Hostelworld.com

Group of 15 or more?

Contact our Group Travel team directly for a tailor made solution for your group

La Choza Inn Hostel

  • 300 mts west from the post office in La Fortuna, 200 mts south and 300 mts west from La Fortuna Bus, La Fortuna, Costa Rica

Group of 15 or more?

Contact our Group Travel team directly for a tailor made solution for your group

Prices
map
reviews
7.7
Very Good 372 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 8.1
  • Security 7.7
  • Location 8.6
  • Staff 7.8
  • Atmosphere 7.4
  • Cleanliness 7.3
  • Facilities 7.2
BOOK NOW
7.7
Very Good 372 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 8.1
  • Security 7.7
  • Location 8.6
  • Staff 7.8
  • Atmosphere 7.4
  • Cleanliness 7.3
  • Facilities 7.2

The rating percentage is calculated from customers who booked within the last 12 months. All ratings and reviews are based on the feedback and opinions of the customers who submitted them and do not express the opinions of Hostelworld.com. This way, you get an up-to-the-minute opinion of just how good a hostel really is.
Read our review guidelines

  • Show:
  • Sort By:
  • Anonymous
  • Canada, Couple, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 9 reviews
16th Jun 2017
9.1

Our room was big and clean. They do bring you for free to the hot springs which is must do in arenal. However, we had to pay an extra to have AC(it wasn't written anywhere that it wasn't included in the price). It is the only hostel in my trip to Costa Rica in which I had to pay a supplement for AC. The kitchen is fully equiped and overall, I would recommend the hostel !

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 6.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
12th Jun 2017
8.3

The staff was very accommodating and helpful. The room was very small which made moving around difficult when your sharing with at least 3 other people. There was only one working outlet for 4 people to charge. Lockers were placed in our room the last day there. The breakfast was good along with the wonderful chefs.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Canada, Female, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 4 reviews
6th Jun 2017
7.4

Room was crammed and stinky. Also extremely hot (ac on only at night). The facility was quite dirty and only one burner worked in the kitchen. However the free hot springs were great (they are also free for other hostels). The breakfast-eggs with toast, coffee and juice- was also great. Location was also a plus. You could see the volcano from the hostel.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 6.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 6.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • USA, Female, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
3rd Jun 2017
2.9

Had a very unpleasant stay here. i am not a picky person but this is needed. The place was a mess. All over the grounds of the hotel are piles of old junk, including: old beds, old fans, clothes, garbage, you name it. also, these piles of junk are right outside your room. The worst part was the man who worked there. He was so unbelievably rude, and not just to us but to others who were staying there. He was unacceptable and stalked our room,walkingpast only our window and would stand and look in

    • 2.0Value For Money
    • 2.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 2.0Facilities
    • 2.0Staff
    • 2.0Atmosphere
    • 2.0Cleanliness
View Property Reply

Hi many thanks for your comments this helps us to improve every day we have verified every situation during your stay and we have improved the mentioned aspects, Our hostel is in remodeling until June 15 so during those days we will have some materials in our gardens, we will try to cause the slightest inconvenience, we have heard every one of your complaints. We look forward to meeting your expectations on your next visit.

  • Anonymous
  • USA, Female, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
27th May 2017
4.3

This hostel was really dirty and not well cared for. The manager wasn't receptive to our requests. When we arrived, upon sitting gently on one of our beds, it promptly broke and the managers solution was to put the mattress on the floor for the guest to sleep on. The dorm room was full of bugs and the bathrooms were not clean. It appeared that there were piles of old mattresses everywhere and that junk was being thrown everywhere. They did, however, have a great breakfast in the mornings.

    • 6.0Value For Money
    • 4.0Security
    • 6.0Location
    • 4.0Facilities
    • 4.0Staff
    • 4.0Atmosphere
    • 2.0Cleanliness
View Property Reply

Hi many thanks for your comments this helps us to improve every day we have verified every situation during your stay and we have improved the mentioned aspects, Our hostel is in remodeling until June 15 so during those days we will have some materials in our gardens, we will try to cause the slightest inconvenience, we have heard every one of your complaints. We look forward to meeting your expectations on your next visit.

  • Anonymous
  • Canada, Female, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 4 reviews
24th May 2017
4.6

The place was very messy and dirty, they had a pile of garbage, outside in the court yard. And the rooms were very tight. One staff member was very rude, not helpful at will. He wouldn't allow us to have the control to the a/c, even though the other rooms did, so the first night everyone froze to death. As he set the a/c very low and came in to our room before 7 am to turn it off. The breakfast was very minimal and not good. Would not recommend staying here.

    • 4.0Value For Money
    • 6.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 4.0Facilities
    • 4.0Staff
    • 4.0Atmosphere
    • 2.0Cleanliness
View Property Reply

Hi many thanks for your comments this helps us to improve every day we have verified every situation during your stay and we have improved the mentioned aspects, Our hostel is in remodeling until June 15 so during those days we will have some materials in our gardens, we will try to cause the slightest inconvenience, we have heard every one of your complaints. We look forward to meeting your expectations on your next visit.

  • Anonymous
  • Canada, All Female Group, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 2 reviews
23rd May 2017
8.0

The dorms were alright, the mixed dorms had two showers separated only by curtains, the beds were flimsy, ac was great. If kitchen was open that would have been better, also could use more of a hang out/lounging space. Staff was helpful in booking transportation and tours. Good location. Lockers were small and could only fit valuables.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 6.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 6.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • USA, Mixed Group, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
21st May 2017
6.6

Front desk staff was less than helpful. All other staff were friendly. Rooms (private) were a nice size and moderately clean. Doors were paper thin and noise from hallways was loud enough to keep us up late at night. Water pressure and temperature in shower varied by the minute. Breakfast was better than most hostels. Great location, far enough off of the main street that noise wasn't an issue, but close enough to be within walking distance of town.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 6.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 6.0Facilities
    • 6.0Staff
    • 4.0Atmosphere
    • 6.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Canada, Female, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 2 reviews
19th May 2017
4.9

They would not allow me to move to the bottom bunk even though there was no one there for 3 nights during my stay which was upsetting. The overall cleanliness of my dormroom was questionable, the bathrooms/showers were not clean, garbages overflowing most of the time-I mentioned this once and didn't see an improvement till hours later. Hostel advertised as walking distance to waterfall- it is but takes over 1.5hrs ish and is uphill so more of a hike and this should be more clear. Overall just ok

    • 6.0Value For Money
    • 6.0Security
    • 6.0Location
    • 4.0Facilities
    • 4.0Staff
    • 4.0Atmosphere
    • 4.0Cleanliness
View Property Reply

Hi many thanks for your comments this helps us to improve every day we have verified every situation during your stay and we have improved the mentioned aspects, Our hostel is in remodeling until June 15 so during those days we will have some materials in our gardens, we will try to cause the slightest inconvenience, we have heard every one of your complaints. We look forward to meeting your expectations on your next visit.

15th May 2017
4.6

Do not stay here! Manager is the worst. After the first night of sleeping in one of the dorms my buddy asked the manger if he could redirect the a/c because it had been blowing on him. The next night the manager did not turn the a/c on. The following night we asked him to turn back on. He then proceed to turn it as low as possible. The entire dorm froze, so much so I had to find the electrical shut off at 2am. My buddy is sick now. They also started construction without any notification.

    • 2.0Value For Money
    • 6.0Security
    • 6.0Location
    • 4.0Facilities
    • 2.0Staff
    • 4.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
View Property Reply

Hi many thanks for your comments this helps us to improve every day we have verified every situation during your stay and we have improved the mentioned aspects, Our hostel is in remodeling until June 15 so during those days we will have some materials in our gardens, we will try to cause the slightest inconvenience, we have heard every one of your complaints. We look forward to meeting your expectations on your next visit.

Hostelworld Mobile Apps

Book on the go with the new Hostelworld mobile apps.

Search and book more than 33,000 properties in over 170 countries, from anywhere.

Newsletter Sign Up

Submitting your info

Thank you for signing up to our newsletter!

Sign up for our newsletter to get the best hostel deals and news sent straight to your inbox. You can unsubscribe at any time.