Hostelworld.com

La Choza Inn Hostel

  • 300 mts west from the post office in La Fortuna, 200 mts south and 300 mts west from La Fortuna Bus, La Fortuna, Costa Rica
Prices
map
reviews
7.7
Very Good 149 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 8.2
  • Security 7.7
  • Location 8.6
  • Staff 7.5
  • Atmosphere 7.2
  • Cleanliness 7.6
  • Facilities 7.3
BOOK NOW
7.7
Very Good 149 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 8.2
  • Security 7.7
  • Location 8.6
  • Staff 7.5
  • Atmosphere 7.2
  • Cleanliness 7.6
  • Facilities 7.3
La Choza Inn Hostel Located at 300 mts west from the post office in La Fortuna, 200 mts south and 300 mts west from La Fortuna Bus, La Fortuna.
La Choza Inn Hostel
Costa Rica
La Fortuna Alajuela 506 300 mts west from the post office in La Fortuna, 200 mts south and 300 mts west from La Fortuna Bus
77% 149
10.4716204 -84.6478567
La Choza Inn Hostel
    Rooms available

The rating percentage is calculated from customers who booked within the last 12 months. All ratings and reviews are based on the feedback and opinions of the customers who submitted them and do not express the opinions of Hostelworld.com. This way, you get an up-to-the-minute opinion of just how good a hostel really is.
Read our review guidelines

  • Show:
  • Sort By:
  • Anonymous
  • England, Couple, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 2 reviews
30th Apr 2016
6.0

We liked this hostel but the 12 bed dorm was Boiling hot. There were 3 fans, one of which sparked and burst blew out in the middle of the night. The breakfast was minimal and the butter was completely melted like a pot of oil. I think a private room would have been nice but we wouldn't stay in the dorm again. only 2 showers for 12 people was tough. Main complaint was the staff were REALLY noisy in the mornings. THe dorm is right by the kitchen and they were shouting and banging around at 6am!

    • 6.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 6.0Facilities
    • 6.0Staff
    • 4.0Atmosphere
    • 4.0Cleanliness
22nd Apr 2016
8.6

Large room, many bunks. Top bunk has no railings on either side. Room had ceiling fans but not very strong; one made loud noise. Room was hot + rather stuffy/smelly. Had lockers but main door doesn't lock so open to all. Toilet was outside of room, sink was outside of toilet and more an outdoor washbasin. Outdoor area was nice though: garden, large kitchen. Breakfast was good: fruit, toast, eggs. Staff was nice. Free parking. Location is good. For $10, it's ok since it had good bfast. Basic stay

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 6.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 6.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
19th Apr 2016
9.7

I really appreciated the free breakfast.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • New Zealand, Female, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 2 reviews
16th Apr 2016
8.6

They didn't mention that you have to bring your own lock for the lockers! Breakfast provided was great!

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 6.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
13th Apr 2016
2.3

STAY AWAY FROM THIS HOSTEL. I was there 2 nights and then moved to Arenal Backpackers. 3 out of the 5 people in my dorm had money or items stolen. Probably because there are NO LOCKS ON THE DOORS OR ANY SECURITY OF ANY KIND. You could walk off the street and straight into a dorm room without encountering a single locked door. The staff were horrible to deal with and very rude. I even tried to complain to the manager, and it turns out he was the manager. Any other hostel will be a better value.

    • 2.0Value For Money
    • 2.0Security
    • 4.0Location
    • 2.0Facilities
    • 2.0Staff
    • 2.0Atmosphere
    • 2.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • USA, Mixed Group, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
9th Apr 2016
7.7

My first hostel experience, I went in with a very open mind, and was pleasantly surprised with the food, showers, garden, friendliness of staff, and bedrooms. I had a problem with some people sleeping in the beds my friend and I were assigned to by staff. The worker, Carlos, allowed my friend and I to sort of "upgrade" from a 14 person room to a 6 person for all of the trouble, which was great. Staff assumes you will unclog the toilets, even if you did not create the unflushable mess.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 6.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 6.0Cleanliness
4th Apr 2016
5.4

Location was alright - just a couple blocks off the main "tourist street", but it's located on a dark gravel alley on a dead-end street. I was actually bit by the neighbors chihuahua on my heel because it was allowed to be off-leash and the owner was nowhere to be found. The hostel itself is relatively large, and can accommodate a large amount of people at any given time. The showers were pretty dirty - looked like they hadn't been scrubbed in a while. Breakfast was decent.

    • 6.0Value For Money
    • 4.0Security
    • 6.0Location
    • 6.0Facilities
    • 6.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 4.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • USA, All Female Group, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 6 reviews
31st Mar 2016
7.7

Stayed here for only one night in the 11 bed dorm. It was an okay stay for the night. No locks on the dorm door at night though and it got super hot at night with only a few ceiling fans (I was on the bottom bunk). Breakfast was basic in the morning. Overall it's an okay stay for a night or two.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 6.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
26th Mar 2016
7.4

The Hostel facilities are nice and clean, the dorms are good to sleep. Atmosphere was allright. Only the staff was really not friendly. Had to change the bed tree times when I arrived because he couldn't find an empty bad (I booked a night on hostelworld). Can happen, but the way the receptionist handelt the situation is just insane. He saw it as my fault, and said I had to fix it by myself und look for someone who is in the wrong bed/hasn't checked out or whatever.

    • 6.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 4.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Germany, Couple, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
26th Mar 2016
5.7

Breakfast is not realy good, doors of the room are always open because you don't get a key for your own.

    • 6.0Value For Money
    • 6.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 4.0Facilities
    • 6.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 4.0Cleanliness

Hostelworld Mobile Apps

Book on the go with the new Hostelworld mobile apps.

Search and book more than 33,000 properties in over 170 countries, from anywhere.

Newsletter Sign Up

Submitting your info

Thank you for signing up to our newsletter!

Sign up for our monthly Newsletter to get the best hostel deals and news sent straight your inbox. You can unsubscribe at any time.