Hostelworld.com
HostelBookers Logo

Group of 15 or more?

Our sister site HostelBookers can create a tailor-made booking plan for your large travel group.

La Cigana

  • Calle Centauro sur 18 Esquina Sol Oriente, Tulum, Mexico

Group of 15 or more?

Our sister site HostelBookers can create a tailor-made booking plan for your large travel group.

Prices
map
reviews
8.1
Fabulous 208 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 8.0
  • Security 8.1
  • Location 9.1
  • Staff 9.2
  • Atmosphere 8.3
  • Cleanliness 6.8
  • Facilities 7.5
BOOK NOW
8.1
Fabulous 208 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 8.0
  • Security 8.1
  • Location 9.1
  • Staff 9.2
  • Atmosphere 8.3
  • Cleanliness 6.8
  • Facilities 7.5
La Cigana Located at Calle Centauro sur 18 Esquina Sol Oriente, , Tulum.
La Cigana
Mexico
Tulum Quintana Roo 77760 Calle Centauro sur 18 Esquina Sol Oriente
81% 208
20.2108978 -87.4592828
La Cigana
    Rooms available

The rating percentage is calculated from customers who booked within the last 12 months. All ratings and reviews are based on the feedback and opinions of the customers who submitted them and do not express the opinions of Hostelworld.com. This way, you get an up-to-the-minute opinion of just how good a hostel really is.
Read our review guidelines

  • Show:
  • Sort By:
  • Anonymous
  • Mexico, Male, 41+
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
27th May 2016
9.4

Great atmosphere, great location!

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Scotland, Female, 31-40
  • Novice Nomad
  • 5 reviews
8th May 2016
5.7

The staff were so lovely! But this place needs a really good clean-the kitchen was filthy and there was a blood stain on my sheet. It's a shame as otherwise the place is good, and this was be so simple to rectify. Bike rental was handy.

    • 6.0Value For Money
    • 4.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 4.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 2.0Cleanliness
  • juniofernando6213
  • Brazil, Male, 25-30
  • Globetrotter
  • 55 reviews
30th Apr 2016
9.4

La Cigana has a different vibe, the common area is beneath the trees, the staff was really nice and I felt good there, good breakfast too, I stayed one night only, but I would stay more.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Denmark, Female, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 2 reviews
16th Apr 2016
8.0

I had such a great time here. I wanted to stay for 2 nights but ended up staying 5, mostly because the hostel was so nice to hang around in. It wasn't necessarily super clean or organized but the atmosphere makes the whole thing so so nice! I will definitely come back here :-)

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 6.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 6.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Canada, Female, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 2 reviews
13th Apr 2016
4.0

Had music blaring all night right outside of the dorm rooms. Everything smelled like cigarettes. Stains on the sheets. Would probably not go back.

    • 4.0Value For Money
    • 4.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 2.0Facilities
    • 6.0Staff
    • 2.0Atmosphere
    • 2.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Canada, Male, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
25th Mar 2016
9.4

A system issue on the website resulted in overbooking, and we were unable to get the dorm we booked. However, the friendly staff were able to help us find alternative accommodation which worked very well for us. The location of this hostel is downtown Tulum, with many restaurants nearby and places to shop. The best part of our stay were definitely the people working there, we felt very welcome and safe. Overall, a great experience. Thank you La Cigana!

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Czech Republic, Male, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
24th Mar 2016
9.1

For price of semi-private room we got fully private room, nice mexican style cottage, awsome location in centre of Tulum close to all shops and restaurants. Breakfast in the morning. Bikes available for rent at hostel to get easily to beach. Recomended, definatelly would stay again.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
24th Feb 2016
5.4

We paid 28USD/night and it was way too much for our private room (called Africa). The roof was leaking when it rained, there were only mosquito nets on the windows (no glass) so we could hear everything from the common area / bars near by. When windy, parts of leafs, sticks etc. fell from the roof. The room was very dim and it felt dirty. The shower was one of the worst ever. Some of the staff was nice and the fruits were a nice addition to the breakfast. Stay in a dorm, don't expect too much.

    • 4.0Value For Money
    • 6.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 4.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 2.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Poland, Female, 31-40
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
17th Feb 2016
10.0

A lot of fun! The people we met there made our holiday. We booked two nights and stayed for more than a week. Thank you!

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness

Hostelworld Mobile Apps

Book on the go with the new Hostelworld mobile apps.

Search and book more than 33,000 properties in over 170 countries, from anywhere.

Newsletter Sign Up

Submitting your info

Thank you for signing up to our newsletter!

Sign up for our monthly Newsletter to get the best hostel deals and news sent straight your inbox. You can unsubscribe at any time.