Hostelworld.com
HostelBookers Logo

Group of 15 or more?

Contact our Group Travel team directly for a tailor made solution for your group

La Chimba Hostel

Group of 15 or more?

Contact our Group Travel team directly for a tailor made solution for your group

Prices
map
reviews
8.3
Fabulous 2532 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 8.2
  • Security 8.4
  • Location 9.1
  • Staff 8.6
  • Atmosphere 8.3
  • Cleanliness 7.7
  • Facilities 7.7
BOOK NOW
8.3
Fabulous 2532 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 8.2
  • Security 8.4
  • Location 9.1
  • Staff 8.6
  • Atmosphere 8.3
  • Cleanliness 7.7
  • Facilities 7.7

The rating percentage is calculated from customers who booked within the last 12 months. All ratings and reviews are based on the feedback and opinions of the customers who submitted them and do not express the opinions of Hostelworld.com. This way, you get an up-to-the-minute opinion of just how good a hostel really is.
Read our review guidelines

  • Show:
  • Sort By:
  • Anonymous
  • Canada, Female, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 2 reviews
24th Mar 2017
9.7

Such a great hostel! Very large and lots of fun - loads of bars and activities close by, quick jaunt on the metro to any major tourist site. Really clean and safe - I would stay here again for sure! I organized a shuttle from the airport to the hostel that didn't show up and they graciously gave me 2 nights free and apologized profusely - great customer service and super kind staff!!

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
22nd Mar 2017
6.6

Great location, and it was nice that the hostel organized activities almost every day. Generally upbeat atmosphere as it's a big hostel with lots of varied people. Staff was often helpful with tips but not super proactive about solving problems. The breakfast was disappointing, and another downside was that the front gate/door didn't seem very secure and there were signs all over the lobby about theft. Also at one point there was construction so the hostel was open to the street outside...

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 4.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 4.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 6.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • England, Male, 31-40
  • Novice Nomad
  • 8 reviews
21st Mar 2017
9.4

Great hostel. Good atmosphere, good choice of rooms and a great location. The place is huge and a bit of a rabbit warren so if you're meeting other people here you might miss them! Plus wifi is good but a little patchy in some areas. Breakfast nothing to write home about.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
  • jpowell5133
  • USA, Couple, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 2 reviews
19th Mar 2017
8.3

The location was great, very young and hip area with bars and restaurants around! The staff was friendly and helpful, and the atmosphere was great. The negatives, both shared restrooms upstairs had something broken or being worked on, and the breakfast was the worst we've had at any hostel so far. Minus those things, our stay here was fine and it was a nice place to rest on our short trip to Santiago.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 6.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
15th Mar 2017
9.4

The naked guy legend will live forever!!! Elad-Tim-Paul-alfredo-braydn. I do not understand the question?!? Amazing hostel just go and get ready to party!!!

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • France, Female, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 5 reviews
11th Mar 2017
9.7

Great hostel with a good ambiance perfectly located in Bellavista. Free sangria Sundays! Good way to meet people Rooms are good and big beds

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
9th Mar 2017
9.1

Everything very positive except the toilets - 50% chance they we're broken/wouldn't flush on my floor.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Australia, Male, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 3 reviews
3rd Mar 2017
10.0

La chimba was an amazing hostel! Great place to start my trip, it is in a great location surrounded by plenty of restraunts and bars and everything you could want. The facilities were great and the atmosphere was even better, very easy to meet people and the organised evenings were great! Loved my stay and would definitely go back!

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
25th Feb 2017
7.4

Good hostel, much bigger than it looks from the outside and set in a great location. Shame it's a little let down by staff who aren't really that knowledgeable about stuff to do and a breakfast area that's too small for the number of guests.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 6.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 6.0Cleanliness
18th Feb 2017
9.4

Real nice hostel - great facilities (e.g pool table and fun courtyard areas). Equally good location if you actually want to get out of the hostel and see the city. Plenty of people to meet, very social. Maybe not your best bet if you want to sleep 10+ hours a night. Nice pink bush outside.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness

Hostelworld Mobile Apps

Book on the go with the new Hostelworld mobile apps.

Search and book more than 33,000 properties in over 170 countries, from anywhere.

Newsletter Sign Up

Submitting your info

Thank you for signing up to our newsletter!

Sign up for our newsletter to get the best hostel deals and news sent straight to your inbox. You can unsubscribe at any time.