. One of the receptionist (who wear glasses) is rude. And here there is a big issue. If you arrive between noon and 5PM, there´s no one to check in. You only know this when you arrive there. In my case was even worst, because the recepcionist was there in the hostel, but too busy drinking beer and watching tv.


77%

Eric was welcoming and friendly.

  • 7th May 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • USA
  • Female, 31-40
  • (1 review)


86%

Nice location but a lot of mosquitoes!!


66%

There's a problem it mosquitos and parking. Make sure you bring bug spray or you will have tons of mosquito bites. There's even mosquitos in bedrooms. If you rent a car you may have parking issues due to only having 3 parking spaces available. This hostel will charge $10 for room key.

  • 22nd Apr 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • USA
  • Male, 25-30
  • (1 review)


100%

Exceptionally clean and roomy. Was a truly great experience staying here. 5 stars for the staff as well, so nice to be around such laid back and chill professional people.


60%

Warning: the mosquitoes here were like an Alfred Hitchcock film. They're everywhere, not just outside but in the dorms, common areas, kitchens. Many of the appliances (refrigerators, stoves etc) are in bad shape if they're functioning at all. There are a limited # of lockers so don't count on getting one. The staff are perhaps a little TOO laid back, they seem to want to skate by with minimum effort. One the plus side, the upstairs deck has a nice ocean view and the beds are quite comfortable.


86%

Excellent location within walking distance to the waterfront in Kona, where there are lots of cafes and shops to enjoy. Staff was very helpful and recommended great beaches for us to enjoy. Good social atmosphere. Definitely a great place to base yourself on the Kona side of the island!


« first « Prev 1 2
(40 results)


View all Kailua-Kona Hostels

Please give us your feedback