Hostelworld.com
HostelBookers Logo

Group of 15 or more?

Our sister site HostelBookers can create a tailor-made booking plan for your large travel group.

La Controra Hostel Rome

Group of 15 or more?

Our sister site HostelBookers can create a tailor-made booking plan for your large travel group.

Prices
map
reviews
8.9
Fabulous 1,925 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 8.8
  • Security 9.4
  • Location 9.0
  • Staff 9.0
  • Atmosphere 8.3
  • Cleanliness 9.1
  • Facilities 8.5
BOOK NOW
8.9
Fabulous 1,925 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 8.8
  • Security 9.4
  • Location 9.0
  • Staff 9.0
  • Atmosphere 8.3
  • Cleanliness 9.1
  • Facilities 8.5
La Controra Hostel Rome Located at Via Umbria, 7, , Rome.
La Controra Hostel Rome
Italy
Rome 00187 Via Umbria, 7
89% 1925
41.9058363 12.4927612
La Controra Hostel Rome
    Rooms available

The rating percentage is calculated from customers who booked within the last 12 months. All ratings and reviews are based on the feedback and opinions of the customers who submitted them and do not express the opinions of Hostelworld.com. This way, you get an up-to-the-minute opinion of just how good a hostel really is.
Read our review guidelines

  • Show:
  • Sort By:
  • Anonymous
  • USA, Male, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
27th Jul 2016
6.3

All female staff were professional. A young clerk got drunk with people at the hostel, whom didn't seem like were staying there and more like his buddies. He and they proceeded to be extremely loud and obnoxious, trying to use furniture as instruments. He did not seem to care nor did they attempt to bring the noise level down. He should be fired.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 4.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 4.0Staff
    • 4.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
23rd Jul 2016
9.7

I really loved this hostile! It was clean and easy to find. The staff, especially Danny, were super friendly and helpful with planning our visit. I only stayed 1 night and wished I could have stayed longer!!

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • bdking
  • Australia, Male, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
21st Jul 2016
9.1

Staff were great! Easy to find and check in!

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Australia, Female, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 6 reviews
17th Jul 2016
9.7

I would highly recommend La Controra Rome. I was in a 3 bedroom dorm which was extremely light and spacious. The facilities are excellent, with a fully equipped kitchen and a clean and functional bathroom. The only drawback here is that there is only one all in one shared bathroom which can get busy in the morning but it is a minor complaint. I loved the atmosphere and facilities. This is definitely one of the best hostels I have stayed at in Europe.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • England, Female, 25-30
  • Avid Traveller
  • 11 reviews
17th Jul 2016
7.1

Stayed two nights - first night on the first floor and then asked to move to the third floor. First floor was an uncomfortable bed, pillow and no cooking facilities. Third floor much better room for some decent sleep, although the communal area is noisy with the TV did have a working kitchen. Good location and lady at front desk very friendly and helpful.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 6.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 6.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
16th Jul 2016
8.6

Didn't stay long but enjoyed my short stay. Staff was great!

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
15th Jul 2016
7.4

Not a bad place to crash. PROS: central location (but not any great restaurants near), friendly/helpful staff, free simple breakfast CONS: wifi is in and out, rooms are small, super simple hostel for an above average price, not many bathrooms

    • 6.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 6.0Cleanliness
14th Jul 2016
6.9

La Controra is comfortable with a convenient location. However it doesn't really have that "hostel vibe" that I have come to love, more like just a place to sleep. Wifi was very spotty in our room.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 6.0Staff
    • 4.0Atmosphere
    • 6.0Cleanliness
  • amynj12
  • Northern Ireland, All Female Group, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
10th Jul 2016
10.0

Great hostel with very helpful staff and lovely rooms. Very well situated.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Spain, Female, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
6th Jul 2016
9.7

Great stay, the ambience is really good, all the staff is extremely helpful and the hostel is super clean and very secure. Location is good, walking distance from every main monument in Rome.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness

Hostelworld Mobile Apps

Book on the go with the new Hostelworld mobile apps.

Search and book more than 33,000 properties in over 170 countries, from anywhere.

Newsletter Sign Up

Submitting your info

Thank you for signing up to our newsletter!

Sign up for our monthly Newsletter to get the best hostel deals and news sent straight your inbox. You can unsubscribe at any time.