X

Home to the world's greatest Hostels

30,000 properties, 180 countries Over 3.5 million Guest Reviews 21 million bookings

La Maison du Patriote Reviews

169, St-Paul Est, Montreal, Montreal, Canada

Reviews & Ratings Explained

91%

Rating
1690 Total Reviews
  • 91%Value For Money
  • 87%Security
  • 97%Location
  • 92%Staff
  • 94%Atmosphere
  • 91%Cleanliness
  • 86%Facilities

The rating percentage is calculated from customers who booked within the last 12 months.

All ratings and reviews are based on the feedback and opinions of the customers who submitted them and do not express the opinions of Hostelworld.com. This way, you get an up-to-the-minute opinion of just how good a hostel really is.
Read our review guidelines »

  • Show:

89%

I loved this hostel!

  • 20th Aug 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • USA
  • Female, 25-30
  • (1 review)


97%

Just be aware that the hostel staff will not be there 24-7, if you're fine with that then it's a perfect place to stay! Lovely rooms, cozy, great neighborhood, very friendly and helpful staff.

  • 18th Aug 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • USA
  • Female, 25-30
  • (1 review)


83%

La Maison du Patriote was a super cozy place right in Old Montreal. I loved my stay. The small size of the hostel forces you to meet the others in the hostel. The staff isn't there at night, so you have to rely on the others staying in the hostel to help you out, unless you ask during the daytime. I would definitely stay there again.

  • 16th Aug 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Canada
  • Female, 18-24
  • (1 review)


100%

There's a really friendly and relaxed atmosphere and the hostel itself is very well decorated and very clean. One of the best hostels I've stayed in to date. A pleasure to stay there.


83%

good location and atmosphere


89%

Bedrooms and dorms near party street get noisy about 4 :days a week peak season

  • 11th Aug 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • England
  • Male, 41+
  • (1 review)


97%

This was seriously an amazing hostel, they were so accommodating and I felt welcome from the moment I got there.

  • 9th Aug 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • USA
  • Couple, 18-24
  • (1 review)


91%

It's lovely, very homely and communal with a well equipped kitchen and nice living room type space to hang out in. In quite a touristy bit of town but it's easy to get to other areas as well via the metro. I initially stayed for 2 nights and then came back again later on in my trip! Thank you la maison du patriote for a great place to stay.


100%

This is the hostel that I will definitely stay at next time I visit Montreal: everyone was friendly, courteous & helpful, and the hostel itself is one of the cleanest and coolest I've been to. Loved everything about it!

  • 5th Aug 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Canada
  • Couple, 41+
  • (1 review)


100%

Convenient location. Friendly and helpful staff. Could use a few more bathrooms, lovely atmosphere. Clean and cool. Free laundry. Could be a little noisy at night, bring earplugs.


91%

This is probably one of the nicest hostels I've ever stayed in. The staff are all extremely friendly and informed! The walls literally are covered with things to do nearby, as well as there are instruments and laptops to use! No TV but u won't need one given the area you're in and people you're in. You're expected to clean IP after yourself like any hostel and maintain quiet time after 11pm. Great hostel to unwind in. Beds were comfortable and showers were clean. Would go again!

  • 31st Jul 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Canada
  • Couple, 25-30
  • (1 review)


77%

I had a great stay here and really enjoyed the staff. There were only 2 negatives, there is 1 set of bunk beds in a very noisy location & I was highly allergic to the laundry detergent used.


94%

I highly recommend this hostel to anyone who wants to spend a wonderful time in a well located, clean, nicely decorated and comfortable place, run by an amazing staff.

  • 29th Jul 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Argentina
  • Female, 18-24
  • (1 review)


66%

The "very poor" rating of staff is simply a reference to their absence. For the price, this absence is acceptable, but the concept may take you by surprise, and leave you feeling less "secure" than usual, thus, the below average rating for security. Also, the AC didn't work, which made for a painfully sleepless night. Otherwise, killer location and cool atmosphere.


89%

A genuine, warm welcome . Centrally located with lots of information on where to go and where to eat.


97%

The hotel itself was great. A great deal and a very friendly staff. The parking situation, however, is horrendous. $6 for 2 hours of street parking and no information on pay lots. But aside from that, everything else was perfect.

  • 25th Jul 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • USA
  • Male, 31-40
  • (1 review)


100%

This is an amazing hostel, period. There is no question that I'd stay here again if returning to Montreal. It's in the heart of the cobble stoned old town area near the Basilica and restaurants and bars. The atmosphere is amazing, it's like a big share house with a cosy kitchen and chill out common area, musical instruments to play etc. The building is really old and adds to the atmospheric feel of the place.


83%

Ideal location, clean and friendly atmosphere. It feels just like home instantly! Highly recommend it.


94%

The showers could have been cleaner. Other than that, it was a fantastic place and I would highly recommend it to anyone!


89%

Great hostel with an cool set up. Good location right it the middle of old Montreal!! There wasnt the best atmosphere when i was there but that was the guests on those 3 days, not a reflection of this awesome hostel!!


« first « Prev 1 2 3 4
(65 results)


View all Montreal Hostels

Please give us your feedback