Hostelworld.com

Group of 15 or more?

Contact our Group Travel team directly for a tailor made solution for your group

La Casona Hostel

Group of 15 or more?

Contact our Group Travel team directly for a tailor made solution for your group

Prices
map
reviews
8.5
Fabulous 402 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 8.2
  • Security 9.3
  • Location 9.2
  • Staff 8.7
  • Atmosphere 7.3
  • Cleanliness 8.4
  • Facilities 8.5
BOOK NOW
8.5
Fabulous 402 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 8.2
  • Security 9.3
  • Location 9.2
  • Staff 8.7
  • Atmosphere 7.3
  • Cleanliness 8.4
  • Facilities 8.5

The rating percentage is calculated from customers who booked within the last 12 months. All ratings and reviews are based on the feedback and opinions of the customers who submitted them and do not express the opinions of Hostelworld.com. This way, you get an up-to-the-minute opinion of just how good a hostel really is.
Read our review guidelines

  • Show:
  • Sort By:
  • Anonymous
  • Australia, Female, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
13th Jun 2017
6.9

Staff were helpful, place was clean. However expect cold showers and no heating. If you are lucky enough to get a heater, expect outages. I had a shower and the light went out.

    • 6.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 6.0Location
    • 6.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 4.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • England, Couple, 18-24
  • Avid Traveller
  • 19 reviews
24th May 2017
8.0

Located in a trendy area with nice shops/bars/restaurants & metro nearby. Comfy beds & decent breakfast but NO heating, despite freezing temperatures! We arrived v early after a night bus but weren't allowed to check in before 2pm, even though it was low season & the huge hostel was basically empty. We stayed 4 nights so paid for towels ($2 each) but weren't allowed to swap for clean ones. The cleaner was rude - left doors/windows open & wouldn't change our beds if we hadn't left by 11am.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 6.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
6th May 2017
8.3

A high class hostel, clean and new facilities, lacking some atmosphere for the place, but a great place

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 6.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 4.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • New Zealand, Female, 25-30
  • Avid Traveller
  • 14 reviews
27th Apr 2017
7.1

Hostel clean and tidy but lacked atmosphere. Staff helpful but only if asked. Better hostels in Santiago. Good location

    • 6.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 4.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
  • luisquirino16724
  • Portugal, Male, 31-40
  • Avid Traveller
  • 14 reviews
14th Apr 2017
9.7

Very friendly and helpful staff. Next to subway, and close to city center I ended up coming back after a few days

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Costa Rica, Male, 41+
  • Novice Nomad
  • 9 reviews
8th Apr 2017
8.9

The best is the location, just around the corner from the Bellas Artes station. Close to the old town of Santiago. The rooms are spacious, clean and well lit and airy. The hostel is very quiet, safe and comfortable. Breakfast is quite good, includes cereal, yogurt, bread, although instant coffee is not my favorite, was ok. I stayed 3 nights in a ensuite room and it was very clean. Bed is a bit small but comfortable and large lockers available.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
26th Mar 2017
9.1

Great Hostal in a great location. Close to the Central Market, old Santiago, Cathedral and Bellas Artes neighborhood. We couldn't have asked for a better place. We were a group of 8 and they were able to accommodate us without a problem with plenty of space and very comfortable. The rooms are spacious, clean and well lit and ventilated. Casona has parking space and 24hr security and the area can get noisy during the day/night but the hostel was quiet, safe and comfortable.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • England, Couple, 31-40
  • Novice Nomad
  • 2 reviews
22nd Feb 2017
8.0

Positives - location. Very Friendly staff. Security. Breakfast. Negatives - room has no air-con or fan and you cannot borrow a fan. Therefore VERY noisy due to needing to sleep with window open. No hooks in room so not able to hang anything.

    • 6.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 6.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Australia, Female, 25-30
  • Avid Traveller
  • 18 reviews
5th Feb 2017
9.7

Good hostel. Great location can walk to most attractions and close to subway as well. Dorms are spacious and clean with large lockers that will fit your whole backpack. Dorms also lock and front gate to hostel is always locked. Towels available for rent, good kitchen facilities, good hot water. Staff are helpful when you need them. Hostel was quiet not much of an atmosphere when I stayed but as a long term traveller I enjoyed this for a change. Would recommend and I will be returning.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Hong Kong, Male, 31-40
  • Novice Nomad
  • 8 reviews
31st Jan 2017
8.9

Great location Nice staff

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness

Hostelworld Mobile Apps

Book on the go with the new Hostelworld mobile apps.

Search and book more than 33,000 properties in over 170 countries, from anywhere.

Newsletter Sign Up

Submitting your info

Thank you for signing up to our newsletter!

Sign up for our newsletter to get the best hostel deals and news sent straight to your inbox. You can unsubscribe at any time.