Hostelworld.com

Group of 15 or more?

Contact our Group Travel team directly for a tailor made solution for your group

Kyoya Ryokan

Group of 15 or more?

Contact our Group Travel team directly for a tailor made solution for your group

Prices
map
reviews
9.5
Superb 755 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 9.8
  • Security 9.6
  • Location 8.7
  • Staff 9.8
  • Atmosphere 9.4
  • Cleanliness 9.9
  • Facilities 9.7
BOOK NOW
9.5
Superb 755 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 9.8
  • Security 9.6
  • Location 8.7
  • Staff 9.8
  • Atmosphere 9.4
  • Cleanliness 9.9
  • Facilities 9.7

The rating percentage is calculated from customers who booked within the last 12 months. All ratings and reviews are based on the feedback and opinions of the customers who submitted them and do not express the opinions of Hostelworld.com. This way, you get an up-to-the-minute opinion of just how good a hostel really is.
Read our review guidelines

  • Show:
  • Sort By:
13th Sep 2017
10.0

This place was great, a little quiet for my taste but was still great. It has a real authentic feel to it, and the people are nice.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Australia, Female, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 4 reviews
7th Sep 2017
10.0

Amazing Ryokan, great area and attentive staff!

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • New Zealand, Mixed Group, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
26th Aug 2017
9.7

Kyoya Ryokan was lovely. We had to check in much later than originally stated, but the staff were very understanding and left us a note for directions to our room. Very clean. Beautiful gardens. Only down side was that we weren't able to wash our clothes, whether the machine was broken or they no longer had one I'm not sure. It's a shame we only booked for one night. I'd definitely stay here again :)

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
25th Aug 2017
9.7

The owner was very nice and the room was lovely. I enjoyed the garden and the public bath, which was very nice. The bunk beds each have privacy curtains, which is a nice touch. And you get a full-size locker big enough to fit a backpack. The owner even gave me a parting gift (a bag of snacks) when I checked out.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Czech Republic, Male, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 8 reviews
20th Aug 2017
9.1

There were only two bunk beds in the room with lots of space around and even a stove, toaster etc. A free coffee/tea machine and ice cube maker at the ground floor is great. The ofuro (Japanese bath, not an onsen, thermal spring) is very clean. Everything is well maintained, I can complain only about the bicycles: There were always only two bikes, and neither of them seemed safe to use. On one of them, the saddle was broken, on the other, there was no lock, both had almost flat tyres.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
16th Aug 2017
9.1

loved the atmosphere. the traditional breakfast was definitely worth the $20. Public bath was very clean and the beds were incredibly comfortable. It was about a mile away from Nagoya station but the free bikes made it easy and fun to get around town and see all the sights fast.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 6.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
16th Aug 2017
10.0

Incredible hostel and experience! Hiroshi was extremely kind and helpful, and even called us a cab to take us to the Nagoya station the next day ($10). There are so many lovely details that make this an exceptional place to stay - from the free coffee and tea, towels and toothbrush, clean living conditions, onsen (which sadly we did experience this time), bikes, maps to local restaurants and attractions - this place has it all. I will come back any time I am in Nagoya, and you should too.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
10th Aug 2017
10.0

Kyoya Ryokan was a nice stay. I was in a 4 person mixed dorm, the room is quite large compared to something similar in tokyo with its own kitchenette and a lounge area. Nice quiet lobby to have a coffee in the morning. The bikes seem under utilized, there was always a few there when I grabbed one regardless of time of day and they made getting around the local area a breeze.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Canada, All Male Group, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 7 reviews
5th Aug 2017
9.7

Amazing quality stay in Nagoya. Incredibly friendly staff, and free bike rentals. Ryokan-like stay with hostel bunks. Location slightly far from subway stations

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • linjulialee8774
  • USA, Female, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
26th Jul 2017
10.0

Don't hesitate, so worth the $30 price ! It comes with free bikes, great location for sightseeing, great service, free ice, tea, and coffee, very comfortable bed, and an onsen!

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness

Hostelworld Mobile Apps

Book on the go with the new Hostelworld mobile apps.

Search and book more than 33,000 properties in over 170 countries, from anywhere.

Newsletter Sign Up

Submitting your info

Thank you for signing up to our newsletter!

Sign up for our newsletter to get the best hostel deals and news sent straight to your inbox. You can unsubscribe at any time.

×