Hostelworld.com

La Controra Hostel Rome

Prices
map
reviews
9.0
Superb 1,845 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 8.9
  • Security 9.5
  • Location 9.0
  • Staff 9.2
  • Atmosphere 8.5
  • Cleanliness 9.2
  • Facilities 8.5
BOOK NOW
9.0
Superb 1,845 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 8.9
  • Security 9.5
  • Location 9.0
  • Staff 9.2
  • Atmosphere 8.5
  • Cleanliness 9.2
  • Facilities 8.5
La Controra Hostel Rome Located at Via Umbria, 7, , Rome.
La Controra Hostel Rome
Italy
Rome 00187 Via Umbria, 7
90% 1845
41.9058363 12.4927612
La Controra Hostel Rome
    Rooms available

The rating percentage is calculated from customers who booked within the last 12 months. All ratings and reviews are based on the feedback and opinions of the customers who submitted them and do not express the opinions of Hostelworld.com. This way, you get an up-to-the-minute opinion of just how good a hostel really is.
Read our review guidelines

  • Show:
  • Sort By:
  • Anonymous
  • Brazil, Female, 31-40
  • Novice Nomad
  • 2 reviews
21st May 2016
8.0

O hostel é muito bem localizado, só que infelizmente eles não atualizaram a informação que a estação de metrô mais perto é a Barberini, não sendo necessário transporte ou até mesmo andar da estação Termini. Os quartos são espaçosos e limpos. Acho que eles precisam trocar o colchão que era muito ruim, colocar um espelho no quarto e pedir mais silêncio após as 23h do pessoal que fica na cozinha e lounge, além de caprichar hm pouco mais no café da manhã.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 6.0Staff
    • 4.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Canada, Female, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 2 reviews
20th May 2016
5.1

Could not wait to leave. Bathroom always smelled like pee. Shower was broken and sprayed everywhere. Staff was ok. Directions to hostel are not great, we had to taxi. Ok for short stay

    • 4.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 4.0Facilities
    • 6.0Staff
    • 2.0Atmosphere
    • 2.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Canada, Female, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
17th May 2016
9.7

Great stay! Met some lovely people (small common space definitely conducive to that) and space in rooms was ample. Would have liked more power sockets as that always seemed to be an issue, but other than that it was great. Fantastic location as well, close to spanish steps, trevi fountain, villa borghese, etc.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • USA, Male, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
17th May 2016
10.0

Nice facilities and the staff was friendly. It was a social place but not crazy. Breakfast was cereal and toast. I would stay here again.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • England, Female, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 2 reviews
3rd May 2016
9.1

Lovely place to stay and amazing location. Right in the centre, but yet very peaceful and quiet. I usually use earplugs in hostels, but there was not a peep at night! Helpful staff and very clean/comfortable. A nice relaxed hostel and highly recommended :)

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Slovenia, Female, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 2 reviews
30th Apr 2016
7.7

Basic stay in a good location - 5 min to Barberini Metro/bus stops, not even 10 min to Termini station. Easy distance walking to all the main sites in Centro Storico. The rooms and ensuite bathroom are basic, but clean, so if you are looking for a simple stay in center of Rome, this would be it. Haven't tried the breakfast, so cannot judge here, but the common room with the kitchen looked well stacked with utensils and books/guides for an easy stay. The staff was very friendly and helpfull.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 6.0Cleanliness
28th Apr 2016
9.4

Located just a short walk from the Termini station, with excellent friendly staff and nice rooms makes for a nice stay at the La Controra. I have stayed here twice so far and will do so again whenever I am in Rome.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • England, Male, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
26th Apr 2016
7.1

Overall a good hostel to stay in. The room was spacious and clean. Its generally a quiet hostel from the vibe I got from it. People just kept to themselves, which was fine. Was a comfortable stay.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 6.0Facilities
    • 6.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
26th Apr 2016
9.4

Got in late so didn't have much time at the hostel. The staff was very helpful and gave us pointers on tourist attractions. Fairly close to everything! We walked everywhere except to the Vatican. Free breakfast was decent. Wifi worked well. Very quiet and got a good nights rest.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • USA, Mixed Group, 41+
  • Novice Nomad
  • 3 reviews
23rd Apr 2016
6.3

Stayed in a 3-bed with private bath- clean but very basic,not even a chair to sit on. Just a bunkbed, one single bed, closet and bathroom. We brought our own towels-a hassle. We thought the beddings were unwashed from previous occupants. I thought we could save booking at a hostel, but if you add up the booking fee and tax for 5 total nights we paid US$550 plus. I could have found a better place but I did not cancel because I've already been charged a booking fee which is non-refundable.

    • 4.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 4.0Facilities
    • 6.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness

Hostelworld Mobile Apps

Book on the go with the new Hostelworld mobile apps.

Search and book more than 33,000 properties in over 170 countries, from anywhere.

Newsletter Sign Up

Submitting your info

Thank you for signing up to our newsletter!

Sign up for our monthly Newsletter to get the best hostel deals and news sent straight your inbox. You can unsubscribe at any time.