X

Home to the world's greatest Hostels

30,000 properties, 180 countries Over 3.5 million guest reviews 21 million bookings

La Chimba Hostel Reviews

E. Pinto Lagarrigue 262, Barrio Bellavista, Santiago, Chile

Reviews & Ratings Explained

90%

Rating
1728 Total Reviews
  • 88%Value For Money
  • 91%Security
  • 95%Location
  • 94%Staff
  • 91%Atmosphere
  • 86%Cleanliness
  • 88%Facilities

The rating percentage is calculated from customers who booked within the last 12 months.

All ratings and reviews are based on the feedback and opinions of the customers who submitted them and do not express the opinions of Hostelworld.com. This way, you get an up-to-the-minute opinion of just how good a hostel really is.
Read our review guidelines »

  • Show:

86%

Nice place, the staff were very helpful and the breakfast was good value.


77%

A really fun hostel in a fun neighborhood. Made me realize though, that my college years are officially over. Beer pong at nights, hangovers in the morning seemed to be the norm in the common room, and bellavista is definitely the spot for cheap pitchers and greasy food, but if I chose again I would probably stay in a different place. That being said the staff was friendly and helpful.

  • 18th Dec 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • USA
  • Couple, 25-30
  • (1 review)


100%

Loved this hostel! Definitely a family vibe and everyone hangs out together--common areas are great!

Owner Comment (Hide)
HThanks for your wicked feedback! Hope to see you again soon and have a great festive season. Best wishes, La Chimba Staff.

66%

This hostel is a giant maze with many rooms and pathways. The floors are very old and if you stay in the mixed 8 bedroom dorm do not expect sleep since it is next to a busy street. If you like to PARTY, SOCIALIZE and live CAREFREE (hooking up) this is the place for you. Average age group is from 19-21. It is also located a block away from a large Bar/Club scene.

  • 13th Dec 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • USA
  • Male, 25-30
  • (1 review)


91%

La Chimba is the perfect hostel for someone looking to hang out with fellow youthful backpackers and enjoy the party vibe of the area. The location is smack bang in the centre of the tourist party district area and could not have been placed in a better location for partying. The staff were all extremely friendly and chilled people. The smell of the bathrooms was unpleasant but and it's located in quite a noist area, otherwise the hostel is fantastic.

Owner Comment (Hide)
Hello, Thanks for taking some time to let us know how your stay went! It’s great to hear from you and it’s fab to hear that you had an enjoyable stay and loved our location, staff and atmosphere. Sorry if the bathrooms were unusually smelly, this is a first time ever we get a complaint of this type, but we shall look into the matter to make sure its the last. I hope we see you again in Santiago soon. Best Wishes Gonzalo – La Chimba Managament.

89%

Very good social, party hostel. If you don't like activity, music, or a party this isn't the hostel for you. Bathrooms could use some cleaning and upgrades and bottles are left around everywhere but otherwise very good hostel. Beds are very good altho squeaky. Unsure about breakfast. Staff is very good. Security is very good. Great place to meet people in great location. Practically minutes from everything


86%

This was my first stop of my South American trip and I couldn't have asked for a better hostel. Staff were really friendly and helpful, showers were decent, and it was so so easy to make friends as a solo traveller. Felt like one big family. Such a great homely vibe. Decent breakfast. Wifi wasnt the best especially in rooms but I have come to realise that this is a good thing as if forces people to be social! Will definitely be back on my way back home when I fly out of Santiago.

Owner Comment (Hide)
Thank you for this feedback! So awesome you enjoyed your stay and took a minute to let us know. Indeed there is a third of the hostel that is without proper WIFI at the moment, but that is only because we are awaiting an import delivery of new hardware that will spread the best fiberoptic wifi ever throughout the entire property as usual. We're delighted you enjoyed the social vibe in the common areas and that we shall see you again on your way back!

97%

Great hostel in an awesome location. Bellavista is a fun neighborhood in Santiago. A great place to meet people and in reasonable proximity to all the big sites. The staff here were a lot of fun as well. Friday night BBQ was awesome.


89%

La Chimba is in Bellavista neighborhood, perfect for going out and not too far from Bellas Artes and Baquedano metro stop. I had a great stay! Staff is super friendly and helpful, rooms are normal, and the atmosphere was fun! Definitely not a place to stay if you're looking to relax. My only complaint is that the breakfast was never served on time. It was supposed to be 8-10, but barely started before 9. Other than that i would recommend La Chimba and I will probably stay again!

  • 5th Dec 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • USA
  • Couple, 18-24
  • (1 review)


97%

La Chimba was awesome! The staff are super friendly and very welcoming. The rooms were also fantastic for a hostel. We stayed in the female shared dorms and the rooms were clean with hot water, comfortable beds, and what felt like air conditioning. Walking distance from tours and other sights. Also one block away from the main strip of bars and restaurants so fantastic for partying! Highly recommend this hostel to anyone travelling to Santiago!

  • 3rd Dec 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Australia
  • Female, 18-24
  • (1 review)


94%

Great hostel!! Loved all the staff and people there!! Would reccomend!!

Owner Comment (Hide)
The staff loves you back! We hope to welcome you back to La Chimba the next time you are in Santiago. Best wishes & safe travels! La Chimba CREW.

83%

It was amazing stay there. No problems.

  • 25th Nov 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Brazil
  • Male, 25-30
  • (1 review)


94%

They have excelent breakfast for a hostel, offered by Sara, Gloria and SOnia (really nice and polite girls). The location is the best you can have in Stgo, near to the subway, downtown and lots of bars.. if you are looking for a good nightlife la chimba is the best option! beds are great, bathrooms always working and the staff is the best feature the hostel has! Alll very nice people willing to help, Adrian, Max, Kath and others. All this for a very good price, there is no better hostel in STGO

  • 25th Nov 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Brazil
  • Female, 18-24
  • (1 review)

Owner Comment (Hide)
Hi there. We are happy you liked our new, improved free breakfast! Your comment also put a big smile on all the staff's faces. Thanks for taking the time to write a review. We hope to welcome you again soon, La Chimba Management.

80%

i had a great time with other traveler. god common are, nice activities to offer and around the corner of entertainment. sone of the staff were friendly and others seem to have a hard time working in this hostel. not helpful and moody face. the showers are not so clean; a lot of mold for instance.

Owner Comment (Hide)
We have taken immediate action with the bathrooms that needed some extra work. We also apologize if all our staff members weren't as helpful as usual during your stay. Thanks for your feedback!

97%

Great hostel in a great location for restaurants and bars nearby. Friendly atmosphere and staff - would go back in a heartbeat.


100%

Great location, vibes and staff. Definitely recommend - perfect place to start or end our trip.

Owner Comment (Hide)
Hey! Many thanks for this review and perfect ratings! We are delighted you enjoyed your time with us and wish you amazing travels!

94%

I stayed on a Saturday night and, since La Chimba is in Bellavista and is more of a fun/party hostel, i was expecting lots of noise, but i was pleasantly surprised by how quiet it was in my room. The bathrooms got a little bit crowded and messy in the morning, but that's normal at such a large hostel. My only complaint about the location is that it is a bit far from a good supermarket.

Owner Comment (Hide)
Thanks for taking a time to review us. We're happy you had a good stay with us overall. We agree with the supermarket comment. Its a 10 minute walk to reach a good supermarket, however there are many little shops and mini-marts in our area where you can find pretty much everything. Good news is that a proper good supermarket is only weeks from opening around the corner!

94%

The social nights in the hostel were great: Tuesdays with terremotos can be enjoyed by all! The staff is also great. Sonia, Gloria, and Sarah were wonderful to be with, and always made breakfast a pleasure! The front desk folks - Kathy, Sam, etc. were very knowledgeable and always helpful! We really enjoyed our stay and felt very comfortable. Would definitely return if in Santiago!

  • 21st Nov 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • USA
  • Female, 18-24
  • (1 review)


77%

we were in a room that was above a restourant and it was so noisy we couldnt sleep all night. the bathroom and toilet was broken and dirty and it was one for 10-12 people. otherwise the hostel is on a very nice place just 5-10 min walk from the center.

Owner Comment (Hide)
Hi there, thanks for taking the time to leave an honest review. We pride ourselves on our cleanliness and facilities however it seems in this case we failed you. We will look into the matter to make sure this situation doesnt happen again. Just so you know, our reception desk is manned 24/7 and can help in any situation that arises. Best wishes, La Chimba Management.

69%

Nice hostel, freindly and helpful staff. But please get rid off the mold in the third building and changing shower curtains can be done immidiately!


« first « Prev 1 2 3 4
(66 results)


View all Santiago Hostels

Please give us your feedback