Hostelworld.com

Lake District Backpackers

Prices
map
reviews
7.2
Very Good 420 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 8.0
  • Security 7.2
  • Location 8.6
  • Staff 5.2
  • Atmosphere 6.6
  • Cleanliness 7.6
  • Facilities 7.4
BOOK NOW
7.2
Very Good 420 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 8.0
  • Security 7.2
  • Location 8.6
  • Staff 5.2
  • Atmosphere 6.6
  • Cleanliness 7.6
  • Facilities 7.4
Lake District Backpackers Located at High Street, Windermere, Cumbria, Lake District.
Lake District Backpackers
England
Lake District Lake District LA23 1AF High Street, Windermere, Cumbria
72% 420
54.3797575 -2.9058837
Lake District Backpackers
    Rooms available

The rating percentage is calculated from customers who booked within the last 12 months. All ratings and reviews are based on the feedback and opinions of the customers who submitted them and do not express the opinions of Hostelworld.com. This way, you get an up-to-the-minute opinion of just how good a hostel really is.
Read our review guidelines

  • Show:
  • Sort By:
  • Anonymous
  • Netherlands, Female, 31-40
  • Novice Nomad
  • 6 reviews
16th Jun 2016
7.4

No staff in sight, but the self-check-in system works. Location is brilliant and the private room was tiny, but comfortable. Not so great were the other guests bumping around through most of the night and no one to correct them. And two bathrooms with a toilet each inside them (no separate toilets) really isn't enough for everyone!

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 6.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
  • marianagelhout
  • USA, Female, 18-24
  • Avid Traveller
  • 10 reviews
7th Jun 2016
8.3

It was a very cute, homey hostel that my friends and I enjoyed hanging out in. Seemed more like a bed and breakfast. There weren't people around to check in or anything but they did have a number to call if we had any problems. We also had to pay in cash the exact amount and put it in a safe which was very odd. There were also only 2 toilet with a shower each, but it wasn't too big of an issue. All in all, pretty good hostel.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 6.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • England, Male, 41+
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
31st May 2016
8.9

Great location to the train station and shops and tourist information. It was like a home from home. Never seen any members of staff but everything was very good. Would stay again.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Ireland, All Female Group, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
13th May 2016
8.9

Great location- really central. Very clean and homely. Obviously not maned by staff but still a great place to stay! During our stay there were only supposed to be 6 people in our room however one night we have 7 people which was very crammed.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 6.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Australia, Couple, 31-40
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
7th May 2016
6.3

Had the basics including breakfast and the place was clean. Felt a bit eerily quiet and lacking atmosphere without staff. There seemed to be only two bathrooms (shower and toilet in each) for the whole place so a lot of waiting. Generally location was fine so if you're not spending time at the hostel it is ok.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 6.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 4.0Facilities
    • 4.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Canada, Mixed Group, 18-24
  • Avid Traveller
  • 11 reviews
6th Apr 2016
7.1

The hostel is extremely close to the bus/train station and a grocery store, which was very convenient. However, it's a fair walk to the lake. This was fine for me, since I was taking buses to go to other areas, but might not be ideal for someone looking to spend all their time by the water. The only real complaint I could make is that the bunk beds are really low, the lowest I have ever slept in! Almost like they were designed for children. I bumped my head a dozen times!

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 4.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 6.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Germany, Female, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 6 reviews
21st Mar 2016
6.9

room code on email and its the same a long time. 5 minute walk to the train station. the tourist office is just across the road. 30 minutes to get down to the lake. you had to place money in an envelope and leave in a box at 'reception', which was just a board with all information pinned on. didnt meet many guests. room and bathrooms clean, kitchen was yuck. cheap though and for one or two nights its quite alright.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 6.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 2.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 6.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Turkey, Female, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
27th Dec 2015
6.9

Windermere backpackers hostel is a very dissent one, it is definitely great value for money, great location but there is no staff in the hostel at all. For example, guests are expected to pay in CASH as they arrive, however there is no one to give any change back. Also, in terms of security, it is hard to agree that it is secure since there is NO staff to help.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 6.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 6.0Facilities
    • 2.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness

Hostelworld Mobile Apps

Book on the go with the new Hostelworld mobile apps.

Search and book more than 33,000 properties in over 170 countries, from anywhere.

Newsletter Sign Up

Submitting your info

Thank you for signing up to our newsletter!

Sign up for our monthly Newsletter to get the best hostel deals and news sent straight your inbox. You can unsubscribe at any time.