Hostelworld.com

Group of 15 or more?

Contact our Group Travel team directly for a tailor made solution for your group

Lagan Backpackers

Group of 15 or more?

Contact our Group Travel team directly for a tailor made solution for your group

Prices
map
reviews
8.1
Fabulous 3082 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 8.2
  • Security 8.5
  • Location 8.5
  • Staff 8.7
  • Atmosphere 8.2
  • Cleanliness 7.2
  • Facilities 7.6
BOOK NOW
8.1
Fabulous 3082 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 8.2
  • Security 8.5
  • Location 8.5
  • Staff 8.7
  • Atmosphere 8.2
  • Cleanliness 7.2
  • Facilities 7.6

The rating percentage is calculated from customers who booked within the last 12 months. All ratings and reviews are based on the feedback and opinions of the customers who submitted them and do not express the opinions of Hostelworld.com. This way, you get an up-to-the-minute opinion of just how good a hostel really is.
Read our review guidelines

  • Show:
  • Sort By:
  • Anonymous
  • China, All Male Group, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
21st Apr 2017
3.4

We booked 4 beds room for three days, but we were told there was only 6 beds room for us except the first day when we were arranged into a 2 beds room due to no vacancies in other rooms. The prices of 4 beds room and 6 beds room are different, and we did not get any refund. The 6 beds room had only one chair, so we had to stand before we climbed to our upper berths. Besides, the shower was unstable.

    • 2.0Value For Money
    • 6.0Security
    • 6.0Location
    • 2.0Facilities
    • 4.0Staff
    • 2.0Atmosphere
    • 2.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • USA, Female, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
21st Apr 2017
8.6

Great location by the Botanic Gardens, only a short walk to the city center. The room was clean and the lockers were very large. Bring your own lock, though! Good atmosphere with free breakfast, but be prepared to wait a bit for it to be served - best to go put in your order first thing then get ready for the day. We had a problem with overbooking and someone entering at 2:30 am arguing about my friend stealing their bed, but the staff was able to sort it out.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • England, Male, 41+
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
20th Apr 2017
6.9

Stayed here twice recently for one night whilst passing through the city. The second night was ok the first wasnt. The room I was in was above the dining area. The staff decided to have a get together with floor vibrating music. I had an early start so had to ask them to keep the noise down which is not something which should need to be done. otherwise its ok, in a fairly quite area and quite easy to get to from city hall ( 7 a,b and c buses stop just round the corner.)stay again maybe maybe not

    • 6.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 6.0Facilities
    • 6.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
19th Apr 2017
7.1

This hostel was alright, I found it a bit far out from the city centre and not the best level of cleanliness, weird smells going on (maybe I was just unlucky as they had recently painted or done something to the walls, not sure). But they offer breakfast in the morning and the staff is nice.

    • 6.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 6.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 6.0Cleanliness
18th Apr 2017
8.3

I really appreciated the younger vibe as a student traveler, as well as the use of curtains to help give a sense of privacy. Pretty decent place for the price, and the staff is really friendly and helpful. Would go again.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
17th Apr 2017
8.0

The hostel is a 2 minute walk from the botanic gardens and about a 15-20 min walk from the Europa bus centre. Straight forward to walk from hostel to city hall. The breakfast is very good with plenty of choice. They also do meals in the evening for £3.00. There are code lock doors on each room. The bathrooms are fine - they are not as bad as some people make out - I have seen worse.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • England, Mixed Group, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
15th Apr 2017
8.0

The location of this hostel is very convenient, lovely area just by the University and the Botanic Gardens with plenty of great bars and cafes around. The staff were friendly and knowledgeable and helped us book a Black Cab tour as well, I highly recommend it! The only thing that I would improve would be the cleanliness and atmosphere - the room was rather cold to stay in and there were not enough showers resulting in bathroom queues, also the bathrooms did not always feel super clean.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 4.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Ireland, Female, 41+
  • Novice Nomad
  • 2 reviews
14th Apr 2017
7.7

I made my booking via Hostelworld but on arrival I wasn't in the system. Staff were proactive in resolving the matter and despite being fully booked sorted a bed. Not ideal for either party. Bed was spotless. Queue for basic toilet facilities was ridiculous in the morning - very limited. Also very limited shower stalls. Price was steep compared to other hostels with better facilities of similar central location eg Generator hostel Dublin

    • 6.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 4.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
14th Apr 2017
5.7

Overall, the breakfast carried this hostel. There were two showers working in the entire place and getting a shower in the morning that wasn't flooded with someone's else's dirty water was near impossible. Initially, they booked us into the wrong room (bunk bed) and it took a little sorting out initially to prove we had in fact booked the right room and they needed to move us into a double bed. The place needs updating & new bathroom facilities which is why the value for money is below average

    • 4.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 6.0Location
    • 4.0Facilities
    • 6.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 4.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • England, Female, 41+
  • Novice Nomad
  • 2 reviews
13th Apr 2017
6.3

Not enough showers for everyone. Strange door system Scruffy rooms Okay for a night or two and breakfast was OK!

    • 6.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 6.0Location
    • 4.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 6.0Cleanliness

Hostelworld Mobile Apps

Book on the go with the new Hostelworld mobile apps.

Search and book more than 33,000 properties in over 170 countries, from anywhere.

Newsletter Sign Up

Submitting your info

Thank you for signing up to our newsletter!

Sign up for our newsletter to get the best hostel deals and news sent straight to your inbox. You can unsubscribe at any time.