Hostelworld.com

Group of 15 or more?

Contact our Group Travel team directly for a tailor made solution for your group

Kyoya Ryokan

Group of 15 or more?

Contact our Group Travel team directly for a tailor made solution for your group

Prices
map
reviews
9.6
Superb 723 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 9.9
  • Security 9.5
  • Location 8.6
  • Staff 9.7
  • Atmosphere 9.5
  • Cleanliness 9.9
  • Facilities 9.8
BOOK NOW
9.6
Superb 723 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 9.9
  • Security 9.5
  • Location 8.6
  • Staff 9.7
  • Atmosphere 9.5
  • Cleanliness 9.9
  • Facilities 9.8

The rating percentage is calculated from customers who booked within the last 12 months. All ratings and reviews are based on the feedback and opinions of the customers who submitted them and do not express the opinions of Hostelworld.com. This way, you get an up-to-the-minute opinion of just how good a hostel really is.
Read our review guidelines

  • Show:
  • Sort By:
  • Anonymous
  • England, Male, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
9th Jul 2017
10.0

The hostel was amazing. The rooms and beds were comfortable ! Their indoor Onsen ♨️ Is amazing ! 1st time going to one and now addicted ! Highly recommend the place !

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Denmark, Mixed Group, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 5 reviews
5th Jul 2017
9.7

We had a very nice stay and wished we had stayed for more than one night. The staff is very welcoming and helpful. The rooms are nice and the bath is amazing! Perfect way to get the ryokan experience on a budget.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Malaysia, Female, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
26th Jun 2017
9.4

I really love this place! Major love for the onsen! The view is the best and sigh i love it too much

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 6.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Canada, Couple, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 2 reviews
15th Jun 2017
10.0

Our stay at the Kyoya Ryokan was very pleasant. The establishment was calm, spacious, and well taken care of. Hiroshi welcomed us so well, and made us feel at home right away. The public bath facilities were great, and well explained for first timers like us. We enjoyed the night gown that they provided. We highly recommend this place!

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
7th Jun 2017
9.7

My brother and I stayed in the dorms, which had their own mini kitchen, balcony, fridge, washroom, pretty much everything you need in a room. the room itself was really spacious with tatami flooring and sliding paper doors (what you would expect in a ryokan) so it felt traditional. The staff was very helpful and kind and even gave a little "thank you" treat for staying at their location. I would highly recommend if you are staying in Nagoya

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • reeseleanor1989
  • England, Female, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 3 reviews
28th May 2017
8.9

fantastic onsen, when i went i had it to myself, very beautiful garden and the kimono was a cute touch. the women's dorm was a little lacklustre especially after seeing the care taken with the rest of the hotel. the beds looked a bit like hospital beds and the tatami flooring was hidden by a cheap cover up, would have been much more pleasant if they were simple futons. host was lovely though

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 6.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • USA, Female, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
23rd May 2017
10.0

Excellent choice in Nagoya! I hope we get to visit again. The staff is so friendly and helpful. The perfect service. We got two beds in the dorm. Excellent value. There was no one else staying in it at the time. It was quite spacious. Good amenities (kitchen /private shower/bathroom). The garden is beautiful and peaceful. The onsen is quite relaxing. I had the whole thing to myself. We used their bikes to scoot around town. Easy check in /check out. Loved it!!

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • aprilyeung
  • Hong Kong, Female, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 4 reviews
16th May 2017
8.0

A little bit far away from the Nagoya station that you may need to take a bus.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 6.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
13th May 2017
10.0

Loved this place for all the right reasons...staff ultra helpful, clean, tea available all the time, small dorm room with kitchen and eating area but close to restaurants and convenience stores. Station about ten minutes walk, Chinese alley of shops five minutes away, yellow bus ride to attractions about fifteen minutes walk. Onsen on site was a bonus.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
2nd May 2017
9.7

This is by far the best way to experience a ryokan on a budget. Staying in the dorm-style room you don't get the luxury of a private room but you still have access to all the other ryokan specialties like the tatami mat floors, the bath and meals. Both breakfast and dinner are an extra cost but if you have not had a ryokan meal before I would highly recommend them as the quality and experience are top notch. The staff provide a wonderful stay and have great recommendation lists for restaurants.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness

Hostelworld Mobile Apps

Book on the go with the new Hostelworld mobile apps.

Search and book more than 33,000 properties in over 170 countries, from anywhere.

Newsletter Sign Up

Submitting your info

Thank you for signing up to our newsletter!

Sign up for our newsletter to get the best hostel deals and news sent straight to your inbox. You can unsubscribe at any time.