X

Home to the world's greatest Hostels!

30,000 properties, 180 countries Over 3.5 million guest reviews 21 million bookings

La Pescheria Backpackers Reviews

San Polo 1699, (calle dei Boteri), Venice, Italy

Reviews & Ratings Explained

70%

Rating
2109 Total Reviews
  • 66%Value For Money
  • 72%Security
  • 92%Location
  • 70%Staff
  • 64%Atmosphere
  • 68%Cleanliness
  • 57%Facilities

The rating percentage is calculated from customers who booked within the last 12 months.

All ratings and reviews are based on the feedback and opinions of the customers who submitted them and do not express the opinions of Hostelworld.com. This way, you get an up-to-the-minute opinion of just how good a hostel really is.
Read our review guidelines »

  • Show:

74%

A great location to explore Venice by stepping out the front door. The hostel itself doesn't have a great communal area to meet new people, but spacious rooms and clean bathrooms. Nice and cheap for the location especially in the summer months.


80%

Nice staff but sometimes a bit confused. Great location. Facilities were good but the bed frames were missing multiple screws and broke on a couple of occasions. Lacking good common rooms to create a social atmosphere.


57%

Location was great but hard to make up for the many negatives we encountered in our short stay here. Our lock on our door did not lock and nothing was done about this. The hostel lists air conditioning as a feature what they lack to mention is that you can use it for 1 hour a day and not at night. Staff were not very accommodating


51%

The staff isn't helpful at all. You won't get a map or any information about the city. Also we left by night train, we checked out at the designated time, but we just came back at 6pm to grab our bags and make a quick salad in the kitchen. Afterwards the hostel owner went very mad at us, because he said we were not allowed to make use of any of the facilities after checking out at 11am. Also there are three very poorly equiped kitchens, no stove works and water boilers are dirty.

Owner Comment (Hide)
Free Mapp and free wifi in the all building who get mad with you is a guest like you and not the owner thank you!

71%

The bedroom was fine for the one night we stayed in, the bed was comfortable enough. There was a basin that didn't work, though. The staff was efficient but not very friendly. However, the day we left the boss was at the reception and he was very helpful. There were two bathrooms in our floor, both with toilet and shower, which made it a bit inconvenient if more than one or two people were waiting. All in all, we were satisfied, considering low budget and short time stay.

  • 27th Jul 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Spain
  • Couple, 18-24
  • (1 review)


69%

I checked-in at around 8pm and the staff member on that shift was not at all welcoming. He was very cold, curt and did not have the courtesy to give me a map of the Venice (till I asked for it). He seemed really uninterested and overall a bit frustrated (for what reason I have no idea!). But then the next day, the staff member in the morning shift was a really nice guy who gave some useful tips. Apart from this, the hostel is very well located and the facilities are good as well.


60%

This hostel is excellently located and the staff are helpful but it's not worth the price. The bathroom was pretty disgusting, mould in the shower etc, and we were bitten by something in our room. We also had a basin that didn't work in the room which was pretty unhelpful.


49%

BED BUGS ALLLLLERT!!!!!!!!!!!!! Literally bitten everywhere on the first night... Then they just moved me room but they didn't check out the problem and you know how bed bugs spread...

  • 24th Jul 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • England
  • Female, 18-24
  • (1 review)


86%

Thank you for the nice time in your Hostel. I will recommend your house.


66%

Entomologists will love this hostel! We had to brush away some dead bugs when we lifted off the cover, and received many bug bites throughout the night. While the facilities are not so nice, the location is great.


57%

Location was good. Rooms were really hit. Shower was tiny and no place to hang your stuff. Bathroom doors did not lock. Staff weren't that helpful either. I was glad to have friends in a Venice around the same time I was staying there or would've been bored. No social atmosphere. No wifi in rooms


43%

I would not recommend staying here at all. The hostel claimed to have a kitchen. By kitchen, it had one pot, 6 utensils, and a gas lit stove. Being backpackers, my friend and I do not travel with knives, pots, dishtowels, etc. on us. One night we made chicken for supper, and when we went to wash our dishes there was no soap. The fellow at the front desk angrily replied that there was no soap and that's something we needed to bring on our own. All other hostels have soap? Rooms, bathroom GROSS.


57%

The staff was not too eager to help (e.g. forgot that I have breakfast included, didn't have any map of the city, didn't give concrete enough information when asked). The facilities are in a rather poor state: the door handle just fell off for example.

  • 14th Jul 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Hungary
  • Female, 18-24
  • (1 review)


89%

Perfectly located in SUPER CENTRAL Venice this hostel gives you what you need for a pleasant stay in Venice. The staff was at sometimes a bit unhelpful but not at all something that bothers you that much.


46%

The bathroom smelt and was always in use as there were two dorms sharing it. The room was dusty and while the linen was clean, it wasn't worth the money we paid.

  • 11th Jul 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Australia
  • Female, 18-24
  • (1 review)


74%

I remember only about poor breakfast and comfy bed, helpful staff there. If breakfast is included with your reservation cost, you can get a croissant and a cup of tea or coffee at cafe just next to hostel. Little bit hard to find hostel as well as to being in Venice, so you would be better to use mobile app navigation.. but I can recommend here to you for properly price and not that bad location.


77%

There was nowhere for you to lock any of your important items up, so you had to get acquainted with your hostel-mates pretty quickly. The wifi only works in a particular room, but that actually gave us all a reason to meet and hangout! The rooms were clean for such an old building..the bathrooms aren't gross but they aren't brand new. Venice is a very historical town, and this hostel gives you a taste. You CANT BEAT the LOCATION. Right in the middle of markets and bustling Venezian life. A- :)

  • 30th Jun 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • USA
  • Couple, 18-24
  • (1 review)


83%

Make sure to ask about the breakfast. They will give you a coupon for the restaurant next door.


83%

Great location and good price for Venice, one or two qwerks but would definetly stay there again.

  • 21st Jun 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • England
  • Male, 18-24
  • (1 review)

Owner Comment (Hide)
Thanks Dear see you again.

34%

This hostel is located just a 2 minute walk from an amazing seafood market, but this hostel has a no seafood rule. The kitchen is only open a few hours a day and not for lunch at all. There was a no alcohol in the rooms sign posted, so our group took some beer in to the kitchen / patio are and were kicked out of the hostel and told to come back when we had no drinks. So in affect a no alcohol rule. This place also did not wash all of the blankets between guests.


« first « Prev 1 2
(26 results)


View all Venice Bed and Breakfasts

Please give us your feedback