Hostelworld.com

Lake District Backpackers

Prices
map
reviews
7.9
Very Good 479 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 8.5
  • Security 8.1
  • Location 9.4
  • Staff 6.3
  • Atmosphere 7.7
  • Cleanliness 7.6
  • Facilities 8.0
BOOK NOW
7.9
Very Good 479 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 8.5
  • Security 8.1
  • Location 9.4
  • Staff 6.3
  • Atmosphere 7.7
  • Cleanliness 7.6
  • Facilities 8.0

The rating percentage is calculated from customers who booked within the last 12 months. All ratings and reviews are based on the feedback and opinions of the customers who submitted them and do not express the opinions of Hostelworld.com. This way, you get an up-to-the-minute opinion of just how good a hostel really is.
Read our review guidelines

  • Show:
  • Sort By:
6th Jan 2017
7.1

The place is nice. I was there in the winter so the place was really really empty.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 2.0Staff
    • 4.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • England, All Female Group, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
6th Jan 2017
8.3

Lovely location and super homely. First hostel visit in the U.K. And we really enjoyed the visit. We will defiantly be back here in the spring. Thank you for a lovely stay 😊

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Brazil, Female, 41+
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
30th Dec 2016
7.1

The room was very dusty, and there was sand and dirt on the carpet that looked like it was never cleaned for ages. When I tried to use the vaccum cleaner it was blocked and I had to clean it before using it. There was milk splashes all over the fridge that were there for ages as well, and I had to clean it inside for hygiene. The floor in the bathroom doesn't seem to be cleaned ever as well, probably because there was not a mop in sight all over the house. But the place was warm and comfy tks.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 6.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 4.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 4.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • England, Male, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
2nd Dec 2016
7.7

Great hostel. Stayed for 3 nights but never met the staff as the hostel is pretty much self service. Fully functioning kitchen including gas hob/cooker, laundry and fridges. Not sure how often the simplex codes on the doors change hence the mid scoring on security.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 6.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 6.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • England, Male, 31-40
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
17th Oct 2016
8.9

Brilliant location and plenty of space to chill out in the lounge. Good place to stay and close to bus/train station. Check emails or contact them before u arrive to get a code for the front door! Overall value for money.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 6.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Malaysia, Male, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
11th Oct 2016
8.0

I like the concept of self service hostel. This hostel is complete and fits my kind of needs. It has a kitchen, a washing machine and a dryer. The bathroom is clean and is in a good location near a supermarket. Breakfast is free and I enjoyed using the kitchen. Just what I need for a budget trip. You get to chat and enjoy the tv with fellow travelers. Thumbs up to Lake District Backpackers Hostel.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
  • vivianyenwen
  • Taiwan, Female, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 6 reviews
4th Oct 2016
7.7

It was a self-service hostel, meaning that there is no staff on site. The rooms are nice and the bed is comfortable. The only thing that can be improved would be the number of toilets and shower. There are only two, which is definitely not enough when the hostel is full as at one point there were 3 people queueing to go use the toilet and/or shower. Luckily there is a small faucet in the room where we can brush our teeth. The free breakfast was simple but enough, and definitely a bonus.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 6.0Facilities
    • 6.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 6.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • New Zealand, Female, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 6 reviews
28th Sep 2016
8.3

Small hostel that feels like home. Didn't see the owners at all but self check in system works well. Comfy bed and great wifi.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 4.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Germany, Female, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 5 reviews
20th Sep 2016
9.1

Nice and clean but I haven't seen the owner for the whole time I've stayed there though. So it might be helpful to know that the money not only needs to be paid in cash only but also that there will be no change.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 6.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • England, Male, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 8 reviews
17th Sep 2016
9.7

Hostel without staff, it is suck a interesting experience. Wifi is fast, and you get a small but well functioned kitchen. Location is awesome - minutes from WIndermere Station and tourist info centre.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness

Hostelworld Mobile Apps

Book on the go with the new Hostelworld mobile apps.

Search and book more than 33,000 properties in over 170 countries, from anywhere.

Newsletter Sign Up

Submitting your info

Thank you for signing up to our newsletter!

Sign up for our newsletter to get the best hostel deals and news sent straight to your inbox. You can unsubscribe at any time.