Hostelworld.com
HostelBookers Logo

Group of 15 or more?

Contact our Group Travel team directly for a tailor made solution for your group

La Iguana Perdida

Group of 15 or more?

Contact our Group Travel team directly for a tailor made solution for your group

Prices
map
reviews
8.9
Fabulous 225 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 8.7
  • Security 8.7
  • Location 9.2
  • Staff 9.0
  • Atmosphere 9.5
  • Cleanliness 8.8
  • Facilities 8.5
BOOK NOW
8.9
Fabulous 225 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 8.7
  • Security 8.7
  • Location 9.2
  • Staff 9.0
  • Atmosphere 9.5
  • Cleanliness 8.8
  • Facilities 8.5
La Iguana Perdida Located at Santa Cruz La Laguna, , Lake Atitlan.
La Iguana Perdida
Guatemala
Lake Atitlan Santa Cruz La Laguna
89% 225
14.7401680 -91.2060499
La Iguana Perdida
    Rooms available

The rating percentage is calculated from customers who booked within the last 12 months. All ratings and reviews are based on the feedback and opinions of the customers who submitted them and do not express the opinions of Hostelworld.com. This way, you get an up-to-the-minute opinion of just how good a hostel really is.
Read our review guidelines

  • Show:
  • Sort By:
  • Anonymous
  • Finland, Female, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
26th Nov 2016
7.4

My stay here was ok. I booked shuttle to lanquin from hostel, turned out to be 10$ more expensive than elsewhere and also have to wait in antigua 2 hours... So dont book from iguana. Staff was not really eager to help you. Otherwise ok place and cheap open water course!

    • 6.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 6.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • USA, Female, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
4th Nov 2016
10.0

Amazing hostel vibes - wonderful food - happy staff - most convenient place to stay and eat in Santa Cruz, being that the entrance is just off the dock.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Canada, Female, 41+
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
30th Oct 2016
8.0

Enjoyed my stay here. Nice meals, laid back atmosphere and cool lodgings. Would definitely stay again.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
  • markshotter
  • Australia, Couple, 31-40
  • Novice Nomad
  • 2 reviews
16th Oct 2016
7.1

Many positives. Friendly staff. Some important negatives. Double Room was cramped and walls are paper thin so very noisy. Not quite the relaxing place it makes out to be...unless your 21 and want to get drunk till 3am every night with all the volunteers that are working there. Good crowd but just not what we were after.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 6.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 6.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 6.0Cleanliness
View Property Reply

Hi to you both, thank you for the feedback. The budget rooms we offer are designed as exactly that in which we feel are priced accordingly. We also have other options for greater privacy, comfort, and facilities, which are stepped up through various price categories which would be more appropriate for your expectation and age bracket. We definitely do not promote ourselves as a party hostel as the majority of the nights we close up at 11pm but its the guests that bring the the feel of the evening which changes weekly.

4th Oct 2016
8.9

The hostel overall is really nice, they offer a nice homemade dinner for a good price, staff is super friendly and the cafe inside is good. The only complaint I have is that we were in a private double room and the bed was really bad, I couldn't sleep because it was very inclined in one of the sides in a way that I was almost falling off the bed besides the room had a very strong smell.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 6.0Cleanliness
View Property Reply

Hi, thank you for you feedback. These comments are important to us in that we can have the issues rectified as soon as possible. I would be interested to know which room this is as our full time maintenance staff is on hand for repairs and replacements.

  • Anonymous
  • Germany, Mixed Group, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 3 reviews
1st Oct 2016
7.4

It is a beautiful place and the price charged per night is definitely fair, that's for sure. You do pay for everything else, though - and the tab system makes you lose track of your expenses. Also, the bubble separating the travellers from the locals is even more evident here than in other hostels: When we asked the girl at the reception about how to find an alternative to the relatively pricey dinner at the hostel, she told us she had never tried to find food in the village above. Never!

    • 6.0Value For Money
    • 6.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 6.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
View Property Reply

Thank you for your feedback. The tab system is in place for the ease of the guest in which it is not necessary to carry cash all the time and for us to provide a quicker service at the bar for everyone. However, if you are not able to moderate your spending there is no problem in paying cash and especially in change as this is always welcomed. We cannot help the separation in Santa Cruz, as people love to visit the lake and stay on the water's edge. The local village is a couple hundred metres on the hillside above which can be walked in 15 minutes or a Q5 Tuk Tuk ride away. The 'relatively pricey' 3 course meal for $8 you will find is the cheapest in Santa Cruz unless you choose the street vendors selling fried chicken. Other options include food in Panajachel with the last boats returning at 7pm which can be a little cheaper due to road access and local markets to purchase supplies from. Santa Cruz does not have this luxury.

  • Anonymous
  • USA, Female, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
23rd Sep 2016
10.0

I loved it!! The staff was super nice and helpful and the vibe was just super welcoming. We played trivia and it was a great way to meet people. Highly recommend!

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Australia, Couple, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 4 reviews
19th Sep 2016
9.7

We loved our stay at the Iguana - the food was delicious and the group dinners were a great way to meet other people. Great atmosphere and lots of things to do

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Ireland, Mixed Group, 25-30
  • Globetrotter
  • 41 reviews
17th Sep 2016
8.9

Great for meeting people, especially if you're a lone traveller, awesome communal dinner! Lots to do in good weather and bad, there's musical instruments and board games. Only a 10 minute boat ride from Pana. Restaurant beside the hostel has WiFi if you need to book something. No electricity in the rooms was a nice touch

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 6.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
3rd Sep 2016
8.0

Difficult for you to have dinner in this small village if you didn't order the dinner in hostel.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 6.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness

Hostelworld Mobile Apps

Book on the go with the new Hostelworld mobile apps.

Search and book more than 33,000 properties in over 170 countries, from anywhere.

Newsletter Sign Up

Submitting your info

Thank you for signing up to our newsletter!

Sign up for our newsletter to get the best hostel deals and news sent straight to your inbox. You can unsubscribe at any time.