Hostelworld.com

Group of 15 or more?

Contact our Group Travel team directly for a tailor made solution for your group

Kool Backpacker Hostel

Group of 15 or more?

Contact our Group Travel team directly for a tailor made solution for your group

Prices
map
reviews
7.9
Very Good 803 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 7.9
  • Security 7.8
  • Location 8.2
  • Staff 8.7
  • Atmosphere 7.2
  • Cleanliness 8.1
  • Facilities 7.5
BOOK NOW
7.9
Very Good 803 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 7.9
  • Security 7.8
  • Location 8.2
  • Staff 8.7
  • Atmosphere 7.2
  • Cleanliness 8.1
  • Facilities 7.5

The rating percentage is calculated from customers who booked within the last 12 months. All ratings and reviews are based on the feedback and opinions of the customers who submitted them and do not express the opinions of Hostelworld.com. This way, you get an up-to-the-minute opinion of just how good a hostel really is.
Read our review guidelines

  • Show:
  • Sort By:
  • Anonymous
  • England, Female, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 6 reviews
4th Apr 2017
6.9

This hostel is on an incredibly busy nightlife/clubbing road which is good if you want to do that but don't expect a decent nights sleep - music could be heard thumping throughout the hostel to the extent bathroom mirrors were shaking in the bathroom. Pretty much anyone can walk in and the corridors are long and dark to the rooms and bathroom, didn't feel particularly safe. The tv/DVD player doesn't work properly either which was bad as we had torrential rain. Has tea and coffee facilities

    • 6.0Value For Money
    • 6.0Security
    • 6.0Location
    • 6.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
27th Mar 2017
6.9

Not the best place. Holes in the drywall and bathroom is quite far from rooms. Not terrible and great location, just probably wouldn't stay there again. Also very difficult to find, needs an extra sign or something up front

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 6.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 6.0Facilities
    • 6.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 6.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Scotland, All Female Group, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 7 reviews
21st Mar 2017
5.4

We were disappointed with this hostel. The rooms are so small luckily only 2 of us were in the four bed but I still had to leave my bag outside the room! It was not even a room- it was a Sliding partition into the hall that did not lock. We did not get shown where the toilet was and so had to walk around for a while to find it. There was no air con simply one fan. At first the wifi didn't work but after we complained it worked quite well. Was glad to leave after just one night.

    • 6.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 2.0Facilities
    • 6.0Staff
    • 2.0Atmosphere
    • 6.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • England, Male, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 7 reviews
17th Mar 2017
6.3

The lady in charge was really friendly, however the hostel is situated directly above a club so don't expect to sleep at all. The only people we met their were zombies suffering from a hang over so don't expect too many friendly faces. Good if you want to have a wild night in Patong

    • 6.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 2.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 4.0Atmosphere
    • 6.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • USA, All Female Group, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
14th Mar 2017
6.6

I can't stress enough how nice the lady at reception was. She was very patient and kind. I left my wallet in a bus from Phuket to the port to go to the islands, so I called to see if she could ask the bus driver. Not only did she call him and call me back, but she also even went across the street to 7-eleven to see if I left it there. Thank you so much!

    • 4.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 2.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 4.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
8th Mar 2017
7.4

Don't expect to get any sleep before 02H50. The music from downstair club is extremely loud. Other than that, it's a very basic hostel.

    • 6.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 6.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Norway, Female, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
26th Feb 2017
7.7

We came in the middle of the night, and had forgotten to tell the hostel about it. The woman in the front desk was lovely even though we woke her up, and she gave us a private room even though we originally had booked a dorm. So nice! The location is in the busiest street in Patong I think, with extremely loud music and party until the sunrise. However, if you're tired or drunk enough, you'll manage to sleep. However, don't choose this hostel if you want a relaxing night and good sleep.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 4.0Location
    • 6.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Finland, Female, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
23rd Feb 2017
8.6

The place is right on the busiest street, so don't expect to come here to seek for relaxation and quietness. It's perfect if you want to go out, you'll find people to join you amongst other guests for sure. The lady behind the counter was lovely and helpful, would do all trip bookings for me and give advice about what to do and where to go. Overall I have nothing to complain, just be sure to bring earplugs if you actually want to sleep, as it's right on top of a club!

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
21st Feb 2017
9.1

Overall had a good stay. Staff was really helpful and friendly and everything is reasonable for the price you pay. It is right above a club so from 10pm-4am you can hear and feel the bass. So if you're 1. A heavy sleeper 2. Planning on staying out all night or 3. Getting wasted enough that you can sleep through anything, then this is a great hostel!

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
20th Feb 2017
5.7

Very cheap! If you're looking to save money this place is for you! The music was way to loud for us and beds weren't comfy at all. Staff was very nice though!

    • 6.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 4.0Location
    • 4.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 4.0Atmosphere
    • 4.0Cleanliness

Hostelworld Mobile Apps

Book on the go with the new Hostelworld mobile apps.

Search and book more than 33,000 properties in over 170 countries, from anywhere.

Newsletter Sign Up

Submitting your info

Thank you for signing up to our newsletter!

Sign up for our newsletter to get the best hostel deals and news sent straight to your inbox. You can unsubscribe at any time.