X

Home to the world's greatest Hostels

33,000 properties, 170 countries Over 3.5 million guest reviews 21 million bookings

Kokopelli Hostel Cusco Reviews

Calle San Andres 260, Cusco, Peru

Reviews & Ratings Explained

89%

Rating
468 Total Reviews
  • 85%Value For Money
  • 92%Security
  • 96%Location
  • 86%Staff
  • 89%Atmosphere
  • 89%Cleanliness
  • 86%Facilities

The rating percentage is calculated from customers who booked within the last 12 months.

All ratings and reviews are based on the feedback and opinions of the customers who submitted them and do not express the opinions of Hostelworld.com. This way, you get an up-to-the-minute opinion of just how good a hostel really is.
Read our review guidelines »

  • Show:

89%

Really nice interior and staff. Good emplacement, everything is nearby. You can get free tea. There are happy hours at the bar. And the luggage room is very secure.


100%

Loved staying at Koko! The bar is a great place to meet people! Great selection of pisco at reasonable prices and a sweet happy hour! The travel desk downstairs hooked me up with great deals on yours to the Sacred Valley and Machu Picchu.


69%

Good for partying, but not for low-cost people, since it does not a kitchen. Bathrooms were OK and the common areas also.


60%

Staff, especially at reception, rude and unfriendly! Breakfast very basic, you have to pay extra for egg (1 is 5 soles!!!) etc. Prices in bar too expensive, too. If you order at happy hour you get the cheap stuff "from behind" -they dont even care not to let you know. Travel agency too expensive as well, in town much cheaper. No kitchen. Rooms big and good beds. In total too expensive for what you get!

Owner Comment (Hide)
Hola Volker, Hope your doing great! We are sorry that we didn’t fulfill your expectations and we will reinforce top notch customer service with our reception staff. We appreciate your feedback as it helps us to improve our service and premises. However we would like to menton the following: You paid 33 soles for a Hostel that has great facilities & includes breakfast. The basic breakfast that you mention includes a basic breakfast of 2 types of bread, butter, 2 types of jam, coffee and we also give a fruit within 3 choices & a glass of yogurt with granola. With this we guarantee our breakfast is one of the best in Cusco amongst hostels. We are working to improve our breakfast more but at the moment our fixed costs limit ourselves to what we offer. We have now taken the extras down for different matters, but just for the record it was 2 eggs for 4 soles, not 1 for 5, there is a big diffference. In regards to the bar, we have set prices and products for everything, even for Happy Hour, we don't really understand what you mean with cheap stuff from behind? All our drinks & Happy Hours and products are shown on the Bar Menu. There are Local Liquors which we understand is what you mean as the "cheap stuff from behind" & we also have imported & premium liquors, all shown on the Menu with their fixed price. The tour agency, I can understand we can be a bit more expensive than in town but there are several factors to take into consideration/compare: 1. Reliability of tour company 2. Quality and professionalism of tour. 3. Amount of people on tour & type of traveller on group. 4. If anything goes wrong, we, Kokopelli, can pressure the tour agency to make up for it as our reputation is on board, while if you take the tour somewhere else you will be on your own to claim and most likely you won't get anything back from them. Hopefully we get another chance to exceed your expectations. :) Cheers, Nicolas (GM).

74%

its really a party hostel, if you are looking for a quite place to rest, its not really the place. the hostel was clean, the bathroons had nice hot showers. breakfast is actually just bread and jam, eggs or cheese had to be paid extra.


89%

Staff were very helpful and friendly, bar was great but not many people around, good balance between party and relax. Great location too, close to the main square. Only let down was the wifi connection, computers crashed every time we tried to book flights. Recommend if you don't need great wifi!


69%

Kitchen staff were friendly.


94%

it's very nice hostel with friendly staff


94%

I stayed at Kokopelli twice, on both ends of my Macchu Pichu trip. Was a nice hostel overall. The wifi is terrible. The breakfast was good, breads and jams with fruit and yogurt. The bar staff was generally really friendly. Different events going on every night, but also quiet enough in the room areas that you can sleep early if you want to.


74%

Generally good hostel. Comfortable beds. Average breakfast. Good location.


74%

Good hostel with very basic breakfast. It was generally good value for the money. Beds were comfortable and had curtains, power sockets and lights.


86%

Good location overall. Atmosphere isn't bad. Not as crazy as some of the other hostels in Cusco but it's a good balance. Shower within the dorm ensuite was totally awful. No water pressure and water was mostly cold. Nice to have free coca tea all day and the lounge area is nice and communal.


63%

It is a very big hostel. Good for meeting people‚ but it is very noisy. Its hard to sleep here cause there is loud music until late and in the morning people are packing early for going on tours. Beds are comfy though. The bar is nice. Breakfast is very poor‚ you have to pay for everything extra.


94%

Super fun hostel with good vibes. Good if you want a little party but not too much. Staff were friendly however the travel desk was over priced. Can book activities way cheaper online or elsewhere.


83%

Hostel was great, not too loud at night so you could still sleep. However the lack of Kitchen can get a bit frustrating.


86%

Great facilities, very average atmosphere. Pretty much no one in the bar, I was travelling with a friend but it was very hard to meet people. Breakfast staff super unhelpful.


83%

Facilities and lication exceptional. The local staff are brilliant however the volunteer staff where not overly welcoming and made you feel like it was their place and you were just an inconvienience


94%

Delux room with ensuite -highly recommend, especially for anyone who wants there own space. Beds are the most comfortable I've slept in and very sizeable. Curtain around bed provides good privacy, and long shelf next to bed is super useful. there is a lockable cabinet at the end of the bed which is good for daypacks, but will not fit a backpack. There are no keys for the rooms and they are left open all the time, but this actually felt ok. Breakfast is good - bread, yoghurt and fruit.


91%

Bloody awesome hostel. Ended up staying way longer than planned. A hostel where you can chill during the day and party at night if you want to. Great staff, comfy beds, and really good all in one bathrooms with hot showers. Would definitely recommend a stay here if you're in Cusco. Was also able to book our Salkantay Trek to Machu Picchu from the agents downstairs.


100%

One month in South America and only one other hostel on our trip compares to koko. Easily one of the best 3-4 hostels I've ever stayed in around the world . A great choice


« first « Prev 1 2 3
(49 results)


View all Cusco Hostels

Please give us your feedback