Hostelworld.com
HostelBookers Logo

Group of 15 or more?

Contact our Group Travel team directly for a tailor made solution for your group

La Choza Inn Hostel

  • 300 mts west from the post office in La Fortuna, 200 mts south and 300 mts west from La Fortuna Bus, La Fortuna, Costa Rica

Group of 15 or more?

Contact our Group Travel team directly for a tailor made solution for your group

Prices
map
reviews
7.7
Very Good 302 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 8.2
  • Security 7.7
  • Location 8.4
  • Staff 7.9
  • Atmosphere 7.3
  • Cleanliness 7.2
  • Facilities 7.0
BOOK NOW
7.7
Very Good 302 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 8.2
  • Security 7.7
  • Location 8.4
  • Staff 7.9
  • Atmosphere 7.3
  • Cleanliness 7.2
  • Facilities 7.0

The rating percentage is calculated from customers who booked within the last 12 months. All ratings and reviews are based on the feedback and opinions of the customers who submitted them and do not express the opinions of Hostelworld.com. This way, you get an up-to-the-minute opinion of just how good a hostel really is.
Read our review guidelines

  • Show:
  • Sort By:
13th Mar 2017
8.0

Location is good and there is a pretty good kitchen. Free breakfast which is very good. Eggs and toast. Main negative was the bunk above me collapsed. First time, 2 wooden slats fell down and hit me. I could've been seriously injured. The girl in that bunk and I, both reported this several times. It wasn't until she fell right through that someone did anything. Guy at reception was not very nice to the other girl but nice to me when I reported it, but did nothing when he assured me he would.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 4.0Facilities
    • 6.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Malaysia, Male, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 7 reviews
6th Mar 2017
7.7

Stayed for 3 nights in total, 2 nights in private rooms and 1 night in dorm. Very clean and comfortable in the private room - complete with a little balcony! The dorm bathroom was not as cleaned. They serve breakfast and free shuttle to the hot spring which is nice. Location is not bad either. Staff were helpful.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
5th Mar 2017
8.3

Bathrooms need updating, or at least a little maintenance to stop shower from leaking all over the bathroom. Other than that - very happy that we got good value for money!

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 6.0Cleanliness
  • IsabelleGM
  • Canada, Female, 25-30
  • Avid Traveller
  • 11 reviews
2nd Mar 2017
9.4

Choza is very close to the "downtown". The staff are very friendly and everything is always being cleaned. The main reason we chose this hostel was for the free shuttle bus to the free hot springs and it was well worth it! If you are backpacking on a budget this is the way to go.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Canada, Female, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 2 reviews
1st Mar 2017
3.1

It was honestly awful. The staff wasn't very nice and actually yelled at me and another girl for switching beds. Gave me the run around about returning my money as well. Honestly I know it's cheap but spend the extra buck or two and go elsewhere.

    • 2.0Value For Money
    • 4.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 2.0Facilities
    • 2.0Staff
    • 2.0Atmosphere
    • 2.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • New Zealand, Couple, 25-30
  • Globetrotter
  • 28 reviews
27th Feb 2017
8.3

We stayed in the cheap dorms and they were pretty cheap. The shower and bathroom were a bit manky, but if you want a cheap bed , it's alright. And Breakfast was good

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • USA, Female, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
27th Feb 2017
9.4

This hostel was exactly what we were looking for and it was perfect. It wasn't on a main road but it was also walking distance away from everything in town. We had a private room two beds and it was cozy. We didn't spend our time in the room so we didn't need a lot of space. We had a warm shower and bathroom in our room so it was just perfect. The staff was very friendly and helpful and they let us stay an extra day and we were able to pay in U.S. dollars or colones if we wanted. Just perfect!!

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
26th Feb 2017
9.4

La Choza Inn was great. I was in a dorm and it was spacious . The toilet and sink were located outside but it was always clean. The staff was very friendly and always willing to help. Breakfast was awesome and the atmosohere was relaxed. I would recommend this place!

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Canada, Female, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 3 reviews
25th Feb 2017
7.4

I stayed in this hostel for 1 night only and it was OK. Rooms are clean but turns out they're realllyyyyyy hot even at night. Washrooms could have been cleaner but overall it was a great hostel for the price I paid. Breakfast was good (+ lots of eggs!)

    • 6.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 6.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
25th Feb 2017
7.7

The bathrooms need some work in the dorms and when I asked for a towel for the floor (it was nasty slippery) they told me I couldn't have one because I was in the dorm.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 6.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 6.0Cleanliness

Hostelworld Mobile Apps

Book on the go with the new Hostelworld mobile apps.

Search and book more than 33,000 properties in over 170 countries, from anywhere.

Newsletter Sign Up

Submitting your info

Thank you for signing up to our newsletter!

Sign up for our newsletter to get the best hostel deals and news sent straight to your inbox. You can unsubscribe at any time.