X

Home to the world's greatest Hostels!

30,000 properties, 180 countries Over 3.5 million guest reviews 21 million bookings

Lagoon Backpackers Reviews

Rua Rio de Janeiro, 228, Buzios, Brazil

Reviews & Ratings Explained

81%

Rating
140 Total Reviews
  • 88%Value For Money
  • 77%Security
  • 76%Location
  • 86%Staff
  • 88%Atmosphere
  • 72%Cleanliness
  • 81%Facilities

The rating percentage is calculated from customers who booked within the last 12 months.

All ratings and reviews are based on the feedback and opinions of the customers who submitted them and do not express the opinions of Hostelworld.com. This way, you get an up-to-the-minute opinion of just how good a hostel really is.
Read our review guidelines »

  • Show:

86%

This hostel is close to the port where you can choose from a few nice restraunts and also 10min walking from the main surf beach. The staff spoke minimal english. You can catch a van for 2.5R to the other beaches. Big kitchen which was handy, nice deck to hang out and meet people.


77%

Though I know my score is low, I really enjoyed this hostel. Great atmosphere. Social people. Loved the occasional group dinner. Could be more secure. Though the entrance door locks and requires a fingerprint for entry, I always found the door open and unlocked. Even at night. But a helpful staff, good location, and great people make it worth it.

Owner Comment (Hide)
You are right we had a problem, by now control by password until the fingerprint get repair. We use such a high tech and have 2 guys looking after 24h, even though here is one of the most safe city of Brazil.

74%

The staff was excellent, made our stay incredible and I would stay there again just because of them; kudos to Martin and Julieta! They are always trying to help you in any way they can. I can not say the same about the owner. He gets angry easily. He advertises his hostel as a party hostel, but shuts down any activity before midnight. He even told us to quit playing guitar because "not all the guests like it". He is super arrogant and uncool.

Owner Comment (Hide)
Im sorry to take your attention strongly but "please " did not worked twice! Here is a Party Hostel but with respect to those ones that want to sleep always. (Silence Time: 1:00AM-10:00AM).

80%

We made a quick visit out to Buzios for 3 days and stayed in Lagoon Backpackers. The staff are very friendly, breakfast is actually good (variety of fruit, Panini maker to toast your sandwiches, tomatoes, pepper!, etc.). It is super close to Gerbia beach, which you can easily walk to. The hostel has a nice communal living room area and outside patio/terrace which gives it a nice, chilled out vibe. Communal dinners are cooked so easy to save money and make new friends.


91%

The staff was superb. Breakfast was really tastey . The rooms were clean and good size, and the view of the lake was relaxing.

  • 18th Jun 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • USA
  • Male, 41+
  • (1 review)


89%

The atmosphere is very chill and friendly, the common room is perfect to spend the night there and make new friends. The kitchen is very clean. Rooms are nice.


91%

a nice hostel, with nice crew! the atmosphere was amazing! Kitchen is really good! we booked for 3 nights, ended up staying 10 nights! Last night the crew offered a cheap and tasty BBQ

  • 27th Apr 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Denmark
  • Couple, 18-24
  • (1 review)


71%

The hostel is a little far from the center you have to take a bus (about 20 min), but is very near to some of famous beaches, like Geribá. The security is very poor, the front door is always open even during the night. The breakfast is good, with bread, juice, fruits and the staff is nice. I went during a big holiday so the hostel was full and they have some problems to clean everything. The value for money is good.

Owner Comment (Hide)
NO!! We have people looking after 24h and FINGERPRINT ACCESS CONTROL, it was repairing. Even though tBuzios is the safest place in Brazil as Lagoon Backpackers never had any single problem.

83%

A very nice place to stay, it's on Geribá lake and you have supermarket, locomotion, beach and a couple of thing arround... actually every places are near, because buzios isn´t a big place and with a mini bus you can go everywere in a few minutes. Relation value/quality is awesome, you will find a very good rooms (i tried the private room) for less than other places... Breakfast also is nice: breads, fruits, coffee, natural juices, etc. Regards.

  • 7th Apr 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Chile
  • Couple, 25-30
  • (1 review)


80%

Even though not located in the center it's near beautiful beaches. Amazing staff!


97%

Had such a great time at this hostel, planning to stay for two nights we ended up staying for nearly two weeks. A great chilled out atmosphere with helpful and friendly staff. 100% recommend to younger travellers!


77%

I went twice and both times I had a beauatiful time. The staff is friendly and the place is perfect to have a party or make churrasco. It's easy to go to the center by van and i'ts close to good beaches




View all Buzios Hostels

Please give us your feedback