X

Home to the world's greatest Hostels!

30,000 properties, 180 countries Over 3.5 million guest reviews 21 million bookings

Koh Tao Backpackers Hostel Reviews

Sairee Beach, Sairee, Koh Tao, Thailand

Reviews & Ratings Explained

65%

Rating
350 Total Reviews
  • 61%Value For Money
  • 69%Security
  • 92%Location
  • 72%Staff
  • 59%Atmosphere
  • 52%Cleanliness
  • 50%Facilities

The rating percentage is calculated from customers who booked within the last 12 months.

All ratings and reviews are based on the feedback and opinions of the customers who submitted them and do not express the opinions of Hostelworld.com. This way, you get an up-to-the-minute opinion of just how good a hostel really is.
Read our review guidelines »

  • Show:

60%

The guys who run this place are friendly and really want to help. The location is also great if you want to be close to the action in Sairee. Unfortunately, there are quite a few negatives - very basic dorm rooms with no lights for each bed and few charging sockets. As the room is small you won't get much sleep after 7/8am when ppl are getting up and you can also hear most of whats happening outside your room. Out of 3 sinks, 1 was completely broken and another hanging off the wall.It needs work

Owner Comment (Hide)
Yes the sinks really need fixing we know that, the problem seems to be actually getting hold of a decent plumber here on the island as we've had a guy promising to come in and do the work for a few weeks now, but he's been so busy he's not been able to make the time to come and do the job. There are plenty of people who say they can do it but have no idea what they are doing (the sink hanging off the wall was one such repair job and the same guy managed to block the one next to it) :(

83%

I don't know why this place has got so many bad reviews: for a low price you're staying very near the beach, the beds are reasonably comfortable, yes they're a bit squeaky but so what, the toilets and showers could be cleaner but they could be a lot worse, the staff were amazing and made my stay as comfortable as they could. If you want 5* accom then expect to pay 5* prices. I'd definitely come back.

  • 11th Aug 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • England
  • Female, 18-24
  • (1 review)


100%

I really dont understand why so many people write bad reviews about this place. It is an awesome hostel in a great location, with all the bars, restaurants and clubs just a stone throw away. It also has a great chill out area with a swimming pool. The bathrooms are clean and the showers are hot and powerful. The rooms are spacious and the beds comfortable. Also, the guys who work on reception are among the friendliest and most helpful people I have ever met while travelling. Would recommend.


77%

It's a cheap hostel so you get what you pay for. But it was pleasant enough, just 2 minutes away from beach and away from the main road itself


51%

No common area therefor no atmosphere. This hostel consists of three 8 bed dorms and a toilet block so lots of people stay in their rooms. If you don't want people hanging around in your room talking etc while you're trying to sleep don't book here. A perfectly average hostel.

Owner Comment (Hide)
Ah so you missed the bar/restaurant with 42" TV then, there are lots of tables and chairs in there for people to sit around to socialise. I'm also guessing you failed to notice the swimming pool also then did you? You are welcome to use these when staying at the hostel as I also manage the dive school that owns them, so I didn't feel it was necessary to build an additional common room inside the hostel itself as we already had those facilities 10m from the front door :p (4 dorms not 3)

74%

Only stayed one night and thank god for that beds noisy and rooms cramped moved to dream hostel which was miles better more comfortable big. However they do mention they can fix noisy beds but not ideal you going to ask them, first ever experience of a mixed doom so I'm not to sure if a, being a moaner but after moving to a different hostel I realised how bad that was

  • 17th Jul 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • England
  • Male, 18-24
  • (1 review)


49%

Even though the hostel was in a good location, it definitely wasn't worth it. I wasn't supplied with a bed cover so I had to sleep on the mattress, the toilets were disgusting, the showers shouldn't even be called a shower considering none of them worked and I had to wash my hair with the knee-height tap. The wifi and AC didn't work most of the time and when they did work they were terrible. Only one member of staff was relatively friendly as well. If you're planning on koh tao, avoid this place

  • 16th Jul 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Scotland
  • Male, 18-24
  • (1 review)

Owner Comment (Hide)
It's good to see we only get the odd weirdo leaving reviews these days which leads me to believe that actually most people are quite happy with their stay at the hostel, seeing as people who think that everything is okay generally get on with enjoying their holiday (ie 3 reviews in 2 months). I'm not sure if this was a long haired hippy type but it was a guy that was washing his hair apparently with the tab the cleaner uses for filling their mop bucket. Book ahead into higher end accommodation

60%

the water pressure is terrible. There is a tap faucet by your knees-you can bend down to wash your hair. I got a bucket from a bar to collect the water to wash my body. Wifi cuts in and out. wanted to extend a night but pay later which they said was ok. A few hrs later, they said the place was full. The island was getting booked up quickly and i stressed

Owner Comment (Hide)
The tap on the wall is only for the cleaner to fill their mop bucket and is not intended for people to use to wash their hair. So we decided to say screw it to the trying to being green and environmentally friendly gravity fed shower system and installed a big ass pump to crank up the water pressure and further drain the islands limited water supply to keep people having problems washing their hair happy :)

63%

showers dribble not enough to wash hair and bathrooms dirty. aircon good


63%

Bit of a nothing place, a good bed and dorm but without anything else of note! Definitely try and stay in a more happening hostel!


69%

I think this hostel is pretty good - except from the showers. You can hardly get wet, need to use the tap for your feet to wash your hair


43%

Bathrooms were really dirty and rooms dark and unclean. Location was great- right by sairee beach and reception was friendly.

  • 9th Apr 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • England
  • All Female Group, 18-24
  • (1 review)

Owner Comment (Hide)
Hmmm, that's odd comment. Did you try turning the light on as the walls are painted peach in some of the rooms and light green in the others, so not really what you'd call dark colours?

91%

Nothing to complain about. Nice enough beds, clean linnen, clean bathrooms, as nice people. The lockers were big enough for a small backpack as well which was nice. All in all a great stay. The location was perfect!


83%

Very nice place close to everything. The only bad thing was the water, which was out of order pretty much all the time.

Owner Comment (Hide)
Sorry about the water, we've just recently had to switch to buying in water to put in storage tanks on the roof for people to use because it has rained so little over the last year the people we use to buy water from ran out as their well ran dry. So now the staff are working on the logistics of calling up to get a tank to be refilled when it runs out and then switching to the other tank....

69%

I enjoyed my time here, as it is in a great location in Sairee area (which is a pricey taxi ride from the pier but the best dive shops are at Sairee). There was nowhere to sit in the lobby to socialise but plenty of bars within walking distance. Lockers in the room were handy, staff very helpful. Wifi very temperamental. Only other suggestion (May be too impractical to remedy though) is to somehow allow more air into the toilets and showers- they were like mini saunas, so held smells and heat!


40%

I have been traveling for over 9 months. This hostel by far is the worst I've been to. It has no common area besides a bar across the street which seems fine but with it's never ending loud music it's not easy to make small talk and connect and meet knew people. The hostel has so much traffic they don't care to maintain the property. The washrooms

  • 18th Mar 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Canada
  • Female, 18-24
  • (1 review)


60%

The location was great, in a smaller street right between the main road and the path along the beach. The staff tried to be helpful but the English was poor. He was friendly though. The toilettes were pretty smelly!!


66%

Very close to the beach and dive shops and pub crawl, but the bathrooms and showers were totally disgusting. Clogged drains in the showers, no water pressure, and sewer funk venting into the toilets through the floor drains. The staff was friendly but not super helpful with advice, planning, etc.

Owner Comment (Hide)
Floor drains in the toilets, when where they installed?

49%

Dorm room was tiny, unble to fit bag beneath beds meant luggage all over the floor, could barely get in the room. Bathroom are was dirty, in atmosphere. It was just a couple of shared rooms, shared bathrooms . No common area at all

Owner Comment (Hide)
If you read the description of the hostel we don't advertise that we have a common area so please don't complain about something that was never promised. If you ordered fish and chips in a chippy would you then complain if it arrived without a t-bone steak? No? Exactly!?! In any case we do use the dive school bar/restaurant and swimming pool area as a common area where all hostel customers get discounts on food.



View all Koh Tao Hostels

Please give us your feedback