Hostelworld.com
HostelBookers Logo

Group of 15 or more?

Contact our Group Travel team directly for a tailor made solution for your group

Koa Wood Hale

Group of 15 or more?

Contact our Group Travel team directly for a tailor made solution for your group

Prices
map
reviews
6.8
Good 578 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 7.0
  • Security 6.4
  • Location 8.3
  • Staff 7.3
  • Atmosphere 6.7
  • Cleanliness 6.1
  • Facilities 6.1
BOOK NOW
6.8
Good 578 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 7.0
  • Security 6.4
  • Location 8.3
  • Staff 7.3
  • Atmosphere 6.7
  • Cleanliness 6.1
  • Facilities 6.1

The rating percentage is calculated from customers who booked within the last 12 months. All ratings and reviews are based on the feedback and opinions of the customers who submitted them and do not express the opinions of Hostelworld.com. This way, you get an up-to-the-minute opinion of just how good a hostel really is.
Read our review guidelines

  • Show:
  • Sort By:
  • Anonymous
  • USA, Female, 31-40
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
21st Feb 2017
8.3

Nice location with big second floor deck that was really nice. Very quiet at 10, especially for a hostel. Only complaint was that the bed was extremely uncomfortable so did not sleep well.

    • 6.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • USA, Male, 41+
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
1st Feb 2017
9.1

Staff was nice and very friendly and helpful, especially BEN. It was fun meeting and talking with the new people coming and going. It was truly a great experience. MICK DESANNOY

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 6.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • topher4068512
  • Australia, Male, 31-40
  • Novice Nomad
  • 2 reviews
27th Jan 2017
7.1

Stayed a couple of times, with different staff each time. The first the staff was really helpful and friendly, and the second time the guy was very arrogant, and also stayed up drinking out the front with his mates for hours past their "quiet time", which he had made sure to point out and remind me when we were checking in. The place would rate a lot better if he wasn't there!

    • 6.0Value For Money
    • 6.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 6.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
25th Jan 2017
6.3

It was pretty average. About a 15 minute walk to the head ocean and main street. Staff was good, but almost felt like they didn't really care. However, for the amount of time I actually spent in the hostel it was worth the money spent.

    • 6.0Value For Money
    • 6.0Security
    • 6.0Location
    • 6.0Facilities
    • 6.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 6.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • France, Female, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
25th Jan 2017
8.0

The location was great, near the city center and restaurants and stuff. As for the rest, I met great people in that hostel so I keep a good memory of it but 3 days is definitely not enough to see big island but maybe too long to see Kona.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 6.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Canada, Female, 41+
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
21st Jan 2017
8.6

Basically what others have said. Pretty run down, but the cost, location, and staff make up for it. If you want a stocked kitchen you might be disappointed, but it was kept clean. Hostel-mates were great too! I would definitely return.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 6.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 6.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Canada, Mixed Group, 41+
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
9th Jan 2017
5.4

Need better equipped kitchens, fully functioning washrooms, and later hours for registration. Quiet time should be 11 pm to 7 am.

    • 6.0Value For Money
    • 6.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 4.0Facilities
    • 6.0Staff
    • 4.0Atmosphere
    • 4.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Egypt, Male, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
2nd Jan 2017
8.3

I enjoyed staying there.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 6.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
1st Jan 2017
7.1

It's a functional no frills hostel in a convenient location -- 5 minutes walk to the oceanfront. It's the only hostel in Kailua town and the cheapest hostel in the area. Just don't arrive after 10 p.m. or no one will be there to check you in. If you arrive at the airport after 9 p.m. get a taxi. The shuttle will take too long. If you arrive after 10, sleep at the airport.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 4.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 6.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Finland, Female, 31-40
  • Novice Nomad
  • 4 reviews
27th Dec 2016
8.3

The location is great, just a short walk from the beach and shops. It's very affordable compared to other accomodation close by. Some of the staff is super nice, some were actually rude. Cleanlines depends on who's cleaning. It would be so easy to improve a lot. Like having even one hook in the bathroom for a towel, having utencils at all times in the kitchen, a kitchen towel and maybe get a coach that doesn't hurt your butt. Small things, big difference. Not a party hostel, which is great.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 6.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness

Hostelworld Mobile Apps

Book on the go with the new Hostelworld mobile apps.

Search and book more than 33,000 properties in over 170 countries, from anywhere.

Newsletter Sign Up

Submitting your info

Thank you for signing up to our newsletter!

Sign up for our newsletter to get the best hostel deals and news sent straight to your inbox. You can unsubscribe at any time.