X

Home to the world's greatest Hostels

30,000 properties, 180 countries Over 3.5 million guest reviews 21 million bookings

La Pescheria Backpackers Reviews

San Polo 1699, (calle dei Boteri), Venice, Italy

Reviews & Ratings Explained

65%

Rating
2235 Total Reviews
  • 63%Value For Money
  • 66%Security
  • 89%Location
  • 63%Staff
  • 59%Atmosphere
  • 61%Cleanliness
  • 57%Facilities

The rating percentage is calculated from customers who booked within the last 12 months.

All ratings and reviews are based on the feedback and opinions of the customers who submitted them and do not express the opinions of Hostelworld.com. This way, you get an up-to-the-minute opinion of just how good a hostel really is.
Read our review guidelines »

  • Show:

94%

Location was amazing! Rooms were nice, ours even had airconditioning, and bathrooms were just down the hall and were cleaned regularly! I would definitely recommend staying here!

  • 13th Aug 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Canada
  • All Female Group, 18-24
  • (1 review)


77%

You get what you pay for! It's pretty cheap so not amazing but I had a pretty good stay here :)


66%

I was very happy to have a room to myself with air conditioning even if it was a little pricey. Girl receptionist didn't speak English but it didn't rly effect me. free breakfast was just a packaged croissant from downstairs. It was alright though.


54%

Common areas and toilets are very dirty. The bedrooms were a bit better so if you are gonna have 1 or 2 nights should be ok. The hostel is very overpriced for what they offer but in Venice everything is very expensive.

Owner Comment (Hide)
Dear Guest thank you for loosing your time to leave a comment since we don't use we the bathrooms and the common areas so if the guests make and use all those places we clean them just 10 times a day and we can not clean them after every use

66%

The location is phenomenal and accounts for the price. The building is beautiful too but the facilities are a bit run down. The kitchen is a somewhat hidden garnet in that you have to ask where it is and when you find it there isn't much to recommend it. The gas has to be turned on under the sink and bring a lighter to start it. Wifi works well enough and almost all the staff are pleasant. The atmosphere is pretty dead. Great for a romantic getaway though.


66%

Reception was excellent. He upgraded us to a private with a bathroom (we had booked a private with a shared bathroom) at no extra cost. The location was excellent, right next to Rialto. The room itself was mildewy and musty. It felt dirty and a little creepy. Red carpet and old furniture. The bathroom was crawling with ants and the shower head was moldy. However, the bed was super comfy.

Owner Comment (Hide)
the receptionist guy was excellet ok, your room was not with a carpet!!i gave you a room with a parquet floor.

74%

Great location. Nothing else special or great


86%

Great location, wifi was hard to access on our floor (top floor), locks on bathroom door


71%

The best thing about this place is the amazing location, and I also over the little outdoor terrace, in the heart of Venice, what could be better?!


77%

Cool area, but hard to find! Staff were friendly but not always there! Also there was no security, no lockers, anyone could get in because the door was always left open. It had a kitchen and a cute terrace. Showers were clean and had good pressure. Wifi worked mostly in the "common room"


94%

The hostel was great, but The air conditioner was leaking and no one even acknowledged it. It also was not the greatest air conditioner.


63%

Pros: Excellent location, right next to Rialto Market and all the sights are within walking distance or it is really easy to get the water bus. It is on a really cute little street in Venice and feels like a Venetian hostel! The rooms were also clean. Cons: No air conditioning!!! Showers stone cold no hot water, toilet out of use and still had waste in it, wifi only worked in the common room not in rooms, no free maps, tax added onto price when you get there, staff pretty rude.

Owner Comment (Hide)
Dear Guest Only the City taxe is not included in the price which is one Euro per person or 1,5 per person per night and we are proud to say that we have the cheapest City taxe between ll properties listed in this web site where all other or most start from 3 euros per person per night so if you are in budget this is the place to stay thank you again

83%

Our train was late and we arrived far later than the time we specified - I apologize for that! But we were met in the reception area after midnight anyway. I loved the atmosphere is hostel - a quaint, old building with lots of history. We had a difficult time navigating the streets of Venice, but found it eventually from the train station. I would definitely recommend this place!


83%

Great location, good staff, friendly atmosphere. In room clean. In 2-th floor not working one toilet, and not good smell from toilet. When i was, in second day not working hot water, only 3-th floor. In the kitchen the stove not working.


77%

Good, aircond on the top floor. Checked in at 2am because my train got delayed and thankfully the staff was there.


49%

Basic facilities and very complacent staff. When asked about air conditioning or power problems, it was always said by the staff that "someone must have done something" and it was never their fault. Poorly maintained kitchen and common areas. No bath mats or even hooks in the bathroom. Some staff were ok and happy to have a joke and a laugh, but the place and atmosphere is quite unusual. Oh, and it's almost impossible to spot from the street!!! Met some great people though!!!!

  • 16th Jul 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Australia
  • Male, 18-24
  • (1 review)


37%

Poor. Staff were so unhelpful and one man was so rude we don't know how he is employed. We didn't have any bed sheets when we arrived and when we spoke to someone in reception they said they didn't know and didn't do anything. The cooker and kettle were broken and we kept having the air con turned off. The security wasn't good either. Don't stay here. Otherwise the building is nice and location is good. With the right staff it could be nice. Very hard to find. Not well signed. :(


31%

Stayed in this hostel for 3 nights. The staff was rude, the AC didn't work = woke up in a puddle of sweat, the free map doesn't excist and the toilets are disgusting. Urine on the floor, no soap, one toilet was clogged, no hot water and mold everywhere. The only good thing was the location (close to Rialto). I do not recommend this hostel.


69%

Staff were friendly, room was nice, no air on so very hot, had to open windows and got eaten alive by Mosquitos, they did not provide covers for beds, had to go on a hunt to find them in a little cupboard, only one shower for whole floor, therefore you are spending a long time waiting your turn. Wifi was good but only in the hallway, no connection in any of the rooms, location is great, Venice is very small so it's pretty hard to have a bad location. Pleasant stay, some let downs.


54%

The location as great and facilities alright but I spent the first day with there being no toilet paper in our bathroom. The staff besides one younger gentlemen was very rude and for the most part disinterested in speaking to you or helping you at all for that matter. I'm not looking for a new best friend from the staff but kindness does matter and I wouldn't stay in this hostle again if I had a choice due to its unkind staff.

  • 9th Jul 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • USA
  • Female, 18-24
  • (1 review)


« first « Prev 1 2
(39 results)


View all Venice Bed and Breakfasts

Please give us your feedback