Hostelworld.com

Group of 15 or more?

Contact our Group Travel team directly for a tailor made solution for your group

Koh Tao Backpackers Hostel

Group of 15 or more?

Contact our Group Travel team directly for a tailor made solution for your group

Prices
map
reviews
7.6
Very Good 649 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 7.7
  • Security 7.9
  • Location 9.3
  • Staff 8.1
  • Atmosphere 6.7
  • Cleanliness 7.0
  • Facilities 6.3
BOOK NOW
7.6
Very Good 649 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 7.7
  • Security 7.9
  • Location 9.3
  • Staff 8.1
  • Atmosphere 6.7
  • Cleanliness 7.0
  • Facilities 6.3

The rating percentage is calculated from customers who booked within the last 12 months. All ratings and reviews are based on the feedback and opinions of the customers who submitted them and do not express the opinions of Hostelworld.com. This way, you get an up-to-the-minute opinion of just how good a hostel really is.
Read our review guidelines

  • Show:
  • Sort By:
  • Anonymous
  • England, All Female Group, 25-30
  • Avid Traveller
  • 12 reviews
12th Aug 2017
5.7

You are given a room key but the door is normally left open and anyone can walk in but there are lockers for personal belongings. The showers/toilets are shared and they were quite dirty with the bins overflowing and toilet paper wasn't refilled. Hostel is in a good location and they do create a good social vibe for young travellers. We left after one night along with others in our dorm as the light in the dorm would constantly go on and off in the middle of the night. Staff ignored the issue.

    • 6.0Value For Money
    • 6.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 2.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 2.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • England, Female, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 7 reviews
12th Aug 2017
9.4

Dormant and bathrooms were all fine, hostel felt secure and the guy who runs it was really helpful and friendly

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
9th Aug 2017
6.6

The power goes out from 7-11pm, no lights not air conditioning, no power outlets. The water still works though! It is nice having the pool right down the street. No atmosphere here whatsoever. You get what you paid for: a bed and a shower

    • 6.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 6.0Facilities
    • 6.0Staff
    • 4.0Atmosphere
    • 6.0Cleanliness
View Property Reply

The power goes out from 7-11pm with no lights and no air conditioning REALLY? Someone also coming into the hostel and removes all the power outlets during these 4 hours do they? Obviously you weren't actually in the hostel sat in the dark and sweating with no power outlets for these 4 hours then, so that would explain the lack of atmosphere. Checked with the staff working at the time you were staying and they did report that the power went out for 5 minutes on one of the nights you stayed, however no one came in and removed the power outlets. Please when writing a review try to keep it vaguely accurate. It's funny the electric pump for the water kept working whilst you were wandering around in the dark though......

  • Anonymous
  • England, Female, 25-30
  • Avid Traveller
  • 16 reviews
8th Aug 2017
7.7

Basic hostel with very comfy beds. Staff were friendly and let me keep my stuff there once I checked out and have a shower which was nice. No problems with the hostel, just with the guests as it is a party place so you will get a lot of disturbed sleep and young people on drugs etc. Good discounts at the dive centre Davy Jones locker who are a brilliant company.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 6.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 6.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
4th Aug 2017
4.9

The lights weren't working, there wasn't a plug next to the bed, the showers were cold and the general atmosphere was poor, no one spoke to anyone

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 4.0Security
    • 6.0Location
    • 4.0Facilities
    • 6.0Staff
    • 2.0Atmosphere
    • 4.0Cleanliness
View Property Reply

Yes sorry in the early evenings when the island is extremely busy, as it was whilst you were here there is often a strain on the power supply as many people return from diving and are taking showers and turning on the AC, plugging in phones and laptops etc, usually between 6-7pm. This was a problem all around the island, when this happens it does mean that it there isn't enough electricity for the starter units to work in the lights. This hasn't happened for many years but around the last Full Moon Party over in Koh Phangan I know many places had the same problem, we also had power issues in our home. It's only the 4 bed dorms in the hostel that have individual reading lights and power sockets next to every bed and not the cheaper 8 bed dorms sorry. It sounds like the issue you were having with the showers would be the ELB safety feature had been tripped and so required the button to be pressed in to reset it, for anyone unfamiliar with shower units in South East Asia this can be confusing, if you have issues like this just check with the hostel reception staff as it's easy to reset. I'm sorry that no one spoke with you, erm did you try engaging anyone in a conversation either in the common room, your dorm, the roof terrace or the pool bar or restaurant? The guys behind the bar in the restaurant are always very chatty and you can also speak with the hostel reception staff as they like to practice their English too.

  • Anonymous
  • Spain, Male, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
17th Jul 2017
2.6

This is the worts place I've ever slept . The entire building smells really bad and the dorms and toilets are really dirty ( I mean, really dirty). You can get much better deals for the same price anywhere in the island. We paid for 2 nights and we could only sleep one. It was terrible. -

    • 2.0Value For Money
    • 2.0Security
    • 6.0Location
    • 2.0Facilities
    • 2.0Staff
    • 2.0Atmosphere
    • 2.0Cleanliness
View Property Reply

Yes unfortunately checking out late in the afternoon does mean that you will be charged for the night, we're pretty lenient regarding check out times if people are half and hour or an hour late, but when you miss the check out time by 3 hours or more then we do have to draw the line somewhere, as there late (and really late) so I do smell the traces of a vendetta review here...

13th Jul 2017
8.9

Lovely staff let us shower and look after our bags after check out nice room good air con and shower and locker and comfy bed, small sheet tho and hardly any plugs for the room but otherwise very good.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 6.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Scotland, Couple, 18-24
  • Avid Traveller
  • 10 reviews
12th Jul 2017
7.7

We stayed here 2 nights and had a pleasant stay. Location is great, next to loads of restaurants, bars and the beach, and staff were friendly. Only negatives are the toilets were not the nicest - always had a horrible smell even though they were cleaned regularly. And there were hardly any power sockets in our 8 bed dorm - we had to charge ours in the sitting area each time. We enjoyed drinking before going out on the rooftop, best way to meet people and the staff let you drink til about 12

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 6.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 6.0Cleanliness
  • rachaelmorrison298425
  • England, Female, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 8 reviews
12th Jul 2017
8.0

Nice hostel in perfect location!! Roof top area is nice to chill and there's lots of communal spaces to meet people. Rooms are small and wifi is bad. Pool is shared with the diving centre so often full of divers. Friendly and helpful staff, we extended 2 extra nights. Go to barracuda restaurant on the adjacent road, food is amazing!!!

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 6.0Cleanliness
  • espleyelizabeth4001
  • England, Female, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 6 reviews
12th Jul 2017
3.4

It was well over due a lick of paint and wasn't very clean, we've stayed in much better hostels for half the price! The only good thing was being able to use the pool down the road.

    • 4.0Value For Money
    • 2.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 2.0Facilities
    • 2.0Staff
    • 4.0Atmosphere
    • 2.0Cleanliness
View Property Reply

I'm sure the hostel you would have stayed in for 150 baht a night would not have been on Koh Tao as if it was it has already gone out of business.

Hostelworld Mobile Apps

Book on the go with the new Hostelworld mobile apps.

Search and book more than 33,000 properties in over 170 countries, from anywhere.

Newsletter Sign Up

Submitting your info

Thank you for signing up to our newsletter!

Sign up for our newsletter to get the best hostel deals and news sent straight to your inbox. You can unsubscribe at any time.