Hostelworld.com

Group of 15 or more?

Contact our Group Travel team directly for a tailor made solution for your group

La Albahaca Hostel

Group of 15 or more?

Contact our Group Travel team directly for a tailor made solution for your group

Prices
map
reviews
9.2
Superb 288 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 9.5
  • Security 9.3
  • Location 9.1
  • Staff 9.7
  • Atmosphere 9.3
  • Cleanliness 9.1
  • Facilities 8.7
BOOK NOW
9.2
Superb 288 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 9.5
  • Security 9.3
  • Location 9.1
  • Staff 9.7
  • Atmosphere 9.3
  • Cleanliness 9.1
  • Facilities 8.7

The rating percentage is calculated from customers who booked within the last 12 months. All ratings and reviews are based on the feedback and opinions of the customers who submitted them and do not express the opinions of Hostelworld.com. This way, you get an up-to-the-minute opinion of just how good a hostel really is.
Read our review guidelines

  • Show:
  • Sort By:
  • Anonymous
  • Australia, Couple, 25-30
  • Avid Traveller
  • 10 reviews
20th Apr 2017
8.9

Not much of a kitchen but staff and price made up for it !! Had a great stay here and it's cheap!

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
19th Apr 2017
10.0

Nice Staff, beautiful House and Amazing Breakfast. The dorm room is small but everything that you need is there.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Germany, Female, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 2 reviews
10th Apr 2017
9.4

We stayed 3 nights at the hostel and were very satisfied. Besides being clean and quiet it was the ATMOSPHERE and the STAFF that made the experience so great. Every night the staff was cooking at Albahaca Hostel or another hostel close by and we could join them for about 80 Pesos. Even had Asado once. Pablo, Sofie and the other staff was very helpful and they know a lot about the area. Busterminal and Center of Tilcara is just a few blocks to go. MUST DO: Horseriding with ANDRES!!!

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • England, Couple, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 7 reviews
31st Mar 2017
8.0

A good option in Tilcara, 5 mins walk from the Main Street and square. Our room was comfortable and there is a nice rooftop terrace with a great view. Only thing to be aware of is the cooking area is tiny so expect to try out some of the nice food options there are in the town!

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 6.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 6.0Cleanliness
  • mimip1225251
  • USA, Female, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 9 reviews
27th Mar 2017
10.0

Great calmer hostel. Delicious breakfast with fruit AND coffee.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Germany, Male, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
18th Mar 2017
10.0

Best Hostel i have been to by now. Thanks a lot :-).

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
15th Mar 2017
7.4

Really useful tips from the staff that helped us make the most of the Canyon. We stayed another night on our way back south as a result. Could maybe do with a comfy communal area and a bigger kitchen though.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 6.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Netherlands, Female, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 8 reviews
31st Jan 2017
9.1

Very nice Hostel at the outer part of Tilcara. The rooms are cosy and clean. Same for the bathrooms and the kitchen. Although the kitchen is very tiny. The breakfast is traditional with bread, butter, jam, juice and coffe or tea. The staff is super friendly and organizes if you want trips or just gives advices. Wifi does not work so well but this seems to be normal in this village.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Netherlands, Female, 18-24
  • Avid Traveller
  • 12 reviews
25th Jan 2017
9.4

Had a great stay at La Albahaca hostel! The staff is the best, thank you Toni, Lucia and Pablo for the helpful advice, the nice breakfast and dinner (where Pablo turned out to be a great guitar player) and our chats throughout the day.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Italy, Female, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 7 reviews
19th Nov 2016
9.7

amazing hostel with all you could need in the little town of tilcara: chilled but helpful staff; nice terrace; nice dorms and facilities (although the kitchen is a bit small). last but not least: that coffee and that orange juice made me stay a couple of days more than what I had planned. use tilcara as your hq for your trip around the quebrada and start with good simple tasteful breakfast on the terrace of albahaca

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness

Hostelworld Mobile Apps

Book on the go with the new Hostelworld mobile apps.

Search and book more than 33,000 properties in over 170 countries, from anywhere.

Newsletter Sign Up

Submitting your info

Thank you for signing up to our newsletter!

Sign up for our newsletter to get the best hostel deals and news sent straight to your inbox. You can unsubscribe at any time.