X

Home to the world's greatest Hostels!

30,000 properties, 180 countries Over 3.5 million guest reviews 21 million bookings

La Maison du Patriote Reviews

169, St-Paul Est, Montreal, Montreal, Canada

Reviews & Ratings Explained

90%

Rating
1703 Total Reviews
  • 91%Value For Money
  • 86%Security
  • 97%Location
  • 91%Staff
  • 94%Atmosphere
  • 90%Cleanliness
  • 85%Facilities

The rating percentage is calculated from customers who booked within the last 12 months.

All ratings and reviews are based on the feedback and opinions of the customers who submitted them and do not express the opinions of Hostelworld.com. This way, you get an up-to-the-minute opinion of just how good a hostel really is.
Read our review guidelines »

  • Show:

74%

In general it was a good place to stay. Though the toilets were an issue 'cause there weren't enough for the people.

  • 31st Aug 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Chile
  • Female, 25-30
  • (1 review)


86%

The hostel decor was so unique and ecclectic! The staff was SUPER friendly and made you feel right at home. I stayed in the 22 person dorm and it's set up in a way that gives you lots of privacy. Beds are sectioned off into groups of 3/4 so it really doesn't feel like you're sharing a room with so many people. Very clean (no shoes allowed upstairs!) . Located in Old Montreal which is very scenic and european-like. would definitely stay here again!


86%

Security to the building was excellent. Security within, not so much. I had the 6 bed female dorm and there was no lock on the door/keys given. The whole point I booked the 6 bed instead of 22 bed was for the security of less people being in the room. Kind of defeating this purpose if theres no lock on the door. Location is good for Old Town and Chinatown but pretty bad for Rue Saint Catherine. Not sure if the top floor/dorm level is fire safe given so many people in such a small space.


94%

Absolutely loved my stay here. Homey feel, inspiring writing on the walls, musical instruments, really helpful, laid back (and beautiful!) staff.. Only thing I would comment on would be the showers.. very minor thing really but I remember a few others commenting on the push button being quite annoying. Also maybe a draining mat of some kind would be useful for when you get out.. so you don't have to stand in a pool of somebody elses water while you dry yourself.


80%

The no-shoes rule is a nice idea but not worthwhile, as the first thing you notice on entering the property is the smell of feet from the shoes.


89%

I loved this hostel!

  • 20th Aug 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • USA
  • Female, 25-30
  • (1 review)


97%

Just be aware that the hostel staff will not be there 24-7, if you're fine with that then it's a perfect place to stay! Lovely rooms, cozy, great neighborhood, very friendly and helpful staff.

  • 18th Aug 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • USA
  • Female, 25-30
  • (1 review)


97%

Very good location, nice kitchen, lounge, and price!


77%

Good: The atmosphere. The common areas are really good, and there's a good variety of people; it's easy to meet people to do things with. The location is killer. Staff are helpful. Bad: The girls' dorm AC is right over someone's bed so they have control. Uneven - some beds/bedding were decent, some had lights, others not. Only two toilets and they're downstairs. No sound protection. No staff most of the time - I never even got formally checked in, they charged my hostelworld credit card!


83%

La Maison du Patriote was a super cozy place right in Old Montreal. I loved my stay. The small size of the hostel forces you to meet the others in the hostel. The staff isn't there at night, so you have to rely on the others staying in the hostel to help you out, unless you ask during the daytime. I would definitely stay there again.

  • 16th Aug 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Canada
  • Female, 18-24
  • (1 review)


100%

There's a really friendly and relaxed atmosphere and the hostel itself is very well decorated and very clean. One of the best hostels I've stayed in to date. A pleasure to stay there.


83%

good location and atmosphere


89%

Bedrooms and dorms near party street get noisy about 4 :days a week peak season

  • 11th Aug 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • England
  • Male, 41+
  • (1 review)


97%

This was seriously an amazing hostel, they were so accommodating and I felt welcome from the moment I got there.

  • 9th Aug 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • USA
  • Couple, 18-24
  • (1 review)


91%

It's lovely, very homely and communal with a well equipped kitchen and nice living room type space to hang out in. In quite a touristy bit of town but it's easy to get to other areas as well via the metro. I initially stayed for 2 nights and then came back again later on in my trip! Thank you la maison du patriote for a great place to stay.


100%

This is the hostel that I will definitely stay at next time I visit Montreal: everyone was friendly, courteous & helpful, and the hostel itself is one of the cleanest and coolest I've been to. Loved everything about it!

  • 5th Aug 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Canada
  • Couple, 41+
  • (1 review)


100%

Convenient location. Friendly and helpful staff. Could use a few more bathrooms, lovely atmosphere. Clean and cool. Free laundry. Could be a little noisy at night, bring earplugs.


91%

This is probably one of the nicest hostels I've ever stayed in. The staff are all extremely friendly and informed! The walls literally are covered with things to do nearby, as well as there are instruments and laptops to use! No TV but u won't need one given the area you're in and people you're in. You're expected to clean IP after yourself like any hostel and maintain quiet time after 11pm. Great hostel to unwind in. Beds were comfortable and showers were clean. Would go again!

  • 31st Jul 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Canada
  • Couple, 25-30
  • (1 review)


77%

I had a great stay here and really enjoyed the staff. There were only 2 negatives, there is 1 set of bunk beds in a very noisy location & I was highly allergic to the laundry detergent used.


94%

I highly recommend this hostel to anyone who wants to spend a wonderful time in a well located, clean, nicely decorated and comfortable place, run by an amazing staff.

  • 29th Jul 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Argentina
  • Female, 18-24
  • (1 review)


« first « Prev 1 2 3 4
(70 results)


View all Montreal Hostels

Please give us your feedback