Hostelworld.com

Group of 15 or more?

Contact our Group Travel team directly for a tailor made solution for your group

Koh Lipe Backpackers Hostel

Group of 15 or more?

Contact our Group Travel team directly for a tailor made solution for your group

Prices
map
reviews
7.5
Very Good 156 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 7.8
  • Security 6.8
  • Location 9.2
  • Staff 8.2
  • Atmosphere 7.2
  • Cleanliness 6.5
  • Facilities 6.6
BOOK NOW
7.5
Very Good 156 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 7.8
  • Security 6.8
  • Location 9.2
  • Staff 8.2
  • Atmosphere 7.2
  • Cleanliness 6.5
  • Facilities 6.6

The rating percentage is calculated from customers who booked within the last 12 months. All ratings and reviews are based on the feedback and opinions of the customers who submitted them and do not express the opinions of Hostelworld.com. This way, you get an up-to-the-minute opinion of just how good a hostel really is.
Read our review guidelines

  • Show:
  • Sort By:
  • kempe
  • British Virgin Islands, Female, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 8 reviews
14th May 2017
6.3

Overrun with mosquitoes, and a/c only on for a few hours overnight. Was right on the beach which was good but at the very far end of the beach and also it's called something different so it took me a while to find it. Also all the doors were left open so anyone could have walked in. But it was nice being on the beach and they gave you free snorkel to use x

    • 6.0Value For Money
    • 4.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 4.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Germany, Male, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
28th Mar 2017
8.0

First of all I think this hostel is about the best you can find on Koh Lipe for that kind of money. So it's a very basic hostel inside a diving school, that has lockers, drinking water, toilet facilities and a very small chilling area - so basically enough if you just stay here to sleep. Two other points you should know: a) it is sandy everywhere (I mean come the building is literally on the beach) b) none of the doors are lockable so you need a little trust and probably lock your valuables.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 6.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 6.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • England, Female, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 2 reviews
28th Mar 2017
3.4

Doors left open so anyone can walk in and out. No keys provided to lock doors. The smallest 8 bedded dorm I've ever stayed in, no where to put bags etc. Felt very claustrophobic at all times, mosquitos everywhere and provided with no nets. Dirty and unhygienic, the toilet wasn't cleaned for the whole 3 days of our stay with dirty used toilet tissue overfilling the small waste bins. The smell was awful. Sheets weren't changed when people left.

    • 2.0Value For Money
    • 4.0Security
    • 6.0Location
    • 2.0Facilities
    • 4.0Staff
    • 4.0Atmosphere
    • 2.0Cleanliness
26th Mar 2017
3.7

Location was awesome right on the beach & five minutes to the walking street. The room however was infested with mosquitos, like swarms of them. Mosquitoes nets would have helped the room situation but the showers were also infested and one of the two shower heads was broken.

    • 2.0Value For Money
    • 4.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 2.0Facilities
    • 4.0Staff
    • 2.0Atmosphere
    • 2.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Norway, Female, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 9 reviews
24th Mar 2017
9.1

Great location at the beach! We ended up staying here for a week and were very pleased. Chill hang out area up front and the next door neighbor is an even more chill beach bar where you can also get breakfast. If you're planning on doing some diving on your trip, do it here! I slept like a baby here. As stated in other reviews, don't expect too much. The rooms and fascilites are pretty basic, but you won't be spending much of your time there anyways. I wouldn't want to stay anywhere else!

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Canada, Female, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 9 reviews
23rd Mar 2017
10.0

Great place to stay! The family was incredibly sweet, and the hostel owner will drive you to the other side of the island if you ask.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • USA, Mixed Group, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 2 reviews
19th Mar 2017
8.9

My friends and I loved staying here!! It was so perfect being right on the beach - definitely worth the money simply for the location! He staff was really chill and nice. Plenty of drinking water, hot showers, good AC and decent beds. Best hostel on the island, looks like!

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Germany, Male, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 9 reviews
15th Mar 2017
10.0

Awesome hostel! Don't expect any fancy place. Expect a social and chill place directly on the beach next to kind of a hippy bar on a beautiful island. All doors are open all the time but it you want you can lock your valuables away with your own padlock. If you travel to koh lipe on your own and you are used to staying in hostels in Asia, then stay in this place!

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • England, Male, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 4 reviews
23rd Feb 2017
8.6

The owners were lovely. Great location, right on the beach. Lockers provided. Would stay again.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 6.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 6.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • England, Female, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 9 reviews
20th Feb 2017
6.3

Basic hostel. Not the cleanest, but the hostel is pretty much on the beach which is great. Lots of mosquitos in the room and no nets.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 4.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 6.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 4.0Cleanliness

Hostelworld Mobile Apps

Book on the go with the new Hostelworld mobile apps.

Search and book more than 33,000 properties in over 170 countries, from anywhere.

Newsletter Sign Up

Submitting your info

Thank you for signing up to our newsletter!

Sign up for our newsletter to get the best hostel deals and news sent straight to your inbox. You can unsubscribe at any time.