Hostelworld.com
HostelBookers Logo

Group of 15 or more?

Contact our Group Travel team directly for a tailor made solution for your group

Lake District Backpackers

Group of 15 or more?

Contact our Group Travel team directly for a tailor made solution for your group

Prices
map
reviews
7.8
Very Good 455 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 8.3
  • Security 7.7
  • Location 9.1
  • Staff 6.0
  • Atmosphere 7.7
  • Cleanliness 8.0
  • Facilities 7.7
BOOK NOW
7.8
Very Good 455 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 8.3
  • Security 7.7
  • Location 9.1
  • Staff 6.0
  • Atmosphere 7.7
  • Cleanliness 8.0
  • Facilities 7.7
Lake District Backpackers Located at High Street, Windermere, Cumbria, Lake District.
Lake District Backpackers
England
Lake District Lake District LA23 1AF High Street, Windermere, Cumbria
78% 455
54.3797575 -2.9058837
Lake District Backpackers
    Rooms available

The rating percentage is calculated from customers who booked within the last 12 months. All ratings and reviews are based on the feedback and opinions of the customers who submitted them and do not express the opinions of Hostelworld.com. This way, you get an up-to-the-minute opinion of just how good a hostel really is.
Read our review guidelines

  • Show:
  • Sort By:
  • Anonymous
  • USA, All Female Group, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
9th Sep 2016
9.1

It was our first time staying in a hostel, so we were very pleasantly surprised. The facilities were clean and well-maintained, the beds were comfortable, and the location was great! Would definitely recommend Lake District Backpackers!

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Czech Republic, Female, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 3 reviews
8th Sep 2016
7.7

Perfect place where to stay if you´re looking for a nice accomodation for a good price!

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 6.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 6.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • England, Female, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 3 reviews
2nd Sep 2016
8.9

Great little hostel! It was not staffed during our stay but there was a number to call if you needed anything, which we didn't. It has a good kitchen and lounge and a really friendly feel. Right near the train station (£4 a day parking for 24hr) and buses go to all sorts of places from there too. We found the beds comfy and we slept well. Great Spanish restaurant practically next door! Would happily stay again.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 6.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • tamarakerr
  • Australia, Female, 18-24
  • Avid Traveller
  • 12 reviews
29th Aug 2016
6.9

There are no staff on site so you check in yourself. Which I didn't mind at all, which is easy enough to do. Shower was pretty clean, kitchen was a bit dirty and draws were broken which made it hard to get in and use things. I was stoked that we were put in a four bedroom but only ended up being in there by ourselves for the whole time even though the sign said there was no more vacancies! A solid forty minute walk to the water which I was okay with but some people may disagree

    • 6.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 6.0Facilities
    • 2.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 6.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Australia, Male, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 8 reviews
16th Aug 2016
6.3

Weird, but not vad for the price.

    • 6.0Value For Money
    • 6.0Security
    • 6.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 6.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 6.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Australia, Female, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 5 reviews
12th Aug 2016
6.3

Good location, close to trains and the village centre. Security code for both front door and rooms needs to be changed regularly- no point having them otherwise. Definitely needs more toilets/showers. Wifi was decent. Fridge was leaking while I was there, not sure what was wrong with it

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 4.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 4.0Facilities
    • 6.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 6.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Taiwan, Female, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
10th Aug 2016
10.0

It's a very good place! The breakfast is so so,but there is a wonderful kitchen. And the bathroom is really clean and big. I love this hostel.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
9th Aug 2016
8.0

Very hand-off staff (everything's on the honors system), but a nice little place. Bathrooms are very clean and nice, but there's only two of them for the whole place, which just isn't enough. Nice kitchen, but one of the burners on the range is broken. Very close to the train station and a grocery, 15 minute hike to the next town over where you can catch the ferry.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 6.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Australia, Female, 25-30
  • Globetrotter
  • 43 reviews
6th Aug 2016
8.9

Good location near center of Windermere. Short walk from train station. Self check-in was easy and straightforward, though I booked a 4-bed dorm and was allocated the 6-bed dorm. Good kitchen/lounge area. Laundry use was cheap. Lots of information available on Windermere and surrounds. There are only 2 bathrooms for 22+ people though. Great place to meet other travellers and the wifi was decent. I would however recommend door security codes be updated more regularly.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 6.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
6th Aug 2016
9.4

Excellent place to stay, great social atmosphere. No staff on site, all services are self-service including check in, it's based on honesty. Pretty unique system. Decent kitchen.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness

Hostelworld Mobile Apps

Book on the go with the new Hostelworld mobile apps.

Search and book more than 33,000 properties in over 170 countries, from anywhere.

Newsletter Sign Up

Submitting your info

Thank you for signing up to our newsletter!

Sign up for our monthly Newsletter to get the best hostel deals and news sent straight your inbox. You can unsubscribe at any time.