Hostelworld.com
HostelBookers Logo

Group of 15 or more?

Contact our Group Travel team directly for a tailor made solution for your group

Koa Wood Hale

Group of 15 or more?

Contact our Group Travel team directly for a tailor made solution for your group

Prices
map
reviews
8.0
Fabulous 536 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 8.3
  • Security 7.7
  • Location 8.5
  • Staff 8.2
  • Atmosphere 8.1
  • Cleanliness 7.3
  • Facilities 7.7
BOOK NOW
8.0
Fabulous 536 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 8.3
  • Security 7.7
  • Location 8.5
  • Staff 8.2
  • Atmosphere 8.1
  • Cleanliness 7.3
  • Facilities 7.7
Koa Wood Hale Located at 75-184 Ala Onaona St, Hawaii's Big Island, Kailua-Kona.
Koa Wood Hale
USA
Kailua-Kona Hawaii 96740 75-184 Ala Onaona St, Hawaii's Big Island
80% 536
19.6415568 -155.9890365
Koa Wood Hale
    Rooms available

The rating percentage is calculated from customers who booked within the last 12 months. All ratings and reviews are based on the feedback and opinions of the customers who submitted them and do not express the opinions of Hostelworld.com. This way, you get an up-to-the-minute opinion of just how good a hostel really is.
Read our review guidelines

  • Show:
  • Sort By:
  • Anonymous
  • Australia, Male, 41+
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
26th Sep 2016
4.6

Can't check in between 12 noon and 5 pm cool for the owner, not so cool once you walk up the hill and have to wait 4 hours! Staff generally cool but one balding dude may be better suited to being a jail warden. Get what you pay for on reflection, Some value here in very overpriced tourist area. But don't expect much and you will be fine.

    • 6.0Value For Money
    • 6.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 4.0Facilities
    • 2.0Staff
    • 2.0Atmosphere
    • 4.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • USA, Female, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
15th Sep 2016
7.7

wish there were places we could lock our bags up. lockers or cages would have been nice, but rooms were usually left open and unlocked

    • 6.0Value For Money
    • 4.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • USA, Female, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
8th Sep 2016
7.1

VERY basic accommodations, like staying in a box

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 6.0Facilities
    • 6.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 6.0Cleanliness
1st Sep 2016
4.9

Reception closed during 12 and 3 pm Got kicked out of the place while I was waiting in the comon area for the reception to open at 3 pm to return the key (I was late) Very few glasses and no pot in kitchen Found a homeless in the dorm Staff had been once very helpful and then rather grumpy Not much atmosphere to meet traveler when i was there Close to the beach, city center and to the Wal-Mart (walking distance)

    • 4.0Value For Money
    • 4.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 4.0Facilities
    • 4.0Staff
    • 4.0Atmosphere
    • 6.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Germany, Female, 31-40
  • Novice Nomad
  • 6 reviews
6th Aug 2016
10.0

*great room and facilities *close to shopping facilities *very friendly and helpful staff *felt a little like being home, even for just 4 nights Thanks Josh and Everett! x

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • USA, Female, 41+
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
27th Jul 2016
8.3

Great location! This was my first time staying at a hostel. Bunks were comfortable, everyone was friendly, and just a short walk to town and the beaches.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 6.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • USA, Female, 41+
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
9th Jul 2016
10.0

This is a great hostel. So nice to be greeted with a friendly welcome. Escorted to my room and got to meet the group in the attached living room. Chatted with them for awhile and really enjoyed it. Nice comfy clean room and bed. Very nice people. Very good Internet. I'd definitely go again. Bring breakfast food cause there is no free breakfast but a kitchen to use.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • USA, Male, 31-40
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
30th Jun 2016
10.0

my wife and I had a great time at the hostel. Great setting, nice amenities, nice staff :)

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
28th Jun 2016
7.1

Simple hostel, relatively close to the downtown area. They are not open during most of the afternoon, which makes check-in complicated. Bathroom was full of littel ants at night...but they were all gone in the morning, so who knows what that was about. Laundry facilities...but you need lots of quarters, and that dryer works well. Rooms get very hot at night.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 6.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 6.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • USA, Male, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
18th Jun 2016
9.4

Great people

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness

Hostelworld Mobile Apps

Book on the go with the new Hostelworld mobile apps.

Search and book more than 33,000 properties in over 170 countries, from anywhere.

Newsletter Sign Up

Submitting your info

Thank you for signing up to our newsletter!

Sign up for our monthly Newsletter to get the best hostel deals and news sent straight your inbox. You can unsubscribe at any time.