X

Home to the world's greatest Hostels

33,000 properties, 170 countries Over 3.5 million guest reviews 21 million bookings

La Sienna Reviews

241 West 123rd Street, New York, USA

Reviews & Ratings Explained

85%

Rating
472 Total Reviews
  • 88%Value For Money
  • 83%Security
  • 87%Location
  • 85%Staff
  • 82%Atmosphere
  • 86%Cleanliness
  • 82%Facilities

The rating percentage is calculated from customers who booked within the last 12 months.

All ratings and reviews are based on the feedback and opinions of the customers who submitted them and do not express the opinions of Hostelworld.com. This way, you get an up-to-the-minute opinion of just how good a hostel really is.
Read our review guidelines »

  • Show:

97%

A wonderful place, run by a wonderful lady. We felt more like house guests than customers. Yvette showed us tons of great places to check out around the city, too. Our room was comfy, street noise wasn't too bad, and the location is great (good neighborhood, very close shops and food options, a fantastic tea shop around the corner, and nearby subway station). Good price, too. We absolutely plan on staying here again when we come back to NYC.

  • 7th Jan 2016
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • USA
  • Couple, 25-30
  • (1 review)


94%

Great location close to subway. Clean, comfortable and excellent staff.


89%

I had a very nice stay here. Good value for money.

  • 22nd Oct 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Netherlands
  • Female, 25-30
  • (1 review)


89%

We loved the hostel and its very convenient location near the 125th street subway. Yvette was helpful in s non-intrusive way.

  • 6th Oct 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • South Africa
  • Female, 41+
  • (1 review)


86%

We had a lovely stay at la sienna from1st to 6th october. We stayed on the second floor and,it was generally all kept very clean.Additional bedding was given on request as one blanket and a sheet were not warm enough. Excellent free selection of herbal teas and filter coffee.Use of kitchen helpful for preparing snacks etc.Overall very good.

  • 1st Oct 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Germany
  • Female, 41+
  • (1 review)


100%

We've been there for 3 weeks and it was lovely, always clean and domestic atmosphere! We will definitely come back.

  • 28th Sep 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Poland
  • All Female Group, 18-24
  • (1 review)


89%

The hostel is very hospitable. Very welcoming. The rooms are very comfortable and the decor gives a homey feeling. The landlord was fantastic and more then fair with giving a significant discount only because i was a single in a double room. Overalls, although the slight uncomfortable feeling of staying in the begining of Harlem,most recommended accommodation!

  • 27th Sep 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Israel
  • Male, 25-30
  • (1 review)


89%

Had a truly wonderful time at La Sienna, Yvette was a perfect hostess and I felt right at home from the moment I checked in. La Sienna has more of a homestay or B&B feel than a hotel. It is situated in a quiet, safe area of Harlem with the subway just a short walk away. Great value for money. When I come back to NY, I would definitely stay here again


74%

All in all we had a nice stay at the La Sienna. There were just minor things that could have been even better. The Wifi on the top floor was coming and going. Some times it worked other times it didn't. The TV was mounted to the wall with a very bad angle. You couldn't really watch it while laying down on the bed or sitting on the chairs. Best way to watch was to stand in front of it and that's not really comfortable. The staff was always helpful. We had a great time in New York.

Owner Comment (Hide)
Currently New York has only one WIFI service in this area but we are trying to fight that and allow other providers. Now regarding the TV mounted on the wall I was not aware but I will work on relocating the TV.

100%

Yvette took care of me like a mother with her child and it was very pleased regarding I moved in New York City for work. I needed advices ! Definitely I recommend that place.

  • 14th Sep 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • France
  • Female, 31-40
  • (1 review)


83%

This is a couple of privately owned rooms, not your usual hostel, and there is no social space. There are two nice kitchens and a couple of toilets and showers, it worked fine for us. When you need the owner (e.g. on arrival), ring the bell and wait, if she doesn't come, ring again and again. Yvette is very friendly, and so are her dogs and cats. The location is actually very good because of express A and D subway lines that get you downtown really quickly.


77%

thank you for all your good advice. we had a lovely time.

  • 6th Sep 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Wales
  • Couple, 18-24
  • (1 review)


29%

Get a credit card machine and air conditioning.

Owner Comment (Hide)
We offer air conditioning. It would no have mattered. They did not have any money to pay.



View all New York Bed and Breakfasts

Please give us your feedback