Hostelworld.com
HostelBookers Logo

Group of 15 or more?

Contact our Group Travel team directly for a tailor made solution for your group

La Iguana Perdida

Group of 15 or more?

Contact our Group Travel team directly for a tailor made solution for your group

Prices
map
reviews
8.9
Fabulous 215 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 8.8
  • Security 9.1
  • Location 9.1
  • Staff 8.7
  • Atmosphere 9.2
  • Cleanliness 9.0
  • Facilities 8.7
BOOK NOW
8.9
Fabulous 215 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 8.8
  • Security 9.1
  • Location 9.1
  • Staff 8.7
  • Atmosphere 9.2
  • Cleanliness 9.0
  • Facilities 8.7
La Iguana Perdida Located at Santa Cruz La Laguna, , Lake Atitlan.
La Iguana Perdida
Guatemala
Lake Atitlan Santa Cruz La Laguna
89% 215
14.7401680 -91.2060499
La Iguana Perdida
    Rooms available

The rating percentage is calculated from customers who booked within the last 12 months. All ratings and reviews are based on the feedback and opinions of the customers who submitted them and do not express the opinions of Hostelworld.com. This way, you get an up-to-the-minute opinion of just how good a hostel really is.
Read our review guidelines

  • Show:
  • Sort By:
  • Anonymous
  • USA, Female, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
23rd Sep 2016
10.0

I loved it!! The staff was super nice and helpful and the vibe was just super welcoming. We played trivia and it was a great way to meet people. Highly recommend!

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Australia, Couple, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 4 reviews
19th Sep 2016
9.7

We loved our stay at the Iguana - the food was delicious and the group dinners were a great way to meet other people. Great atmosphere and lots of things to do

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Ireland, Mixed Group, 25-30
  • Globetrotter
  • 23 reviews
17th Sep 2016
8.9

Great for meeting people, especially if you're a lone traveller, awesome communal dinner! Lots to do in good weather and bad, there's musical instruments and board games. Only a 10 minute boat ride from Pana. Restaurant beside the hostel has WiFi if you need to book something. No electricity in the rooms was a nice touch

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 6.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • China, Female, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 5 reviews
3rd Sep 2016
8.0

Difficult for you to have dinner in this small village if you didn't order the dinner in hostel.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 6.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Canada, All Female Group, 25-30
  • Avid Traveller
  • 12 reviews
25th Aug 2016
6.6

Lots of highs and lows here. I wouldn't return, but that is partly due to Santa Cruz being small enough to see in one visit. The family style dinners were good and it was fun to get to meet other travelers. There were also good happy hour specials on drinks. The staff weren't great and the dorm rooms and bathroom are were pretty rough. However, it is really affordable so I guess you get what you pay for here. Don't have high expectations, but the beautiful location is worth the sacrifice.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 4.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 6.0Facilities
    • 4.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 4.0Cleanliness
16th Aug 2016
8.9

I loved my stay at the Iguana Perdida! It was a great place to explore the lake from. Lots of activities and helpful advice. Morning yoga is a must. Santa Cruz is one of the smaller, quieter towns on the lake so if you're looking for a party I would stay in San Pedro instead. There's not many restaurants here either so it's smart to join the family dinner with the hostel. Altogether, Iguana Perdida is a great spot to relax, socialize, and enjoy the best view of the lake & volcanoes.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
7th Aug 2016
8.6

This is a secluded place to chill. Yoga class every morning was great, the instructor is awesome. We avoided the family style dinner it was pricey and the value wasn't there. We had dinner every night at a little ladies home just up the hill that was great.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 6.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • England, Female, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 8 reviews
1st Aug 2016
9.7

This is an amazing hostel in a very special place. The family dinner (which is incredible food and three courses) creates a wonderful atmosphere and allows everyone to form friendships. I loved my stay!

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
30th Jul 2016
9.4

Loved it. The Chicken Bus song was great. Could've stayed for a week. No WiFi but there are PCs and it's good to disconnect.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Australia, All Female Group, 25-30
  • Avid Traveller
  • 14 reviews
26th Jul 2016
7.7

Fantastic spot right on the lake! The group dinners make for a social setting, and a wonderful way to meet people. Trying to find a free bathroom in the mornings can be a struggle, and there are no lockers provided. On check out I was also told my deposit was a 'service fee' through HostelWorld and wouldn't count towards a deposit on my room accomodation!!

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 6.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness

Hostelworld Mobile Apps

Book on the go with the new Hostelworld mobile apps.

Search and book more than 33,000 properties in over 170 countries, from anywhere.

Newsletter Sign Up

Submitting your info

Thank you for signing up to our newsletter!

Sign up for our monthly Newsletter to get the best hostel deals and news sent straight your inbox. You can unsubscribe at any time.