Hostelworld.com
HostelBookers Logo

Group of 15 or more?

Contact our Group Travel team directly for a tailor made solution for your group

La Chimba Hostel

Group of 15 or more?

Contact our Group Travel team directly for a tailor made solution for your group

Prices
map
reviews
8.4
Fabulous 2,380 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 8.3
  • Security 8.5
  • Location 9.0
  • Staff 8.6
  • Atmosphere 8.4
  • Cleanliness 7.8
  • Facilities 7.9
BOOK NOW
8.4
Fabulous 2,380 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 8.3
  • Security 8.5
  • Location 9.0
  • Staff 8.6
  • Atmosphere 8.4
  • Cleanliness 7.8
  • Facilities 7.9
La Chimba Hostel Located at E. Pinto Lagarrigue 262, Barrio Bellavista, Santiago.
La Chimba Hostel
Chile
Santiago Valparaiso E. Pinto Lagarrigue 262, Barrio Bellavista
84% 2380
-33.4312980 -70.6374335
La Chimba Hostel
    Rooms available

The rating percentage is calculated from customers who booked within the last 12 months. All ratings and reviews are based on the feedback and opinions of the customers who submitted them and do not express the opinions of Hostelworld.com. This way, you get an up-to-the-minute opinion of just how good a hostel really is.
Read our review guidelines

  • Show:
  • Sort By:
  • Anonymous
  • Canada, Female, 31-40
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
3rd Dec 2016
8.0

If you're long for somewhere cheap, in a good location, with a lot of open public spaces, this is a good choice. Especially if you're really young, and looking to party. The place is definitely run down though, and my room felt pretty dreary. Still, the terasse is nice, it's cheap, and the staff are super friendly.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 6.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 6.0Cleanliness
  • claudia_nikole8966
  • Australia, Couple, 25-30
  • Avid Traveller
  • 12 reviews
30th Nov 2016
2.0

By far my worst hostel experience ever, only after checking in, were we told the private room we booked and just paid for 'doesn't exist', and given another room. Only had 3 hours of sleep the night before a long haul flight home, as a result of non-guests playing drums in the courtyard from 3am, despite complaining 4 times, nothing was done. We were given a 50% discount in $US cash, that was unusable for 2 Australians in Chile. Everything here doesn't work or is falling apart, including wifi.

    • 2.0Value For Money
    • 2.0Security
    • 2.0Location
    • 2.0Facilities
    • 2.0Staff
    • 2.0Atmosphere
    • 2.0Cleanliness
View Property Reply

Dear guest, Our staff took special consideration to sort out the problem we had with your booking. We apologized profusely and offered you a similar room with a generous 50% discount for the inconvenience, as you've acknowledged. As for the drum playing, indeed this took place on the night you stayed. However the drums were being played by fellow guests (also australians) and being enjoyed by mostly everyone in the hostel. Your claim that they were non-guests is untrue. That said, we are sorry you had a bad experience with us, hopefully you can give us a chance to make it up next time you are in Santiago.

  • Anonymous
  • Australia, Male, 25-30
  • Avid Traveller
  • 13 reviews
28th Nov 2016
6.3

Better places to stay. Showers were horrible(felt like they were out of the movie SAW). No atmosphere. Only one power point in the dorm by the door.

    • 6.0Value For Money
    • 6.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 6.0Facilities
    • 6.0Staff
    • 4.0Atmosphere
    • 6.0Cleanliness
28th Nov 2016
8.6

A lot of space in the room and big lockers with very comfortable beds. Very clean bathrooms. The hostel is right by the partymile with bars, clubs and restaurants. Some evening free wine. Very cheap breakfast, just bread.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 6.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • richarddavey138140
  • Australia, Couple, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 9 reviews
26th Nov 2016
8.9

Great location, very friendly and helpful staff, clean and comfortable rooms, nice atmosphere - how a hostel should be. Thank you!

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
19th Nov 2016
8.6

Great common areas

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 6.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • China, Female, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
18th Nov 2016
10.0

It is in a great location and very spacious, and the staff is very nice. There are many bars and restaurants within walking distance, and they also have big living rooms and patio if you want to just lay back and chill.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
14th Nov 2016
6.9

Good place and good location. There are some rooms that are close to the street and you listen all Bella Vista night sound until very late, even on tuesdays. Anyway, you can not expect more for the money you paid and the location is one of the best things of the hostel.

    • 6.0Value For Money
    • 6.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 6.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 6.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Ireland, Couple, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 4 reviews
8th Nov 2016
8.3

Very good location with bars and restaurants very close. When we were there they had a free dinner on two of the nights which was a huge added plus. Would stay here again.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
6th Nov 2016
5.7

Useless staff and everyone stuck to their phones 24/7 Beds are big but old, mine had a spring coming through it which managed to cut my leg

    • 6.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 2.0Staff
    • 2.0Atmosphere
    • 6.0Cleanliness

Hostelworld Mobile Apps

Book on the go with the new Hostelworld mobile apps.

Search and book more than 33,000 properties in over 170 countries, from anywhere.

Newsletter Sign Up

Submitting your info

Thank you for signing up to our newsletter!

Sign up for our newsletter to get the best hostel deals and news sent straight to your inbox. You can unsubscribe at any time.