Hostelworld.com

Group of 15 or more?

Contact our Group Travel team directly for a tailor made solution for your group

Kyoya Ryokan

Group of 15 or more?

Contact our Group Travel team directly for a tailor made solution for your group

Prices
map
reviews
9.6
Superb 698 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 9.9
  • Security 9.7
  • Location 8.4
  • Staff 9.8
  • Atmosphere 9.5
  • Cleanliness 9.9
  • Facilities 9.8
BOOK NOW
9.6
Superb 698 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 9.9
  • Security 9.7
  • Location 8.4
  • Staff 9.8
  • Atmosphere 9.5
  • Cleanliness 9.9
  • Facilities 9.8

The rating percentage is calculated from customers who booked within the last 12 months. All ratings and reviews are based on the feedback and opinions of the customers who submitted them and do not express the opinions of Hostelworld.com. This way, you get an up-to-the-minute opinion of just how good a hostel really is.
Read our review guidelines

  • Show:
  • Sort By:
  • Anonymous
  • USA, Female, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
23rd May 2017
10.0

Excellent choice in Nagoya! I hope we get to visit again. The staff is so friendly and helpful. The perfect service. We got two beds in the dorm. Excellent value. There was no one else staying in it at the time. It was quite spacious. Good amenities (kitchen /private shower/bathroom). The garden is beautiful and peaceful. The onsen is quite relaxing. I had the whole thing to myself. We used their bikes to scoot around town. Easy check in /check out. Loved it!!

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • aprilyeung
  • Hong Kong, Female, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 4 reviews
16th May 2017
8.0

A little bit far away from the Nagoya station that you may need to take a bus.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 6.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • USA, Couple, 41+
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
13th May 2017
10.0

Loved this place for all the right reasons...staff ultra helpful, clean, tea available all the time, small dorm room with kitchen and eating area but close to restaurants and convenience stores. Station about ten minutes walk, Chinese alley of shops five minutes away, yellow bus ride to attractions about fifteen minutes walk. Onsen on site was a bonus.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
2nd May 2017
9.7

This is by far the best way to experience a ryokan on a budget. Staying in the dorm-style room you don't get the luxury of a private room but you still have access to all the other ryokan specialties like the tatami mat floors, the bath and meals. Both breakfast and dinner are an extra cost but if you have not had a ryokan meal before I would highly recommend them as the quality and experience are top notch. The staff provide a wonderful stay and have great recommendation lists for restaurants.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Thailand, All Female Group, 31-40
  • Avid Traveller
  • 16 reviews
1st May 2017
9.4

The hostel is really nice, good location with public bath.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Canada, Couple, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 6 reviews
28th Apr 2017
9.4

Being able to stay in a ryokan at the prices of many hostels was amazing. The staff (especially the older gentleman) were absolutely delightful. Yukata are provided for your stay so that you can truly a ryokan with its own onsen. The dorm room has its own small common area outside the beds (separated by fusuma), own kitchen and toilet/bathroom. Large lockers (able to hold my 40L pack, messenger bag and other items) are provided in the room. Only issue was location, which isn't central to much.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 6.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Hong Kong, Male, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 6 reviews
24th Apr 2017
9.7

a special room for backpacker nearby the high class rooms which are over USD100 a night (you can see it on other hotel searching website)

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
14th Apr 2017
9.7

Very great ryokan. Recommend for the traveler who wants to be relax and stay 2 days at least.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • USA, Mixed Group, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 5 reviews
30th Mar 2017
9.7

Was a bit of a walk from the station, but once you get to the hostel, the bikes you can ride can get you anywhere in Nagoya pretty quickly! Nagoya castle is just a few blocks away. The bath house was nice as well, and the dormitory common room was nice and spacious.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Germany, Female, 25-30
  • Avid Traveller
  • 11 reviews
20th Mar 2017
9.4

awesome place! I stayed in the female dorm and I even got a yukata to wear for the way to the onsen area in the pretty nice garden. I asked, it is okay for a foreigner with a tattoo to use the onsen. And they have 5 bikes for free to use. So Nagoya was a really nice ride. Because they were so nice I booked the breakfast - and it was really great and yummie! You should try it too - even it seems to be a little expensive - it's really worth it to have an japanese breakfast experience. 5 stars! :-)

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness

Hostelworld Mobile Apps

Book on the go with the new Hostelworld mobile apps.

Search and book more than 33,000 properties in over 170 countries, from anywhere.

Newsletter Sign Up

Submitting your info

Thank you for signing up to our newsletter!

Sign up for our newsletter to get the best hostel deals and news sent straight to your inbox. You can unsubscribe at any time.