Hostelworld.com

La Iguana Perdida

Prices
map
reviews
9.1
Superb 172 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 9.0
  • Security 9.2
  • Location 9.3
  • Staff 8.9
  • Atmosphere 9.2
  • Cleanliness 9.1
  • Facilities 8.8
BOOK NOW
9.1
Superb 172 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 9.0
  • Security 9.2
  • Location 9.3
  • Staff 8.9
  • Atmosphere 9.2
  • Cleanliness 9.1
  • Facilities 8.8
La Iguana Perdida Located at Santa Cruz La Laguna, , Lake Atitlan.
La Iguana Perdida
Guatemala
Lake Atitlan Santa Cruz La Laguna
91% 172
14.7401680 -91.2060499
La Iguana Perdida
    Rooms available

The rating percentage is calculated from customers who booked within the last 12 months. All ratings and reviews are based on the feedback and opinions of the customers who submitted them and do not express the opinions of Hostelworld.com. This way, you get an up-to-the-minute opinion of just how good a hostel really is.
Read our review guidelines

  • Show:
  • Sort By:
24th Apr 2016
8.9

For a hostel right on the lake it was well priced, super clean, and probably one of the more relaxing hostels around the lake. I liked the library and the dorms were comfortable. But there was no kitchen and most people end up paying 60Q for dinner each night. The meals was quite good and very filling but the last few nights I made dinner on my own which was tricky without a kitchen but saved some money. In all it was a nice place, I would go back for sure but, keep in mind, nothing is included.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Ireland, Male, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 3 reviews
18th Apr 2016
8.9

Great spot. Nice and secluded. Private rooms are nice and spacious. Communal meal was delicious and very sociable. The owner and her bus an are particularly nice. Only drawback; no wifi!

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Canada, Female, 31-40
  • Novice Nomad
  • 2 reviews
18th Apr 2016
10.0

Friendliest, most welcoming hostel ever! Beautiful location, grounds & people. A really special atmosphere. Couldn't recommend it highly enough! The place to put your phone down & meet other travellers.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • USA, Female, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
11th Apr 2016
10.0

This place rocks! Seriously cheap but with a great setup! The food and family dinner is also really great! Totally recommend this place.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • New Zealand, Female, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 2 reviews
8th Apr 2016
10.0

SO AMAZING!!!!

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • USA, Male, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
8th Apr 2016
10.0

La Iguana Perdida is as good as it gets. It's right on the water with stunning views of Lake Atitlan and nearby volcanoes. Everything on the lake is either right there or no more than a short boat ride away. And what's better - the staff are all incredibly helpful and eager to provide great service, but they're also just down-to-earth good people. Communal dinners with good vibes and fun times every night. I'll hopefully return to that little piece of paradise soon.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
2nd Apr 2016
7.7

It was a lovely location, though a 20Q boat ride to any of the larger towns, and boats stop around 5pm. The town it's in, Santa Cruz, has not much in it — one other restaurant and a very steep hill straight up to the town square. They had a nice area with hammocks and a pool table and a market one day of the week. The main issue was the staff...they seem really exclusive and often rude or hurried. It was like attending a summer camp where you weren't part of "in-crowd!"

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 4.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • USA, Female, 31-40
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
29th Mar 2016
9.7

Food is great!

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
26th Mar 2016
9.4

I had a wonderful time the whole week I stayed. The staff was very friendly and helpful, the food was delicious, there were lots of activities, and I made many good friends. My only concern was that there weren't individual lockers (where I usually put my valuables), but the room had a heavy padlock, and there didn't seem to be any danger. And it was so convenient that they have a dive shop on site. I took my advanced open water course there and really enjoyed it!

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • USA, Male, 31-40
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
24th Mar 2016
10.0

The location is beautiful and right off the lanchas dock. The room and grounds are clean and gorgeous. Tons of plant life. The common areas are wonderful and the communal dinners served were delicious, filling and a great way to meet other guests, but definitely go up the hill to Santa Cruz at least once for lunch. The CECAP building holds the best view and best food in Guatemala at the Sabor Cafe. The Pepian changed my life! Also if you can make the Saturday BBQ, dress up and have a ball!

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness

Hostelworld Mobile Apps

Book on the go with the new Hostelworld mobile apps.

Search and book more than 33,000 properties in over 170 countries, from anywhere.

Newsletter Sign Up

Submitting your info

Thank you for signing up to our newsletter!

Sign up for our monthly Newsletter to get the best hostel deals and news sent straight your inbox. You can unsubscribe at any time.