Hostelworld.com
HostelBookers Logo

Group of 15 or more?

Our sister site HostelBookers can create a tailor-made booking plan for your large travel group.

La Casa del Tio Rafa

Group of 15 or more?

Our sister site HostelBookers can create a tailor-made booking plan for your large travel group.

Prices
map
reviews
7.3
Very Good 139 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 7.3
  • Security 8.4
  • Location 7.9
  • Staff 8.3
  • Atmosphere 6.9
  • Cleanliness 6.4
  • Facilities 6.1
BOOK NOW
7.3
Very Good 139 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 7.3
  • Security 8.4
  • Location 7.9
  • Staff 8.3
  • Atmosphere 6.9
  • Cleanliness 6.4
  • Facilities 6.1
La Casa del Tio Rafa Located at Calle 65 #589 x 72y74 Centro, , Merida.
La Casa del Tio Rafa
Mexico
Merida Yucatan Calle 65 #589 x 72y74 Centro
73% 139
20.9667869 -89.6318129
La Casa del Tio Rafa
    Rooms available

The rating percentage is calculated from customers who booked within the last 12 months. All ratings and reviews are based on the feedback and opinions of the customers who submitted them and do not express the opinions of Hostelworld.com. This way, you get an up-to-the-minute opinion of just how good a hostel really is.
Read our review guidelines

  • Show:
  • Sort By:
  • Anonymous
  • England, Male, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 7 reviews
8th Jul 2016
7.1

Nice different freshly cooked breakfast every morning but sleeping on the plastic mattress with not enough fans for the room was the sweatiest night of my entire trip

    • 6.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 6.0Location
    • 6.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • New Zealand, Couple, 31-40
  • Globetrotter
  • 24 reviews
30th Mar 2016
7.7

Nice place in a quiet area near a supermarket, and Rafa was very helpful and friendly. There were renovations going on while we were there so hostel was mostly empty. Kitchen was reasonable, although was missing a few things. Our room was spacious with good storage. Not having a key for the front door was a bit annoying but didn't bother us much as we weren't out late.

    • 6.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 6.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 6.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • New Zealand, Male, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
25th Mar 2016
2.9

I didn't stay there at night, preferring to bus back to where I had come from. The landlord does not give a key and you have to ask for his permission to leave. At first he hesitated to let me out because he assumed I was staying somewhere else, I had to lie and say I just wanted food.

    • 2.0Value For Money
    • 2.0Security
    • 6.0Location
    • 2.0Facilities
    • 2.0Staff
    • 2.0Atmosphere
    • 4.0Cleanliness
View Property Reply

lo siento mucho de que tengas esa opinion si tu te hubieras quedado otra cosa seria la persona que estava no era el dueño era un encargado que dejamos un momento al cuidado del hostel y si insisto no hay llave para nadie es por tu seguridad y mi seguridad una disculpa y gracias por tus comentarios negativos

22nd Mar 2016
5.1

I felt like being on a building site. When I took a shower I had to close my eyes not to see the dirt. I didn´t have money to change for another place, otherwise I would do so. I don´t think that the bathroom was ever cleaned with cleaning products. As for the room, it was very dusty - all my stuff end up white from the dust - as the owner was rebuilding. The hostel has a potential but the way it is going, I wouldn´t recommend it to anyone.

    • 6.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 6.0Location
    • 2.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 4.0Atmosphere
    • 2.0Cleanliness
View Property Reply

Thanks for your comment I'm sorry you do not like to improve and if I do not improve also do not like I can not please everyone I apologize and thanks for your comments

  • Anonymous
  • Germany, Female, 18-24
  • Avid Traveller
  • 12 reviews
19th Mar 2016
9.7

Nice and small hostel, the best part of it is the dedicated and friendly owner who gave us great tips on where to go and was overall very helpful. He even managed to get our washed clothes dry on a rainy day. Would recommend

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Germany, Mixed Group, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 6 reviews
14th Mar 2016
10.0

best spot, best storys from tio and a great city ...

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Canada, Couple, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
9th Mar 2016
3.7

Ensuite was very dirty and there was an overall bad odour about the place - no way I would have stepped foot in this shower. The hostel itself was very dark and uninviting and the private room was open to the hallway - no privacy. The staff who met us brought us to our room and threw the sheets down on the bed for us to make it ourselves. Luckily we found another place to stay, losing the deposit we paid as well as the 200 pesos we paid when we arrived. We were just happy to be gone.

    • 2.0Value For Money
    • 6.0Security
    • 6.0Location
    • 2.0Facilities
    • 6.0Staff
    • 2.0Atmosphere
    • 2.0Cleanliness
View Property Reply

Thanks for your comment the house is old and is not dirty when your reservations there are photos and video of the place and this is a hostel if you want privacy booking a hotel on the top floor so you do not hear people go the beds never put us so you make sure that the clothes are clean and not used by someone else about money I did not pay full cost this is a business you do not stay if that's your thing. Look for the next time well before booking a place and do not put negative comments without sleep on site

  • Anonymous
  • Germany, Female, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 3 reviews
24th Feb 2016
7.1

Rafa is a nice guy and helpful. He makes breakfast every morning, which is great, however there is no milk so if you want your coffee with milk you need to bring your own. The rooms are nice and the garden is a really nice place to socialize. However there is only 1 bathroom for girls & 1 for boys and it's not the cleanest and runs out of paper a lot. I had to ask every time I wanted to leave the hostel to be led out as you don't get a key. It's quite far from the centre, esp. at night

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 6.0Location
    • 6.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 6.0Cleanliness

Hostelworld Mobile Apps

Book on the go with the new Hostelworld mobile apps.

Search and book more than 33,000 properties in over 170 countries, from anywhere.

Newsletter Sign Up

Submitting your info

Thank you for signing up to our newsletter!

Sign up for our monthly Newsletter to get the best hostel deals and news sent straight your inbox. You can unsubscribe at any time.