Hostelworld.com

Group of 15 or more?

Contact our Group Travel team directly for a tailor made solution for your group

Group of 15 or more?

Contact our Group Travel team directly for a tailor made solution for your group

Prices
map
reviews
8.7
Fabulous 557 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 8.7
  • Security 9.1
  • Location 8.4
  • Staff 9.2
  • Atmosphere 8.7
  • Cleanliness 8.7
  • Facilities 7.9
BOOK NOW
8.7
Fabulous 557 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 8.7
  • Security 9.1
  • Location 8.4
  • Staff 9.2
  • Atmosphere 8.7
  • Cleanliness 8.7
  • Facilities 7.9

The rating percentage is calculated from customers who booked within the last 12 months. All ratings and reviews are based on the feedback and opinions of the customers who submitted them and do not express the opinions of Hostelworld.com. This way, you get an up-to-the-minute opinion of just how good a hostel really is.
Read our review guidelines

  • Show:
  • Sort By:
  • Anonymous
  • South Africa, Female, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
9th Aug 2017
2.9

The lady that runs the hostel seemed very nice when we checked in. But then after I smoked outside the hostel(there's a ashtray on the steps.she accused me of smoking inside the hostel. She banged on our door the next morning saying why did she find my hair in the shower. I didn't even wash my hair.she treated me like a child. Accused me of doing something I didn't do. I have never stayed in such a bad place. Didn't have hot water upstairs, TV only Spanish Channel, remote not work and also light

    • 2.0Value For Money
    • 6.0Security
    • 4.0Location
    • 2.0Facilities
    • 2.0Staff
    • 2.0Atmosphere
    • 2.0Cleanliness
View Property Reply

I asked it she smoked and she said no. She was smoking in the room so I knocked not banged on the door. She was kindly told that she would lose her deposit. She left large clumps of red hair in the drain and would not flush the toilet. I had to check in people and move them to another floor to avoid problems. There is always hot water if it is not on one floor then it would not be on any of the floors. If the light did not work why didn't she say anything. I check it and it is working. The TV has several channels but. sometimes people change the setting on the remote control but it could have easily been fixed. Our number one rule is to be considerate of others.

  • darryl_poi4312
  • New Zealand, Couple, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
25th Jul 2017
10.0

Our stay was amaizing our host was helpful and lovely nice clean facilities easy to get to train station to go to maddison square n downtown great location the people of harlem are amazing n respectful lovely people , One if the best part of our time was riding the bikes that the hostel had through central park and then to maddison square and back , we will love to come back and stay any time we highly recommend it to everyone

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Lithuania, Female, 31-40
  • Globetrotter
  • 22 reviews
17th Jul 2017
6.9

It's a good deal for the price.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 6.0Location
    • 4.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • England, Male, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
7th Jul 2017
10.0

A rare find - decent accommodation at a reasonable price in Manhattan. Exceptionally friendly neighbourhood, great affordable food and drinks options around, friendly and knowledgeable host. Don't expect anything fancy - but this is a clean, well-furnished (with original period items), quiet place to call home for your stay. 5 minutes walk from the Subway, 15 minutes walk to Metro North.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
1st Jul 2017
8.3

Great price for a great location. Only a short 5 min walk to the subway. Clean rooms, showers, etc. Perfect if you want to spend time in Manhattan/Brooklyn but don't want to spend the money to stay there.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
  • Tayko
  • USA, Female, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
21st Jun 2017
9.4

I had a wonderful time staying here. Ms. Yvette was a great hostess, she even sent an email with a complete list of great placeI specifically planned this trip so I could hit the garment district and she was happy to point out exactly where we needed to go. She even sent an email with a complete list of great places to eat. Only a five minute walk from the 125th street station. Def. recommend this place to stay and will be back for my planned trip in October!!

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Ireland, Male, 31-40
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
17th Jun 2017
9.7

Lady who works there very friendly and helpful. Great location. Old building but was very clean.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • ingewiekenkamp7089
  • Netherlands, Female, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 3 reviews
13th Jun 2017
8.3

Nice place to stay, very helpfull and friendly host. Good room with AC, especially during those warm days.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Australia, Female, 41+
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
12th Jun 2017
8.0

Was very happy with the whole experience Yvette was lovely home was really nice no creaky floors lol which was a blessing walking up 2 flights of stairs st all hours loved the use of a kitchen all round good throughout Harlem cool location easy access to the subway.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
  • stanbednarcyk4852
  • USA, Male, 31-40
  • Novice Nomad
  • 2 reviews
1st Jun 2017
10.0

La Sienna was a pleasure staying at. Yvette welcomed us into her house, and was incredibly generous and pleasant. The room was nice, the house and neighborhood quiet for a good night's sleep, and the neighborhood was great. We loved Bailey and the three cats too! I would definitely stay here again and recommend it to friends and family.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness

Hostelworld Mobile Apps

Book on the go with the new Hostelworld mobile apps.

Search and book more than 33,000 properties in over 170 countries, from anywhere.

Newsletter Sign Up

Submitting your info

Thank you for signing up to our newsletter!

Sign up for our newsletter to get the best hostel deals and news sent straight to your inbox. You can unsubscribe at any time.