Hostelworld.com

Koa Wood Hale

Prices
map
reviews
7.8
Very Good 493 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 8.3
  • Security 7.3
  • Location 8.5
  • Staff 7.8
  • Atmosphere 7.5
  • Cleanliness 7.4
  • Facilities 7.4
BOOK NOW
7.8
Very Good 493 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 8.3
  • Security 7.3
  • Location 8.5
  • Staff 7.8
  • Atmosphere 7.5
  • Cleanliness 7.4
  • Facilities 7.4
Koa Wood Hale Located at 75-184 Ala Onaona St, Hawaii's Big Island, Kailua-Kona.
Koa Wood Hale
USA
Kailua-Kona Indiana 96740 75-184 Ala Onaona St, Hawaii's Big Island
78% 493
19.6415568 -155.9890365
Koa Wood Hale
    Rooms available

The rating percentage is calculated from customers who booked within the last 12 months. All ratings and reviews are based on the feedback and opinions of the customers who submitted them and do not express the opinions of Hostelworld.com. This way, you get an up-to-the-minute opinion of just how good a hostel really is.
Read our review guidelines

  • Show:
  • Sort By:
  • Anonymous
  • Canada, Female, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
6th May 2016
8.6

Was clean, no bugs really which is saying a lot for Hawaii, all in all it was a simple place. My only complaint would be they won't let you check in at random points so it can be hard to stay there if your flights landing late at night. The owner doesn't really care if youre screwed.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 6.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Italy, Female, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
1st May 2016
6.9

Was a bit hard to reach the staff when it was time to check out Besides that I had a pleasant experience and met really cool and friendly young people. Would go again if I happened to be in Kona.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 6.0Facilities
    • 4.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 6.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Australia, Couple, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 2 reviews
27th Apr 2016
9.4

The hostel was cheap and close to restaurants and shops, the staff we're awesome and the facilities were great. I would definitely stay here again, and recommend it to my friends.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
18th Apr 2016
10.0

My stay at Koa Wood Hale/Patey's Place was AWESOME! I've never stayed at a hostel so I didn't really know what to expect. I'm more than impressed with the staff, the accommodations, the location, and how clean the house was. The staff are so welcoming, friendly and always willing to help you out if you need anything! I'm definitely recommending it to all my family and friends looking for a place to stay in Kona, HI! BRAVO to the staff! You're INCREDIBLE!

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • USA, Male, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
11th Apr 2016
9.4

had a good stay, one of the cleaner hostels i have stayed

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • heat85965581946
  • USA, Male, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 2 reviews
3rd Apr 2016
10.0

This place was amazing! It's so close to all the snorkeling areas and the staff was amazing! Also there's this little cat named Fiona who is so adorable. They have a common area where people can get together and relaxed. Would definitely stay there again.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • USA, Female, 41+
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
29th Feb 2016
7.4

I stayed in a private room which was so sweet as I had been in bunk beds for a week. It was a very comfortable room. The shared bathroom was clean. I really like that this hostel has more than 1 kitchen.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 6.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Canada, Couple, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 2 reviews
26th Feb 2016
8.3

Everything was fantastic here, my only issue was that in the morning there was no staff member at the desk even though the desk was definitely supposed to be open. We had to ask a different staff member, who also took a good half an hour, to find the right person to whom we could return our keys (and get the deposit back), it took him a solid hour to finally show up. When you're trying to catch a flight, little things like that are stressful.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 6.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 6.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • USA, Female, 31-40
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
26th Feb 2016
9.1

Overall convenient and worth the price. Only complaint is that kitchen supplies were minimal (no forks) and I got a bunch of mosquito bites in the kitchen (but that's pretty unavoidable in Hawaii).

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
18th Feb 2016
7.7

Nice staff. Cheap place. O:)

    • 6.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness

Hostelworld Mobile Apps

Book on the go with the new Hostelworld mobile apps.

Search and book more than 33,000 properties in over 170 countries, from anywhere.

Newsletter Sign Up

Submitting your info

Thank you for signing up to our newsletter!

Sign up for our monthly Newsletter to get the best hostel deals and news sent straight your inbox. You can unsubscribe at any time.