Hostelworld.com

Group of 15 or more?

Contact our Group Travel team directly for a tailor made solution for your group

La Tortuga Hostel

Group of 15 or more?

Contact our Group Travel team directly for a tailor made solution for your group

Prices
map
reviews
8.5
Fabulous 239 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 8.8
  • Security 8.6
  • Location 8.0
  • Staff 9.3
  • Atmosphere 8.6
  • Cleanliness 8.2
  • Facilities 8.0
BOOK NOW
8.5
Fabulous 239 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 8.8
  • Security 8.6
  • Location 8.0
  • Staff 9.3
  • Atmosphere 8.6
  • Cleanliness 8.2
  • Facilities 8.0

The rating percentage is calculated from customers who booked within the last 12 months. All ratings and reviews are based on the feedback and opinions of the customers who submitted them and do not express the opinions of Hostelworld.com. This way, you get an up-to-the-minute opinion of just how good a hostel really is.
Read our review guidelines

  • Show:
  • Sort By:
  • Anonymous
  • USA, Couple, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
19th Jun 2017
8.9

Nice spot to chill and get a view of the bay. It's kind of far up the hill from the water, but only like ten minutes.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Colombia, Male, 31-40
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
24th May 2017
10.0

I've never had a better experience in a hostal in Taganga. Mona is una chimba and Rafa and Diana in the Bar will keep you delighted all night long with amazing Bajatangas and Crunchy-tasty burgers (you can book your dinner in advance for a very reasonable price.) I was planning to stay only for a few days, but i'm loving the view from the bar and the pool in the first floor.. so I had to make it longer. I'll see you later, Tortuga!!

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Colombia, Male, 31-40
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
13th May 2017
6.3

The place has a nice facilities, nice pool, nice backyard, but there are not mosquito net on the rooms, and I have stings all over my body, also the fan do not work properly. The heat and mosquitos turn the night in a nightmare, the price is hight what the offer. Don't even have free breakfast as other hostel do.

    • 4.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 6.0Location
    • 6.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 6.0Cleanliness
View Property Reply

Hola Sad to hear that your experience was that bad. Also sad you didn´t tell us anything at the time so that we could solve the problems. We checked and the fans are working properly, and we are gonna fix the mosquito nets. Thanks for you comments. Maybe, next time if you talk to the staff at the moment... you will be surprised how fast they can solve small issues, just by talking. Online reviews are super useful, but don´t give us the chance to help you when you need it. Best regards

  • Anonymous
  • England, Female, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 2 reviews
9th May 2017
8.0

I loved staying here. The staff were potentially the most fantastic of my few months in south America. The cocktail's were delicious and the pool lovely. However a few drawbacks could do with fixing. The Internet was terrible, the mattresses uncomfortable and the sheets never stayed on. Also there were no ladders to get into the top bunks which is a challenge if you are short. Regardless of this because of the staff, bar and atmosphere, i'd go back.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 6.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 4.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • England, Male, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
12th Apr 2017
8.6

Really enjoyed my stay here and it is a fantastic hostel that has everything that you need. The staff were very friendly and provided assistance whenever we needed, it has a pool, a nice outdoor seating area and hammocks around the property where you can enjoy a lazy afternoon. The only downside is the location which is a little further away from the main strip however it’s only a few minutes’ walk away so not really a big deal. Would recommend.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 6.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Australia, Female, 31-40
  • Globetrotter
  • 33 reviews
9th Apr 2017
8.3

Lovely hostel, great beds, kitchen, and pool. The owner Mona was such a lovely person and very helpful. It's a little out of the main area, still a short walk but I didn't feel super safe walking here at night.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 6.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
24th Mar 2017
9.7

Rafa runs an awesome rooftop bar, great tunes and atmosphere. The rooms are great, fans and comfortable beds! Highly recommend!

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
20th Feb 2017
9.7

I spent 3 weeks here, and will come back later in life. They have hammocks throughout the hostel, a pool, rooftop bar with an amazing view, and TV area. The kitchen is big, and the rooms are comfy. Bathrooms and showers in every room, but they clog easily. Wifi works great, located close to cheap restaurants, small grocery shops, and a great bakery. Never felt unsafe as they lock up at night. I felt like family the whole time, and the bartender, Rafael, goes the extra mile to improve your stay.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness

Hostelworld Mobile Apps

Book on the go with the new Hostelworld mobile apps.

Search and book more than 33,000 properties in over 170 countries, from anywhere.

Newsletter Sign Up

Submitting your info

Thank you for signing up to our newsletter!

Sign up for our newsletter to get the best hostel deals and news sent straight to your inbox. You can unsubscribe at any time.