Hostelworld.com
HostelBookers Logo

Group of 15 or more?

Contact our Group Travel team directly for a tailor made solution for your group

La Iguana Perdida

Group of 15 or more?

Contact our Group Travel team directly for a tailor made solution for your group

Prices
map
reviews
8.8
Fabulous 240 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 8.7
  • Security 8.7
  • Location 9.2
  • Staff 8.9
  • Atmosphere 9.2
  • Cleanliness 8.7
  • Facilities 8.3
BOOK NOW
8.8
Fabulous 240 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 8.7
  • Security 8.7
  • Location 9.2
  • Staff 8.9
  • Atmosphere 9.2
  • Cleanliness 8.7
  • Facilities 8.3
La Iguana Perdida Located at Santa Cruz La Laguna, , Lake Atitlan.
La Iguana Perdida
Guatemala
Lake Atitlan Santa Cruz La Laguna
88% 240
14.7401680 -91.2060499
La Iguana Perdida
    Rooms available

The rating percentage is calculated from customers who booked within the last 12 months. All ratings and reviews are based on the feedback and opinions of the customers who submitted them and do not express the opinions of Hostelworld.com. This way, you get an up-to-the-minute opinion of just how good a hostel really is.
Read our review guidelines

  • Show:
  • Sort By:
6th Jan 2017
9.7

Awesome place to stay for a weekend in Lake Atitlan. The dorms are pretty much treehouses in the jungle and the common areas are all colorful and cozy. There is a lounge area with books and board games and a computer room that is free of charge for guests. The communal dinner is a little pricey but the food is amazing. While I was staying there the power went out for two days but the staff worked really hard to keep everything up and running. I would 100% return - hopefully for much longer

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Australia, Male, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
2nd Jan 2017
10.0

La Iguana Perdida was a phenomenal hostel. The location is second to none, there are endless activities available, the staff are helpful and make a real effort to connect and remember your name. There are limited options in Santa Cruz for other food options, but then breakfast and family dinner are great quality and value for money. You may spend a bit of cash getting to and from Santa Cruz from the other towns, however the sunrise in the morning from the balcony makes it all worth it.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
View Property Reply

Thank you for such a great review! We always appreciate the feedback and to hear that we are continually meeting the expectations of our guests. We wish you all safe travels in the future.

30th Dec 2016
8.9

Staff was very helpful and sweet. Being disconnected there was easy - hammocks, yoga, Spanish classes, kayaking, tv room. Food is spectacular and fairly priced. Stayed here over New Years and had a great time. Showers were cold and walls in dorm room are paper thin so bring ear plugs.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 6.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 6.0Cleanliness
View Property Reply

Hi, thank you for your feedback and great to hear that you enjoyed your New Year with us! The old side of the property is still the original construction from 25 years ago which gives the rustic feel experienced today. However, yes the walls are thin but normally we are in a quiet location. Given it was New Year, the extra noise was more of an exception. We are sorry for your cold showers, they are all hot water shower head which do produce a comfortable experience but is only achieved with less water pressure. Our staff would have been more than happy to show you how to enjoy the warm water!

  • Anonymous
  • Denmark, Female, 31-40
  • Novice Nomad
  • 7 reviews
29th Dec 2016
9.1

Stayed for five days, overall amazing and the most beautiful location for a hostel ever. Pros: Very cozy atmosphere Yoga in the morning Tab system Family style dinner (great for meeting the others) Friendly staff Cons: Loud techno music from right below private rooms at nights. Rightfully it stopped at 10 pm, no exceptions. But still an annoyance - maybe buy a new CD for the pool room stereo that's not crappy techno music :-) It was very cold at night. Hostel should buy more blankets.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
24th Dec 2016
9.4

Really cool hostel. Family dinners are nice. Lots of lockers were broken in the dorms which was a pain but they have a safe you can put your valuables in. Some of the beds are VERY close to the ceiling so I banged my head a lot, would be better if they just had single beds where the roof slopes a lot. Generally a great stay though. Christmas dinner was a plus too!

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 6.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Norway, Couple, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 9 reviews
23rd Dec 2016
9.4

Great Christmas stay at Iguana. Atitlan is gorgeous and this hostel is right on the shore at secluded Santa Cruz. You need to take a boat/lancha to get there but it is def worth it. Everything from open air dorms to family ensuite rooms ensures a great mixed vibe. No WiFi (policy) but computer room and WiFi options nearby. Basic privates good value. good food, which is important as other options are very limited. No ATM in Santa Cruz but hostel takes credit card and use tab service. Great stay!

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Philippines, Male, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
14th Dec 2016
10.0

Best vibes!

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Italy, Couple, 31-40
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
14th Dec 2016
7.4

The place is really great and the view is amazing!! I was staying in the tree house and I loved it! It's totally en plain air :-) It's a great hostel. However, there is not much around and if you don't want to have food at the hostel there is no much choice around. If you do have food at the hostel though, have the huevos mexicanos....amazing!!! The staff is not super friendly but you can't have it all right?

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 6.0Facilities
    • 6.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • England, Couple, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 6 reviews
11th Dec 2016
8.6

Gorgeous spot right on the lake, nice cabin and warm but not hot showers ! Cheap accommodation but food and drinks although really nice bump the price up somewhat. Would stay here again.

    • 6.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Finland, Female, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
26th Nov 2016
7.4

My stay here was ok. I booked shuttle to lanquin from hostel, turned out to be 10$ more expensive than elsewhere and also have to wait in antigua 2 hours... So dont book from iguana. Staff was not really eager to help you. Otherwise ok place and cheap open water course!

    • 6.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 6.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness

Hostelworld Mobile Apps

Book on the go with the new Hostelworld mobile apps.

Search and book more than 33,000 properties in over 170 countries, from anywhere.

Newsletter Sign Up

Submitting your info

Thank you for signing up to our newsletter!

Sign up for our newsletter to get the best hostel deals and news sent straight to your inbox. You can unsubscribe at any time.