Hostelworld.com

Koh Tao Backpackers Hostel

Prices
map
reviews
6.7
Good 542 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 6.5
  • Security 7.1
  • Location 8.8
  • Staff 6.5
  • Atmosphere 6.4
  • Cleanliness 5.7
  • Facilities 5.8
BOOK NOW
6.7
Good 542 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 6.5
  • Security 7.1
  • Location 8.8
  • Staff 6.5
  • Atmosphere 6.4
  • Cleanliness 5.7
  • Facilities 5.8
Koh Tao Backpackers Hostel Located at Sairee Beach, Sairee, Koh Tao.
Koh Tao Backpackers Hostel
Thailand
Koh Tao Surat Thani 84360 Sairee Beach, Sairee
67% 542
10.0991163 99.8295503
Koh Tao Backpackers Hostel
    Rooms available

The rating percentage is calculated from customers who booked within the last 12 months. All ratings and reviews are based on the feedback and opinions of the customers who submitted them and do not express the opinions of Hostelworld.com. This way, you get an up-to-the-minute opinion of just how good a hostel really is.
Read our review guidelines

  • Show:
  • Sort By:
  • Anonymous
  • England, Couple, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 2 reviews
15th Jun 2016
6.9

A good hostel for location and has everything you need. Only downside being the aircon is very very hit and miss. You are either boiling or freezing! Also the cleanliness isn't the best, but if you are looking for somewhere to lay your head for a few nights, deffo recommend!

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 6.0Facilities
    • 6.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 4.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • England, Female, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 2 reviews
7th Jun 2016
4.3

Lockers were damaged. Staff didn't care about guests, only cared when checking out early due to terrible beds, cockroaches in bathroom, bad Aircon and unfriendly staff. Stayed one night out of the 9 I was meant to. The pool isnt actually attached to hostel.

    • 4.0Value For Money
    • 4.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 4.0Facilities
    • 2.0Staff
    • 4.0Atmosphere
    • 4.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • England, Couple, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 9 reviews
7th Jun 2016
3.4

The booking stated that there was aircon but it wasn't good enough to cool the room very well. The locker doors were beaten up and falling off. There's only two plugs for a dorm of eight people so couldn't charge my phone. The showers were horrible and the toilets were filled with cockroaches. Didn't find the staff to be that interested until we wanted to check out early. There's places that you can stay for the same price that are much nicer. This place could be great but needs some TLC.

    • 2.0Value For Money
    • 2.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 2.0Facilities
    • 2.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 2.0Cleanliness
View Property Reply

Oddly no one actually reported any AC problems for the room these customers where staying in whilst they were here, however we have just been to check the AC in the room and there doesn't appear to be any problems. It may be that they just wanted to turn the AC to a lower temperature than their room mates I'm unsure as I say no one let the reception staff know anything. Some of the locker doors are a little battered as unfortunately some past customers have tried to trash them, usually when they have lost their keys for their padlocks and so tried to break into them instead of coming to tell us as we have a set of bolt cutters in case people do that. The lockers do still work though and if you have things like passports that you want us to keep in our safe then we can do that for you too. In the 8 bed dorms there are just 2 sockets in each room, however there are more sockets in the common rooms and the 4 bed dorms each have a socket and light next to each bed. I'm not sure what the 'complaint' is regarding your early check out as you appeared to stay for the 3 nights that you booked, so all I can think is that you checked out early in the morning on your final day, which shouldn't have been an issue as we do have staff on the reception 24hrs a day. Sorry you didn't enjoy your stay with us, if you ever come back then remember there are also sockets in the common rooms if you aren't able to charge your phone in the 8 bed dorms.

  • Anonymous
  • Canada, All Male Group, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 6 reviews
26th Apr 2016
6.0

Bathrooms were pretty shotty. A lot of ants and not the cleanest. Rooms were okay - cement floors and rickety bunk beds. Good for the money but there are definitely cleaner hostels around. The towels we received were stained and smelt Met a great group of people here tho!

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 6.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 2.0Facilities
    • 6.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 2.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Bulgaria, Female, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 2 reviews
9th Apr 2016
5.1

Very simple hostel, beds are hard and squeezing. The showers ad bathrooms downstairs weren't as clean as the ones upstairs. The bungalows just next to them are same or even cheaper when you share with a private bathroom.

    • 4.0Value For Money
    • 6.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 4.0Facilities
    • 6.0Staff
    • 4.0Atmosphere
    • 4.0Cleanliness
View Property Reply

Yes the beds did need replacing down stairs as they were the original ones from when we opened five years ago, happy to say that we have now replaced all of the old mattresses with brand new ones :). In the low season then the 2 basic fan bungalows next door are sometimes slightly cheaper if available that is true if you share a bed and don't want AC. Those are at the Silver Sands Resort which are more expensive normally but sometimes the reception will rent out cheaper just to fill the bungalow.

7th Apr 2016
5.1

Probably one of the worst places I've stayed, it's incredibly hot with dirty sheets and awful prison bunks. The wifi is good and there is a good roof terrace but apart from that it's not worth it.

    • 6.0Value For Money
    • 6.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 4.0Facilities
    • 6.0Staff
    • 4.0Atmosphere
    • 2.0Cleanliness
View Property Reply

I'm not sure what you mean when you say it's incredibly hot as all the dorms are AC, do you mean Thailand in April, which is the hottest month of the year by any chance? I'm also a little confused when you say had dirty sheets as every customer is given a freshly washed set of sheets, blanket and towel upon check in which they can exchange when needed at the reception. The bunk beds we use do have metal frames and are fitted with mattress protectors and we also use pillow case protectors mainly to protect against bed bug infestations as this has effected many hostels on Koh Tao, we are fortunate never to have had this problem as we have always had these measures in place. When you say it's not worth it I do wonder how many places on Koh Tao it is that you are comparing us to that you also stayed in. Glad to hear you had good WiFi coverage and enjoyed the roof terrace though :)

  • megantomo
  • England, All Female Group, 18-24
  • Avid Traveller
  • 13 reviews
27th Mar 2016
7.7

Cleaner was present for almost all the day, so it was spotless! Really good roof chill out area, and a tv lounge with tons of movies (great for the day we were stuck in a thunderstorm!) the location is perfect for all the nightlife and beach.

    • 6.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 6.0Facilities
    • 6.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
27th Mar 2016
9.4

Perfect location. Good air con. Helped with booking tours. Have access to a pool and bar right next door. Would definitely recommend and stay again.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • England, Female, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
26th Mar 2016
8.0

If you're looking for a place in the middle of sairee beach and cheap, then this is your place! Pros Situated a 3 minute walk from the beach where all the best bars as restaurants are. Friendly staff- the front desk guy was always joking around with us! Secure feel to the place. There was always someone on the front desk. Cons The downstairs loo had no ventilation so was very smelly! Although the upstairs toilet was fine. We absolutely LOVED Koh Tao I hope you enjoy it as much as we did!

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 6.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 6.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Australia, Male, 18-24
  • Avid Traveller
  • 16 reviews
25th Mar 2016
8.0

You get what you pay for. It's on an island so all prices are inflated- this place was the best value I found on Koh Tao. Wifi was hit and miss, the blankets were too small and the showers/toilets are quite dingy, cramped and grubby. However, it does the job. I had a decent stay here. Staff were pretty helpful, location is perfect and the movie selection they had was the best I'd ever seen in a hostel. I would book again.One tip- the replies on previous reviews need to be less snarky.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 6.0Cleanliness
View Property Reply

Sorry just cant help myself with some of the comments we get, some of them I think are just bizare. Thanks for your review though.

Hostelworld Mobile Apps

Book on the go with the new Hostelworld mobile apps.

Search and book more than 33,000 properties in over 170 countries, from anywhere.

Newsletter Sign Up

Submitting your info

Thank you for signing up to our newsletter!

Sign up for our monthly Newsletter to get the best hostel deals and news sent straight your inbox. You can unsubscribe at any time.