Hostelworld.com

Group of 15 or more?

Contact our Group Travel team directly for a tailor made solution for your group

La Chimba Hostel

Group of 15 or more?

Contact our Group Travel team directly for a tailor made solution for your group

Prices
map
reviews
8.2
Fabulous 2728 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 8.1
  • Security 8.3
  • Location 9.3
  • Staff 8.5
  • Atmosphere 8.3
  • Cleanliness 7.4
  • Facilities 7.6
BOOK NOW
8.2
Fabulous 2728 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 8.1
  • Security 8.3
  • Location 9.3
  • Staff 8.5
  • Atmosphere 8.3
  • Cleanliness 7.4
  • Facilities 7.6

The rating percentage is calculated from customers who booked within the last 12 months. All ratings and reviews are based on the feedback and opinions of the customers who submitted them and do not express the opinions of Hostelworld.com. This way, you get an up-to-the-minute opinion of just how good a hostel really is.
Read our review guidelines

  • Show:
  • Sort By:
  • Anonymous
  • England, Male, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 4 reviews
8th Sep 2017
9.4

Such a sweet hostel, great atmosphere, properly nice staff as well, Mikenna was so helpful with directions and made me feel really welcome! Hiren was also a great help, showed us around the local area!

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Ireland, Couple, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 7 reviews
6th Sep 2017
7.1

Great location Breakfast is poor, never refilled and you have to go get bowls etc yourself Our room was freezing!!!! No lock on the door so anyone from the hostel can walk into your room. Keep your stuff in the locker

    • 6.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 6.0Facilities
    • 6.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • England, Male, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 6 reviews
6th Sep 2017
6.9

Staff were extremely poor and really let the place down, you have to buzz to get in and I was left outside for over 10 minutes. Netflix room is nice and in a lively area of town

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 6.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 2.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 6.0Cleanliness
  • korisue
  • USA, All Female Group, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 4 reviews
3rd Sep 2017
10.0

We did not want to leave this hostel!! Actually still bitter about it ;) If I had the option to give the staff 100/100, I would have. Such a great community there and the cleaning staff are also very very sweet. Felt like home!

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
1st Sep 2017
10.0

Easily one of the best hostels I have ever stayed at. Friendly staff, great location, great people. 100% recommended!

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Brazil, Female, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 2 reviews
31st Aug 2017
6.6

Wonderful staff but the hostel is very old and clearly haven't had renovations for a long time. Nice location.

    • 6.0Value For Money
    • 6.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 2.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 2.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Ireland, Female, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 2 reviews
31st Aug 2017
9.1

This is a great hostel. It's in the perfect area around all the bars. It has 2 kitchens to use and it also has the best tv with Netflix and awesome sofas to use while watching it. Wifi is only good in certain places and the amount of plugs is spares in the hostel - especially the rooms. Overall great hostel!

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Australia, Female, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 5 reviews
30th Aug 2017
6.9

I had a fantastic time at la Chimba because the people staying there are amazing. Great location, good breakfast! Showers were pretty bad. Herron was the only staff member who made me feel welcome, the others acted as if questions were wasting their time. I would stay there again but only because of the atmosphere and ease of meeting people.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 6.0Facilities
    • 2.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 4.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • England, Female, 25-30
  • Avid Traveller
  • 10 reviews
29th Aug 2017
7.1

This is a great hostel to meet people in and have good nights out. The location is great for food and drinks. The hostel itself was very cold though and the ensuite bathroom in my room was very dirty throughout my stay. The wifi was also very bad during my stay.

    • 6.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 6.0Facilities
    • 6.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 4.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Australia, Female, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
27th Aug 2017
10.0

Easily my favourite hostel so far. Incredibly positive and fun experience, wouldn't have a bad thing to say. The staff made you feel at home immediately, particularly Mikenna and Hiren, and had heaps of cool tips for things to do in the city which made the stay that much more special. Thanks so much Chimpo

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness

Hostelworld Mobile Apps

Book on the go with the new Hostelworld mobile apps.

Search and book more than 33,000 properties in over 170 countries, from anywhere.

Newsletter Sign Up

Submitting your info

Thank you for signing up to our newsletter!

Sign up for our newsletter to get the best hostel deals and news sent straight to your inbox. You can unsubscribe at any time.

×