X

Home to the world's greatest Hostels

30,000 properties, 180 countries Over 3.5 million guest reviews 21 million bookings

LSE Carr-Saunders Hall Reviews

18-24 Fitzroy Street, W1T 4BN, London, England

Reviews & Ratings Explained

88%

Rating
493 Total Reviews
  • 86%Value For Money
  • 94%Security
  • 94%Location
  • 92%Staff
  • 80%Atmosphere
  • 88%Cleanliness
  • 83%Facilities

The rating percentage is calculated from customers who booked within the last 12 months.

All ratings and reviews are based on the feedback and opinions of the customers who submitted them and do not express the opinions of Hostelworld.com. This way, you get an up-to-the-minute opinion of just how good a hostel really is.
Read our review guidelines »

  • Show:

74%

The place is like a dormitory for students going to London school of Economics so u will see a lot of students there. There was a nice lounge area on the ground floor with TVs and foozball table. The reception is 24/7 which is nice. Breakfast is included. I got a double bed room and paid 104£, and it was extremely small. It felt like a jail cell. On top of this, u have to go out of your room to go to the bathroom, which is communal type.

  • 19th Apr 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • USA
  • Female, 18-24
  • (1 review)


97%

Have stayed before and would stay again. Very good location. I like that older travellers stay here too. Staff were pleasant. Excellent breakfast. Towels, small toiletries provided. Has been revamped a little since I last stayed. Bathrooms were clean. Hand basins in room. Can get noisy at night due to traffic outside and other guests (so earplugs advisable). Those looking to meet people at a party hostel should look elsewhere. This suits those looking for a clean, safe bed for the night.


89%

From Warren Street, the nearest underground, the hostel was very easy to find. Good location, not far from all the major stops in zone 1. Staff were VERY friendly. Rooms were simple but very clean and tidy. You can make yourself tea and coffee in the shared kitchen. 10MB of free WiFi. Very pleased to have a cooked English breakfast included every morning! Need to use your key card to get through 2 doors before you can get inside the building so we felt very safe and secure.


97%

It's great

  • 12th Apr 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • England
  • Male, 41+
  • (1 review)


94%

Great place to stay. It's walking distance to many of the "must see" in London and the center of the city. A perfect way to get to know London on foot and save some money on transport. Facilities were great, breakfast very generous and delicious. Plenty of shops, supermarkets, take aways and 3 tube stations close to it, if needed.


The reviews below do not count toward the property's recent rating.
Hide older reviews
89%

Fantastic hostel run by helpful staff. Excellent breakfast and above all the location is fantastic. Under £70 for a private room brilliant. Will be back

  • 16th Aug 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • England
  • Male, 41+
  • (1 review)


71%

hope a better bathroom.


77%

Breakfast was legit. Room was clean. The only real negative were shared bathroom facilities for both men and women. I feel this made some people uncomfortable.


69%

The stuff is really helpful. and the breakfast is wonderful.. but the room and the hall have an awful smell. in the twin room we have only two sockets. anyway, the price is comparatively low in such a central district of London.


100%

Perfect. Thank you!


94%

When we discovered the area the location seemed perfect, and i thought the showers will be like in camps, but i was pleasantly surprised about showers, i read already on other reviews about the hair dryers, really, they dont cost much, they should think about that, but all over it was really great place to stay with low budget.

  • 21st Aug 2013
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Latvia
  • Female, 18-24
  • (1 review)


71%

My key failed and couldnt get into the room after had been to the toilet this could have been difficult if it happened at night couldn't get into one of the kitchen doors nearest my room and had to use the other door. On checkout day before the checkout time a cleaner barged into my room without knocking this could have been very embarassing had i not already been dressed as it was it gave me a shock and i find it unacceptable that she didn't at least knock before using her key.

  • 17th Aug 2013
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Scotland
  • Female, 41+
  • (1 review)


69%

It's actually a students house of LSE, so it kind of looks like a prison. Don't expect to find young travelers, most of guests are 40 or more years old. Don't expect to get too much sleep, either. My mattress had a hole in the middle of it, and very early in the morning they started moving furniture on the floor above me, so I always had to wake up around 7. The collective bathroom and kitchen are clean, but there's no way to control the temperature in the showers. Breakfast was great.


83%

NO WIFI!!


31%

Dirty rooms, mold, hostile staff, easy to bypass security, loud students stay here, staff refused to give me another open room (out of laziness - went back two hours later when shift changed and was able to secure one), not a 'bad' area but nothing is around - prepare to travel 15 minutes to find someplace to go eat.

  • 13th Apr 2013
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • USA
  • Male, 18-24
  • (1 review)


94%

LSE Carr-Saunders Hall offers safe, clean, and overall very pleasant accommodation in the very centre of London, all that for more than reasonable price. English breakfast was top quality. The only minor disadvantage: At exactly 8 o'clock, some kids would always start running through the corridors yelling and slamming doors so this is not the best option for sleeping in. But you did not come to London to sleep through the morning, did you?


46%

Under the window was fungi ; Behinde the basin was fungy and under the bed was fungi too. It was not very clean , cause dust everywhere; Our room has stunken for fungi

  • 25th Mar 2013
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Germany
  • Male, 18-24
  • (1 review)


77%

Stayed in private single room for 3 nights from Dec 29 to Jan 1, 2012. Everything is decent and clean. Breakfast selection is good but you can only select 6 items. Unfortunately, wifi is not working. The staff knows about it and for 3 days, wifi is still not fixed. For a traveler, getting connected with family / friend is important, especially for safety. Even if wifi works, it is only available in common area in ground floor.


66%

This place was just whatever. Nothing too special.. Just a place to stay really. Showers were nice though


71%

the public transport is not very convenient, but the meal is good


« first « Prev 1 2 3 4 5 6 7
(380 results)


View all London Hostels

Please give us your feedback