Hostelworld.com

Koa Wood Hale

Prices
map
reviews
7.6
Very Good 481 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 8.1
  • Security 7.1
  • Location 8.3
  • Staff 7.7
  • Atmosphere 7.3
  • Cleanliness 7.3
  • Facilities 7.4
BOOK NOW
7.6
Very Good 481 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 8.1
  • Security 7.1
  • Location 8.3
  • Staff 7.7
  • Atmosphere 7.3
  • Cleanliness 7.3
  • Facilities 7.4
Koa Wood Hale Located at 75-184 Ala Onaona St, Hawaii's Big Island, Kailua-Kona.
Koa Wood Hale
USA
Kailua-Kona Indiana 96740 75-184 Ala Onaona St, Hawaii's Big Island
76% 481
19.6415568 -155.9890365
Koa Wood Hale
    Rooms available

The rating percentage is calculated from customers who booked within the last 12 months. All ratings and reviews are based on the feedback and opinions of the customers who submitted them and do not express the opinions of Hostelworld.com. This way, you get an up-to-the-minute opinion of just how good a hostel really is.
Read our review guidelines

  • Show:
  • Sort By:
3rd Apr 2016
10.0

This place was amazing! It's so close to all the snorkeling areas and the staff was amazing! Also there's this little cat named Fiona who is so adorable. They have a common area where people can get together and relaxed. Would definitely stay there again.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • USA, Female, 41+
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
29th Feb 2016
7.4

I stayed in a private room which was so sweet as I had been in bunk beds for a week. It was a very comfortable room. The shared bathroom was clean. I really like that this hostel has more than 1 kitchen.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 6.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Canada, Couple, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 2 reviews
26th Feb 2016
8.3

Everything was fantastic here, my only issue was that in the morning there was no staff member at the desk even though the desk was definitely supposed to be open. We had to ask a different staff member, who also took a good half an hour, to find the right person to whom we could return our keys (and get the deposit back), it took him a solid hour to finally show up. When you're trying to catch a flight, little things like that are stressful.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 6.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 6.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • USA, Female, 31-40
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
26th Feb 2016
9.1

Overall convenient and worth the price. Only complaint is that kitchen supplies were minimal (no forks) and I got a bunch of mosquito bites in the kitchen (but that's pretty unavoidable in Hawaii).

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
18th Feb 2016
7.7

Nice staff. Cheap place. O:)

    • 6.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • USA, Female, 41+
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
15th Feb 2016
8.0

I arrived at hostel shortly before 10 pm and left by 8:30 the next am, so my stay was very brief. I ended up getting lucky and had a four-bed room to myself, so it was quiet for much needed sleep. The staff was adequately helpful, and let me stash my bag there during the day while hiking around the area. I didn't use the kitchen facilities so can't comment on that.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 6.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • USA, Male, 41+
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
8th Feb 2016
7.7

Koa Wood Hale/Patey's Place is a fun hostel in the heart of Kailua Kona. Great location is within walking distance of beaches, restaurants, pubs and shopping. Josh and staff are cool young adults who know about local activities. They'll let you use anything around the place but are not replacing things that guests take with them so that might not be true much longer (Use stuff but don't take it with you!). It's not super clean but not dirty either. There are some bugs around but it's Hawaii!

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 6.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 6.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • USA, Female, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
1st Feb 2016
6.6

This hostel is huge! There are separate apartments for eight people, 4 in each bedroom, with separate kitchens and bathrooms. Pretty clean for a hostel, with a large upper deck section. They have some parking spaces and are located next to really great restaurants and they are within walking distance to some local beaches.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 4.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 6.0Facilities
    • 4.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 6.0Cleanliness
26th Jan 2016
7.7

I think rooms keyless and the Hostel doors open during the day could be a little bit dangerous.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 6.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 6.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Netherlands, Female, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 6 reviews
24th Jan 2016
7.1

This is a decent hostel, but don't expect too much. It's the only hostel in Kailua (there's a hostel in Cpt Cook and another one a little to the south of Kailua), you can walk to the shops and some beaches, but you'll need a car for Hawaií's highlights anyway. It's clean, staff are nice enough, there's at least three kitchens if you feel like cooking. No alcohol allowed, which may be why the place is not very social. Prices quoted are incl tax, which was nice for a change :)

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 6.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 6.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness

Hostelworld Mobile Apps

Book on the go with the new Hostelworld mobile apps.

Search and book more than 33,000 properties in over 170 countries, from anywhere.

Newsletter Sign Up

Submitting your info

Thank you for signing up to our newsletter!

Sign up for our monthly Newsletter to get the best hostel deals and news sent straight your inbox. You can unsubscribe at any time.