Hostelworld.com

Group of 15 or more?

Contact our Group Travel team directly for a tailor made solution for your group

La Villana Hostel

Group of 15 or more?

Contact our Group Travel team directly for a tailor made solution for your group

Prices
map
reviews
8.5
Fabulous 372 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 8.2
  • Security 9.0
  • Location 9.4
  • Staff 8.0
  • Atmosphere 8.0
  • Cleanliness 8.5
  • Facilities 8.2
BOOK NOW
8.5
Fabulous 372 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 8.2
  • Security 9.0
  • Location 9.4
  • Staff 8.0
  • Atmosphere 8.0
  • Cleanliness 8.5
  • Facilities 8.2

The rating percentage is calculated from customers who booked within the last 12 months. All ratings and reviews are based on the feedback and opinions of the customers who submitted them and do not express the opinions of Hostelworld.com. This way, you get an up-to-the-minute opinion of just how good a hostel really is.
Read our review guidelines

  • Show:
  • Sort By:
  • Anonymous
  • England, Female, 18-24
  • Avid Traveller
  • 15 reviews
9th Jun 2017
9.1

The beds were awesome, the aircon temperature was perfect, the staff were friendly. Not much of an atmosphere but the people there were friendly and chatty and if you need somewhere to rest after a long trek it is ideal. Nice bathrooms, always working fine and clean. The music from the street outside the dorm was a bit loud but it's the Colombian coast so it is to be expected, and it didn't stop me sleeping.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • slembrouckniels
  • Belgium, Male, 25-30
  • Avid Traveller
  • 12 reviews
7th Jun 2017
9.4

Hostel is very close to a big Exito supermarket (5 min walk) and close to restaurant/bar area. Staff is friendly and always keen to help out. On my 2nd stay now and hostel is always calm without an overload on people. They offer laundry at 8,000 pesos/kg, have some bar food and it has rain showers. Good place to relax after/before Lost City track! We booked in for a 3rd stay already :)

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Ireland, All Female Group, 25-30
  • Avid Traveller
  • 17 reviews
3rd Jun 2017
9.7

16 bed dorm is the best - so much space & great little steps up to the top bunks instead of difficult ladders! Small hostel and quite quiet but perfect location so would highly recommend to stay here in Santa Marta.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
24th May 2017
10.0

One of my fav hostels from now on! Close to everything in the centro historico area... Nice people working there... Rooms with AC which is a plus in Santa Marta!

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Australia, Male, 18-24
  • Avid Traveller
  • 17 reviews
8th May 2017
8.0

4th stay... Cool hostel, good wifi, breakfast and showers. Great beds with plugs and lights for each. Some Aussie rooted a chick at like 5 am though in the 16 bedder, which was legendary as you'd agree I'm sure. Bloke was pure taking the top bunk down the road swear to god. Umm yeah, good bar for a few beers and then head to bed out.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
23rd Apr 2017
9.4

Breakfast is not included, but available for a good price. Disregarding this point, everything was perfect: nice and well equiped rooms, community areas, staff, bar, tourism services, perfect location...recommend this hostel 100%. Heared from ppl who stayed in other hostels that villana is one of the best choices in santa marta.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Ireland, Couple, 18-24
  • Avid Traveller
  • 16 reviews
6th Apr 2017
8.3

Great dorm with AC and plug/light for every bed. Court yard in hostel was a nice place to chill out but not a party atmosphere. Breakfast is good although an extra charge. Security was alright in that there was a 2hr reception but anyone could potentially come in as they didn't check you were staying at the hostel. Would stay here again if I was in Santa Marta

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 6.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
2nd Apr 2017
9.7

Great hostel altogether, perfect location, sweet staff. Just a note: The bathroom sinks are really unpractical and don't really allow you to wash anything...

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
31st Mar 2017
10.0

This place was awesome! The staff went above and beyond to help with everything we needed. Great drinks and happy hour, super nice environment. We did not have any complaints on the noise level as others have mentioned. It was a perfect stay! Would definitely go back.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Scotland, Mixed Group, 31-40
  • Avid Traveller
  • 16 reviews
24th Mar 2017
5.7

If you want to sleep don't stay here! All rooms are situated around the courtyard bar which plays music at nightclub sound level. Whilst we were there the staff held a party for their friends which meant people up revelling till 5am. Not ideal when you are departing the next day for a four day hike. Added insult to injury the party goers had vomited in the middle of the girls shared bathroom. Not advertised anywhere as a party hostel so we were pretty surprised by the reality vs the reviews!

    • 4.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 4.0Facilities
    • 6.0Staff
    • 4.0Atmosphere
    • 6.0Cleanliness

Hostelworld Mobile Apps

Book on the go with the new Hostelworld mobile apps.

Search and book more than 33,000 properties in over 170 countries, from anywhere.

Newsletter Sign Up

Submitting your info

Thank you for signing up to our newsletter!

Sign up for our newsletter to get the best hostel deals and news sent straight to your inbox. You can unsubscribe at any time.