Hostelworld.com

La Casa del Barrio

Prices
map
reviews
7.4
Very Good 125 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 7.2
  • Security 8.2
  • Location 9.5
  • Staff 6.8
  • Atmosphere 7.2
  • Cleanliness 7.3
  • Facilities 5.7
BOOK NOW
7.4
Very Good 125 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 7.2
  • Security 8.2
  • Location 9.5
  • Staff 6.8
  • Atmosphere 7.2
  • Cleanliness 7.3
  • Facilities 5.7
La Casa del Barrio Located at Diego de Montemayor 1227 Sur Col Centro Barrio Ant, , Monterrey.
La Casa del Barrio
Mexico
Monterrey Nuevo Leon 64000 Diego de Montemayor 1227 Sur Col Centro Barrio Ant
74% 125
25.6644377 -100.3078365
La Casa del Barrio
    Rooms available

The rating percentage is calculated from customers who booked within the last 12 months. All ratings and reviews are based on the feedback and opinions of the customers who submitted them and do not express the opinions of Hostelworld.com. This way, you get an up-to-the-minute opinion of just how good a hostel really is.
Read our review guidelines

  • Show:
  • Sort By:
  • Anonymous
  • USA, Male, 31-40
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
25th Mar 2016
9.1

A good place with friendly staff. This meets your needs in a hostel with a great location in Barrio Antiguo. They serve good food out of their restaurant!

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Germany, Mixed Group, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
24th Mar 2016
7.1

All in all its a good hostel. Location is great, beautiful building, it's clean and stuff is friendly. But, referring the stuff, friendliness is not everything. We asked for some general information, just as the open hours of the metro, how to get to the big national park close to monterrey, the closest supermarket and so on.. we never got an answer. I think a good hostel should always offer some basic information to tourists- my travel book knew a lot more than the receptionists.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 4.0Facilities
    • 4.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • England, Male, 31-40
  • Novice Nomad
  • 7 reviews
17th Mar 2016
8.6

The Casa was in a good location in the old town near the Macroplaza and the staff were welcoming and friendly. The single room was very small though with only room for a bed and bedside table. Showers were hot, but only a ceiling fan (no A/C or heating) may be a problem for some. Also, the room is just off the outside communal area so it's easy to hear people talking outside\. I wanted my own room for this trip, but if I went back I'd probably stay in a dorm.

    • 6.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Scotland, Couple, 31-40
  • Novice Nomad
  • 4 reviews
11th Mar 2016
7.1

Great location, 5minutes walk from the train station! Quaint little hostel in old part of town, convenient for restaurants etc. Not sure if we were allowed to use the kitchen facilities as there seemed to be cooks there all the time, maybe our lack of Spanish meant we missed this part! Was some construction work when we were there but wasn't bad and only daytime hours. Would recommend!

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 6.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 6.0Cleanliness
28th Dec 2015
7.1

The owner of the place is a great guy: very welcoming, nice, helpful and interesting to talk to. But that's the only highlight of the hostel. Other staff don't speak any English, wanted to charge me more than amount stated in booking confirmation at checkin. Security is poor, they don't give you any keys, front door is open most day, the dorm door doesn't have any lock and is right by the front door. Troubles with hot water (not available 24/7, you need to ask the staff to switch on the boiler).

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 6.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 4.0Facilities
    • 6.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
18th Dec 2015
7.1

This hostal had a home-y feeling to it; the workers have a lot on their plate. since only one person is in charge of doing clerical duties. They don't give you keys for going out late at night; they would rather you tell them at what time you plan on coming back so that they are awake. The kitchen is really busy on Sundays, so if you plan on showering, you have to make sure you do it before the busy hours, since you'll be walking past the people eating waffles for breakfast.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 6.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 6.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 6.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • England, Female, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 5 reviews
20th Nov 2015
7.4

Stayed in private room. Quite sparse - looked a bit like a prison but was clean so ok. Could no get hot water out of shower. More like a cheap B and B than a hostel. Staff did not speak any English. Tried to arrange a tour through the hostel over email but when I arrived there was no confirmation. But great location and fab breakfasts!

    • 6.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 6.0Facilities
    • 6.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Australia, Couple, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 5 reviews
5th Nov 2015
7.7

Cute hostel in the coolest part of town, walk to great bars and restaurants etc. Hostel is very basic, and absolutely nothing is free, it costs 20 pesos for coffee and although there is a kitchen they run a small cafe so it's not available on the weekends at all, and It costs 50 pesos just to use the stove (microwave is free) so it's better to buy food. There is an Oxxo close which sells coffee and snacks for cheap.

    • 6.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 6.0Facilities
    • 6.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness

Hostelworld Mobile Apps

Book on the go with the new Hostelworld mobile apps.

Search and book more than 33,000 properties in over 170 countries, from anywhere.

Newsletter Sign Up

Submitting your info

Thank you for signing up to our newsletter!

Sign up for our monthly Newsletter to get the best hostel deals and news sent straight your inbox. You can unsubscribe at any time.