Hostelworld.com
HostelBookers Logo

Group of 15 or more?

Our sister site HostelBookers can create a tailor-made booking plan for your large travel group.

La Choza Inn Hostel

  • 300 mts west from the post office in La Fortuna, 200 mts south and 300 mts west from La Fortuna Bus, La Fortuna, Costa Rica

Group of 15 or more?

Our sister site HostelBookers can create a tailor-made booking plan for your large travel group.

Prices
map
reviews
7.7
Very Good 171 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 8.0
  • Security 7.5
  • Location 8.4
  • Staff 7.6
  • Atmosphere 7.2
  • Cleanliness 7.7
  • Facilities 7.2
BOOK NOW
7.7
Very Good 171 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 8.0
  • Security 7.5
  • Location 8.4
  • Staff 7.6
  • Atmosphere 7.2
  • Cleanliness 7.7
  • Facilities 7.2
La Choza Inn Hostel Located at 300 mts west from the post office in La Fortuna, 200 mts south and 300 mts west from La Fortuna Bus, La Fortuna.
La Choza Inn Hostel
Costa Rica
La Fortuna Alajuela 506 300 mts west from the post office in La Fortuna, 200 mts south and 300 mts west from La Fortuna Bus
77% 171
10.4716204 -84.6478567
La Choza Inn Hostel
    Rooms available

The rating percentage is calculated from customers who booked within the last 12 months. All ratings and reviews are based on the feedback and opinions of the customers who submitted them and do not express the opinions of Hostelworld.com. This way, you get an up-to-the-minute opinion of just how good a hostel really is.
Read our review guidelines

  • Show:
  • Sort By:
  • Anonymous
  • USA, Female, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
22nd Jul 2016
9.1

Manager/owner was so helpful and amazing. Truthfully a nice and caring man. Was able to suggest places to eat and things to do.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
18th Jul 2016
9.1

Breakfast was the best, fresh fruit, eggs, milk, and so on.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Australia, Couple, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
16th Jul 2016
6.3

Good location and facilities... But disappointing service. When we asked for free things to do around La Fortuna the response was "well if you don't book a tour I don't make a profit". Literally. I was put off by what was the owners mentality - extract money from guests. Everything costs more than you expect and problems (wifi, hot water, to remote) don't get fixed. That said, owner was always very friendly.

    • 6.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 6.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 2.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
View Property Reply

Thank you very much for your comments which help us to improve our service. La Choza Inn Hostel was created to show all the natural beauties of L Fortuna without having to spend a lot of money is for that reason that on our website offer information on activities at no additional cost each traveler can do on their own such as: La Fortuna Waterfall Cerro Chato ( old volcano crater) Rock Pools Natural River with hot springs water among other activities that each visitor can make, also offer tours to our guests with preferential prices. We will instruct our staff regarding this point .. Thank you very much.

  • petemjamieson7208
  • Australia, Male, 31-40
  • Novice Nomad
  • 3 reviews
15th Jul 2016
5.4

Staff double booked my room, as a result tried to downgrade accommodation style from what was booked as a 'solution'.. 2nd solution was move to the managers friends hotel 2 blocks behind (in a less than favourable neighbourhood) adjacent to a street drain 'water feature'. These guys are jokers!!! The best part of the whole thing - the reason for double booking was that they dont like saying no. Wise up!! Estimados Huespedes dont like being double booked! Seriously!

    • 6.0Value For Money
    • 6.0Security
    • 6.0Location
    • 6.0Facilities
    • 2.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 6.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • England, Male, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 9 reviews
14th Jul 2016
8.6

Very happy with our stay here. Everyone is extremely friendly and welcoming. Free breakfast is good and the rooms were nice and spacious, and cleaned everyday while we're out. Staff were very good and very quick to get us onto good tours, and generally we all thought that everything at the hostel was great. Only bad thing really was the wifi. It pretty much didn't work the whole 4 days but there are loads of shops with wifi closely so not too awful. Thanks guys!

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 6.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
10th Jul 2016
8.6

This place was nice. Felt a lot like being at camp with a bunch of strangers but in a good way. The breakfast was a great touch. Overall, good location and good value for your money.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
6th Jul 2016
8.9

Great complimentary breakfast every morning. All of the staff are very nice and helpful. They helped me with booking a shuttle to Liberia and a tour of Arenal and the natural hot springs. I thought it a bit odd that they have one key per room, so you must go to the reception to get your room key and leave it there or with a roommate when you leave. It's on the edge of town, but since the town is so small, everything was still very close. The garden in the small courtyard was pretty, too.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • USA, Couple, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
5th Jul 2016
8.0

good little hostel! Except that the room got too hot, I literally went to the bench outside because it was a lot fresher there. Overall the service was great and complementary breakfast was nice.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 6.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
View Property Reply

Hello, Thank you for your comments which help us to improve our service, we have installed air conditioning in the 14 beds dorm, we welcome you on your next visit to stay with us and verify, thank you very much for your comments .. La Choza Inn Hostel

  • Anonymous
  • England, Female, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 3 reviews
3rd Jul 2016
6.3

The hostel dorm was okay-ish, a bit dark and dingy.. But fine. the kitchen isn't very well equipped, especially when there's more than a few of you cooking. Still both fine for the price. The main problem we had was the guy on reception! We we're a bit upset to find out the the ' free shuttle to springs' was no longer valid, even though it was the hostels main selling point for us. And after we complained about that he was incredibly rude to us for the rest of our stay.. Not a very nice

    • 4.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 4.0Facilities
    • 4.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 6.0Cleanliness
View Property Reply

Hello Thank you for your comments, at La Choza Inn we care about the comfort of our guests, we will check the lighting in the dorm, The shuttle service to the FREE hot springs river was provided free until June 25th . Now we offer the service daily at 5 pm for a fee of $ 5 per person round trip. We will instruct our staff to know how to handle these situations and be kind to our visitors… Thank you very much

  • Anonymous
  • England, Couple, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 4 reviews
30th Apr 2016
6.0

We liked this hostel but the 12 bed dorm was Boiling hot. There were 3 fans, one of which sparked and burst blew out in the middle of the night. The breakfast was minimal and the butter was completely melted like a pot of oil. I think a private room would have been nice but we wouldn't stay in the dorm again. only 2 showers for 12 people was tough. Main complaint was the staff were REALLY noisy in the mornings. THe dorm is right by the kitchen and they were shouting and banging around at 6am!

    • 6.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 6.0Facilities
    • 6.0Staff
    • 4.0Atmosphere
    • 4.0Cleanliness
View Property Reply

Hello thank you very much for your comments, we have valued feedback from our guests and we have installed air conditioning in the 14 beds dorm, we have also built an extra shower for better service, as for breakfast we have improved and remodeled the kitchen area to isolate the noise .. Thank you for your comments.

Hostelworld Mobile Apps

Book on the go with the new Hostelworld mobile apps.

Search and book more than 33,000 properties in over 170 countries, from anywhere.

Newsletter Sign Up

Submitting your info

Thank you for signing up to our newsletter!

Sign up for our monthly Newsletter to get the best hostel deals and news sent straight your inbox. You can unsubscribe at any time.