X
NOTE: 9 or more guests qualifies as a group booking, change the number of guests to return to normal search.
Enquire Now HostelBookers Logo Group of 15 or more?

Our sister site HostelBookers can create a tailor-made booking plan for your large travel group.

Koh Tao Backpackers Hostel Reviews

Sairee Beach, Sairee, Koh Tao, Thailand

Reviews & Ratings Explained

66%

Rating
330 Total Reviews
  • 67%Value For Money
  • 69%Security
  • 87%Location
  • 69%Staff
  • 59%Atmosphere
  • 55%Cleanliness
  • 54%Facilities

The rating percentage is calculated from customers who booked within the last 12 months.

All ratings and reviews are based on the feedback and opinions of the customers who submitted them and do not express the opinions of Hostelworld.com. This way, you get an up-to-the-minute opinion of just how good a hostel really is.
Read our review guidelines »

  • Show:

69%

I think this hostel is pretty good - except from the showers. You can hardly get wet, need to use the tap for your feet to wash your hair


43%

Bathrooms were really dirty and rooms dark and unclean. Location was great- right by sairee beach and reception was friendly.

  • 9th Apr 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • England
  • All Female Group, 18-24
  • (1 review)

Owner Comment (Hide)
Hmmm, that's odd comment. Did you try turning the light on as the walls are painted peach in some of the rooms and light green in the others, so not really what you'd call dark colours?

91%

Nothing to complain about. Nice enough beds, clean linnen, clean bathrooms, as nice people. The lockers were big enough for a small backpack as well which was nice. All in all a great stay. The location was perfect!


83%

Very nice place close to everything. The only bad thing was the water, which was out of order pretty much all the time.

  • 4th Apr 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Denmark
  • Female, 18-24
  • (1 review)

Owner Comment (Hide)
Sorry about the water, we've just recently had to switch to buying in water to put in storage tanks on the roof for people to use because it has rained so little over the last year the people we use to buy water from ran out as their well ran dry. So now the staff are working on the logistics of calling up to get a tank to be refilled when it runs out and then switching to the other tank....

69%

I enjoyed my time here, as it is in a great location in Sairee area (which is a pricey taxi ride from the pier but the best dive shops are at Sairee). There was nowhere to sit in the lobby to socialise but plenty of bars within walking distance. Lockers in the room were handy, staff very helpful. Wifi very temperamental. Only other suggestion (May be too impractical to remedy though) is to somehow allow more air into the toilets and showers- they were like mini saunas, so held smells and heat!


40%

I have been traveling for over 9 months. This hostel by far is the worst I've been to. It has no common area besides a bar across the street which seems fine but with it's never ending loud music it's not easy to make small talk and connect and meet knew people. The hostel has so much traffic they don't care to maintain the property. The washrooms

  • 18th Mar 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Canada
  • Female, 18-24
  • (1 review)


60%

The location was great, in a smaller street right between the main road and the path along the beach. The staff tried to be helpful but the English was poor. He was friendly though. The toilettes were pretty smelly!!


66%

Very close to the beach and dive shops and pub crawl, but the bathrooms and showers were totally disgusting. Clogged drains in the showers, no water pressure, and sewer funk venting into the toilets through the floor drains. The staff was friendly but not super helpful with advice, planning, etc.

Owner Comment (Hide)
Floor drains in the toilets, when where they installed?

49%

Dorm room was tiny, unble to fit bag beneath beds meant luggage all over the floor, could barely get in the room. Bathroom are was dirty, in atmosphere. It was just a couple of shared rooms, shared bathrooms . No common area at all

Owner Comment (Hide)
If you read the description of the hostel we don't advertise that we have a common area so please don't complain about something that was never promised. If you ordered fish and chips in a chippy would you then complain if it arrived without a t-bone steak? No? Exactly!?! In any case we do use the dive school bar/restaurant and swimming pool area as a common area where all hostel customers get discounts on food.

74%

Looks shabby but stayed for 4 nights and it was fine. Location is really good and handy for everything you could need. The bathroom and toilets have the most horrible smell, that needs to be addressed definitely! The wifi is always going on and off too which is annoying. Would probably stay again though


80%

really good location close to the beach and bars


83%

Staff was very helpful and welcoming. The location was perfect, 2 min walk to beach and close to all the bars. If looking for a cheap clean place, I would suggest staying here. I would definitely go back!

  • 7th Feb 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Canada
  • Female, 18-24
  • (1 review)


71%

This is a great place to stop as it has wifi a communal area with hammocks and a TV with loads of films to choose from. Even though this place is out of the way, its only a short walk to the beach and bars. There are many cats and dogs around here that make themselves at home in your room and even on your bed. They are all very friendly. While I was there a snorkelling trip was organised which was very good. Great value for money and lots of fun, it was a good opportunity to meet people.

Owner Comment (Hide)
We're glad you found the bar almost opposite the hostel which has the TV, hammocks etc, plus you get discounted meals there. We can book in snorkeling trips everyday for people and diving courses too. I'm not so sure what you are on about regarding cats and dogs coming into the hostel though???? I don't understand how they could get into your room unless you brought them in, anyway thanks for the positive review

71%

The staff at this hostel were so friendly and chatty. They swapped our towels for clean ones when we needed, and helped with any questions. The location is so close to town and the beach, it did feel a little dusty but that expexted given its location. I would feel happy staying here again!!

  • 28th Jan 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Wales
  • Female, 18-24
  • (1 review)


43%

This hostel is old and dirty, the dorm I was in was small and had no plugs close to the bed. The only good thing is that I could stay just one night instead of the 3 I booked. So far the worst hostel I've ever stay in.

Owner Comment (Hide)
The hostel is almost 4 years old, so really not that old. There are only 2 plug sockets in each 8 bed dormitory that is true so they are not next to every bed. Yes if you cancel any days of your booking with 1 day of notice then that is no problem at all, seeing how you rated the hostel though it would seem that you thought that the security and the location were good though so perhaps you could have said they were also good features of the hostel no?

49%

Cheap as chips but worse place iv stayed in after a month of travelling! Looked like a dungeon Staff were rude Showers cold 2 working toilets between about 30 ppl 3 sinks Cleanliness really bad Wifi bad Turn aircon off between 12pm and 2pm Really cheap so didn expect a lot but in hostel in krabi at the moment which I'm paying only 50baht more for and it's massive and immaculate, so you can get a good hostel on a budget

  • 19th Jan 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • England
  • Male, 18-24
  • (1 review)


69%

fine to stay if you are not that fussy and just need a few nights. good location, close to everything.


91%

I think some of the other reviews are very unfair I stayed here for a few nights and I loved it, it was always cleaned everyday and the staff were very helpful if you needed anything and yeah you did have to take shoes off but it was always clean so that wasn't really a problem I would definitely stay here again if I came back

  • 13th Jan 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • England
  • Female, 18-24
  • (1 review)


60%

The dorms do not look attractive. I was given my own bed sheets to put on the bed an considering how much I paid I was shocked. Also, you pay more when you book online compared to just turning up - not impressed - but it is mostly full so turning up on the day is not recommended. Didn't immediately get given a blanket. Sick in the toilets, they could be clean more regularly. Good point - staff were really friendly!

Owner Comment (Hide)
If you book online then yes you do pay slightly more as you pay the Hostelworld booking fee as well as the deposit to them, but then you just pay the balance of the stay when you arrive here, so the same price minus the deposit you have paid to hostelworld online not including their booking fee. So other than the $2(I think it is) booking fee you pay to hostelworld the price is the same if you book online or just walk in.

86%

Great hostel, friendly staff! Always happy to help. Good location and met really cool people here ! Rooms are kept cool with a/c ... Would recommend this place as a great base for anyone staying in koh Tao!!

  • 10th Jan 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • England
  • Female, 18-24
  • (1 review)


« first « Prev 1 2
(39 results)


View all Koh Tao Hostels

Please give us your feedback