Hostelworld.com
HostelBookers Logo

Group of 15 or more?

Contact our Group Travel team directly for a tailor made solution for your group

Koh Tao Backpackers Hostel

Group of 15 or more?

Contact our Group Travel team directly for a tailor made solution for your group

Prices
map
reviews
6.9
Good 578 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 7.1
  • Security 7.5
  • Location 8.9
  • Staff 6.9
  • Atmosphere 6.1
  • Cleanliness 5.9
  • Facilities 5.8
BOOK NOW
6.9
Good 578 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 7.1
  • Security 7.5
  • Location 8.9
  • Staff 6.9
  • Atmosphere 6.1
  • Cleanliness 5.9
  • Facilities 5.8
Koh Tao Backpackers Hostel Located at Sairee Beach, Sairee, Koh Tao.
Koh Tao Backpackers Hostel
Thailand
Koh Tao Surat Thani 84360 Sairee Beach, Sairee
69% 578
10.0991163 99.8295503
Koh Tao Backpackers Hostel
    Rooms available

The rating percentage is calculated from customers who booked within the last 12 months. All ratings and reviews are based on the feedback and opinions of the customers who submitted them and do not express the opinions of Hostelworld.com. This way, you get an up-to-the-minute opinion of just how good a hostel really is.
Read our review guidelines

  • Show:
  • Sort By:
  • Anonymous
  • England, Mixed Group, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
21st Nov 2016
8.3

We were checked in to a dirty room, but it was cleaned later that day. We had the four bed dorm to ourselves (2) for our stay, which was nice. The wifi was really good and the staff let us check out late for no extra charge. There is a big communal area (a room with a TV and the roof, with sofas). Would reccomend, though only one member of staff spoke seemed able to communicate effectively.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 6.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 6.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • England, Female, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 2 reviews
18th Nov 2016
8.0

Central to everything and staff friendly. Hostel was clean although could do with some updating. A lot of reviews regarding the toilets and yes they do smell of the drain however they were clean. Bathrooms upstairs were a lot nicer so I wouldn't let the bad reviews put you off staying here. Only this is that there wasn't a party atmosphere like all the other reviews said so made it more difficult to meet people however met people in our dorm which were cool. Overall enjoyed our stay here.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 4.0Atmosphere
    • 6.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Canada, Female, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 3 reviews
18th Nov 2016
7.1

Great location, decent facilities. Pretty clean, AC was really nice.

    • 6.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 6.0Facilities
    • 6.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 6.0Cleanliness
11th Nov 2016
6.6

Great location! I met a lot of great people here after moving from a quieter hostel near the pier. Showers and toilets are pretty gross but the atmosphere, people and location male up for it. I would stay here again for the sole purpose of meeting people and being near the nightlife and beach.

    • 6.0Value For Money
    • 6.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 4.0Facilities
    • 6.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 4.0Cleanliness
19th Sep 2016
7.4

Only cons really were we arrived and had to split into two rooms, weren't allowed to move into the other room even though there were free beds the next night. The air con in our room wasn't very cold but the other rooms seemed fine. Nice hostel but the bathrooms smelled so bad but that can't be helped, probably just the drains. Would probably stay there again! Get a towel, locker, fresh sheets and never had to queue for toilets/showers :)

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 6.0Staff
    • 4.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
View Property Reply

Hmmm seems strange that the reception staff refused to move your rooms for the second night so you could be together that's very odd. I'll check that out as my guess is that there must have been some reason as to why they wouldn't do that as usually they do as soon at it is possible.

  • henrygeorgeking414
  • England, Male, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 2 reviews
17th Sep 2016
6.3

Perfect location for the beach, bars and pub crawl. Staff on desk 24/7, and keen to help if there's an issue with your room. Facilities aren't great, toilet/shower area rather disgusting. AC hit and miss. Photograph of pool rather misleading as this is used by the divers. If you're looking to party this is ideal.

    • 6.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 4.0Facilities
    • 6.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 4.0Cleanliness
View Property Reply

To be fair though we do state in the description that the pool belongs to the dive school and the hostel customers are welcome to use it, so it's actually not misleading at all.

  • Anonymous
  • England, Female, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 7 reviews
9th Sep 2016
9.7

Location was bang on, 2 minutes from the beach and bars but on a quieter street. Free use of the pool in Davey Jones Locker next door and a discount on food/drinks (amazing food!) We stayed in an 8 bed mixed dorm and there was only 3 plug points between everyone, no bed lights either. Looking into other dorms it looked like they all had bed lights and individual plug points so it might have just been our room. Really clean and plenty of showers and things so overall a good experience!

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • England, Female, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 2 reviews
2nd Sep 2016
8.3

Perfect location and the best hostel for single travellers. Very social. Communal area on the roof which brings everyone together. Very basic but you get what you pay for. The only negative thing I can say is that your only given a small blanket on arrival which isn't the best when the air cons on.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 6.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
25th Aug 2016
9.4

If you're looking for a great location but also being able to sleep at night, this place is great. It wasn't the cleanest, but it was alright. The pool was really nice to have and it's really close to the ocean as well.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
  • danalleneng1155
  • England, Male, 31-40
  • Novice Nomad
  • 7 reviews
23rd Aug 2016
6.6

Cheap and grimey not a fan.

    • 6.0Value For Money
    • 6.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 6.0Facilities
    • 6.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 6.0Cleanliness

Hostelworld Mobile Apps

Book on the go with the new Hostelworld mobile apps.

Search and book more than 33,000 properties in over 170 countries, from anywhere.

Newsletter Sign Up

Submitting your info

Thank you for signing up to our newsletter!

Sign up for our newsletter to get the best hostel deals and news sent straight to your inbox. You can unsubscribe at any time.