Hostelworld.com
HostelBookers Logo

Group of 15 or more?

Our sister site HostelBookers can create a tailor-made booking plan for your large travel group.

Group of 15 or more?

Our sister site HostelBookers can create a tailor-made booking plan for your large travel group.

Prices
map
reviews
8.7
Fabulous 498 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 9.2
  • Security 9.0
  • Location 8.4
  • Staff 9.5
  • Atmosphere 8.2
  • Cleanliness 8.5
  • Facilities 8.1
BOOK NOW
8.7
Fabulous 498 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 9.2
  • Security 9.0
  • Location 8.4
  • Staff 9.5
  • Atmosphere 8.2
  • Cleanliness 8.5
  • Facilities 8.1
La Sienna Located at 241 West 123rd Street, , New York.
La Sienna
USA
New York 10027 241 West 123rd Street
87% 498
40.8085500 -73.9507960
La Sienna
    Rooms available

The rating percentage is calculated from customers who booked within the last 12 months. All ratings and reviews are based on the feedback and opinions of the customers who submitted them and do not express the opinions of Hostelworld.com. This way, you get an up-to-the-minute opinion of just how good a hostel really is.
Read our review guidelines

  • Show:
  • Sort By:
19th Jun 2016
9.4

A great guesthouse in Harlem. Yvette is such a nice owner and will fill your head with great places to eat and stories about the area. It's located on a beautiful street and the house is an amazing brownstone. Close to the 125th subway, where you are one express stop from Midtown and there are lots of great restaurants nearby, including Harlem Shake. The room was comfortable and there's a cool shower with a Tardis door and a Darth Vader toaster in the kitchen!

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Mexico, Mixed Group, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
2nd Jun 2016
9.1

This was our first time staying at a hostel and it was a great experience. Yvette is a great host, she recommended us a lot of good places to eat. Stay at La Sienna is so cozy, like be at home. The next time we visit NY we definitely stay there.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • USA, Male, 41+
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
14th May 2016
9.4

Overall this was the perfect place for visiting for my daughter's graduation. The room looks to be about the size of the POD hotels but much more convenient for me with my daughter in Harlem at Columbia. Quiet, clean, affordable. Kitchen and bath on each floor. I'll be back when I visit my daughter in New York again.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Spain, Couple, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
13th May 2016
7.7

It is in Manhattan but it is away from the touristic areas. Anyway the subway 125th st is 2 blocks away and takes you fast to the main sightseeing places. The area looks residencial with not many options of restaurants but there is shops and markets at walking distance. The place was clean. The shared bathroom is old style bathtub not very comfortable to take a shower. It was ok for us for the price we pay.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 6.0Security
    • 6.0Location
    • 6.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Netherlands, Female, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 5 reviews
24th Apr 2016
9.4

We LOVED our stay in La Sienna. It's in a quiet part of town (no sirens at night), 5 mins. walk from the nearest metro. The express takes you to the centre of NYC in no time. Our room (8) was quite luxurious, with a walk-in closet, big bed and table with two comfy chairs. Shared bathrooms were clean and big. One has a bath and there's a Doctor Who Tardis-shower :D! Shared kitchenette is great for making breakfast. Yvette, the owner, was super nice. Definitely will stay here again next time!!!

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • France, Male, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
25th Mar 2016
6.6

Hostel well located nearby the subway, the concierge was really nice. There are a lot of great restaurants close to the hostel. Though the wifi was really bad, there was not any spot for all the tenants to meet up in the hostel, and the room was pretty small.

    • 6.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 6.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 4.0Atmosphere
    • 4.0Cleanliness
View Property Reply

When I greet people I always let them know to speak up. If the WIFI does not work please say something so I can take care of you. Also we have rooms that are different sizes. From the small one which is more economical to larger ones. If they would have said something I would have given them the option to upgrade. ASK AND YOU MAY RECEIVE.

  • Anonymous
  • Canada, Male, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
25th Mar 2016
8.9

Awesome staff! She let me checked in so early and made sure I have everything I need. Reasonable price and good location.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Ireland, Couple, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
21st Mar 2016
10.0

We travelled from Ireland and stayed for a week and would recommend it to other travellers. No point paying crazy money in Midtown. The location is within easy travel distance to all of NYC and direct train from JFK airport. Yvette is really helpful and will help you out with anything you need to know!

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • USA, Male, 41+
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
16th Mar 2016
8.0

Very basic accommodations in an old row house, but the place was clean, the proprietor helpful, and the price was extremely reasonable for Manhattan.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 6.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Australia, All Female Group, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
12th Feb 2016
9.4

Great location 2 stops from Times Square on the express train. Station a 5 minute walk away. Couldn't hear street noise from our room. Clean, quite and friendly. We emailed Yvette as we got into NY in the early morning and she got our room ready and let us check in within 20 minutes of emailing her. Would definitely stay here again and recommend to friends.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness

Hostelworld Mobile Apps

Book on the go with the new Hostelworld mobile apps.

Search and book more than 33,000 properties in over 170 countries, from anywhere.

Newsletter Sign Up

Submitting your info

Thank you for signing up to our newsletter!

Sign up for our monthly Newsletter to get the best hostel deals and news sent straight your inbox. You can unsubscribe at any time.