X

Home to the world's greatest Hostels

30,000 properties, 180 countries Over 3.5 million guest reviews 21 million bookings

LSE High Holborn Reviews

178 High Holborn, WC1V 7AA, London, England

Reviews & Ratings Explained

86%

Rating
119 Total Reviews
  • 87%Value For Money
  • 93%Security
  • 97%Location
  • 81%Staff
  • 83%Atmosphere
  • 79%Cleanliness
  • 83%Facilities

The rating percentage is calculated from customers who booked within the last 12 months.

All ratings and reviews are based on the feedback and opinions of the customers who submitted them and do not express the opinions of Hostelworld.com. This way, you get an up-to-the-minute opinion of just how good a hostel really is.
Read our review guidelines »

  • Show:

74%

Basic, but adequate, with a good desk (often missing in hotel rooms) and excellent breakfast

  • 23rd Sep 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Wales
  • Male, 41+
  • (1 review)


54%

Beside lamp didn't work, heat was extreme so couldn't sleep. Bathroom: Light didn't work and there's no window!! The shower room was *absolutely* disgusting!! and I say this having stayed in pretty awful hostels! Shower covered in empty shower gel packets (15+), toilet roll, hairs, and generally dirty. Seriously, it hadn't been cleaned for days. Rude staff who used tinder whist I tried to check in. Amazing location but I would NEVER stay here again. Honestly, the worst place I've ever stayed!


97%

Very Central, in walking distance to lots of the sites and shows. Self service breakfast was good. Very clean and staff very helpful.

  • 18th Sep 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Ireland
  • Female, 41+
  • (1 review)


94%

Everything was ok! Clean, quiet, central, good breakfast. Great value for money.


100%

Brilliant I wish they were open all year round!

  • 13th Sep 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • England
  • Female, 18-24
  • (1 review)


83%

Breakfast was good with wide variety of selections. I was under the impression that wifi was only in limited areas, but was pleasantly surprised to have it in the rooms too. As a whole, the rooms and facilities were clean and simple. Location was great with walking distance to tube station and other tourist attractions. Overall was great, but not ideal for meeting people since the rooms are private individual rooms and there are no areas to lounge around.


91%

I stayed twice in High Holborn. Once I was given a perfect room, with very clean bathroom outside. The other time the conditions were a bit worse. However, both stays were very good. A lot of privacy in the room, perfect space to work and rest. Quiet. Rich breakfast. Perfect location. 3 mins walking distance from the British Museum, pubs around, underground station, Sainsbury's, buses, etc. Everything that you need. ABSOLUTELY RECOMMENDED!


86%

They were unclear when staff was coming into your room for cleanings. Also there was loud drilling early in the morning. The breakfast, however, was very good, and the staff are very friendly and accommodating to residents needs.

  • 29th Aug 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • USA
  • Female, 18-24
  • (1 review)


The reviews below do not count toward the property's recent rating.
Hide older reviews
89%

very good,but rooms are quite different, depend on luck, like the breakfast


86%

Typical student room, clean and well maintained, very suitable for single traveller.

  • 7th Sep 2013
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • France
  • Male, 41+
  • (1 review)


100%

Everything was fine. I am going to make another booking in near future.


86%

good basic accom, great to have a kitchen to make a cuppa, cafe good value also, best part of this halls/hostel is the location

  • 21st Sep 2012
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Wales
  • Male, 31-40
  • (1 review)


94%

Nice and helpful staff. Spacious breakfast lounge, also available as a self-study area at night. Excellent location - opposite to Domino's pizza, 3 mins' walk to Sainsbury's Local, 5 mins' walk to Holborn tube station, 7 mins' walk to a bunch of restaurants. Good for first-time visitors to London.


91%

Excellantly located


80%

I really liked LSE, the location was really close to a tube station which was very convenient. The only bummer is no access to free wi-fi. I felt the facilities were very clean, the only thing I noticed is our bathrooms weren't given attention during my stay. But all in all i had a really good experience and would come back! The breakfast is really good as well.


51%

The reception staff is really not helpful specially if you do no speak English very well.Internet is displayed as available on the hostel website, but they did no allow me to use.


91%

Great location, great place, great staff. I had a lovely stay!

  • 16th Aug 2012
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • England
  • Female, 18-24
  • (1 review)


89%

Only missing : smoking room.

  • 12th Aug 2012
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • France
  • Female, 41+
  • (1 review)


97%

Everything is perfect except the Internet, which is extremely slow and you will spend more than 10 minutes to open google.....


90%

Really nice place to stay, close to all the best spots to see in London! The staff is amazing and makes u rly feel home and the rooms are nice and comfortable!


« first « Prev 1 2 3 4 5
(85 results)


View all London Hostels

Please give us your feedback