Hostelworld.com

Group of 15 or more?

Contact our Group Travel team directly for a tailor made solution for your group

Kool Backpacker Hostel

Group of 15 or more?

Contact our Group Travel team directly for a tailor made solution for your group

Prices
map
reviews
7.9
Very Good 821 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 8.1
  • Security 7.8
  • Location 7.9
  • Staff 9.0
  • Atmosphere 6.6
  • Cleanliness 8.3
  • Facilities 7.5
BOOK NOW
7.9
Very Good 821 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 8.1
  • Security 7.8
  • Location 7.9
  • Staff 9.0
  • Atmosphere 6.6
  • Cleanliness 8.3
  • Facilities 7.5

The rating percentage is calculated from customers who booked within the last 12 months. All ratings and reviews are based on the feedback and opinions of the customers who submitted them and do not express the opinions of Hostelworld.com. This way, you get an up-to-the-minute opinion of just how good a hostel really is.
Read our review guidelines

  • Show:
  • Sort By:
  • Anonymous
  • Australia, Male, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 2 reviews
7th Jul 2017
8.3

Definitely a party hostel, don't expect to sleep as it's on top of the busiest night club and the whole hostel vibrates. If party isn't your scene I would choose somewhere off Bangla.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
2nd Jul 2017
7.1

Went in July and there was only about four others staying there, comfy beds good air con and wifi, right on Bangla rd so quite noisy at night, wouldn't stay if you don't want to party !

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 6.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 2.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Canada, Female, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 6 reviews
29th Jun 2017
9.1

Party hostel located on the party street in patong pretty loud music at night ! But great vibe if u want to meet people and have fun !

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
29th Jun 2017
7.7

I went during off season so the place was dead, maybe 5/6 people there . Thus I had my own dorm room, beds are not comfortable at all, make loads of noise when you move, Toilets and showers were very clean The night lady was very helpful thank you !

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 6.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 6.0Facilities
    • 6.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • England, Female, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 7 reviews
22nd Jun 2017
9.1

Stayed here during low season so wasn't much room for socialising but otherwise perfect stay! Some reviews I read before I booked mentioned noise- I didn't hear a thing so it's not actually that bad

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 4.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
17th Jun 2017
8.0

Hostel is alright but not a social place. Very good price but sleeping at night is tough because it is located above a night club. Offers helpful things like ferry tickets for cheaper prices than other hostels.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 6.0Location
    • 6.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • michellemulan
  • Australia, Female, 18-24
  • Avid Traveller
  • 14 reviews
15th Jun 2017
9.4

Very clean, spacious hostel. However it is on Bangla road so do bring headphones. Very friendly staff, great location and great security.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Elizabeth98
  • British Virgin Islands, Female, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 6 reviews
8th Jun 2017
6.9

One of the lady's on check in was so helpful and friendly however the one working in the day time I found rude! Very quite hostel there was only 3 people staying! Was worried about security as I was told one lady stole money from a guest (think she stay often) and was kicked out however the next day she returned so I was worried about my things!

    • 6.0Value For Money
    • 4.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 6.0Staff
    • 4.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Venezuela, All Male Group, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 8 reviews
26th May 2017
8.9

This hostal is great for people looking to party, since you will sleep on top of the largest nightclub in Phuket. The bass is felt throughout the hostal from 9pm to 3am. This also means your room will be located in the epicenter of Phuket partying, everything is closeby: 7-11, motorcycle rentals, beach, party. Bathrooms are communal, cleaned everyday. The owner is extremely helpful and knowledgeable regarding everything you might need. Highly recommended if you dont mind the noise.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • England, Female, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 6 reviews
4th Apr 2017
6.9

This hostel is on an incredibly busy nightlife/clubbing road which is good if you want to do that but don't expect a decent nights sleep - music could be heard thumping throughout the hostel to the extent bathroom mirrors were shaking in the bathroom. Pretty much anyone can walk in and the corridors are long and dark to the rooms and bathroom, didn't feel particularly safe. The tv/DVD player doesn't work properly either which was bad as we had torrential rain. Has tea and coffee facilities

    • 6.0Value For Money
    • 6.0Security
    • 6.0Location
    • 6.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness

Hostelworld Mobile Apps

Book on the go with the new Hostelworld mobile apps.

Search and book more than 33,000 properties in over 170 countries, from anywhere.

Newsletter Sign Up

Submitting your info

Thank you for signing up to our newsletter!

Sign up for our newsletter to get the best hostel deals and news sent straight to your inbox. You can unsubscribe at any time.