Hostelworld.com

Koa Wood Hale

Prices
map
reviews
8.0
Fabulous 511 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 8.4
  • Security 7.7
  • Location 8.7
  • Staff 8.1
  • Atmosphere 7.9
  • Cleanliness 7.6
  • Facilities 7.7
BOOK NOW
8.0
Fabulous 511 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 8.4
  • Security 7.7
  • Location 8.7
  • Staff 8.1
  • Atmosphere 7.9
  • Cleanliness 7.6
  • Facilities 7.7
Koa Wood Hale Located at 75-184 Ala Onaona St, Hawaii's Big Island, Kailua-Kona.
Koa Wood Hale
USA
Kailua-Kona Hawaii 96740 75-184 Ala Onaona St, Hawaii's Big Island
80% 511
19.6415568 -155.9890365
Koa Wood Hale
    Rooms available

The rating percentage is calculated from customers who booked within the last 12 months. All ratings and reviews are based on the feedback and opinions of the customers who submitted them and do not express the opinions of Hostelworld.com. This way, you get an up-to-the-minute opinion of just how good a hostel really is.
Read our review guidelines

  • Show:
  • Sort By:
28th Jun 2016
7.1

Simple hostel, relatively close to the downtown area. They are not open during most of the afternoon, which makes check-in complicated. Bathroom was full of littel ants at night...but they were all gone in the morning, so who knows what that was about. Laundry facilities...but you need lots of quarters, and that dryer works well. Rooms get very hot at night.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 6.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 6.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • USA, Male, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
18th Jun 2016
9.4

Great people

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • USA, All Female Group, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
16th Jun 2016
6.9

Not the dirtiest place I've stayed in but definitely not the cleanest. Be prepared for your feet to be dirty the whole time you are here, especially right after showering because the floor is almost always covered with sand and dirt even though everyone let their shoes at the door. The location was nice because it was right near the town of Kona so you could walk everywhere, but if you want to get to more scenic places you will need transportation. I liked the set up too.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 6.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 6.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 4.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • USA, Male, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
8th Jun 2016
9.7

Had a great stay at Koa Wood Hale. The price couldn't be beat, the people were extremely friendly and the staff was very helpful. The location is INCREDIBLE and just a couple minutes walk to the Kona pier and all of the shops in Kailua-Kona.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
3rd Jun 2016
7.1

It's an okay place to stay for a day!!

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 6.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 6.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • China, Female, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 5 reviews
2nd Jun 2016
8.6

Staff there are nice,met two girls driving me around , great experience in Kona!! And also in this hostle!!

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • England, Male, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 2 reviews
1st Jun 2016
8.9

Convenient location in Kona, quick to walk into town and easy to drive to. Staff, owner and other travellers were friendly to chat over a few beers one night, but otherwise it was a quiet place. I had a car to be able to explore outside of town and had no problems parking at hostel or on side roads, but it wasn't peak season.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Czech Republic, Female, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 4 reviews
31st May 2016
10.0

I had a brilliant stay at Koa Wood Hale. Staff was really friendly, very welcoming and amazingly helpful. Happy about comfy bed, hot shower, general cleanliness, friendly atmosphere and equipment there is to borrow. Thank you, you are the best! :)

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • USA, Female, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
29th May 2016
8.6

I stayed here with my dad for the June 4, 2016 Honu Ironman 70.3 Josh is a pretty cool guy. I got to meet some nice people and stay very close to the beach. This trip was an incredible experience and I will definitely be coming back. Also, for anyone considering not coming because of some reviews that mention bugs, it's a tropical island. There are bugs in rental cars and 5 star hotels. It's part of life, and if that deters you from staying here, you might want to reconsider your whole trip

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 6.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Hong Kong, Female, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
28th May 2016
8.0

The location is easy to find and close to the main street. The staff are nice and the environment is good.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 6.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness

Hostelworld Mobile Apps

Book on the go with the new Hostelworld mobile apps.

Search and book more than 33,000 properties in over 170 countries, from anywhere.

Newsletter Sign Up

Submitting your info

Thank you for signing up to our newsletter!

Sign up for our monthly Newsletter to get the best hostel deals and news sent straight your inbox. You can unsubscribe at any time.