Hostelworld.com
HostelBookers Logo

Group of 15 or more?

Contact our Group Travel team directly for a tailor made solution for your group

La Iguana Perdida

Group of 15 or more?

Contact our Group Travel team directly for a tailor made solution for your group

Prices
map
reviews
9.0
Superb 205 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 8.8
  • Security 9.2
  • Location 9.0
  • Staff 8.8
  • Atmosphere 9.1
  • Cleanliness 8.9
  • Facilities 8.8
BOOK NOW
9.0
Superb 205 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 8.8
  • Security 9.2
  • Location 9.0
  • Staff 8.8
  • Atmosphere 9.1
  • Cleanliness 8.9
  • Facilities 8.8
La Iguana Perdida Located at Santa Cruz La Laguna, , Lake Atitlan.
La Iguana Perdida
Guatemala
Lake Atitlan Santa Cruz La Laguna
90% 205
14.7401680 -91.2060499
La Iguana Perdida
    Rooms available

The rating percentage is calculated from customers who booked within the last 12 months. All ratings and reviews are based on the feedback and opinions of the customers who submitted them and do not express the opinions of Hostelworld.com. This way, you get an up-to-the-minute opinion of just how good a hostel really is.
Read our review guidelines

  • Show:
  • Sort By:
16th Aug 2016
8.9

I loved my stay at the Iguana Perdida! It was a great place to explore the lake from. Lots of activities and helpful advice. Morning yoga is a must. Santa Cruz is one of the smaller, quieter towns on the lake so if you're looking for a party I would stay in San Pedro instead. There's not many restaurants here either so it's smart to join the family dinner with the hostel. Altogether, Iguana Perdida is a great spot to relax, socialize, and enjoy the best view of the lake & volcanoes.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
7th Aug 2016
8.6

This is a secluded place to chill. Yoga class every morning was great, the instructor is awesome. We avoided the family style dinner it was pricey and the value wasn't there. We had dinner every night at a little ladies home just up the hill that was great.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 6.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • England, Female, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 8 reviews
1st Aug 2016
9.7

This is an amazing hostel in a very special place. The family dinner (which is incredible food and three courses) creates a wonderful atmosphere and allows everyone to form friendships. I loved my stay!

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
30th Jul 2016
9.4

Loved it. The Chicken Bus song was great. Could've stayed for a week. No WiFi but there are PCs and it's good to disconnect.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Australia, All Female Group, 25-30
  • Avid Traveller
  • 13 reviews
26th Jul 2016
7.7

Fantastic spot right on the lake! The group dinners make for a social setting, and a wonderful way to meet people. Trying to find a free bathroom in the mornings can be a struggle, and there are no lockers provided. On check out I was also told my deposit was a 'service fee' through HostelWorld and wouldn't count towards a deposit on my room accomodation!!

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 6.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • England, Female, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 4 reviews
22nd Jul 2016
8.6

Beautiful location, nice atmosphere, good quiz night, fancy dress night etc. food is average and there aren't really any other options although the taco stand next to the dock is DELICIOUS

    • 6.0Value For Money
    • 6.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Estonia, Female, 31-40
  • Avid Traveller
  • 10 reviews
18th Jul 2016
10.0

What an amazing retreat! And wonderful staff. I found the option to buy delicious food all day long super convenient! And nothing beats the infamous family style dinners!

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Australia, Mixed Group, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 3 reviews
17th Jul 2016
7.4

The hostel is right on the lake; you need to take a water taxi from Panajachel to get there. Its a good spot, plenty of hiking trails available in the area. Diving and PADI dive courses were available but unfortunately fully booked during our stay. Our room didn't have power points, but charging is available in the lounge/bar. No wifi but there are computers. Tall bunks (watch the roof) but comfortable. Dinner was good; soup then main and dessert. Good atmosphere and views.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 6.0Location
    • 6.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Australia, Male, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 5 reviews
16th Jul 2016
9.7

I loved my four nights at La Iguana. This hostel must have the best view of any hostel in Guatemala, located right on the water facing the two volcanoes. It was so relaxing here and had a very social communal vibe with family style dinners every night. The staff are also really lovely and did things like organise sunrise kayaking for us while we were there. The party on Saturday night is really worth going to. I left with no complaints and wanting to come right back!

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Canada, Female, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 4 reviews
14th Jul 2016
6.6

Overpriced for lodging and family dinners. Did accommodate gluten/meat free diets. Yoga available in the morning for a (not inexpensive) fee, but great teacher. Not much to do in Santa Cruz so if there aren't people at the hostel, there really isn't anything to do. Saturdays are cross dressing parties with the hostel providing costumes. Some of the staff were great, while some were a bit rude and short. Wouldn't stay again.

    • 2.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 6.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 6.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness

Hostelworld Mobile Apps

Book on the go with the new Hostelworld mobile apps.

Search and book more than 33,000 properties in over 170 countries, from anywhere.

Newsletter Sign Up

Submitting your info

Thank you for signing up to our newsletter!

Sign up for our monthly Newsletter to get the best hostel deals and news sent straight your inbox. You can unsubscribe at any time.