Hostelworld.com

Kon Tiki Bungalows

Prices
map
reviews
8.2
Fabulous 266 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 8.5
  • Security 8.6
  • Location 8.3
  • Staff 8.5
  • Atmosphere 7.9
  • Cleanliness 8.1
  • Facilities 7.4
BOOK NOW
8.2
Fabulous 266 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 8.5
  • Security 8.6
  • Location 8.3
  • Staff 8.5
  • Atmosphere 7.9
  • Cleanliness 8.1
  • Facilities 7.4

The rating percentage is calculated from customers who booked within the last 12 months. All ratings and reviews are based on the feedback and opinions of the customers who submitted them and do not express the opinions of Hostelworld.com. This way, you get an up-to-the-minute opinion of just how good a hostel really is.
Read our review guidelines

  • Show:
  • Sort By:
  • Anonymous
  • England, Female, 41+
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
28th Jan 2017
6.3

The hostel is located up a steep hill on the other side of the busy Main Street so there is no direct access to the beach. The views are lovely and it is quiet but there is nothing else nearby so if you want anything outside then later on at night you will have to negotiate a poorly lit climb back up the hill. You will also have to carry your rucksack back down the hill to get out ! I think there might be a problem with staff. When they were they they were very nice but mostly they were t there

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 4.0Location
    • 4.0Facilities
    • 6.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 6.0Cleanliness
28th Jan 2017
6.9

It is on top of the hill overlooking town so is an amazing, breezy place to hang out and the beds were comfortable. That being said, this was not our best experience. It rained every night and the owner warned us our roof leaked. The 2nd night we found a huge puddle on the floor and the mattress soaked through. We moved to another room which also leaked. We were given a discount for that night, but I would have preferred to have dry shelter. Don't put people in leaky rooms!

    • 6.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 2.0Facilities
    • 6.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
  • suho-yuni
  • South Korea, Couple, 31-40
  • Novice Nomad
  • 5 reviews
24th Jan 2017
9.7

20달러/더블룸 역대급호스텔로 편하게 잘 묵고 갔음. 장점 : 1) 뷰가 좋음, 2) 도착후직접예약시할인있음, 3)주방이 잘가춰짐, 4)와이파이빠르고 방에서도됨, 5)조기체크인 가능, 6) 체크아웃후 야간버스를 타기위해 기다리는동안 편하게 지낼 공간이 충분함 단점: 1) 비오면 물샘, 2)방충망이 없어모기로부터100%안전하지못함, 3)언덕에 위치해서 길을 모르면(첫도착시) 꽤걸어감

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Ireland, Couple, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 8 reviews
20th Jan 2017
7.4

Fascinating location, on top of a hill overlooking the beach. You have a steep climb in order to get there, but lovely views. The double room with shared bathroom was nice however we encountered a few creatures...a scorpion, a few lizards and a lot of mosquitoes. An improvement would be to add a mosquito net over the bed and a screen for the door to allow the room to cool without letting the insects in. Nice staff, quiet while we were there. The bathrooms need to be cleaned more and need soap.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 6.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 6.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Australia, Couple, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
11th Jan 2017
9.4

My girlfriend and I planned to stay 2 nights and ended up staying 4. Amazing hostel with the best view of town. The walk to town is no issues. Good wifi and facilities and the owners are fantastic. A great place to stay as a couple. Highly recommended

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
25th Nov 2016
8.6

Beautiful view over the city, clean, nice, but a bit far from the beach.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 6.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
12th Oct 2016
8.6

Nice place up on the the hill with a great view, not the best location after a few beers but pack for the day and head back late, you'll be fine. Awesome 360 view of Mancora, the sea and behind. I was dropped by the moto taxi at the base of the cliff so had to lug my bags up, which was a pain. Pretty sure there is a road leading around the hill. Anyway, Nando was there to meet me and I was able to check in super early which was awesome. Would definitely stay again!

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • England, Couple, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 9 reviews
29th Aug 2016
2.0

This is the worst hostel I have been to. Firstly we emailed the hostel about getting to the hostel from the night bus., that we had caught from Cuenca. They emailed saying they would kindly pick us up but when 5am in the morning came around no one was there. We then approached the hostel and we begrudging shown to our room. The bed was appalling and the communal toilets were fowl. My boyfriend went to the toilets and was barked and nearly attacked by the owners dog, whilst she did nothing. Poor

    • 2.0Value For Money
    • 2.0Security
    • 2.0Location
    • 2.0Facilities
    • 2.0Staff
    • 2.0Atmosphere
    • 2.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • South Korea, Couple, 25-30
  • Avid Traveller
  • 15 reviews
24th Aug 2016
10.0

Probably my favourite hostel by far. A quick 2~5 minute walk up a hill to get to the hostel, but definitely worth it. You get the best view possible! Very relaxed and chill hostel (which I loved), so if you're looking to party, you can head down to any of the other party places, but can still rest at night. We reserved a room for 2 with a shared, but they gave us a private bungalow for 4 with private bathroom and amazing view instead. Owners and staff are also very nice, informative, and helpful

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
23rd Aug 2016
6.6

Great views of the town and ocean. All rooms are separate units and many had a view out their front door. I found a small lizard in my room which didn't bother me but might bother some people. Owner is very friendly and offered bus station rides. Getting up to the hostel requires a 5 minute hike on a secluded path which didn't feel totally safe at night even with lights. I was bother by the music which plays all night in a different hostel.

    • 6.0Value For Money
    • 6.0Security
    • 6.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 6.0Cleanliness

Hostelworld Mobile Apps

Book on the go with the new Hostelworld mobile apps.

Search and book more than 33,000 properties in over 170 countries, from anywhere.

Newsletter Sign Up

Submitting your info

Thank you for signing up to our newsletter!

Sign up for our newsletter to get the best hostel deals and news sent straight to your inbox. You can unsubscribe at any time.