X

Home to the world's greatest Hostels

30,000 properties, 180 countries Over 3.5 million Guest Reviews 21 million bookings

LSE Carr-Saunders Hall Reviews

18-24 Fitzroy Street, W1T 4BN, London, England

Reviews & Ratings Explained

83%

Rating
477 Total Reviews
  • 80%Value For Money
  • 100%Security
  • 100%Location
  • 80%Staff
  • 60%Atmosphere
  • 80%Cleanliness
  • 80%Facilities

The rating percentage is calculated from customers who booked within the last 12 months.

All ratings and reviews are based on the feedback and opinions of the customers who submitted them and do not express the opinions of Hostelworld.com. This way, you get an up-to-the-minute opinion of just how good a hostel really is.
Read our review guidelines »

  • Show:

71%

hope a better bathroom.


77%

Breakfast was legit. Room was clean. The only real negative were shared bathroom facilities for both men and women. I feel this made some people uncomfortable.


69%

The stuff is really helpful. and the breakfast is wonderful.. but the room and the hall have an awful smell. in the twin room we have only two sockets. anyway, the price is comparatively low in such a central district of London.


100%

Perfect. Thank you!


94%

When we discovered the area the location seemed perfect, and i thought the showers will be like in camps, but i was pleasantly surprised about showers, i read already on other reviews about the hair dryers, really, they dont cost much, they should think about that, but all over it was really great place to stay with low budget.

  • 21st Aug 2013
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Latvia
  • Female, 18-24
  • (1 review)


The reviews below do not count toward the property's recent rating.
Hide older reviews
71%

My key failed and couldnt get into the room after had been to the toilet this could have been difficult if it happened at night couldn't get into one of the kitchen doors nearest my room and had to use the other door. On checkout day before the checkout time a cleaner barged into my room without knocking this could have been very embarassing had i not already been dressed as it was it gave me a shock and i find it unacceptable that she didn't at least knock before using her key.

  • 17th Aug 2013
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Scotland
  • Female, 41+
  • (1 review)


69%

It's actually a students house of LSE, so it kind of looks like a prison. Don't expect to find young travelers, most of guests are 40 or more years old. Don't expect to get too much sleep, either. My mattress had a hole in the middle of it, and very early in the morning they started moving furniture on the floor above me, so I always had to wake up around 7. The collective bathroom and kitchen are clean, but there's no way to control the temperature in the showers. Breakfast was great.


83%

NO WIFI!!


31%

Dirty rooms, mold, hostile staff, easy to bypass security, loud students stay here, staff refused to give me another open room (out of laziness - went back two hours later when shift changed and was able to secure one), not a 'bad' area but nothing is around - prepare to travel 15 minutes to find someplace to go eat.

  • 13th Apr 2013
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • USA
  • Male, 18-24
  • (1 review)


94%

LSE Carr-Saunders Hall offers safe, clean, and overall very pleasant accommodation in the very centre of London, all that for more than reasonable price. English breakfast was top quality. The only minor disadvantage: At exactly 8 o'clock, some kids would always start running through the corridors yelling and slamming doors so this is not the best option for sleeping in. But you did not come to London to sleep through the morning, did you?


46%

Under the window was fungi ; Behinde the basin was fungy and under the bed was fungi too. It was not very clean , cause dust everywhere; Our room has stunken for fungi

  • 25th Mar 2013
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Germany
  • Male, 18-24
  • (1 review)


77%

Stayed in private single room for 3 nights from Dec 29 to Jan 1, 2012. Everything is decent and clean. Breakfast selection is good but you can only select 6 items. Unfortunately, wifi is not working. The staff knows about it and for 3 days, wifi is still not fixed. For a traveler, getting connected with family / friend is important, especially for safety. Even if wifi works, it is only available in common area in ground floor.


66%

This place was just whatever. Nothing too special.. Just a place to stay really. Showers were nice though


71%

the public transport is not very convenient, but the meal is good


86%

Place is nice, pleasant, clean, comfortable, would stay again, but breakfast situation was horrible. I'd probably just go out and get my own breakfast next time, not eat there. Lots of things wrong with the breakfast. There was a huge line going into the cafeteria, and when I finally got to the front, trays were gone; I had to wait 10 minutes. Dirty dishes are put out next to where people stand in line, so while waiting for breakfast I had to sit and look at piles of dirty dishes. Disgusting!

  • 14th Sep 2012
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • USA
  • Male, 41+
  • (1 review)


86%

Excellent breakfast!

  • 6th Sep 2012
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • France
  • Female, 31-40
  • (1 review)


63%

No air conditioning. No working wifi.

  • 17th Aug 2012
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Finland
  • Male, 31-40
  • (1 review)


89%

Nice place to stay as it is well located and close to the main attractions. The room was clean and nice to stay in and the staff were helpful. The breakfast was a bit disorganised on the first day as the girl serving was left to do a lot of work on her own but it was fine when I eventually got it. Would reccomend as a good place to stay providing excellent value for money.

  • 17th Aug 2012
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Ireland
  • Male, 41+
  • (1 review)


83%

Good breakfast, much more room space than you get in a hotel in the cheapest price range. Be prepared for loos and showers to be a fair walk down the corridor and bring your dressing gown! Do it yourself kitchen is very handy.

  • 4th Jul 2012
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Wales
  • Female, 41+
  • (1 review)


89%

Dorm building to a college. If you go in expecting a normal hostel environment, you will be delightfully surprised. If you go in expecting a dorm, you will know exactly what your getting.


« first « Prev 1 2 3 4 5 6 7
(374 results)


View all London Hostels

Please give us your feedback