Hostelworld.com

La Controra Hostel Rome

Prices
map
reviews
8.9
Fabulous 1,877 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 8.9
  • Security 9.5
  • Location 9.0
  • Staff 9.1
  • Atmosphere 8.5
  • Cleanliness 9.1
  • Facilities 8.5
BOOK NOW
8.9
Fabulous 1,877 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 8.9
  • Security 9.5
  • Location 9.0
  • Staff 9.1
  • Atmosphere 8.5
  • Cleanliness 9.1
  • Facilities 8.5
La Controra Hostel Rome Located at Via Umbria, 7, , Rome.
La Controra Hostel Rome
Italy
Rome 00187 Via Umbria, 7
89% 1877
41.9058363 12.4927612
La Controra Hostel Rome
    Rooms available

The rating percentage is calculated from customers who booked within the last 12 months. All ratings and reviews are based on the feedback and opinions of the customers who submitted them and do not express the opinions of Hostelworld.com. This way, you get an up-to-the-minute opinion of just how good a hostel really is.
Read our review guidelines

  • Show:
  • Sort By:
25th Jun 2016
10.0

Friendly staff, fast wifi, clean, bright and spacious room. Was lovely, would stay again.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • New Zealand, Couple, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 2 reviews
15th Jun 2016
9.4

Loved this hostel - we had a private room with double bed. The room was bigger than the last hotel room we stayed in, we could open our suitcases and had plenty of room to walk around. Nice and clean and felt homely. Very private - not a party hostel. Rooms are on different floors so only see other people when getting breakfast on the floor you're on. Breakfast included - cereal and toast which was perfect. Air con in the room. We would definitely stay here again. Ten min walk to Termini Roma.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
13th Jun 2016
9.4

Nice rooms with spacious locker, clean, and within walking distance to many of the major sites of Rome! Would definitely recommend this place.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
13th Jun 2016
3.7

When I checked in the bed wasn't made. It was 11pm. The bathroom was dirty and the shower doesn't drain. I was in the top bunk and it started breaking in the middle of the night so I had to sleep on the floor. There are no plugs or shelves for the top bunks either. The ac didn't work and it was too hot in the room. The breakfast was instant coffee, reconstituted juice, stale bread for toast and some cereals. I mentioned the bed problem to the morning warden and didn't even apologies.

    • 4.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 6.0Location
    • 2.0Facilities
    • 2.0Staff
    • 2.0Atmosphere
    • 2.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Canada, Male, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
9th Jun 2016
7.1

Pros: Friendly and helpful Staff Great location - close to all the top attractions and metro station Clean Cons: Very hot, to the point where you have trouble sleeping. Air conditioner doesn't seem to work. Lots of mosquitoes

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 2.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Mexico, Female, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 3 reviews
9th Jun 2016
10.0

A really good place to stay in Rome. The staff is so amazing and you feel safe and comfortable all the time. You can go to the mean attractions walking and it will take you less than 20 minutes. Definitely would stay here again.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
8th Jun 2016
8.9

Very nice staff. Quiet hostel but it is definitely better than most places you will find in Rome. Close to termini station which is convenient. Clean. free breakfast is minimal. Good wifi.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Scotland, Female, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 2 reviews
8th Jun 2016
10.0

Very clean hostel and such a great location! Very near termini and all the main sites in Rome. Would definitely stay here again!

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Australia, Female, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
7th Jun 2016
10.0

Clean, bright and comfortable modern hotel in big old building. Google maps doesn't know where it is, but that was the only drawback. Staff were helpful and friendly, fully-equipped kitchen so you can cook your own meals, self-serve breakfast included, multiple lockers for each person in the room I was in (bring your own locks), walking distance to most of Rome (30 mins to Colosseum, 20 mins to Trevi, Pantheon, etc.). Great relaxing lounge area, ample power points. Would stay again.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • England, Female, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 2 reviews
3rd Jun 2016
9.4

Really nice hostel! The staff were very friendly and the location was great!!! I definitely would stay ther again!

    • 6.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness

Hostelworld Mobile Apps

Book on the go with the new Hostelworld mobile apps.

Search and book more than 33,000 properties in over 170 countries, from anywhere.

Newsletter Sign Up

Submitting your info

Thank you for signing up to our newsletter!

Sign up for our monthly Newsletter to get the best hostel deals and news sent straight your inbox. You can unsubscribe at any time.