Hostelworld.com

Group of 15 or more?

Contact our Group Travel team directly for a tailor made solution for your group

La Choza Inn Hostel

  • 300 mts west from the post office in La Fortuna, 200 mts south and 300 mts west from La Fortuna Bus, La Fortuna, Costa Rica

Group of 15 or more?

Contact our Group Travel team directly for a tailor made solution for your group

Prices
map
reviews
7.9
Very Good 402 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 8.2
  • Security 7.9
  • Location 8.8
  • Staff 8.0
  • Atmosphere 7.4
  • Cleanliness 7.7
  • Facilities 7.3
BOOK NOW
7.9
Very Good 402 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 8.2
  • Security 7.9
  • Location 8.8
  • Staff 8.0
  • Atmosphere 7.4
  • Cleanliness 7.7
  • Facilities 7.3

The rating percentage is calculated from customers who booked within the last 12 months. All ratings and reviews are based on the feedback and opinions of the customers who submitted them and do not express the opinions of Hostelworld.com. This way, you get an up-to-the-minute opinion of just how good a hostel really is.
Read our review guidelines

  • Show:
  • Sort By:
  • Anonymous
  • Germany, Female, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 3 reviews
15th Aug 2017
7.7

Freezing showers, horrible beds, no lockers :( La Fortuna isn't really hot weatherwise so cold showers aren't enjoyable. Felt the slatted frame through the thin mattress and might as well have slept on the floor. At least small lockers should be standard. Staff was super friendly and breakfast was fine. Bathrooms are modern but please put some hooks so you can at least hang your towel while having a shower. Location is good!

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 6.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 4.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
11th Aug 2017
9.1

We stayed here two nights. Everything was great, and the small courtyard outside was lovely. We never tried the breakfast so I can't comment on it. It was nice to have the kitchen area because portion sizes in La Fortuna were massive and we brought home leftovers several times. Our room had a small safe which was nice to have. The hot water was a bit spotty, but that can be par for the course in CR. It's close to restaurants and the main park.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
7th Aug 2017
10.0

Amazing staff Good breakfast Shuttle to the hotsprings is perfect after a day of hiking Doesn't look social but it actually is very social when you hang out at the kitchen during dinner time or talk to the people in the dorm ;)

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
28th Jul 2017
9.1

Great location, all of the shuttle services I used picked up and dropped off here regularly. It's only a minutes walk from the bus station, restaurants and grocery stores. All the employees I interacted with were kind and helpful. The private room was very nice, cleaned everyday, plus a nice breakfast every morning. I traveled solo and needed a place to just chill after a lot of activity and this location was good for that. Overall I felt I got a hotel experience for a hostel price.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • USA, All Female Group, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
22nd Jul 2017
8.3

This is a chill hostel. The free breakfast was good. Not a lot of places to hang out and meet other travelers. They have AC at night which was really nice. Jessy and the other staff members were very nice and helpful. It's a good place to stay in La Fortuna!

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 6.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 6.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • USA, Mixed Group, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 6 reviews
17th Jul 2017
8.0

Rather than the WiFi being painfully slow/not working most of the time, this place was great. Very helpful staff, nice breakfast in the morning, lots of other wonderful travelers. La Choza was also getting a facelift while we were there, so I can only assume it will be even more great in the future.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 4.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 6.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • USA, Male, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
2nd Jul 2017
8.0

I had a wonderful experience here. The hostel is located a block of the Main Street which I liked because it was quite in the morning and at night. It is about a 2 min walk to the city center which is nice. The only thing is there is 1 male and 1 female bathroom if you are in the dorm and they are located outside of the dorm but it's not that big of deal for me at least. Staff was amazing and super helpful with all my needs.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 6.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Switzerland, Female, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 2 reviews
22nd Jun 2017
8.9

the breakfast was amazing. the rooms only have one key so it takes a bit of coordinating with your fellow roommates to figure out who will lock the room once everybody is out. The staff was helpful and friendly. It's possible to book your jeep boat jeep transfer to Monteverde at the front desk, which is great.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 6.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
View Property Reply

Hello many thanks for your comments which help us to improve our service, now each person in the dorms will have his key that will be given at check in time with his soap and and towel. Thank you very much

  • Anonymous
  • Canada, Couple, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 9 reviews
16th Jun 2017
9.1

Our room was big and clean. They do bring you for free to the hot springs which is must do in arenal. However, we had to pay an extra to have AC(it wasn't written anywhere that it wasn't included in the price). It is the only hostel in my trip to Costa Rica in which I had to pay a supplement for AC. The kitchen is fully equiped and overall, I would recommend the hostel !

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 6.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
View Property Reply

Hello thanks for your comments which help us to improve our service, the additional charge for the air conditioning is only is charged in the standard rooms which has a fan. some standard rooms have air conditioning for the additional cost, we will instruct our staff to provide the correct information to our Guests, thank you very much.

12th Jun 2017
8.3

The staff was very accommodating and helpful. The room was very small which made moving around difficult when your sharing with at least 3 other people. There was only one working outlet for 4 people to charge. Lockers were placed in our room the last day there. The breakfast was good along with the wonderful chefs.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
View Property Reply

Hello thanks for your comments which help us to improve our service, the additional charge for the air conditioning is only is charged in the standard rooms which has a fan. some standard rooms have air conditioning for the additional cost, we will instruct our staff to provide the correct information to our Guests, thank you very much.

Hostelworld Mobile Apps

Book on the go with the new Hostelworld mobile apps.

Search and book more than 33,000 properties in over 170 countries, from anywhere.

Newsletter Sign Up

Submitting your info

Thank you for signing up to our newsletter!

Sign up for our newsletter to get the best hostel deals and news sent straight to your inbox. You can unsubscribe at any time.