Hostelworld.com

Group of 15 or more?

Contact our Group Travel team directly for a tailor made solution for your group

La Fortuna Backpakers Resort

Group of 15 or more?

Contact our Group Travel team directly for a tailor made solution for your group

Prices
map
reviews
9.0
Superb 74 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 9.1
  • Security 9.3
  • Location 8.7
  • Staff 9.3
  • Atmosphere 8.3
  • Cleanliness 9.4
  • Facilities 8.9
BOOK NOW
9.0
Superb 74 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 9.1
  • Security 9.3
  • Location 8.7
  • Staff 9.3
  • Atmosphere 8.3
  • Cleanliness 9.4
  • Facilities 8.9

The rating percentage is calculated from customers who booked within the last 12 months. All ratings and reviews are based on the feedback and opinions of the customers who submitted them and do not express the opinions of Hostelworld.com. This way, you get an up-to-the-minute opinion of just how good a hostel really is.
Read our review guidelines

  • Show:
  • Sort By:
15th Sep 2017
9.1

I'll start this review off by saying that if you're looking for a crazy place to party, this isn't it. My girlfriend & I rented out a private room and it was really worth the price. It came with AC, which was super nice having in such a humid place. If you're looking for a nice place to relax with super sweet staff, this is your place! Super peaceful, quiet, and a few min walk from town

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • batesonr4166
  • USA, Couple, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 5 reviews
9th Sep 2017
10.0

Such a clean and welcoming hostel. More like a hotel but still has a communal kitchen and hammocks in a main area. Security and cleanliness is top notch and the rooms have warm showers and comfortable beds. 2 minute walk from very center of town and staff are very helpful with 2 kg of free laundry offered. Would stay here and in any sister hostels if ever possible again

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
22nd Aug 2017
10.0

I thoroughly enjoyed staying at this Hostel! Maribel is an absolute gem, she and her entire crew are so welcoming and helpful. This place is well cared for, clean and secure. I stayed in a private room for two nights and a dorm room for one night, both were awesome. Hot showers, towel, air conditioning, full kitchen and a free load of laundry! Close to the center of town and the bus station. I didn't want to leave this hostel.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
18th Aug 2017
9.1

Worth every penny! Marisal is simply the best. She is very caring, nice, and helpful.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • USA, Female, 31-40
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
19th Jun 2017
10.0

The owner really cares about this property. The stay was amazing and the free load of laundry was such a great addition. I'll stay here again if I'm ever in the area.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • USA, All Male Group, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
14th Jun 2017
8.9

Very quiet and relaxed atmosphere. Not for young backpackers who want a party environment. Excellent for families and those wanting to relax. It was clean and the staff was very helpful/friendly.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 6.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Canada, Female, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
11th Jun 2017
8.9

The staff were great and very helpful! We were upgraded to a private at no extra cost our first night. Outdoor kitchen, A/C and no charge for towels, parking was very secure and they have onsite laundry (1,200 colones/ lb). Lovely stay!

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Japan, Female, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
6th Jun 2017
10.0

My stay at La Fortuna Backpackers was such a great experience! The staff was absolutely amazing. They are some of the nicest and friendliest people I have ever met, and they go above and beyond to make your stay memorable. It is a quiet hostel so you can get a good nights' rest, and you also have access to its sister hostels where you can socialize and swim in a pool. I highly recommend this place!

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
27th May 2017
2.0

This was the worst place ever!!! It's not a Hostel, no one is there. NO ONE! Dirty filthy kitchen, beds were not clean slept on top w my clothes on. Not safe, off the beaten path dark. Specially if u r a single women No hot water. Manager would not move me to another sister Hostel. Or refund my money. Waste of money and time.

    • 2.0Value For Money
    • 2.0Security
    • 2.0Location
    • 2.0Facilities
    • 2.0Staff
    • 2.0Atmosphere
    • 2.0Cleanliness
2nd Apr 2017
9.1

Very big hostels that offers a cool and a warm pool (with pool bar: free alcohol shots if you do body shots ;-) ) as well as a pool billard and football table. Had a great time playing with the barkeeper. Located right in the middle of La Fortuna allows you to get everywhere by foot. Also offers good and well priced tours so no need to book in advance via the internet. Getting up early rewards you with a nice view at the Arenal volcano if the weather likes you ;-). I would stay there again.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness

Hostelworld Mobile Apps

Book on the go with the new Hostelworld mobile apps.

Search and book more than 33,000 properties in over 170 countries, from anywhere.

Newsletter Sign Up

Submitting your info

Thank you for signing up to our newsletter!

Sign up for our newsletter to get the best hostel deals and news sent straight to your inbox. You can unsubscribe at any time.

×