Hostelworld.com

La Chimba Hostel

Prices
map
reviews
8.7
Fabulous 2,187 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 8.4
  • Security 9.1
  • Location 9.4
  • Staff 8.7
  • Atmosphere 8.5
  • Cleanliness 8.3
  • Facilities 8.5
BOOK NOW
8.7
Fabulous 2,187 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 8.4
  • Security 9.1
  • Location 9.4
  • Staff 8.7
  • Atmosphere 8.5
  • Cleanliness 8.3
  • Facilities 8.5
La Chimba Hostel Located at E. Pinto Lagarrigue 262, Barrio Bellavista, Santiago.
La Chimba Hostel
Chile
Santiago Valparaiso E. Pinto Lagarrigue 262, Barrio Bellavista
87% 2187
-33.4312980 -70.6374335
La Chimba Hostel
    Rooms available

The rating percentage is calculated from customers who booked within the last 12 months. All ratings and reviews are based on the feedback and opinions of the customers who submitted them and do not express the opinions of Hostelworld.com. This way, you get an up-to-the-minute opinion of just how good a hostel really is.
Read our review guidelines

  • Show:
  • Sort By:
22nd May 2016
8.3

I came in the low season and arrived on a Sunday so it was pretty quiet and not much happening but I had expected that. The beds are comfy really big, the common areas are really good. Yea the breakfast sucks but ah well. The only real negative id have is the floor boards in and around my dorm were sooooo loud and really need replacing. Would definitely return, hopefully I'll come back in high season!

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 6.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Brazil, Female, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 6 reviews
6th May 2016
8.9

Great location and super helpful staff. The hostel is huge and there many options of rooms. Very nice shower. The internet doesn't work at the most distant rooms from the hostel entrance. The breakfast could be better.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 6.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • England, Couple, 18-24
  • Avid Traveller
  • 13 reviews
6th May 2016
8.6

La chimba is amazing for meeting people and becoming social. We met our group there who we are still travelling with now. It's great for events and has a good kitchen and cosy living area. Right in the heart of amazing bella vista. Horrific breakfast though. Although we mentioned it to the manager and he said they are hoping to improve it which is great. Bedrooms are a bit too industrial, could have heating and could be cosier. Beds and duvet are comfortable though. Definitely stay again :)

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 6.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 6.0Cleanliness
29th Apr 2016
8.6

Great location and staff, however there wasn't much of an atmosphere during my stay. Enjoyable maze layout

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Australia, Female, 31-40
  • Avid Traveller
  • 15 reviews
26th Apr 2016
7.7

I specifically booked this place because of the activities it promoted on its hostel world page...there were exactly ZERO activities run across my five night stay. The facilities needed A LOT of maintenance. Staff were helpful, but you really need to follow-up with them. This place had a good sociable vibe though, and the communal layout really made bringing solo travellers together easy.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 6.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 6.0Cleanliness
15th Apr 2016
9.4

Really good hostel. Best beds I've ever experienced as they are wider so it's way more comfortable. The front common area is great. Just like someone's lounge room. Great location as it's near all of the restaurants and bars. Would highly recommend.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • stephaniesexton876732
  • Australia, Female, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 4 reviews
13th Apr 2016
10.0

Super fun hostel with great staff, comfy beds, nice common areas to chill in or meet people, decent complimentary breakfast and in a great location. Will definitely stay there again.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • England, Male, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 6 reviews
13th Apr 2016
10.0

Hard to fault this hostel - great location, cool staff and volunteers working there, comfy rooms. Thumbs up all around!

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • England, Male, 31-40
  • Novice Nomad
  • 7 reviews
9th Apr 2016
8.3

Great hostel, great and friendly staff. Location is perfect as it's close to lots of bars and restaurants but far enough away (a couple of blocks) that they don't becoming annoying. The hostel is pretty huge once you get further inside but the small cosy feel isn't lost. Atmosphere was great and both staff and travellers seemed to be having a good time.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 6.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
3rd Apr 2016
10.0

Had a great stay here, huge clean rooms and a great social vibe. Also need to throw out a huge thankyou to Connie. Such a wonderful person and staff member, so helpful. Really looked after me with a few things and made my life alot easier when needing to go to hospital etc. Keep her at La Chimba forever!!!

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness

Hostelworld Mobile Apps

Book on the go with the new Hostelworld mobile apps.

Search and book more than 33,000 properties in over 170 countries, from anywhere.

Newsletter Sign Up

Submitting your info

Thank you for signing up to our newsletter!

Sign up for our monthly Newsletter to get the best hostel deals and news sent straight your inbox. You can unsubscribe at any time.