Hostelworld.com
HostelBookers Logo

Group of 15 or more?

Contact our Group Travel team directly for a tailor made solution for your group

La Iguana Perdida

Group of 15 or more?

Contact our Group Travel team directly for a tailor made solution for your group

Prices
map
reviews
8.6
Fabulous 262 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 8.5
  • Security 8.3
  • Location 8.9
  • Staff 8.7
  • Atmosphere 9.1
  • Cleanliness 8.4
  • Facilities 8.1
BOOK NOW
8.6
Fabulous 262 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 8.5
  • Security 8.3
  • Location 8.9
  • Staff 8.7
  • Atmosphere 9.1
  • Cleanliness 8.4
  • Facilities 8.1

The rating percentage is calculated from customers who booked within the last 12 months. All ratings and reviews are based on the feedback and opinions of the customers who submitted them and do not express the opinions of Hostelworld.com. This way, you get an up-to-the-minute opinion of just how good a hostel really is.
Read our review guidelines

  • Show:
  • Sort By:
18th Feb 2017
8.9

If you are planning a trip to the lake or guatemala in general this is a must add to your list. Beautiful location right on the lake, great views and the atmosphere is the best of any hostel i have ever stayed at. Mckenzie, andrew and all the other staff were incredible. Make your reservation in advance don't just rock up because they are always full, especially on weekends. Not much else around and no wifi so really great for talking to others. Make sure you book dinner early if you want it!

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • USA, Male, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
9th Feb 2017
10.0

They offer family style dinner, where the whole hostel eats dinner together. This lets you meet and talk to all the people and make real true connections. Being on the Santa Cruz side of the lake gives you the best view of the volcanos behind the beautiful lake itself. The hostel offers a plethora of activities. My Favorite is the 2-4 hour (depending on your speed) hike from iguana to San Marcos. Beautiful views, great villages along the way. This really is the best place to stay on Lake Atitlan

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Canada, Female, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
1st Feb 2017
4.3

When we went to get into bed our sheets were dirty with the reminents of the previous guests bodily fluids.Management later approached us and told us they would comp our food drinks and accomodation for the first night however when we checked out we were billed for those along with paying over double the price for our room.They argued with us repeatedly and it wasnt ever resolved. They accused us of doing this at every hostel.We left without an apology and feeling terrible because of the staff.

    • 2.0Value For Money
    • 6.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 2.0Facilities
    • 2.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 2.0Cleanliness
View Property Reply

Taking into considering your claims of many years in hospitality, I am sure you can understand that not everything is possible to be perfect always. We accept and apologise for the initial problems upon your arrival in which we addressed promptly and tried very hard to again follow up on and resolve. Generally anyone from a hospitality background sympathises on occasional difficulties and also that some guests cannot be pleased but can also communicate effectively. We gladly upgraded you very basic to luxury and covered the bill for your first night. Due to lack of willingness to communicate on your behalf we had no chance to resolve or offer anything further.There was no promise for additional food or drink from our restaurant. Further more your stay was extended by default as you did not check out or indicate what your intentions because of ignoring our staff. We think its totally unfair to try to finally address any issues two days later and expect your entire bill be free?

  • Anonymous
  • USA, Female, 31-40
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
28th Jan 2017
6.9

La Iguana Perdida has the potential to be great, but there are certain things that lack attention and unfortunately don't make for the most desirable experience. We stayed in two rooms and both were extremely dusty under the beds + there were dirty napkins crumpled someone forget to pick up. The location is absolutely amazing, their food is delicious, and the ambiance is wonderful. I just think there needs to be a little more TLC in the actual rooms. I would also recommend they get lockers.

    • 4.0Value For Money
    • 4.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 4.0Cleanliness
View Property Reply

Hey, thank you for you feedback. We take all comments seriously and therefore will be looking into the cleanliness of the rooms and reviewing the housekeepers procedures to achieve satisfaction of all our guests. I am not sure which rooms you stayed in, however all the private rooms have lockable doors which remain safe. The dorms do have lockers but as with most places personal locks are required. Our basic dorm is just that and lockers are not really viable due to space requirements but we feel it is priced accordingly. We have a very safe environment where nothing as been stolen for over a year now but always do offer our safe for cash, passports, and other valuables during your stay. Cheers!

  • travelsofpan19648246
  • England, Male, 41+
  • Globetrotter
  • 37 reviews
25th Jan 2017
8.9

Great place to chillout by the lake,food and beer a little on the expensive side,

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 6.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
View Property Reply

Hi, Thank you for you positive feedback! The food and drinks are priced within the normal range for this area and in fact we still remain the cheapest in Santa Cruz. We do acknowledge that there are many hostels that offer great specials and lower prices elsewhere, however please keep in mind that as there are no roads our transport costs are significantly higher through having to personally bring all supplies in by boat.

  • MarkWillChin
  • Canada, Couple, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 4 reviews
21st Jan 2017
8.9

La Iguana was a great place to stay on the lake. Top notch service and environment. The dorm we stayed in however had an open side and no electricity which we were not notified about before booking it or until we actually saw it. It was not to bad but I feel that if the mosquitosame were out I would have been a sleeping pin cushion. Really great place, good vibe and good food. Just be weary of where you stay you may need a mosquito net (and maybe a couple blankets for chillier nights)

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
View Property Reply

Hey, thank you for your review! As we were totally booked, Castillo was the only option left which was requested. It is often the favourite dorm and a lot of people prefer this over a standard in closed dorm. However, yes at this time of year it can be a little chilly which we have additional blankets if required. Mosquitos have never been a problem which is why there are no nets in over the bed. Cheers.

  • Anonymous
  • USA, Male, 41+
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
18th Jan 2017
8.6

nice people.great for socializing.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
18th Jan 2017
9.4

DO NOT DRIVE HERE! Google will lead you down a mountain pass intended for 4x4s only. Beyond this error on our part I can't recommend this hostel more, great atmosphere and people. Loved it here!

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
View Property Reply

Hey, Thank you for your positive review and also mentioning the so called 'road' on Google Maps! With every reservation we advise people not to drive, however this information is not always available to everyone. Please do take note everyone - park your vehicle in Panajachel!

  • greg1975pl1233
  • Poland, Male, 31-40
  • Novice Nomad
  • 2 reviews
15th Jan 2017
4.6

Very average little hostel , cleanness of our room left us wondering if the bed lining was fresh after last guests , trush all over the place which suppose to be eco friendly made us feel the opposite , location isn't great although you can enjoy nice views , if you arrive after 3 pm you might be too late to sign up for dinner. It was far over priced and in front of the dock so forget about swimming here unless you walk through other properties to near by beaches which aren't superb .

    • 4.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 6.0Location
    • 4.0Facilities
    • 4.0Staff
    • 4.0Atmosphere
    • 2.0Cleanliness
View Property Reply

We appreciate that feedback is a very subjective opinion of a personal experience, however do occasionally wonder where expectations are formed. Maybe your future accommodation choices should be in first class resorts to increases your chances of satisfaction.

12th Jan 2017
9.7

One of my favorite hostels I stayed in my entire trip. The staff here are incredible, and the vibe is so relaxed. You cannot beat the views of the lake. They do a family style dinner each night (delicious!), and don't have wifi, so it really enhances the whole experience of traveling. Could have stayed here forever! Only thing to take into consideration is that in Santa Cruz there literally is not much else. If you're looking for a bigger pueblo on the lake, this might not be the place for you.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness

Hostelworld Mobile Apps

Book on the go with the new Hostelworld mobile apps.

Search and book more than 33,000 properties in over 170 countries, from anywhere.

Newsletter Sign Up

Submitting your info

Thank you for signing up to our newsletter!

Sign up for our newsletter to get the best hostel deals and news sent straight to your inbox. You can unsubscribe at any time.