Hostelworld.com

Group of 15 or more?

Contact our Group Travel team directly for a tailor made solution for your group

Lake District Backpackers

Group of 15 or more?

Contact our Group Travel team directly for a tailor made solution for your group

Prices
map
reviews
7.6
Very Good 493 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 8.3
  • Security 7.9
  • Location 9.5
  • Staff 5.8
  • Atmosphere 7.0
  • Cleanliness 7.1
  • Facilities 7.8
BOOK NOW
7.6
Very Good 493 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 8.3
  • Security 7.9
  • Location 9.5
  • Staff 5.8
  • Atmosphere 7.0
  • Cleanliness 7.1
  • Facilities 7.8

The rating percentage is calculated from customers who booked within the last 12 months. All ratings and reviews are based on the feedback and opinions of the customers who submitted them and do not express the opinions of Hostelworld.com. This way, you get an up-to-the-minute opinion of just how good a hostel really is.
Read our review guidelines

  • Show:
  • Sort By:
  • Anonymous
  • England, Female, 41+
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
21st Apr 2017
10.0

What a lovely area in the lake district. We had everything we needed. Breakfast was lovely and the views were amazing. Highly recommended

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
7th Apr 2017
7.7

Good location. Only two bathrooms which makes getting out in the morning a little challenging. The beds were a bit rickety but all in all it was a decent experience. If your going to be backpacking around the Lake District this is a perfect stop for a night or two. Maybe not for an extended stay.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 6.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 6.0Facilities
    • 4.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
View Property Reply

Hi Gordon, thanks for your comments regarding the beds. These will be attended to shortly and tightened up. thanks Paul

  • Anonymous
  • England, Male, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
5th Apr 2017
5.7

Regarding staff, the contact before arrival was good, but that was all. It is fairly clear that the "cleaner" has no idea how to clean. The floor was covered in dirt to the extent that it hadn't been hoovered in months. The worst was one of the beds which had BLOOD STAINS on it and still the old sheets. I was not impressed. Finally most of the food for breakfast was out of date, though there was replacement. If you stay, be prepared for the worst.

    • 6.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 4.0Facilities
    • 4.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 2.0Cleanliness
View Property Reply

Hi Mathew, thanks for your comments. The cleaner has been notified of this error and I apologise for that. Regarding the out of date food in the kitchen. There is a notice that says the bread comes from the freezer and therefore to ignore the date. Perhaps you did not see the notice?

  • Anonymous
  • USA, Female, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
4th Apr 2017
4.6

What staff? Never saw owner once. Cleaning service lacking (trash overflowing, bathrooms never cleaned) and we were there 3 nights. Refrigerator not keeping food cold, showers not draining, etc. Couldn't wait to leave!

    • 4.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 2.0Facilities
    • 2.0Staff
    • 4.0Atmosphere
    • 2.0Cleanliness
View Property Reply

Hi Beth - thank you for your comments, Unfortunately, during your stay the manager/cleaner fell ill, so standards were not up to what they usually are and I apologise if this affected your stay.

1st Apr 2017
6.3

You are given a code to enter the building and your room. I am not sure how often these codes are changed and I am concerned that the codes for two different rooms were the same. One of my roommates left so insecure in her room alone that she actually pushed an extra bed in front of the bed... Furthermore, the shower was so dirty and full of mud and hair that I actually cleaned it myself before using it for fear of picking up an infection... While breakfast was provided it wasn't great..

    • 6.0Value For Money
    • 4.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 4.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 6.0Cleanliness
View Property Reply

Hi Maria - thanks for your comments. The reason that we have CCTV in the hostel is precisely to add security to the operation ( although some resent this!) We offer budget accommodation and if you wanted a better breakfast then perhaps a B and B would have suited you better at a lot higher cost? Room codes are changed regularly and would add that your booking was for 2 females and it was only when you made contact with us that you informed us that one of the party was a male!

  • Anonymous
  • Italy, Female, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 7 reviews
27th Mar 2017
8.0

Great place in a perfect location! I was there a couple of weeks ago, the room was very clean and so was the bathroom; the hostel is located near the train station and the tourist office (2 minutes walk) in Windermere, not far from the lake (just go straight ahead for about 20 minutes and you'll be in Bowness on Windermere). Perfect if you want a place to stop and rest during your exploration of the wonderful Lake District!

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 6.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • England, Couple, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 8 reviews
3rd Mar 2017
8.6

Clean hostel ideally located by the train station . Perfect for exploring this part of the lakes at a decent price very quite so if looking for social place probs not for you but perfect for us to explore the area. The system runs well and works for then can't comment on staff having not met any of them the kitchen was well equipoise and there were plenty of things in the common room area to look at

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 6.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • China, Female, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
24th Feb 2017
9.1

Considering the location and the price I will recommend this hostel. But there is no reception and the owner has not told me about the password for the gate or the room, until I phone him on the night I arrived! The breakfast is nasty. The bread is out of date for long time and the owner left a message telling us not to worry about it...

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 6.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
6th Jan 2017
7.1

The place is nice. I was there in the winter so the place was really really empty.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 2.0Staff
    • 4.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • England, All Female Group, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
6th Jan 2017
8.3

Lovely location and super homely. First hostel visit in the U.K. And we really enjoyed the visit. We will defiantly be back here in the spring. Thank you for a lovely stay 😊

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness

Hostelworld Mobile Apps

Book on the go with the new Hostelworld mobile apps.

Search and book more than 33,000 properties in over 170 countries, from anywhere.

Newsletter Sign Up

Submitting your info

Thank you for signing up to our newsletter!

Sign up for our newsletter to get the best hostel deals and news sent straight to your inbox. You can unsubscribe at any time.