Hostelworld.com
HostelBookers Logo

Group of 15 or more?

Contact our Group Travel team directly for a tailor made solution for your group

Koa Wood Hale

Group of 15 or more?

Contact our Group Travel team directly for a tailor made solution for your group

Prices
map
reviews
7.5
Very Good 551 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 7.8
  • Security 7.1
  • Location 8.2
  • Staff 8.0
  • Atmosphere 7.3
  • Cleanliness 6.7
  • Facilities 7.2
BOOK NOW
7.5
Very Good 551 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 7.8
  • Security 7.1
  • Location 8.2
  • Staff 8.0
  • Atmosphere 7.3
  • Cleanliness 6.7
  • Facilities 7.2
Koa Wood Hale Located at 75-184 Ala Onaona St, Hawaii's Big Island, Kailua-Kona.
Koa Wood Hale
USA
Kailua-Kona Hawaii 96740 75-184 Ala Onaona St, Hawaii's Big Island
75% 551
19.6415568 -155.9890365
Koa Wood Hale
    Rooms available

The rating percentage is calculated from customers who booked within the last 12 months. All ratings and reviews are based on the feedback and opinions of the customers who submitted them and do not express the opinions of Hostelworld.com. This way, you get an up-to-the-minute opinion of just how good a hostel really is.
Read our review guidelines

  • Show:
  • Sort By:
  • Anonymous
  • Canada, Male, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
21st Nov 2016
7.1

Friendly people all around but the place needs some sort of reno. Everything is quite run down from screen doors with big holes, bathrooms with one hook and stains on the couches. Staff are very keen in terms of organisation and there is first come first serve free scuba/board rentals. During your stay, donations to local mosquitoes are almost mandatory. Not certain why there is no shoe policy, barefoot bathroom = ugh. There's free athlete's foot spray available...no joke

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 6.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 6.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 4.0Cleanliness
17th Nov 2016
9.1

The staff was very nice and the place too and when I go back to that city I'll stay there again

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
27th Oct 2016
8.6

Nice location and good quality/price

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
22nd Oct 2016
2.0

I called to let the property know I would be arriving late due to a storm we were caught in on another part of the island - the person who answered the phone was rude and just stated they would not be around to let us in. I better not be charged for those nights since it was the properties choice to not accommodate the "PAYING GUESTS". I would never recommend this place to anyone based on this experience.

    • 2.0Value For Money
    • 2.0Security
    • 2.0Location
    • 2.0Facilities
    • 2.0Staff
    • 2.0Atmosphere
    • 2.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Canada, Female, 31-40
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
18th Oct 2016
10.0

What a awesome stay! Very laid back, quiet, safe, comfortable, clean and friendly hostel. I was welcome warmly by the staff and showed around. This place has a home kinda vibe. The owner answered kindly all my question about how to make my stay memorable and direct me to some special place only local know about. Definitely a memorable time there. The place is 10 min walks from beaches, shops, restaurant, market. Loved it and will surely comeback next time I visit!!! Thanks :)

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • USA, Female, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
11th Oct 2016
8.6

This place is pretty cool, great location, has parking but it is limited. Cheapest hostel I found on the island... Not the cleanest, but not scary dirty... Definitely do-able... The only thing I had a real issue with was the lack of lockers... Your dorm room has a key, but it doesn't do any good if your roommates don't lock the door... I had a rental car and locked my valuables in the trunk (which I hear is a bad idea on the Big Island as cars get broken into all the time...)

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 6.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Australia, Male, 41+
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
26th Sep 2016
4.6

Can't check in between 12 noon and 5 pm cool for the owner, not so cool once you walk up the hill and have to wait 4 hours! Staff generally cool but one balding dude may be better suited to being a jail warden. Get what you pay for on reflection, Some value here in very overpriced tourist area. But don't expect much and you will be fine.

    • 6.0Value For Money
    • 6.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 4.0Facilities
    • 2.0Staff
    • 2.0Atmosphere
    • 4.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • England, Male, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
18th Sep 2016
2.9

The worst hostel I've ever stayed in. Another guest had to give me a tour because the staff member could not be bothered. I saw the staff ignore countless phone calls throughout the day because they were too busy watching movies. Because of this, security was also non-existent, you would have to knock on their bedroom door if you wanted any form of staff assistance as they would be in there watching their television. No door was ever locked and they rarely cleaned anything. Completely awful.

    • 4.0Value For Money
    • 2.0Security
    • 6.0Location
    • 2.0Facilities
    • 2.0Staff
    • 2.0Atmosphere
    • 2.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • USA, Female, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
15th Sep 2016
7.7

wish there were places we could lock our bags up. lockers or cages would have been nice, but rooms were usually left open and unlocked

    • 6.0Value For Money
    • 4.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • USA, Female, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
8th Sep 2016
7.1

VERY basic accommodations, like staying in a box

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 6.0Facilities
    • 6.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 6.0Cleanliness

Hostelworld Mobile Apps

Book on the go with the new Hostelworld mobile apps.

Search and book more than 33,000 properties in over 170 countries, from anywhere.

Newsletter Sign Up

Submitting your info

Thank you for signing up to our newsletter!

Sign up for our newsletter to get the best hostel deals and news sent straight to your inbox. You can unsubscribe at any time.