Hostelworld.com
HostelBookers Logo

Group of 15 or more?

Contact our Group Travel team directly for a tailor made solution for your group

La Iguana Perdida

Group of 15 or more?

Contact our Group Travel team directly for a tailor made solution for your group

Prices
map
reviews
8.6
Fabulous 276 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 8.5
  • Security 8.5
  • Location 9.0
  • Staff 8.9
  • Atmosphere 9.1
  • Cleanliness 8.4
  • Facilities 8.1
BOOK NOW
8.6
Fabulous 276 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 8.5
  • Security 8.5
  • Location 9.0
  • Staff 8.9
  • Atmosphere 9.1
  • Cleanliness 8.4
  • Facilities 8.1

The rating percentage is calculated from customers who booked within the last 12 months. All ratings and reviews are based on the feedback and opinions of the customers who submitted them and do not express the opinions of Hostelworld.com. This way, you get an up-to-the-minute opinion of just how good a hostel really is.
Read our review guidelines

  • Show:
  • Sort By:
  • Anonymous
  • France, Female, 31-40
  • Novice Nomad
  • 8 reviews
21st Mar 2017
8.0

The showers were not really clean. The room was ok, super small and not amazingly clean neither. The staff is super friendly. Very well located. The only thing I didn't like is the flies everywhere. I had about 10 in my bedroom and it's impossible to eat any food without fighting.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 4.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 4.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • USA, Female, 41+
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
12th Mar 2017
10.0

Don't miss an opportunity to spend some time with this talented crew. Inclusive to all thru the nightly events..."Open Mic ", "Game Night", Costume dress up night, family style dinner meals etc...The hostel offers the stunning lake view but the icing on cake is the staff! I loved the yoga instructor, Whitney who was so intuitive to each attendee's needs. My favorite class was the night time yoga with candle light. The stars were stunningly beautiful from the yoga deck.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • France, Female, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 4 reviews
3rd Mar 2017
9.1

Such a great place to stay and chill out! I wish I could have stayed more than one night. The diner in the common room was lovely and the staff great. If you're planning a trip to Guate, this is must-do :)

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
1st Mar 2017
9.7

What a wonderful place to stay on Lake Atitlan! Santa Cruz was by far my favorite place to stay as a home base while visiting other villages. La Iguana seems to be such a great staple in the community. The view was stunning and the facilities were beautiful with rustic details and lush greenery everywhere. Lots of space to hang and the food was delicious!

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Canada, Couple, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 4 reviews
27th Feb 2017
8.9

Laid back vibe and plenty to do right from the hostel. Lots of hikes that can be done from the front door. Staff were quite nice and the stay was fantastic. Given dinner at the hostel was one of very few dining options they were very good.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
26th Feb 2017
8.6

Good social hostel. Great atmosphere. Could have been a bit cleaner. The family style dinners were great.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 6.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • USA, Female, 41+
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
24th Feb 2017
10.0

This place is wonderful! Great staff, good food and relaxed atmosphere! The dorm was great and bathroom right next door. The hammocks are a nice touch to relax in. One of the nicest libraries I have seen, really great place to read. Being there during the farmers market is great also.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
21st Feb 2017
9.7

I was honestly a bit sad the day I left La Iguana. Most hostels take a night or so to learn the vibe & whatnot, but at La Iguana I felt like family right away. If you can, try to stay on a Wednesday for their weekly Open Mic Night. Make Dave sing the chicken bus song. The beds were pretty comfy and the food was great, albeit a tad priceier than I would have liked. The showers DO get hot if you only turn the water on lightly. Skip the loud party hostels in San Pedro and stay here instead.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
18th Feb 2017
8.9

If you are planning a trip to the lake or guatemala in general this is a must add to your list. Beautiful location right on the lake, great views and the atmosphere is the best of any hostel i have ever stayed at. Mckenzie, andrew and all the other staff were incredible. Make your reservation in advance don't just rock up because they are always full, especially on weekends. Not much else around and no wifi so really great for talking to others. Make sure you book dinner early if you want it!

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • USA, Male, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
9th Feb 2017
10.0

They offer family style dinner, where the whole hostel eats dinner together. This lets you meet and talk to all the people and make real true connections. Being on the Santa Cruz side of the lake gives you the best view of the volcanos behind the beautiful lake itself. The hostel offers a plethora of activities. My Favorite is the 2-4 hour (depending on your speed) hike from iguana to San Marcos. Beautiful views, great villages along the way. This really is the best place to stay on Lake Atitlan

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness

Hostelworld Mobile Apps

Book on the go with the new Hostelworld mobile apps.

Search and book more than 33,000 properties in over 170 countries, from anywhere.

Newsletter Sign Up

Submitting your info

Thank you for signing up to our newsletter!

Sign up for our newsletter to get the best hostel deals and news sent straight to your inbox. You can unsubscribe at any time.