Hostelworld.com
HostelBookers Logo

Group of 15 or more?

Our sister site HostelBookers can create a tailor-made booking plan for your large travel group.

La Iguana Perdida

Group of 15 or more?

Our sister site HostelBookers can create a tailor-made booking plan for your large travel group.

Prices
map
reviews
9.0
Superb 188 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 8.9
  • Security 9.3
  • Location 9.0
  • Staff 8.8
  • Atmosphere 8.9
  • Cleanliness 8.9
  • Facilities 8.8
BOOK NOW
9.0
Superb 188 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 8.9
  • Security 9.3
  • Location 9.0
  • Staff 8.8
  • Atmosphere 8.9
  • Cleanliness 8.9
  • Facilities 8.8
La Iguana Perdida Located at Santa Cruz La Laguna, , Lake Atitlan.
La Iguana Perdida
Guatemala
Lake Atitlan Santa Cruz La Laguna
90% 188
14.7401680 -91.2060499
La Iguana Perdida
    Rooms available

The rating percentage is calculated from customers who booked within the last 12 months. All ratings and reviews are based on the feedback and opinions of the customers who submitted them and do not express the opinions of Hostelworld.com. This way, you get an up-to-the-minute opinion of just how good a hostel really is.
Read our review guidelines

  • Show:
  • Sort By:
  • Anonymous
  • Estonia, Female, 31-40
  • Novice Nomad
  • 6 reviews
18th Jul 2016
10.0

What an amazing retreat! And wonderful staff. I found the option to buy delicious food all day long super convenient! And nothing beats the infamous family style dinners!

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Australia, Male, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 5 reviews
16th Jul 2016
9.7

I loved my four nights at La Iguana. This hostel must have the best view of any hostel in Guatemala, located right on the water facing the two volcanoes. It was so relaxing here and had a very social communal vibe with family style dinners every night. The staff are also really lovely and did things like organise sunrise kayaking for us while we were there. The party on Saturday night is really worth going to. I left with no complaints and wanting to come right back!

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • mariodixon_098
  • USA, Male, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
8th Jul 2016
10.0

Amazing, really relaxing place! Loved everyone there great atmosphere.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
6th Jul 2016
9.7

Loved my stay here. Really good base to get to other lake villages or Chichi for the market but also really good for just staying at the lake. The dorms are good value. There is no self catering facilities so meals (particularly dinner) are best eaten at the hostel. This is not a hardship as the communal evening dinners are delicious and a great way to meet people. Staff are all lovely including Rich and Jodie at ATI divers based at the hostel. Great BBQ on Saturdays. Just go there!

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • sophiethomas89
  • USA, Couple, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 3 reviews
3rd Jul 2016
10.0

We loved it here! We splurged and got the upgraded room, (I think for $50USD/night) and it was wonderful! We had a huge room with a balcony overlooking the lake. The staff was really nice and friendly, very good vibe here. The dinners were okay, nothing to write home about. We would definitely stay here again.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
28th Jun 2016
10.0

It was a pleasure staying at La Iguana! The a atmosphere was comfortable, relaxing, and unique. The staff was incredible! The guests and staff eat together every night (for 60Q) creating a friendly environment. Even though I did not participate in the dinners while staying at la iguana, I still felt a part of the community. I hope to return to Santa Cruz soon!

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • USA, Male, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
24th Jun 2016
9.7

just go you fool its so amzing

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
23rd Jun 2016
9.7

Very welcoming staff - super relaxed environment - amazing food & location - hike to San Marcos was beautiful!

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Germany, Female, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 3 reviews
25th May 2016
7.1

Nice place, next to the lake, beautiful view, but too many gringos! In the village almost no possibilities to have breakfast/dinner, so you are kind of obliged to eat there. Dinner very expensive (60Q); at comedor you pay 25Q! Staff didn't know a lot about what you can do there and seemed annoyed by my questions. It is tricky to get the right boat from panajachel, there are 2 docks in pana, don't take main one who go to san pedro (will charge you 25 instead of 10Q!), take smaller one more north

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 4.0Staff
    • 4.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Australia, Female, 31-40
  • Novice Nomad
  • 4 reviews
18th May 2016
9.1

Location is great. Rooms comfy and clean - as long as you can keep the dogs out. Take snacks as food options are limited. Entertainment after dinner is good but needs group interaction so don't be shy. Staff are great, knowledgeable for a bunch of foreigners. Highlights would be the view, taco night and chatting with mama iguana. Awesome lady for 'an oldie'. Thanks for a great few days

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness

Hostelworld Mobile Apps

Book on the go with the new Hostelworld mobile apps.

Search and book more than 33,000 properties in over 170 countries, from anywhere.

Newsletter Sign Up

Submitting your info

Thank you for signing up to our newsletter!

Sign up for our monthly Newsletter to get the best hostel deals and news sent straight your inbox. You can unsubscribe at any time.