Hostelworld.com

La Choza Inn Hostel

  • 300 mts west from the post office in La Fortuna, 200 mts south and 300 mts west from La Fortuna Bus, La Fortuna, Costa Rica
Prices
map
reviews
7.7
Very Good 269 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 8.3
  • Security 7.7
  • Location 8.4
  • Staff 8.0
  • Atmosphere 7.3
  • Cleanliness 7.3
  • Facilities 7.0
BOOK NOW
7.7
Very Good 269 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 8.3
  • Security 7.7
  • Location 8.4
  • Staff 8.0
  • Atmosphere 7.3
  • Cleanliness 7.3
  • Facilities 7.0

The rating percentage is calculated from customers who booked within the last 12 months. All ratings and reviews are based on the feedback and opinions of the customers who submitted them and do not express the opinions of Hostelworld.com. This way, you get an up-to-the-minute opinion of just how good a hostel really is.
Read our review guidelines

  • Show:
  • Sort By:
16th Feb 2017
9.1

La Choza Inn was a very clean facility with a friendly and helpful staff. There was a free shuttle to the free hot springs which was nice. They offered tours as well, but these required a fee. The breakfast was nice and is offered everyday for free. Overall, this hostel was a very nice place to stay in La Fortuna.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
16th Feb 2017
10.0

This was probably our favorite place that we stayed in Costa Rica. The front desk staff was helpful and bilingual. Laundry service was reasonably priced. Rooms were clean and spacious. Powerful fan in room. Breakfast was good. Price was great! (We stayed in private room with bathroom). Doors had good locks on them.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Canada, All Female Group, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
9th Feb 2017
9.1

Great place! Particular one front desk guy (don't remember his name) was very friendly and helpful when we came back multiple times a day for directions and other questions. Rooms are clean and basic. Everything you need! Free daily breakfast is simple but good. Very good value for money and good communal area. The only negative is wifi signal is weak in rooms further from the kitchen area. We had to leave our rooms often to use wifi but overall not a big negative! 100% would recommend

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Peru, Couple, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
9th Feb 2017
6.6

Hostel was good very nice, staff were very good to deal with and easy going .Only problem I had was the air con it was very noisey and didn't actually cool the room so it was pretty pointless to have it on.. Also I found that the toilets weren't cleaned at all especially the bins they were just left there till the afternoon with toilet paper in them smelled pretty bad. Also there was not one shower for 10 people. I would recommend this hostel but they should work on these areas to make it better

    • 6.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 2.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 4.0Atmosphere
    • 4.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • USA, Female, 41+
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
9th Feb 2017
10.0

Ronnie, the hotel manager, is super helpful. He made my stay here easy and fun.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Turkey, Female, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 5 reviews
5th Feb 2017
9.7

It's a nice place with very helpful and friendly staff. Rooms and kitchen were clean. They also provide free shuttle to the hot springs.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
31st Jan 2017
5.7

I booked this place to get a free breakfast after I was told they even pack one for you if you have to leave early, but this didn't happen. Thereis a free shuttle to the hot springs which is worth it but the beds were awfully uncomfortable and when on top bunk the bed wobbles and it's pretty unsafe, and there isn't a ladder to getup there! It's a bit dingy in general,the staff were pretty rude and there was no friendly vibe whatsoever. I would pay a little more and go elsewhere.

    • 6.0Value For Money
    • 6.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 6.0Facilities
    • 4.0Staff
    • 4.0Atmosphere
    • 6.0Cleanliness
30th Jan 2017
7.1

This was a decent hostel, it had good food, a good location but the pictures arent the same. A good experience thou.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 6.0Security
    • 6.0Location
    • 6.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Mexico, All Female Group, 31-40
  • Avid Traveller
  • 16 reviews
26th Jan 2017
5.1

They gave me a different room from what I had booked online. They said they didn't accepted credit cards and at the end they did. No value for the price. Not nice staff.

    • 2.0Value For Money
    • 4.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 4.0Facilities
    • 6.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 6.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Canada, Female, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 3 reviews
18th Jan 2017
6.3

We booked an 8 bed dorm and ended up in a 12 bed dorm. Pros: really close to everything, walking distance from bus station, lots of tour options, one free trip to the local hot springs, nice breakfast. Cons: the main guy is rude, the hostel is pretty basic, showers smelled mouldy and had broken curtains, not every room had a locker.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 6.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 6.0Facilities
    • 4.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 6.0Cleanliness

Hostelworld Mobile Apps

Book on the go with the new Hostelworld mobile apps.

Search and book more than 33,000 properties in over 170 countries, from anywhere.

Newsletter Sign Up

Submitting your info

Thank you for signing up to our newsletter!

Sign up for our newsletter to get the best hostel deals and news sent straight to your inbox. You can unsubscribe at any time.