Hostelworld.com

La Villana Hostel

Prices
map
reviews
8.7
Fabulous 158 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 8.8
  • Security 8.8
  • Location 9.6
  • Staff 8.6
  • Atmosphere 8.3
  • Cleanliness 8.4
  • Facilities 8.5
BOOK NOW
8.7
Fabulous 158 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 8.8
  • Security 8.8
  • Location 9.6
  • Staff 8.6
  • Atmosphere 8.3
  • Cleanliness 8.4
  • Facilities 8.5
La Villana Hostel Located at calle17 No 3-70, , Santa Marta.
La Villana Hostel
Colombia
Santa Marta magdalena calle17 No 3-70
87% 158
11.2432830 -74.2124909
La Villana Hostel
    Rooms available

The rating percentage is calculated from customers who booked within the last 12 months. All ratings and reviews are based on the feedback and opinions of the customers who submitted them and do not express the opinions of Hostelworld.com. This way, you get an up-to-the-minute opinion of just how good a hostel really is.
Read our review guidelines

  • Show:
  • Sort By:
  • Anonymous
  • Sweden, Female, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 7 reviews
18th Apr 2016
9.4

A great hostel in Santa Marta!

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
17th Apr 2016
7.7

Not the cleanest place, they were doing some building work in the courtyard which wasn't great, and got a load of bites when I went to the toilet! Staff helped me sort my lost city trek and gave some advice on places to eat. Big dorm had a good set up with personal plug and light, but as the beds shook a lot when someone on the connecting bunk moved. Great air con though.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 4.0Atmosphere
    • 6.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Canada, Female, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 3 reviews
14th Apr 2016
7.1

most staff were helpful and nice. Not the cleanest rooms and most outlets in room did not work. Construction going on therefor no bar. Ac was good Do not book transfer to cartagena with them !!! We were booked to leave at 8:30 am and were picked up at 10:30. Did not leave santa marta until 11:00 and half the people in bus were scheduled to leave for 11. So we realised they were not late. Just killing time to fill up the bus and do one trip without telling us we would leave later.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 6.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 6.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Sweden, Female, 31-40
  • Novice Nomad
  • 3 reviews
12th Apr 2016
9.1

The wifi is a bit slow, or patchy access at times. Especially near the bar and kitchen. The hostel is great though.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Poland, Female, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 3 reviews
8th Apr 2016
10.0

Very happy with that hostel!! Its cosy and socialising-friendly. The staff is outstanding! The day time lady from the reception was a star!! Showers under the blue sky are the win:)beds clean and comfortable. Breakfast choice is great and prices are sweet. Location is just most convinient. Laundry service is not overpriced like in some other hostels in that area. Villana is almost twice cheaper than other neighbor-hostels that ive also tried, but enjoyed my staying less than in villana

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
5th Apr 2016
8.3

Spacious roos even the 16 beds dorm. The rooms are cool with the AC at night but maybe a bit too strong. Wifi works well and there is also a Play station for those who like gaming.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
29th Mar 2016
7.7

Santa Marta hostels are generally not great. I stayed in a few and I did find this one to be a lot more chill, but still in a cool area if you want to party then relax at the hostel. Their outdoor bathroom set up is really cool, But watch out for bees! They desperately need better quality lockers. It would also be nice if they had safe storage for when you want to leave things and go to Parque Tayrona. Overall, I had an ok experience here. The pool is cleaner than at other hostels.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 6.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • USA, Female, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
22nd Mar 2016
9.1

I stayed here for just one night before heading out to Parque Tayrona in the morning to camp. The person working the reception was very friendly, the place was clean, the bed was comfortable, and it felt safe. I used the locker to store some small valuables but it probably wasn't necessary. Every bed had an outlet and small reading light which was a nice touch. It was noisy at night and hot (though I think the "AC" did kick on at some point in the night, but the location was perfect.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • USA, Mixed Group, 25-30
  • Avid Traveller
  • 13 reviews
4th Mar 2016
9.4

Great location in central Santa Marta, rooms were very clean, comfortable, and equipped with lockers and drawers, plus lights and power outlets on each of the (big, comfy) beds. Unfortunately, not all of them worked. There was a bar that played loud music on Friday and Saturday, but not during the week. The pool was a great addition, and the kitchen had good breakfast in the mornings (not included in the price, but worth it for an extra ~8,500).

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Colombia, Female, 31-40
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
19th Feb 2016
7.4

La ubicación está muy bien cerca de todo en el centro de Santa Marta. Mejorar el servicio al cliente los recepcionistas no daban la información adecuada, no era tan atentos y su inglés no es el mejor teniendo en cuenta que todos los huéspedes son extranjeros.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 6.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 4.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness

Hostelworld Mobile Apps

Book on the go with the new Hostelworld mobile apps.

Search and book more than 33,000 properties in over 170 countries, from anywhere.

Newsletter Sign Up

Submitting your info

Thank you for signing up to our newsletter!

Sign up for our monthly Newsletter to get the best hostel deals and news sent straight your inbox. You can unsubscribe at any time.