X

Home to the world's greatest Hostels

30,000 properties, 180 countries Over 3.5 million guest reviews 21 million bookings

Lagan Backpackers Reviews

121 Fitzroy ave, Belfast, Belfast, Northern Ireland

Reviews & Ratings Explained

83%

Rating
1723 Total Reviews
  • 86%Value For Money
  • 84%Security
  • 80%Location
  • 91%Staff
  • 85%Atmosphere
  • 77%Cleanliness
  • 77%Facilities

The rating percentage is calculated from customers who booked within the last 12 months.

All ratings and reviews are based on the feedback and opinions of the customers who submitted them and do not express the opinions of Hostelworld.com. This way, you get an up-to-the-minute opinion of just how good a hostel really is.
Read our review guidelines »

  • Show:

69%

Good place to stay for a few nights, rooms aren't all the same size , some 4 beds are much smaller than others, most of the toilets are in the same room as the shower so that can be frustrating. But Lagan has a real cozy/home feel to it and staff were quite friendly. Value for money , would stay again.

  • 12th Dec 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Australia
  • Female, 18-24
  • (1 review)


100%

The staff at Lagan worked very hard to keep the hostel very clean and the personalised brekkie for everyone was lovely! Haven't stayed in a hostel so personable and always looking out for our needs. Thanks Lagan! I stayed in the sister hostel, Finn McCool, near the Giant's Causeway and it was perfect. It is a quaint house with a conservatory to sip tea and watch the skies change dramatically. I am missing the toast Steve made for brekkie already :p


94%

Very good hostel. The people working there are very kind and helpful. Good price/quality relationship.


100%

I really really love this fantastic place !!!!!!

  • 6th Dec 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • China
  • Female, 18-24
  • (1 review)


100%

Fantastic hostel centrally located. Thanks to all the staff especially Yolanda for making my stay so much fun. Would highly recommend

  • 29th Nov 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Ireland
  • Female, 31-40
  • (1 review)


100%

Had such a great time at this hostel! Special, huuuuge thanks to Melissa! She was fantastic! And all the other staff were sound, Frank, Yolanda, Dan, Victor...ace people! Beds were comfy, great chill out area...loved the smoking area. Highly recommended! Thank you! :)


74%

The staff were very nice, the breakfasts were good and the way their dorms are set up with curtains for privacy is unique, and I would stay there again. The only adverse comment I would make is that the hostel building itself could use a little TLCTLC.


86%

The place is a little bit shabby, but it's perfect for what we needed. Our room was neat and clean and so were the other communal rooms; the bathrooms weren't fabulous but that was due to dirty guests, not the staff. They cleaned them daily. The highlights were definitely the people (Yolanda definitely deserves a special mention), the movie room and the £3 dinner options. We'd definitely come back.


74%

LaganBackpackers Hostel too "lively" for me.....lots of people coming and going and having parties/ get togethers at night when I am going to bed/ trying to sleep and coming in when I am thinking about getting up etc.....was warned and knew what to possibly expect in advance so this is not a slight on the hostel which overall was good !!

  • 13th Nov 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • England
  • Male, 41+
  • (1 review)


100%

Loved the staff and had a very happy time in Belfast because of such lovely accommodation and kind and helpful staff. Thanks to them all especially Yolanda and (sorry didn't get the name but the other two girls ie Hong Kong born and the other South African - N. Irish heritage. ).

  • 12th Nov 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • England
  • Female, 41+
  • (1 review)


83%

Great location, only a 10 minute walk from the Europa Hotel and City Hall. Staff was very nice and helpful. Free Breakfast was much better than those I've gotten at other hostels. No bar, but I was able to meet a good amount of other travelers in the common room.


57%

I'm not really sure why this place has such a high rating. I was very disappointed with my stay. The hostel is a 15-25 minute walk from the city center. Not close to much like it says. They have shabby lockers but no locks to rent or any way to secure your things. Bathrooms were gross. No paper towels or hand driers. Wifi had a mess of issues, only connected half the time. The staff was very nice and really helpful. The free breakfast was nice but doesn't make up everything else this place lacks

  • 6th Nov 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • USA
  • Female, 18-24
  • (1 review)


51%

The hostel was in the middle of College Row so it was very loud. The room was okay but a little small. The bathroom was shared between 3 different rooms and was nasty. There was mold on the ceiling and the bathroom appeared it had not been cleaned in a long time. The staff were nice. But this hostel was definitely not worth the money I paid.


91%

Stall were amazing, really welcoming, friendly and helpful. The wifi wasnt great but the atmosphere in there more than made up for the poor wifi.


83%

Great breakfast made by staff in the morning. Staff very helpful and knowledgable about the area. Only draw back was room backed onto the road, little sleep due to local nightlife until 4am.

  • 3rd Nov 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Australia
  • Couple, 25-30
  • (1 review)


91%

Melissa was phenomenal! Super efficient, even with her big arms, she checked me in (and out) at the same time! In all seriousness, though, the staff were AllStar, made a killer breakfast, and were super helpful and informative!! "I'll be back"


100%

Awesome Hostel! Best breakfast I have ever had at a hostel. Great staff, extremely helpful and the offer heaps of great tours! Defiantly heading back soon :)


80%

The atmosphere of this backpackers felt particularly homely. The 'movie room' was an added bonus if you just wanted to spend the night chilling out. The cooked breakfast is great although the kitchen needs to be bigger to accommodate for everyone. This hostel is an old house turned into a backpackers so the rooms are quite small, I did particularly like the curtain you could pull across your bed, felt a bit more private & if the light was on you could still sleep. All & all was a good stay.


69%

Showers are in quite bad shape. Glass doors to shower falling apart. Slept in a six bed room- you'll either call it cosy or infringing on your personal space depending on what type of person u are. Room was quite small. Overlooking the smoking place downstairs so people were chatting; quite distracting actually as could talk for hours !! Bed was ok and everything was to be expected for price paid. But only two showers - bad condition and erratic hot water supply


83%

Not enough (working) showers for all the guests and not enough power sockets in the room, apart from that I was positively surprised by the good value for money. It's really cheap especially when you consider that you get free hot and fresh breakfast and as much tea and coffee as you want. Really appreciated the other offers like free pub crawl, cheap burgers and the Giant's Causeway Tour with pick-up from the hostel.

  • 27th Oct 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Germany
  • Female, 18-24
  • (1 review)


« first « Prev 1 2 3 4 5
(91 results)


View all Belfast Hostels

Please give us your feedback