Hostelworld.com

Group of 15 or more?

Contact our Group Travel team directly for a tailor made solution for your group

Group of 15 or more?

Contact our Group Travel team directly for a tailor made solution for your group

Prices
map
reviews
9.0
Superb 544 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 9.0
  • Security 9.2
  • Location 8.6
  • Staff 9.6
  • Atmosphere 9.0
  • Cleanliness 9.0
  • Facilities 8.4
BOOK NOW
9.0
Superb 544 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 9.0
  • Security 9.2
  • Location 8.6
  • Staff 9.6
  • Atmosphere 9.0
  • Cleanliness 9.0
  • Facilities 8.4

The rating percentage is calculated from customers who booked within the last 12 months. All ratings and reviews are based on the feedback and opinions of the customers who submitted them and do not express the opinions of Hostelworld.com. This way, you get an up-to-the-minute opinion of just how good a hostel really is.
Read our review guidelines

  • Show:
  • Sort By:
  • Anonymous
  • Ireland, Male, 31-40
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
17th Jun 2017
9.7

Lady who works there very friendly and helpful. Great location. Old building but was very clean.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • ingewiekenkamp7089
  • Netherlands, Female, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 3 reviews
13th Jun 2017
8.3

Nice place to stay, very helpfull and friendly host. Good room with AC, especially during those warm days.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Australia, Female, 41+
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
12th Jun 2017
8.0

Was very happy with the whole experience Yvette was lovely home was really nice no creaky floors lol which was a blessing walking up 2 flights of stairs st all hours loved the use of a kitchen all round good throughout Harlem cool location easy access to the subway.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
  • stanbednarcyk4852
  • USA, Male, 31-40
  • Novice Nomad
  • 2 reviews
1st Jun 2017
10.0

La Sienna was a pleasure staying at. Yvette welcomed us into her house, and was incredibly generous and pleasant. The room was nice, the house and neighborhood quiet for a good night's sleep, and the neighborhood was great. We loved Bailey and the three cats too! I would definitely stay here again and recommend it to friends and family.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Australia, Male, 31-40
  • Novice Nomad
  • 2 reviews
19th May 2017
9.7

Great little place of character. The staff was awesome - unfortunately, we got our times wrong, and so arrived quite late, but we managed to work it out. She even gave us some toast to have as a late night dinner. Was able to provide a list of good eating places around the accommodation, and recommendations for transport. Great spot, otherwise had no issues.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • sbruce10
  • USA, Female, 31-40
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
7th Apr 2017
8.9

Loved staying here- Yvette was amazing! She ran up and down the stairs (we were on the 3rd floor) about 5 times getting us settled in--complete with towels fresh from the dyer! She gave great recommendations and information about transportation. You have to have a code to get in/out of the hostel and you get a room key as well. Kitchen is great. Small shower, but works fine. The only downside is that it's a bit far from downtown, but it's only a 5-10 min walk to metro, 15-30 min ride to downtown

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 6.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Singapore, Couple, 31-40
  • Avid Traveller
  • 10 reviews
7th Apr 2017
7.7

The location was about 5-10 minutes walk away from the express trains (A,B,C,D) and the local trains (1,2,3) and about half hour away from the city. The rooms were clean, had a lot of hangers and comfy bed. Two small shared toilets. I wasn't sure why but we booked 3 nights and were told we had to change rooms after the first night. The host gave us great recommendations for food and was very nice and friendly. We were told to ring a bell to reach her but it wasn't always easy to reach her.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 4.0Location
    • 6.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Australia, Female, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 7 reviews
25th Mar 2017
8.0

This is a bed and breakfast...without the breakfast. Really, it's more an Airbnb than anything; it's obvious that it's the owners home that she's converted. Not to say that the apartment isn't lovely with lots of character (there's a TARDIS shower stall and a Darth Vader toaster). The single rooms is quite cramped though. Also, don't be alarmed by the pipes hissing (which startled me a bit on the first night). On the other hand, the location is quite good, easily walkable to the subway.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 6.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
View Property Reply

This is a guesthouse not a bed and breakfast. I also did not convert the home it has been this way since 1942. It is called an SRO (single room occupancy) Yes the single room is small but well priced by New York Standards. We do offer different size rooms according to your budget.

9th Mar 2017
9.7

I had a great time staying here! The owner was a tiny bit stand-off-ish the first few moments, but she warmed really quickly. It's clear that this place is her baby and does everything she can to keep it in good condition. She had some great recommendations for nativgating the neighborhood and city - both practically (basic getting around and restaurants) and culturally. Couldn't have asked for a better location! Quiet, but still close to the action. Would highly recommend staying here!

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness

Hostelworld Mobile Apps

Book on the go with the new Hostelworld mobile apps.

Search and book more than 33,000 properties in over 170 countries, from anywhere.

Newsletter Sign Up

Submitting your info

Thank you for signing up to our newsletter!

Sign up for our newsletter to get the best hostel deals and news sent straight to your inbox. You can unsubscribe at any time.