Hostelworld.com

Group of 15 or more?

Contact our Group Travel team directly for a tailor made solution for your group

La Albahaca Hostel

Group of 15 or more?

Contact our Group Travel team directly for a tailor made solution for your group

Prices
map
reviews
9.0
Superb 312 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 9.1
  • Security 9.1
  • Location 8.8
  • Staff 9.9
  • Atmosphere 9.1
  • Cleanliness 8.6
  • Facilities 8.6
BOOK NOW
9.0
Superb 312 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 9.1
  • Security 9.1
  • Location 8.8
  • Staff 9.9
  • Atmosphere 9.1
  • Cleanliness 8.6
  • Facilities 8.6

The rating percentage is calculated from customers who booked within the last 12 months. All ratings and reviews are based on the feedback and opinions of the customers who submitted them and do not express the opinions of Hostelworld.com. This way, you get an up-to-the-minute opinion of just how good a hostel really is.
Read our review guidelines

  • Show:
  • Sort By:
  • Anonymous
  • Italy, Female, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
4th Aug 2017
10.0

We planned to stay few days in Tilcara at the Albahaca hostel and we ended up staying one entire week. Very clean, good wi-fi, hot showers and clean towels, and great terrace where you can have breakfast in the morning and relax all day. The staff was so helpful so that we didn't make any effort to organize and choose the several trips around in the North and they make us feel at home.The ambience is social but quiet,we met interesting people and had good conversations.We'll definitely come back

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Ireland, Couple, 25-30
  • Avid Traveller
  • 11 reviews
28th Jul 2017
8.3

Fantastic staff at this hostel, Toni and Sophie in particular, they gave us great advice and the dinner Sophie cooked was beautiful, great value and the sing song afterwards was great fun. Toni put us in contact with a driver for a high mountain tour that was excellent. The building is a little rough around the edges but the facilities are very clean

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 6.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Switzerland, Female, 31-40
  • Novice Nomad
  • 5 reviews
22nd Jul 2017
9.7

The best breakfast in 2 weeks of hostels in the North! Great ambiente, really clean bed- and bathrooms, a great roof terrace, a lovely patio and a quiet location to chill out.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • brittany_poole
  • Canada, Couple, 25-30
  • Avid Traveller
  • 20 reviews
7th Jul 2017
6.6

Our room was directly beside the bathroom and had two windows facing the courtyard and we were constantly woken up all night. It was very loud and bright! Our bed wasn't the greatest as it was slanted to the middle, so we basically layed on top of each other all night. The blankets were not big enough for the bed, so it was quite cold and I woke up covered in bites. Kitchen was small and dirty looking and wifi didn't work in rooms. Great staff and nice breakfast. Left tired and very itchy!

    • 6.0Value For Money
    • 4.0Security
    • 6.0Location
    • 6.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 6.0Cleanliness
View Property Reply

Thanks for your review and your words about our staff. We must specify, though, that we can't agree with your comments: all our rooms and common spaces are perfectly clean, cozy, comfortable and safe, as you can see from any other guest review. If you had night problems with other guests or as a consecuence of previous, less clean or quiet accomodations, you shoudn't blame our hostel for it and presume to judge our work. Take care!

  • Anonymous
  • Australia, Couple, 25-30
  • Globetrotter
  • 25 reviews
30th May 2017
7.7

Had a nice stay... the staff were super friendly, bed comfy and shower pretty good. Breakfast could be better and the kitchen is tiny and poorly equipped, but all in all, I'd stay again.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 6.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 6.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • USA, All Female Group, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
25th May 2017
6.9

Clean hostel, farther from town than expected. Nice people run it. NO WIFI and I think no plans to fix wifi. Also rooms are FREEZING when it's cold out as they only have space heaters. Safe and cheap though.

    • 6.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 6.0Location
    • 6.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • England, Female, 18-24
  • Avid Traveller
  • 20 reviews
4th May 2017
8.3

Lovely staff so so helpful at organising tours!!! We were given a private room for a reduced price. Kitchen is absolutely tiny so don't expect to make anything better than pasta and tomato sauce. Good showers. Wifi very slow but that's expected considering it's in the middle of nowhere. Would definitely recommend, breakfast amazing!

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 6.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Australia, Couple, 25-30
  • Avid Traveller
  • 13 reviews
20th Apr 2017
8.9

Not much of a kitchen but staff and price made up for it !! Had a great stay here and it's cheap!

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
19th Apr 2017
10.0

Nice Staff, beautiful House and Amazing Breakfast. The dorm room is small but everything that you need is there.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Germany, Female, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 2 reviews
10th Apr 2017
9.4

We stayed 3 nights at the hostel and were very satisfied. Besides being clean and quiet it was the ATMOSPHERE and the STAFF that made the experience so great. Every night the staff was cooking at Albahaca Hostel or another hostel close by and we could join them for about 80 Pesos. Even had Asado once. Pablo, Sofie and the other staff was very helpful and they know a lot about the area. Busterminal and Center of Tilcara is just a few blocks to go. MUST DO: Horseriding with ANDRES!!!

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness

Hostelworld Mobile Apps

Book on the go with the new Hostelworld mobile apps.

Search and book more than 33,000 properties in over 170 countries, from anywhere.

Newsletter Sign Up

Submitting your info

Thank you for signing up to our newsletter!

Sign up for our newsletter to get the best hostel deals and news sent straight to your inbox. You can unsubscribe at any time.