Hostelworld.com

Group of 15 or more?

Contact our Group Travel team directly for a tailor made solution for your group

La Chimba Hostel

Group of 15 or more?

Contact our Group Travel team directly for a tailor made solution for your group

Prices
map
reviews
8.3
Fabulous 2596 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 8.1
  • Security 8.5
  • Location 9.2
  • Staff 8.6
  • Atmosphere 8.4
  • Cleanliness 7.6
  • Facilities 7.7
BOOK NOW
8.3
Fabulous 2596 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 8.1
  • Security 8.5
  • Location 9.2
  • Staff 8.6
  • Atmosphere 8.4
  • Cleanliness 7.6
  • Facilities 7.7

The rating percentage is calculated from customers who booked within the last 12 months. All ratings and reviews are based on the feedback and opinions of the customers who submitted them and do not express the opinions of Hostelworld.com. This way, you get an up-to-the-minute opinion of just how good a hostel really is.
Read our review guidelines

  • Show:
  • Sort By:
23rd May 2017
7.1

Not sure if I should rate the facilities as fair or good. Kitchen was small but adequate. Private ensuite bathroom was great, shared bathrooms we're not that great/but ok. Atmosphere was conducive to drinking and meeting people

    • 6.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 6.0Location
    • 6.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • England, Male, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 4 reviews
12th May 2017
9.4

Very pleasant hostel. Good breakfast selection (raw eggs to cook yourself) and friendly staff. Showers were hot and clean. Even provide breakfast pack when leaving early for trip.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • USA, All Female Group, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 2 reviews
9th May 2017
6.6

If you're not picky this place is pretty much what you get for the money. It isn't particularly fancy, the breakfast is just some bread and coffee, the beds weren't uncomfortable and the bathrooms weren't gross. Overall a decent place to crash for the money. It's a good location if you're visiting on the weekend, since most of the clubs/bars aren't open on the weekdays. It was raining a lot when we were there and one of the girls did complain about the roof leaking in her room.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 6.0Location
    • 6.0Facilities
    • 6.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 6.0Cleanliness
6th May 2017
9.1

I LOVED this Hostel. I was concerned due to some bad reviews but this was the best place I stayed in Chile. Great people (a bit of a party place, to be true), mostly friendly and helpful staff, clean, organized, good value, great location, I honestly do not have any real complaints. I booked the seven bed deluxe and it was worth every penny. Thank you for a great stay!

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
  • idan_hefetz
  • Israel, Male, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 8 reviews
4th May 2017
3.7

The hostel is not clean, bottles and garbage are scattered all over the hostel, the bathroom in our room is broken, the smell of burnt toast arriving in the breakfast room, the staff at the hostel does not exist, a place with a lot of potential that does not give a damn about keeping its facilities clean (most of the hostel with broken and old products ),the only thing that is good in the hostel is the location, I ran away from the hostel and did not recommend anyone to come

    • 2.0Value For Money
    • 4.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 2.0Facilities
    • 4.0Staff
    • 2.0Atmosphere
    • 2.0Cleanliness
2nd May 2017
8.9

You can't beat the location of this hostel. Right next to all the bars and restaurants, within walking distance of anywhere you want to go in Santiago. Easy to meet other travellers here and plenty of space to hang out in the hostel. Staff was very friendly, they let me check in immediately when I arrived at 6 AM. The Wi-Fi was a little unreliable in the rooms.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 6.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Australia, All Female Group, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 8 reviews
29th Apr 2017
9.7

We really enjoyed the pub crawl and it was a very sociable hostel where it was easy to meet people. We had a great time :)

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
28th Apr 2017
6.9

iS A GOOD HOSTEL, BUT I THINK THAT THE Prices in the bar is very expensive, you can`t bring any beers or drink to the hostel.

    • 6.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 4.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 6.0Cleanliness
  • johnstonjack2896040
  • England, All Male Group, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 3 reviews
27th Apr 2017
8.6

Great location - one block from all the bars, restaurants and clubs. Very big hostel so didn't really get a good vibe as just too big and the layout is a bit odd. Ok breakfast. Has a pool table and Netflix so you're sorted on a rainy day. Fantastic beds - best my friend and I have had in a month of travelling.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Australia, Couple, 41+
  • Novice Nomad
  • 4 reviews
26th Apr 2017
9.4

The staff were very friendly, spoke English and extremely helpful; nothing was too much for them. We felt very welcome and enjoyed our stay. The simple breakfast was appreciated and included in the cost. (There is usually a wait for the toaster at breakfast, they should invest in a second one) The hostel's location is very good, only a street away from the many discos, clubs, and restaurants, its also close to other attractions. (Chairlift and Funkular train that takes you up to the Chapel)

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness

Hostelworld Mobile Apps

Book on the go with the new Hostelworld mobile apps.

Search and book more than 33,000 properties in over 170 countries, from anywhere.

Newsletter Sign Up

Submitting your info

Thank you for signing up to our newsletter!

Sign up for our newsletter to get the best hostel deals and news sent straight to your inbox. You can unsubscribe at any time.