Hostelworld.com
HostelBookers Logo

Group of 15 or more?

Contact our Group Travel team directly for a tailor made solution for your group

Group of 15 or more?

Contact our Group Travel team directly for a tailor made solution for your group

Prices
map
reviews
8.6
Fabulous 508 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 8.9
  • Security 8.8
  • Location 8.3
  • Staff 9.4
  • Atmosphere 8.3
  • Cleanliness 8.6
  • Facilities 8.1
BOOK NOW
8.6
Fabulous 508 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 8.9
  • Security 8.8
  • Location 8.3
  • Staff 9.4
  • Atmosphere 8.3
  • Cleanliness 8.6
  • Facilities 8.1
La Sienna Located at 241 West 123rd Street, , New York.
La Sienna
USA
New York 10027 241 West 123rd Street
86% 508
40.8085500 -73.9507960
La Sienna
    Rooms available

The rating percentage is calculated from customers who booked within the last 12 months. All ratings and reviews are based on the feedback and opinions of the customers who submitted them and do not express the opinions of Hostelworld.com. This way, you get an up-to-the-minute opinion of just how good a hostel really is.
Read our review guidelines

  • Show:
  • Sort By:
  • Anonymous
  • Mexico, Female, 41+
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
15th Sep 2016
9.7

For me was perfect, all my days were spent visiting NYC and only returned to sleep. It is located in a quiet street, three blocks away from the MTA Subway lines A/C/B/D, so I could go by subway everywhere. The room was clean, well ventilated and since the hostel is being renovated, it had a ceiling fan pretty silent so I had no trouble sleeping. Next time I am in NYC I will definitely consider staying at La Sienna again.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Slovenia, Couple, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
8th Sep 2016
7.7

We were satisfied with staying at La Sienna. It is a small hostel and this way more private. The owner is very kind, she really cares how you feel, but she never interruped us. We had kitchen at our disposal. Subway is also very near. The only thing that bothered us was airconditioning, because it was very hot and humid at that time, thats why we didnt sleep good.

    • 6.0Value For Money
    • 6.0Security
    • 6.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
  • Holdol82
  • Australia, Couple, 31-40
  • Novice Nomad
  • 6 reviews
4th Sep 2016
9.7

Really cannot fault this place. We stayed for 10 nights and loved it. Yvette was lovely and so accommodating. She even emailed us a list of places to eat which fit well into our price range. It's really not a far walk at all to Central Park and the A train gets you to all the big tourist destinations in minutes. Would stay here again!

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Australia, Female, 41+
  • Novice Nomad
  • 2 reviews
21st Aug 2016
9.1

Yvette is a very good host, gives lots of information and does whatever she can to make your stay comfortable. Property is slowly being renovated which is reflected in the very reasonable price for New York City.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Netherlands, Couple, 25-30
  • Avid Traveller
  • 12 reviews
19th Aug 2016
8.0

We had a really nice room, it's an old house with lovely details (e.g. wooden doors, floor). Basic kitchen/bathroom, good bed and functioning air conditioning. It is clear attention was given to details. Our hostess was very kind and gave us some good suggestions for food/shopping. It's a nice street and there are many shops etc. in the neighboorhood. The only remark on the location would be that late at night the atmosphere did change a bit on the short walk from the nearest subway stop.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 6.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
19th Jun 2016
9.4

A great guesthouse in Harlem. Yvette is such a nice owner and will fill your head with great places to eat and stories about the area. It's located on a beautiful street and the house is an amazing brownstone. Close to the 125th subway, where you are one express stop from Midtown and there are lots of great restaurants nearby, including Harlem Shake. The room was comfortable and there's a cool shower with a Tardis door and a Darth Vader toaster in the kitchen!

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Mexico, Mixed Group, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
2nd Jun 2016
9.1

This was our first time staying at a hostel and it was a great experience. Yvette is a great host, she recommended us a lot of good places to eat. Stay at La Sienna is so cozy, like be at home. The next time we visit NY we definitely stay there.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • USA, Male, 41+
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
14th May 2016
9.4

Overall this was the perfect place for visiting for my daughter's graduation. The room looks to be about the size of the POD hotels but much more convenient for me with my daughter in Harlem at Columbia. Quiet, clean, affordable. Kitchen and bath on each floor. I'll be back when I visit my daughter in New York again.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Spain, Couple, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
13th May 2016
7.7

It is in Manhattan but it is away from the touristic areas. Anyway the subway 125th st is 2 blocks away and takes you fast to the main sightseeing places. The area looks residencial with not many options of restaurants but there is shops and markets at walking distance. The place was clean. The shared bathroom is old style bathtub not very comfortable to take a shower. It was ok for us for the price we pay.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 6.0Security
    • 6.0Location
    • 6.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Netherlands, Female, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 5 reviews
24th Apr 2016
9.4

We LOVED our stay in La Sienna. It's in a quiet part of town (no sirens at night), 5 mins. walk from the nearest metro. The express takes you to the centre of NYC in no time. Our room (8) was quite luxurious, with a walk-in closet, big bed and table with two comfy chairs. Shared bathrooms were clean and big. One has a bath and there's a Doctor Who Tardis-shower :D! Shared kitchenette is great for making breakfast. Yvette, the owner, was super nice. Definitely will stay here again next time!!!

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness

Hostelworld Mobile Apps

Book on the go with the new Hostelworld mobile apps.

Search and book more than 33,000 properties in over 170 countries, from anywhere.

Newsletter Sign Up

Submitting your info

Thank you for signing up to our newsletter!

Sign up for our monthly Newsletter to get the best hostel deals and news sent straight your inbox. You can unsubscribe at any time.