Hostelworld.com
HostelBookers Logo

Group of 15 or more?

Contact our Group Travel team directly for a tailor made solution for your group

Kool Backpacker Hostel

Group of 15 or more?

Contact our Group Travel team directly for a tailor made solution for your group

Prices
map
reviews
7.7
Very Good 781 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 7.7
  • Security 7.8
  • Location 8.0
  • Staff 8.1
  • Atmosphere 7.2
  • Cleanliness 8.0
  • Facilities 7.4
BOOK NOW
7.7
Very Good 781 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 7.7
  • Security 7.8
  • Location 8.0
  • Staff 8.1
  • Atmosphere 7.2
  • Cleanliness 8.0
  • Facilities 7.4

The rating percentage is calculated from customers who booked within the last 12 months. All ratings and reviews are based on the feedback and opinions of the customers who submitted them and do not express the opinions of Hostelworld.com. This way, you get an up-to-the-minute opinion of just how good a hostel really is.
Read our review guidelines

  • Show:
  • Sort By:
  • Anonymous
  • Finland, Female, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
23rd Feb 2017
8.6

The place is right on the busiest street, so don't expect to come here to seek for relaxation and quietness. It's perfect if you want to go out, you'll find people to join you amongst other guests for sure. The lady behind the counter was lovely and helpful, would do all trip bookings for me and give advice about what to do and where to go. Overall I have nothing to complain, just be sure to bring earplugs if you actually want to sleep, as it's right on top of a club!

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
21st Feb 2017
9.1

Overall had a good stay. Staff was really helpful and friendly and everything is reasonable for the price you pay. It is right above a club so from 10pm-4am you can hear and feel the bass. So if you're 1. A heavy sleeper 2. Planning on staying out all night or 3. Getting wasted enough that you can sleep through anything, then this is a great hostel!

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • England, Mixed Group, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 8 reviews
7th Feb 2017
8.6

Only stay here if you are planning to party a lot and sleep a small amount. For the daytime, the location is great- it is on Bangla Road which is near the beach, markets and shops. At night, Bangla Road is filled with clubs and bars and the hostel is located above a club which means the noise is unbearable if you're in your room. You can feel the vibration of the base and cannot hear yourself think. The staff are lovely though! And they sell alcohol, other drinks and a bit of food.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • dadodeouro
  • Brazil, Male, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 8 reviews
24th Jan 2017
9.1

Very good hostel, located near the beach and in a great street for tourists, with lots of clubs, bars, restaurants and stores. The place is nice to make new friends, we stayed there every night drinking and talking before going to the street to find a bar or a club Downstairs there's a very good club, with good parties every day and with free entrance. This club go up to 5am, and the music is quite loud. You can listen to it from the hostel, so that's not very helpful when trying to sleep

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Australia, Male, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 7 reviews
18th Jan 2017
10.0

Met some of the best people in this place and had an awesome night. Beds aren't too comfortable but still make for a great place to pass out

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • England, Couple, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
12th Jan 2017
7.4

Decent hostel but not got the best atmosphere to be honest. I did hear the week before we arrived it was good so maybe it's just we didn't have as good group of people when we went. The hostel was very quiet which we didn't expect as we were kinda hoping to make a lot of friends. We did meet some nice people though on the last night which is typical but still not the best atmosphere compared to what I'm used to in other hostels. Don't expect to sleep in the hostel much as the music is loud.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 6.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Canada, Female, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 8 reviews
9th Jan 2017
7.7

It's on top of illusion night club.. so you should be very drunk going back to the hostel and pass right out because they pump music until 6am. Don't expect too much sleep if you're going to this hostel because it's gonna be a wild night lol.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 6.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
8th Jan 2017
10.0

This is a party hostel, located just one floor above amazing Illuzion night club. In case you go to bed early you will listen to the music all night. If you don't mind this then you'll be at the right place. Guy at front desk super helpful and kind. In case you're traveling solo its a great hostel to meet people to party at crazy Bangla rd.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Argentina, Female, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 2 reviews
7th Jan 2017
8.9

The only issue was that we booked 3 beds and when we arrived they didn't have 3 beds in the same room. The receptionist didn't do anything to fix it. Aside from that: great location, specially if you are looking for partying. Great facilities, lots of space, always clean. Common area with a lot of people all the time.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 6.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 6.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Hungary, Male, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 5 reviews
7th Jan 2017
9.4

First of all, it's above a really big club on the main touristic street, so decide what you want during our stay! We really enjoyed cause we were clubbing 3 nights straight in that club, the music was awesome (tech house), and we didn't have to go out to the rain. :D Cheap alcohol in the Hostel, many solo travelers, good to meet up with new ppl. You can sleep during the day when the music stops (around 5am), so only choose this Hostel if you wanna go out. Clean enough and helpful staff.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness

Hostelworld Mobile Apps

Book on the go with the new Hostelworld mobile apps.

Search and book more than 33,000 properties in over 170 countries, from anywhere.

Newsletter Sign Up

Submitting your info

Thank you for signing up to our newsletter!

Sign up for our newsletter to get the best hostel deals and news sent straight to your inbox. You can unsubscribe at any time.