X

Home to the world's greatest Hostels

30,000 properties, 180 countries Over 3.5 million guest reviews 21 million bookings

Koh Tao Backpackers Hostel Reviews

Sairee Beach, Sairee, Koh Tao, Thailand

Reviews & Ratings Explained

72%

Rating
408 Total Reviews
  • 71%Value For Money
  • 71%Security
  • 88%Location
  • 77%Staff
  • 68%Atmosphere
  • 66%Cleanliness
  • 62%Facilities

The rating percentage is calculated from customers who booked within the last 12 months.

All ratings and reviews are based on the feedback and opinions of the customers who submitted them and do not express the opinions of Hostelworld.com. This way, you get an up-to-the-minute opinion of just how good a hostel really is.
Read our review guidelines »

  • Show:

69%

Nothing special. Rickety bunks. Anyone can walk right in. Cool hang out areas. Looked as if the staff cleaned the place pretty frequently.


46%

not super clean (the no shoes policy makes things a bit hard in my opinion), half of the shower had cold water and some shower were not working... I didn't find the staff very helpful either...

Owner Comment (Hide)
The no shoes policy does cut down the amount of sand people walk into the hostel massively actually as otherwise there would be same everywhere. It sounds like you aren't aware of the ELB safety feature on the showers in Thailand (noted we need to put more signs upstairs in the new showers) as they do only give out cold water if that has been tripped and not reset. Just checked them and none of them aren't working... so user error by the looks of things. The cleaning girls don't speak English

74%

Good location, only 3 min walk to the beach. They have a deal with a closeby diveshop so you get discount on your stay if you dive with them or free stay with a course. Showers and bathrooms need an update or could at least be cleaner. Staff at the front desk is really friendly and helpful. I was in the room right next to the front desk so it could.be quite loud with people coming home from a night out . Good a/c throughout the day and lockers in room. would stay here again


89%

Nice roof common area Showers ans toilets clean Room and bed stuff clean

  • 2nd Jun 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • France
  • Male, 31-40
  • (1 review)


74%

Central hostel right by the beach and 7/11 which is always good! Toilets/showers were quite disgusting and smelled pretty awful though... Has a really cute roof top terrace area where we ended up going quite a lot


71%

great location central to Sairee. Decent air con and showers but yes, the toilets didn't smell and the paper no a weren't emptied often enough. Not much of an atmosphere. TV area needs a.c., to hit with ceiling fans only. Rooftop area is nice but shuts early. Wi-Fi is usually poor throughout. Nothing special to say about staff

Owner Comment (Hide)
Sorry we do close the roof area early (10:30pm) to ensure that we don't receive noise complaints from the Silver Sands Resort who have the rooms opposite as they are our landlords. It's not possible to AC the common area with it being open to both the roof and downstairs (May when you came is one of the hottest months of the year, so it will be nicer soon). We've been promised that the internet connection will get quicker by the ISP when they get their fiber optic cable installed soon.

100%

It's not my first time staying. They recently went through a massive refurbishment adding extra rooms and a common room and roof top area. This really helps the atmosphere of the place and it's good for people to relax, meet new friends or pass away their hangover from the pub crawl the night before.

  • 13th May 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • England
  • Male, 25-30
  • (1 review)


60%

The floor in the hostel looks unfinished which looks filthy. Beds are squeaky and plastic pillows aren't great. Staff are really nice, location is perfect! It's good that you can use the pool at the diving place.

Owner Comment (Hide)
The floor is finished, it's the polished concrete that is popular in Thailand, it's just a lot cheaper than tiling every surface which use to be the most popular option in Thailand. It is however grey with it being concrete though which may be why you thought it looked 'filthy', it's not as we do have 2 full time cleaners now. They beds do get squeaky and so do need to get knocked back together with a rubber mallet if people let us know their bed is squeaky then one of the staff can sort it.

86%

The hostel had a great atmosphere and common areas. The showers had warm water and good pressure. The 4 bed dorms were much nicer than the 8 bed dorms as they had individual electrical sockets and good airconditioning. The hostel was always full of people and the staff worked so hard to keep things clean and running smoothly. The staff was also so friendly and eager to talk, especially Ody at the front desk. Good location, good facilities, good dorms, and great people!


77%

This hostel somehow lacks a bit on social life maybe because the common areas are not really well equipped. It's not the best value for money in my opinion but nevertheless it's conveniently located and you can use the pool from the bar next door.

Owner Comment (Hide)
Yes we've only just opened the common room and roof terrace as the second floor of the hostel was only completed earlier this month. The cable TV was only hooked up the day before yesterday. It's still a work in progress with some more furniture on the way too :)

94%

Great place!

  • 26th Mar 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • USA
  • Male, 25-30
  • (1 review)


80%

The guy is lovely really helpful. If your in koh tao to party then this hostel is fine;-)

  • 20th Mar 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • England
  • Female, 31-40
  • (1 review)


83%

Well situated, cheap, nice staf and a lot of backpackers around. AC dorm with lockers. If the receptionist advice you to rent a bycicle, don't listen him.

  • 18th Mar 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Belgium
  • Male, 25-30
  • (1 review)

Owner Comment (Hide)
Sorry you didn't appreciate the scooter rental advice offered by the reception staff, there are only 2 places on the island that we recommend for renting bikes the first is Ollie's Bike rental for new bikes at reasonable rates even for repairs Tel: 0983578178 or Banyan Bar which is not far from the hostel for renting older bikes, ie they already have a few scratches so no scamming bills like many of the bike rental place on Koh Tao. Stick with these two places and you won't have problems :)

60%

The door didnt work, therefoe the security is no good, there are mant sand on the room's floor. The staff is good and the location is very good, great price,

Owner Comment (Hide)
Yeah we fixed the door it had been damaged and so the door latch was out a little and so couldn't lock. There was a CCTV camera pointing at the door and someone at reception 24hrs a day with line of sight vision to the door too, so the security wasn't that bad and the lockers were still in the room for you to use, couldn't have been so bad though as you extended your booking whilst here.

57%

The place is not too bad. True, one of the toilets stinks, but u can avoid it by using the other two. The rooms are very small for 8 beds and the floor is crammed with bags. But it's cheap, the mattress isn't bad, it's cleanish, has hot water and that was enough for me.


57%

Feels like a prison! Beds are not that bad.,. Some fedders in the back never hurt right !? The staff is very nice soooo funny, we was suppose to stay 5 night but the smell of moul and urin we culdent Handel it... Yeah so if you will stay in a shity smelling hostel you're welcome ! You can spend this money on another hostel! DONT STAY HERE!

  • 27th Jan 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Sweden
  • Mixed Group, 25-30
  • (1 review)


37%

Horrible. Zero security, people can just walk into your room. Power goes out all the time, beds are very old and nothing is clean. Left after one night, can get soooo much better rooms for the same price!

  • 12th Jan 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Norway
  • Female, 18-24
  • (1 review)

Owner Comment (Hide)
How odd as unless you leave the door to the room open you have to use a key to open the door to get into the room, so it sounds like those people who were just walking into your room were actually staying in your dorm too, there weren't 7 of them by any chance? The power doesn't go out all of the time, just when there are power cuts on the island, sorry we can't control that, although we do switch the power over to the private electricity when there are power cuts.

54%

Standard of facilities is quite low, with smelly and small rooms, very poor and restricted wifi and just 2 plug points for 8 people in a room. Shower rooms and toilets were also dirty with no locks. 2 groups of people left in front of us after paying due to poor and dirty facilities. Not recommended as you can get private rooms for 2 for the same amount at much better places along the beach.

  • 5th Jan 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Pakistan
  • All Male Group, 18-24
  • (1 review)

Owner Comment (Hide)
Hmmm are you sure that the 2 groups didn't just leave after paying as they paid as they were checking out, think back didn't you have that same option... Showers and toilets with no locks, ah you mean other than the ones in the door handles? I take it you are unfamiliar with the pop locks they have here then? Yes you can get a fan bungalow for 800 baht along the beach, remember though you were paying peak season rate as you were here between Christmas & New Year.

43%

By far the worst hostel I've ever stayed in. I checked in and then checked out without staying in the bed. When I got to my room it smelt and the bed sheets had signs of bed bugs and holes in them which were repaired using duck tape?? The beds were in really bad condition and the overall state of the hostel is dirty. The location is good but the staff were very unhelpful and aggressive. This is the first bad review I've left on a hostel but this one deserves it entirely. Stay well away.

Owner Comment (Hide)
Hold on don't you mean the worst hostel you never stayed in? Yes you had to pay for the first night of your booking as you moved out after you went to stay with your friends, after you'd met them you made up a bunch of crap to try and get a refund but as you'd checked in 3 hours previously er no. Bed Bugs and duct tape on the sheets, odd to have those on them when they'd just come back from the laundry before they were handed to you, no? Yes you were charged for the first night as per T & C's



View all Koh Tao Hostels

Please give us your feedback