Hostelworld.com

Group of 15 or more?

Contact our Group Travel team directly for a tailor made solution for your group

La Iguana Perdida

Group of 15 or more?

Contact our Group Travel team directly for a tailor made solution for your group

Prices
map
reviews
8.9
Fabulous 299 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 8.7
  • Security 8.6
  • Location 9.2
  • Staff 9.1
  • Atmosphere 9.3
  • Cleanliness 8.7
  • Facilities 8.4
BOOK NOW
8.9
Fabulous 299 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 8.7
  • Security 8.6
  • Location 9.2
  • Staff 9.1
  • Atmosphere 9.3
  • Cleanliness 8.7
  • Facilities 8.4

The rating percentage is calculated from customers who booked within the last 12 months. All ratings and reviews are based on the feedback and opinions of the customers who submitted them and do not express the opinions of Hostelworld.com. This way, you get an up-to-the-minute opinion of just how good a hostel really is.
Read our review guidelines

  • Show:
  • Sort By:
  • Anonymous
  • Canada, Female, 31-40
  • Novice Nomad
  • 3 reviews
9th May 2017
9.7

Great place with great people! Dinner is a bit pricey but it's a delicious 3 course meal. Only other option is to bring food back from other towns on the lake.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
7th May 2017
8.9

Location was amazing. Right off the dock. The atmosphere especially the family style dinner the island serves was awesome. My only issue was the cleanliness of both the bedroom (mainly the mattress) and the shower. The mattress stunk so bad we ended up placing blankets in between the sheets and the mattress in order to mask the smell. It was also super old where we could feel every spring when we moved. The bathroom curtain had mold growing on it. Other than that great.

    • 6.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 6.0Cleanliness
27th Apr 2017
9.1

Fun place that gets all of the hostel details right. There's a nice social atmosphere without being a crazy party, and the family style dinners are a great way to meet other guests. Santa Cruz doesn't have much to offer at night, so if you're looking for nightlife this is not the spot for you. The room was nice enough, clean, comfortable mattress, but keep in mind it is rustic accommodations, sort of like a hut, and you could hear the people in the neighboring room talking clearly.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Australia, Mixed Group, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 7 reviews
26th Apr 2017
8.6

Overall had a great stay. There is a lovely view of the lake from the common areas which are also very comfortable. The cabana we stayed in was great value and super comfortable with hot water and comfy beds. We also had our own mini balcony with chairs.m Staff are very friendly and helpful. Food was delicious and the sit down dinners are a great idea - Santa Cruz is pretty remote so it makes sense to have these. Suggest to maybe make some kayaks available for free use.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • England, Female, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 2 reviews
24th Apr 2017
9.1

I stayed in a basic double room (thin walls but not bad for the price and nice view of the lake) for 3 nights and could have easily stayed for 3 weeks. It is one of my favourite hostels so far, and as a solo traveller I felt at home immediately. The common areas were great and it was very easy to get to know other guests. Also the family style dinners are delicious. The entertainment they put on each night is great fun and doesn't feel forced. Great atmosphere. Highly recommend.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Wales, Male, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
20th Apr 2017
9.1

Great hostel, right on the side of the lake. There are amazing views of two volcanoes over the lake with every meal you eat. Activities to do around the local area are well publicised in the hostel and the staff are more than happy to help with any more information. The food is fantastic, and the bar stocks the locally made Mead which is definitely worth a try or two. Staff are fluent in both Spanish and English, the no-wifi is great!

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
12th Apr 2017
10.0

Great hostel in a beautiful location with friendly staff. Showers were a bit cold but that's Guatemala for you. Great dinner

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • tenderlovecaring183
  • Italy, Female, 41+
  • Avid Traveller
  • 10 reviews
5th Apr 2017
9.7

Very happy to have found this gem. Having no wifi (don't panic, some PCs are available) meant travellers did what they are supposed to do: got off their phones and socialise! Lovely dinners (although a little pricey) and absolutely amazing dorms with no windows surrounded by lush vegetation. It felt like sleeping on a tree. Sam, thank you for providing a warm welcome, a friendly service and for always looking happy, despite obvious hic hups here and there. Your work is appreciated!

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Denmark, Mixed Group, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 6 reviews
3rd Apr 2017
9.4

Simply an amazing experience! Was there with a friend of mine and we both loved how they had designed the whole hostel into nature. We lived in a private room which was clean and just big enough for it not to be uncomfortable. The staff was super nice and helped with anything, and the family dinner at night was so cool with great food. All in all, go there for one night at least if you're at Lake Atitlan.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Australia, Female, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 9 reviews
29th Mar 2017
10.0

Best hostel! Staff are so nice and accomodating. Staff are helpful/knowledgable and booked the shuttle for us. Rooms were clean, bathrooms clean. They recycle too which is so good to see. Breakfast was amazing. Location is excellent. Wish we could of stayed longer

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness

Hostelworld Mobile Apps

Book on the go with the new Hostelworld mobile apps.

Search and book more than 33,000 properties in over 170 countries, from anywhere.

Newsletter Sign Up

Submitting your info

Thank you for signing up to our newsletter!

Sign up for our newsletter to get the best hostel deals and news sent straight to your inbox. You can unsubscribe at any time.