Hostelworld.com

La Casona Hostel

Prices
map
reviews
8.9
Fabulous 382 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 8.7
  • Security 9.4
  • Location 9.5
  • Staff 9.2
  • Atmosphere 8.3
  • Cleanliness 8.6
  • Facilities 8.7
BOOK NOW
8.9
Fabulous 382 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 8.7
  • Security 9.4
  • Location 9.5
  • Staff 9.2
  • Atmosphere 8.3
  • Cleanliness 8.6
  • Facilities 8.7

The rating percentage is calculated from customers who booked within the last 12 months. All ratings and reviews are based on the feedback and opinions of the customers who submitted them and do not express the opinions of Hostelworld.com. This way, you get an up-to-the-minute opinion of just how good a hostel really is.
Read our review guidelines

  • Show:
  • Sort By:
  • Anonymous
  • Australia, Female, 25-30
  • Avid Traveller
  • 14 reviews
5th Feb 2017
9.7

Good hostel. Great location can walk to most attractions and close to subway as well. Dorms are spacious and clean with large lockers that will fit your whole backpack. Dorms also lock and front gate to hostel is always locked. Towels available for rent, good kitchen facilities, good hot water. Staff are helpful when you need them. Hostel was quiet not much of an atmosphere when I stayed but as a long term traveller I enjoyed this for a change. Would recommend and I will be returning.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Hong Kong, Male, 31-40
  • Novice Nomad
  • 6 reviews
31st Jan 2017
8.9

Great location Nice staff

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • England, Female, 41+
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
22nd Jan 2017
10.0

La Casona is a warm and incredibly friendly hostel, its safe and peaceful. Perfect location for museums, and the mercado and within walking distance to San Cristebol through the beautiful park. Buenas Artes is a trendy area with quirky independent shops, bars & restaurants however not too many to spoil the authentic vibe. The staff speak English, the breakfast was basic but nice. Please note all the museums in Santiago are closed on Mondays, some are free entry on Sunday.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Canada, Female, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 5 reviews
6th Jan 2017
6.0

Great location! Staff were friendly BUT I stayed on a Friday night and the front desk was blasting loud music till 4:30am. Even with earplugs it was impossible to get sleep. Be weary if staying on a weekend of the noise!

    • 4.0Value For Money
    • 6.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 6.0Facilities
    • 6.0Staff
    • 2.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • England, Mixed Group, 41+
  • Novice Nomad
  • 6 reviews
5th Jan 2017
8.9

Positives- nice staff, good choice breakfast, large lockers, lovely building, great location, information for guests. Bright and clean. Great wifi. Nice lounge areas. Negatives- only one socket in the room to share with 6. More bathrooms needed on the sharing floor (16 people for 3) opt for en suite dorms at same price. I would recommend this hostel and will return if in SANTIAGO.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Australia, Male, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 8 reviews
3rd Jan 2017
5.1

It's an alright hostel. But the staff weren't super friendly or helpful when we asked for directions to the airport. Which left us rushing to the airport and almost missing our flight. The rooms were pretty poor for the prices we paid when compared to other hostel during our trip. It's location however isn't too bad being located near the mountain nearby and the main Plaza

    • 6.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 6.0Location
    • 6.0Facilities
    • 2.0Staff
    • 4.0Atmosphere
    • 4.0Cleanliness
17th Dec 2016
9.1

Green staff! Sweet atmosphere, New a coolman the first night, morning afternoon we where skydiving together, rooms were quite clean, shower wasnt.. Other Than that, great value for money!

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Australia, All Female Group, 25-30
  • Globetrotter
  • 37 reviews
16th Dec 2016
8.0

We stayed 3 nights and the bathrooms were dirty when we got there and never properly cleaned. Hair from someone's beard trim was only removed from the basin after I specifically mentioned it to reception.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 2.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Australia, Female, 18-24
  • Globetrotter
  • 23 reviews
16th Dec 2016
9.4

Super glamorous place! Lovely staff, well located, good WiFi and great breakfast! I loved my stay and wish it could have been longer!

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
3rd Dec 2016
10.0

This was one of the best hostels I have ever stayed at. Staff was courteous and friendly. I stayed in a private shared bathroom. I didn't mind it. I was hardly there. My room temperature was a bit hot but maybe it was just me because I would come in from walking for 5 hours or more. Diego, Gaby, Rodrigo and Ricardo were "amazing", "very cool", and did a "great job". If I come back, I would definitely stay there again. The location was close to everything. I have nothing but good things to say.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness

Hostelworld Mobile Apps

Book on the go with the new Hostelworld mobile apps.

Search and book more than 33,000 properties in over 170 countries, from anywhere.

Newsletter Sign Up

Submitting your info

Thank you for signing up to our newsletter!

Sign up for our newsletter to get the best hostel deals and news sent straight to your inbox. You can unsubscribe at any time.