X

Home to the world's greatest Hostels

30,000 properties, 180 countries Over 3.5 million guest reviews 21 million bookings

Koh Tao Backpackers Hostel Reviews

Sairee Beach, Sairee, Koh Tao, Thailand

Reviews & Ratings Explained

69%

Rating
397 Total Reviews
  • 65%Value For Money
  • 70%Security
  • 87%Location
  • 78%Staff
  • 66%Atmosphere
  • 61%Cleanliness
  • 59%Facilities

The rating percentage is calculated from customers who booked within the last 12 months.

All ratings and reviews are based on the feedback and opinions of the customers who submitted them and do not express the opinions of Hostelworld.com. This way, you get an up-to-the-minute opinion of just how good a hostel really is.
Read our review guidelines »

  • Show:

100%

It's not my first time staying. They recently went through a massive refurbishment adding extra rooms and a common room and roof top area. This really helps the atmosphere of the place and it's good for people to relax, meet new friends or pass away their hangover from the pub crawl the night before.

  • 13th May 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • England
  • Male, 25-30
  • (1 review)


60%

The floor in the hostel looks unfinished which looks filthy. Beds are squeaky and plastic pillows aren't great. Staff are really nice, location is perfect! It's good that you can use the pool at the diving place.


86%

The hostel had a great atmosphere and common areas. The showers had warm water and good pressure. The 4 bed dorms were much nicer than the 8 bed dorms as they had individual electrical sockets and good airconditioning. The hostel was always full of people and the staff worked so hard to keep things clean and running smoothly. The staff was also so friendly and eager to talk, especially Ody at the front desk. Good location, good facilities, good dorms, and great people!


77%

This hostel somehow lacks a bit on social life maybe because the common areas are not really well equipped. It's not the best value for money in my opinion but nevertheless it's conveniently located and you can use the pool from the bar next door.

Owner Comment (Hide)
Yes we've only just opened the common room and roof terrace as the second floor of the hostel was only completed earlier this month. The cable TV was only hooked up the day before yesterday. It's still a work in progress with some more furniture on the way too :)

94%

Great place!

  • 26th Mar 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • USA
  • Male, 25-30
  • (1 review)


80%

The guy is lovely really helpful. If your in koh tao to party then this hostel is fine;-)

  • 20th Mar 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • England
  • Female, 31-40
  • (1 review)


83%

Well situated, cheap, nice staf and a lot of backpackers around. AC dorm with lockers. If the receptionist advice you to rent a bycicle, don't listen him.

  • 18th Mar 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Belgium
  • Male, 25-30
  • (1 review)

Owner Comment (Hide)
Sorry you didn't appreciate the scooter rental advice offered by the reception staff, there are only 2 places on the island that we recommend for renting bikes the first is Ollie's Bike rental for new bikes at reasonable rates even for repairs Tel: 0983578178 or Banyan Bar which is not far from the hostel for renting older bikes, ie they already have a few scratches so no scamming bills like many of the bike rental place on Koh Tao. Stick with these two places and you won't have problems :)

60%

The door didnt work, therefoe the security is no good, there are mant sand on the room's floor. The staff is good and the location is very good, great price,

Owner Comment (Hide)
Yeah we fixed the door it had been damaged and so the door latch was out a little and so couldn't lock. There was a CCTV camera pointing at the door and someone at reception 24hrs a day with line of sight vision to the door too, so the security wasn't that bad and the lockers were still in the room for you to use, couldn't have been so bad though as you extended your booking whilst here.

57%

The place is not too bad. True, one of the toilets stinks, but u can avoid it by using the other two. The rooms are very small for 8 beds and the floor is crammed with bags. But it's cheap, the mattress isn't bad, it's cleanish, has hot water and that was enough for me.


57%

Feels like a prison! Beds are not that bad.,. Some fedders in the back never hurt right !? The staff is very nice soooo funny, we was suppose to stay 5 night but the smell of moul and urin we culdent Handel it... Yeah so if you will stay in a shity smelling hostel you're welcome ! You can spend this money on another hostel! DONT STAY HERE!

  • 27th Jan 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Sweden
  • Mixed Group, 25-30
  • (1 review)


37%

Horrible. Zero security, people can just walk into your room. Power goes out all the time, beds are very old and nothing is clean. Left after one night, can get soooo much better rooms for the same price!

  • 12th Jan 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Norway
  • Female, 18-24
  • (1 review)

Owner Comment (Hide)
How odd as unless you leave the door to the room open you have to use a key to open the door to get into the room, so it sounds like those people who were just walking into your room were actually staying in your dorm too, there weren't 7 of them by any chance? The power doesn't go out all of the time, just when there are power cuts on the island, sorry we can't control that, although we do switch the power over to the private electricity when there are power cuts.

54%

Standard of facilities is quite low, with smelly and small rooms, very poor and restricted wifi and just 2 plug points for 8 people in a room. Shower rooms and toilets were also dirty with no locks. 2 groups of people left in front of us after paying due to poor and dirty facilities. Not recommended as you can get private rooms for 2 for the same amount at much better places along the beach.

  • 5th Jan 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Pakistan
  • All Male Group, 18-24
  • (1 review)

Owner Comment (Hide)
Hmmm are you sure that the 2 groups didn't just leave after paying as they paid as they were checking out, think back didn't you have that same option... Showers and toilets with no locks, ah you mean other than the ones in the door handles? I take it you are unfamiliar with the pop locks they have here then? Yes you can get a fan bungalow for 800 baht along the beach, remember though you were paying peak season rate as you were here between Christmas & New Year.

43%

By far the worst hostel I've ever stayed in. I checked in and then checked out without staying in the bed. When I got to my room it smelt and the bed sheets had signs of bed bugs and holes in them which were repaired using duck tape?? The beds were in really bad condition and the overall state of the hostel is dirty. The location is good but the staff were very unhelpful and aggressive. This is the first bad review I've left on a hostel but this one deserves it entirely. Stay well away.

Owner Comment (Hide)
Hold on don't you mean the worst hostel you never stayed in? Yes you had to pay for the first night of your booking as you moved out after you went to stay with your friends, after you'd met them you made up a bunch of crap to try and get a refund but as you'd checked in 3 hours previously er no. Bed Bugs and duct tape on the sheets, odd to have those on them when they'd just come back from the laundry before they were handed to you, no? Yes you were charged for the first night as per T & C's

49%

I was due to stay for 4 nights and checked out after 1 night. I knew they were doing works to improve the facilities but I was woken at 8am by noise from the floor above where they were doing the work! Staff were very average at best! Rooms were dark, dingy and dirty. I've been travelling for 3 months and this is by far the worst hostel I've stayed in!

Owner Comment (Hide)
Sorry yes again the builders seemed to not understand the difference between 10am and 8am, so that is now 3 times they've done that which is definitely not cool. This customer was actually only due to stay 2 nights as they changed their booking from 4 nights to 2 before they arrived as they were unable to get a ferry over to the island. Not sure how they could tell the room was dirty if it was so dark and dingy though, obviously must have been bright enough to see it was dirty?

89%

If your looking for cheap accommodation right in the middle of everything you've found it!! We loved it here!! 5mins away from beach front with all the bars! Great dorm rooms and staff very helpful!! Will be returning!!


54%

The staff was uneven. Some were friendly, some not at all. The worst thing about this hostel is all the facilities... Everything seems like it was abandoned 20 years ago. The rooms are small without proper windows, a bit smelly, and the bunk beds are the worst I've ever seen. Really not worth the price. For 500 bahts you can have aomething way better in a better location.

Owner Comment (Hide)
There is a good chance that you have been speaking to the cleaner and unfortunately she is Burmese and doesn't speak a word of English and so this may explain the 'unfriendlyness', all of the reception staff however do speak English and a friendly. Please bear in mind also this customer stayed in peak season between Christmas & New Year and so yes the price was higher than usual. (It wasn't 500 baht I think he is referring to somewhere he thought up)

49%

Building work as we speak so lots of banging throught the day. Plastic covers on beds and pillows so very noisy when sleeping. Aircon only one setting which if you had bed near it got very cold in the night and blanket hardly to cover you. And MOST OF ALL - BED BUGS.

  • 24th Dec 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Czech Republic
  • Female, 31-40
  • (1 review)

Owner Comment (Hide)
Yes we do say on the listing and on our own website we are currently building (we're building another floor with the much requested common room), sorry the noise is unavoidable, but at least the builders do only start after 10am. We use to leave the AC remotes in the dorms but we can't do that anymore as 3 of the 4 were stolen and so now we have to keep the last one at the reception. It's odd that you would get bed bugs, this is the reason we have the mattress protectors to protect you.

54%

Thai staff were fantastic. Construction every morning was a bummer. Beds were awful, creaky, metal bunk beds. Pillows encased in protective plastic to ward off bugs- necessary but super uncomfortable. Toilets weren't ever clean, which was a wonder because the "cleaning staff" did clean every day. Same with the showers. Location was great. I did my diving through Big Blue (sorry DJL), which was right down the street. Easy access to the waterfront bars and the beach in the evening. Com area ok.

  • 23rd Dec 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • USA
  • Male, 25-30
  • (1 review)

Owner Comment (Hide)
It is a wonder that the toilets and showers are always being complained about for not being clean when I know the cleaner cleans them a minimum of 3 times each day so I just don't know how this happens as I do know they are clean when they have been through and cleaned them as I've checked myself.

83%

Excellent Central location for all the bars, restaurants, duvey schools etc. There is NO social area though but that just doesn't matter as everyone just sits on the front steps. This hostel is owned by Davy Jones's Locker dive school who's bar/restaurant/hangout is literally 5 seconds walk down the road. Beds are good, air con works but the toilets are a bit stinky and the showers sometimes are only cold and the locks don't always work.. I met great people here and the staff are VERY cool.


43%

The beds were broken and dirty they began to rusty, the toilet was dirty and rusty. Also the showers were dirty and rusty. There are other accommodation will be cheaper and cleaner.

  • 13th Dec 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Germany
  • Male, 18-24
  • (1 review)

Owner Comment (Hide)
The toilet was rusty? How is that even possible ceramic doesn't rust you muppet!! Yes there is one place cheaper called Spicy Tao head there if you are as retarded as this person

« first « Prev 1 2
(24 results)


View all Koh Tao Hostels

Please give us your feedback