NOTE: 9 or more guests qualifies as a group booking, change the number of guests to return to normal search.
Enquire Now HostelBookers Logo Group of 15 or more?

Our sister site HostelBookers can create a tailor-made booking plan for your large travel group.

La Ventana Azul Surf & Art House Reviews

Paseo de las Canteras 53, Las Palmas de Gran Canaria, Gran Canaria, Canary Islands, Spain

Reviews & Ratings Explained


20 Total Reviews
  • 86%Value For Money
  • 88%Security
  • 96%Location
  • 88%Staff
  • 90%Atmosphere
  • 80%Cleanliness
  • 74%Facilities

The rating percentage is calculated from customers who booked within the last 12 months.

All ratings and reviews are based on the feedback and opinions of the customers who submitted them and do not express the opinions of Hostelworld.com. This way, you get an up-to-the-minute opinion of just how good a hostel really is.
Read our review guidelines »

  • Show:


The hostel has a fantastic location, awesome rooftop view and great atmosphere. Staff helpfully responded to all our queries. Rooms were simple, and could have used more power points, but functioned well. The owner also heaped out with heaps of advice and good humour. A great place to meet surfers and people interested in outdoor activities. Also, although there was only a few toilets, it never seemed to be a problem, and they were always clean. I would stay here again happily.


Best location for a hostel in town! It´s on the beach, the water is so beautiful at night, could watch the waves all day long, walk to different surfspots, go on island trips together, still in contact with some of the staff working there, they are so lovely! Also the art is developing so quickly- its amazing and inspiring! Could defenitly recommend this place, even though my arrival was a bit chaotic, we figured everything out! Me encantaaa! :)


It's a new hostel with a perfect location. Roof top terrace is amazing. Really nice BBQ party there the other night. No complaints about the workers either, everything worked and they helped with everything I needed. It is a relaxed place, but it's not a hotel. So it's more like a second home. Really cozy!

  • 27th Jan 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Finland
  • Male, 25-30
  • (1 review)


A very Nice little hostal. Lovely terrace right on the Canteras.


Great stay! Great palce to meet other people! Everyone there was so friendly. Would stay there again if I'm ever in Las Palmas. Right on the beach with the rooftop terrace was a major plus! :)

  • 22nd Jan 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • USA
  • Mixed Group, 18-24
  • (1 review)


no duvet when we arrived and we had to wait while he went to the other sister hostel to get it (after midnight). When we entered there was no reception ,eventually a guy got up from the couch to tell us he worked there, took us to kitchen which had dirty floor, the floor of our room was also dirty. the staff working didnt have much info for us regarding the area, so was quite unhelpful. Room had a window with no glass, could hear everything in hallway and kitchen, toilet broke never fixed.

Owner Comment (Hide)
- its true that we have no reception, we want to be as close as possible to the guest, so we see reception as a kind of barrier between guest and our helpers. - sorry you had to wait for your duvet, our other hostel is just around the corner, so you cant have waited for more than 5 minutes.But sorry again. - The door of the toilet (and not the whole toliet) was broken, but we fixed it already. Really sorry to not hear a single good word about our place. We will keep on improoving! thank you


the dorms downstairs have NO window, so we could hardly breath, and when we left the door open the noice from the corridor and the people in the kitchen was so loud we could only sleep with sleeping pills, I think only young people can sleep through this noice I suggest that these dorms should be cheaper than the places in the sleeping rooms upstairs, where you do get air the terrace is a great place!

Owner Comment (Hide)
Thanks a lot for your feeback. We think you are right that the rooms which are downstairs should be cheaper. We just lowered the price. At night starting from 10 p.m. our guests have to be quiet and respect the sleep of those who want to get up earlier. We will also add windows to the rooms downstairs in January so that you can hear the sea even more in this rooms and you have better air ventilation. We try to improove every day. So thanks for you critic response.


I had a great time at the ventana. Great value for the money excellent location for surfing. It's right at the sea and you can watch absolutely stunning sunsets from the roof terrace. Nice community, too. Spent amazing evenings with inspiring people. Staff very forthcoming and likeable. Anytime again.

  • 8th Nov 2013
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Austria
  • Female, 25-30
  • (1 review)

View all Gran Canaria Hostels

Please give us your feedback