Hostelworld.com

Group of 15 or more?

Contact our Group Travel team directly for a tailor made solution for your group

LKNZ Backpackers

Group of 15 or more?

Contact our Group Travel team directly for a tailor made solution for your group

Prices
map
reviews
8.9
Fabulous 71 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 9.3
  • Security 8.4
  • Location 9.0
  • Staff 9.2
  • Atmosphere 8.4
  • Cleanliness 9.1
  • Facilities 9.0
BOOK NOW
8.9
Fabulous 71 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 9.3
  • Security 8.4
  • Location 9.0
  • Staff 9.2
  • Atmosphere 8.4
  • Cleanliness 9.1
  • Facilities 9.0

The rating percentage is calculated from customers who booked within the last 12 months. All ratings and reviews are based on the feedback and opinions of the customers who submitted them and do not express the opinions of Hostelworld.com. This way, you get an up-to-the-minute opinion of just how good a hostel really is.
Read our review guidelines

  • Show:
  • Sort By:
  • Anonymous
  • New Zealand, Male, 18-24
  • Avid Traveller
  • 13 reviews
6th Apr 2017
7.1

Had a decent stay with a comfy bed and good bathroom facilities. Kitchen was nice and social, while never feeling busy but was usually very messy. A couple of negatives - there were no lockers in the room and anyone could get in the lockable storage room by collecting a key from reception. Also I had a job interview and was disappointed there was no iron available, with the woman at the desk saying she had mentioned it to management before.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 6.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 6.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 6.0Cleanliness
  • JacobWattenbach
  • England, Couple, 18-24
  • Avid Traveller
  • 19 reviews
9th Mar 2017
8.9

Great hostel in a great location. Very easy to book any activities and have a fantastic cafe that does awesome breakfasts and toasties at a very reasonable price. My only criticism is that the kitchen isn't respected very well by guests and I think that's due to the fact it isn't cleaned properly by cleaners.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 6.0Cleanliness
  • kitana3737
  • USA, Female, 31-40
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
28th Feb 2017
9.4

The British guy at the front desk went out of his way to be helpful. We slept through out Togariro Alpine Crossing bus, and he helped us with an alternative. We've been travelling for 5 months and LKNZ has the best equipped kitchen we've seen! All the pots, knife, and cutlery are new. Very clean hostel.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • England, All Female Group, 18-24
  • Avid Traveller
  • 10 reviews
28th Feb 2017
8.3

Lovely hostel in a good location, the man behind reception was lovely! Really helpful with all our queries. The wifi was good but ran out quite quickly even though we were told it was 1GB of data. Rooms were clean and there were washing lines outside to hang clothes which was nice! Overall I would definitely recommend this hostel.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • England, Male, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 5 reviews
21st Feb 2017
9.7

This a great place to stay if you are doing the tongariro crossing. Its quiet and clean, with really helpful friendly staff. Kitchen and common room area is great. There's a nice little cafe as well. Location right in centre of town. Also they can arrange a shuttle for the crossing. Overall fantastic hostel.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • England, Female, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 4 reviews
13th Feb 2017
9.4

Friendly helpful staff, very clean, affordable rooms. Quiet which suited me perfectly.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • lhooiweng6345
  • Malaysia, Male, 25-30
  • Avid Traveller
  • 16 reviews
10th Feb 2017
9.4

Probably Summer is the low season for this area. No one there, and we enjoy all. Definitely nice place to stay.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
4th Feb 2017
9.1

This place is super clean. There's also a few kitchens so it's never too crowded. There's a lounge area with a great movie selection as well and a cafe with reasonable prices. This is a great place especially for families

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Switzerland, Male, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 8 reviews
22nd Jan 2017
10.0

Good place, get your breakfast at the café

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
20th Jan 2017
8.0

Superb place to stay! My room didn't have a heater though and the showers and toilet facilities are limited but that wouldn't stop me coming back! The staff are super helpful and the laundry facilities are also on point! :) BUT there are no lockers in the rooms :(

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 6.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness

Hostelworld Mobile Apps

Book on the go with the new Hostelworld mobile apps.

Search and book more than 33,000 properties in over 170 countries, from anywhere.

Newsletter Sign Up

Submitting your info

Thank you for signing up to our newsletter!

Sign up for our newsletter to get the best hostel deals and news sent straight to your inbox. You can unsubscribe at any time.