X
NOTE: 9 or more guests qualifies as a group booking, change the number of guests to return to normal search.
Enquire Now HostelBookers Logo Group of 15 or more?

Our sister site HostelBookers can create a tailor-made booking plan for your large travel group.

Koh Tao Backpackers Hostel Reviews

Sairee Beach, Sairee, Koh Tao, Thailand

Reviews & Ratings Explained

64%

Rating
342 Total Reviews
  • 59%Value For Money
  • 67%Security
  • 92%Location
  • 67%Staff
  • 58%Atmosphere
  • 52%Cleanliness
  • 53%Facilities

The rating percentage is calculated from customers who booked within the last 12 months.

All ratings and reviews are based on the feedback and opinions of the customers who submitted them and do not express the opinions of Hostelworld.com. This way, you get an up-to-the-minute opinion of just how good a hostel really is.
Read our review guidelines »

  • Show:

74%

Only stayed one night and thank god for that beds noisy and rooms cramped moved to dream hostel which was miles better more comfortable big. However they do mention they can fix noisy beds but not ideal you going to ask them, first ever experience of a mixed doom so I'm not to sure if a, being a moaner but after moving to a different hostel I realised how bad that was

  • 17th Jul 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • England
  • Male, 18-24
  • (1 review)


49%

Even though the hostel was in a good location, it definitely wasn't worth it. I wasn't supplied with a bed cover so I had to sleep on the mattress, the toilets were disgusting, the showers shouldn't even be called a shower considering none of them worked and I had to wash my hair with the knee-height tap. The wifi and AC didn't work most of the time and when they did work they were terrible. Only one member of staff was relatively friendly as well. If you're planning on koh tao, avoid this place

  • 16th Jul 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Scotland
  • Male, 18-24
  • (1 review)

Owner Comment (Hide)
It's good to see we only get the odd weirdo leaving reviews these days which leads me to believe that actually most people are quite happy with their stay at the hostel, seeing as people who think that everything is okay generally get on with enjoying their holiday (ie 3 reviews in 2 months). I'm not sure if this was a long haired hippy type but it was a guy that was washing his hair apparently with the tab the cleaner uses for filling their mop bucket. Book ahead into higher end accommodation

60%

the water pressure is terrible. There is a tap faucet by your knees-you can bend down to wash your hair. I got a bucket from a bar to collect the water to wash my body. Wifi cuts in and out. wanted to extend a night but pay later which they said was ok. A few hrs later, they said the place was full. The island was getting booked up quickly and i stressed


63%

showers dribble not enough to wash hair and bathrooms dirty. aircon good


63%

Bit of a nothing place, a good bed and dorm but without anything else of note! Definitely try and stay in a more happening hostel!


69%

I think this hostel is pretty good - except from the showers. You can hardly get wet, need to use the tap for your feet to wash your hair


43%

Bathrooms were really dirty and rooms dark and unclean. Location was great- right by sairee beach and reception was friendly.

  • 9th Apr 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • England
  • All Female Group, 18-24
  • (1 review)

Owner Comment (Hide)
Hmmm, that's odd comment. Did you try turning the light on as the walls are painted peach in some of the rooms and light green in the others, so not really what you'd call dark colours?

91%

Nothing to complain about. Nice enough beds, clean linnen, clean bathrooms, as nice people. The lockers were big enough for a small backpack as well which was nice. All in all a great stay. The location was perfect!


83%

Very nice place close to everything. The only bad thing was the water, which was out of order pretty much all the time.

Owner Comment (Hide)
Sorry about the water, we've just recently had to switch to buying in water to put in storage tanks on the roof for people to use because it has rained so little over the last year the people we use to buy water from ran out as their well ran dry. So now the staff are working on the logistics of calling up to get a tank to be refilled when it runs out and then switching to the other tank....

69%

I enjoyed my time here, as it is in a great location in Sairee area (which is a pricey taxi ride from the pier but the best dive shops are at Sairee). There was nowhere to sit in the lobby to socialise but plenty of bars within walking distance. Lockers in the room were handy, staff very helpful. Wifi very temperamental. Only other suggestion (May be too impractical to remedy though) is to somehow allow more air into the toilets and showers- they were like mini saunas, so held smells and heat!


40%

I have been traveling for over 9 months. This hostel by far is the worst I've been to. It has no common area besides a bar across the street which seems fine but with it's never ending loud music it's not easy to make small talk and connect and meet knew people. The hostel has so much traffic they don't care to maintain the property. The washrooms

  • 18th Mar 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Canada
  • Female, 18-24
  • (1 review)


60%

The location was great, in a smaller street right between the main road and the path along the beach. The staff tried to be helpful but the English was poor. He was friendly though. The toilettes were pretty smelly!!


66%

Very close to the beach and dive shops and pub crawl, but the bathrooms and showers were totally disgusting. Clogged drains in the showers, no water pressure, and sewer funk venting into the toilets through the floor drains. The staff was friendly but not super helpful with advice, planning, etc.

Owner Comment (Hide)
Floor drains in the toilets, when where they installed?

49%

Dorm room was tiny, unble to fit bag beneath beds meant luggage all over the floor, could barely get in the room. Bathroom are was dirty, in atmosphere. It was just a couple of shared rooms, shared bathrooms . No common area at all

Owner Comment (Hide)
If you read the description of the hostel we don't advertise that we have a common area so please don't complain about something that was never promised. If you ordered fish and chips in a chippy would you then complain if it arrived without a t-bone steak? No? Exactly!?! In any case we do use the dive school bar/restaurant and swimming pool area as a common area where all hostel customers get discounts on food.

74%

Looks shabby but stayed for 4 nights and it was fine. Location is really good and handy for everything you could need. The bathroom and toilets have the most horrible smell, that needs to be addressed definitely! The wifi is always going on and off too which is annoying. Would probably stay again though


80%

really good location close to the beach and bars


83%

Staff was very helpful and welcoming. The location was perfect, 2 min walk to beach and close to all the bars. If looking for a cheap clean place, I would suggest staying here. I would definitely go back!

  • 7th Feb 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Canada
  • Female, 18-24
  • (1 review)


71%

This is a great place to stop as it has wifi a communal area with hammocks and a TV with loads of films to choose from. Even though this place is out of the way, its only a short walk to the beach and bars. There are many cats and dogs around here that make themselves at home in your room and even on your bed. They are all very friendly. While I was there a snorkelling trip was organised which was very good. Great value for money and lots of fun, it was a good opportunity to meet people.

Owner Comment (Hide)
We're glad you found the bar almost opposite the hostel which has the TV, hammocks etc, plus you get discounted meals there. We can book in snorkeling trips everyday for people and diving courses too. I'm not so sure what you are on about regarding cats and dogs coming into the hostel though???? I don't understand how they could get into your room unless you brought them in, anyway thanks for the positive review

71%

The staff at this hostel were so friendly and chatty. They swapped our towels for clean ones when we needed, and helped with any questions. The location is so close to town and the beach, it did feel a little dusty but that expexted given its location. I would feel happy staying here again!!

  • 28th Jan 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Wales
  • Female, 18-24
  • (1 review)




View all Koh Tao Hostels

Please give us your feedback