X

Home to the world's greatest Hostels!

30,000 properties, 180 countries Over 3.5 million guest reviews 21 million bookings

Lake Lodge Iseltwald Reviews

Reviews & Ratings Explained

86%

Rating
391 Total Reviews
  • 85%Value For Money
  • 79%Security
  • 88%Location
  • 94%Staff
  • 89%Atmosphere
  • 85%Cleanliness
  • 82%Facilities

The rating percentage is calculated from customers who booked within the last 12 months.

All ratings and reviews are based on the feedback and opinions of the customers who submitted them and do not express the opinions of Hostelworld.com. This way, you get an up-to-the-minute opinion of just how good a hostel really is.
Read our review guidelines »

  • Show:

57%

The view was the only thing good about the hostel for us. The 10 bed dorm was very crowded and the beds were just mattresses separated by wood. There are no lockers or shelves to place your bags, you share one key with all your roommates, the wifi sucks, one shower and bathroom on our whole floor and there are only 2 staff so they were always busy and not very knowledgeable at times. If we stayed in a smaller dorm it probably would have been a better experience for us.


89%

Can't really go wrong when you're surrounded by the alps! Nice bathrooms, kitchen, and common area. Simple, yet unlimited and free breakfast assortment. Dorms are recommended as long as you don't require a large personal bubble, as the beds are VERY close together.


97%

Truly magnificent place, the hostel overlooking the lake! the staff friendly and helpful our every question and request was accepted and resolved! We were very comfortable, the rooms designed in an intelligent way and overall it's a great property! wifi does not work but we were advised at check in, but there's more to see than internet! will provide sheets and breakfast very good!! obviously is a place to relax ,than you can find so much nature and tranquility!

  • 14th Jun 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Italy
  • Female, 25-30
  • (1 review)


77%

Great beautiful location. My only complaints were the bed situation was a little strange (beds on the floors next to each other), and the bathrooms were not the best. Wi-fi also never seemed to work the entire time there. Still a good location and good affordable hostel.


80%

This place was nice and quiet, not a party atmosphere but exactly what we were looking for in Switzerland for a calm night. The view from our balcony room was gorgeous and worth more than we paid!


91%

Amazing location for lake activities.

  • 12th Jun 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • England
  • Couple, 25-30
  • (1 review)


89%

I really enjoyed this place. The only drawback was that it isn't in the mail city, but the staff accommodates that by providing free bus travel to all of the guests. Other than that, this place was perfect for me. I would definitely recommend this place to any friends visiting Interlaken!


91%

It was beautiful here! You are out if town a little ways but it is totally worth it. The hostel staff offered plenty of help with navigating and helping you find activities. We loved it and would go back!


94%

staff were great, really helpful.

  • 7th Jun 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • England
  • Male, 31-40
  • (1 review)


86%

Gorgeous, amazing location- we are in love. Beds are a bit closer together than we would have liked and the rooms are somewhat cramped for 8 people, but otherwise great hostel and we can't wait to return!


91%

Amazing location with gorgeous view of the Lake. Incredible kayaking, solid breakfast, wonderful placement for hiking, and relaxing. Wifi was really spotty, but with the views just outside your window, it was hard to remain indoors. I definitely plan to return.


80%

Great location if you are wanting to stay in a little bit of paradise outside of Interlaken itself.


43%

there 's no warm water in the later time,so if you want to have a show you muss take it earlier in the day time. I hate cold shower. There 's all night long people upstairs keep going and the noise transfer through the wooden floor, We four cannot bear that!


89%

We had a great stay. Thank you for keeping the place in top shape!


97%

Wow, wow, wow. Talk about staying in a cabin with a postcard view out the window. Iseltwald is the prettiest place I've ever seen. The hostel is very cabin like, has tons of activities available for travelers, and a free breakfast. Rooms are small and wifi is practically non existent, but that just promotes you to be outdoors in the prettiest place on earth. Stay here


66%

The wifi was not working for the entire duration of my stay, the response was simply "sometimes it doesn't work". Beware, the 7-bed mixed dorm was very cosy. No space in between each bed, mattresses are literally right up against each other. There also was only one key for our entire room (mixed dorm for 7). The staff was friendly, the village itself was lovely. Beware the grocery store closes at noon on saturday and is closed completely Sunday. The natural beauty made our stay worth it.


66%

No Wifi and terrible breakfast! It took us over an hour to eat breakfast because when we came down everything was empty, and it took half an hour for the attendant to fill anything since she was also working the front desk. The food that did get filled was aweful. If their breakfast is going to be that bad, they should just forget it and lower the price. Also, the wifi was down almost our whole stay, but even when it was working in the building it wouldn’t in our room.

  • 24th May 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Canada
  • Female, 18-24
  • (1 review)


86%

The view is fantastic and the kitchen has everything you need. This is a really fun hostel with a good atmosphere. But a few things: the wifi is unreliable and they weren't kidding when they said the beds were close together. It's literally one big bunk bed with little divisions in between. But just avoid the 10 person rooms; do the smaller ones.The buses stop running at 9:30 so if you want to go out for drinks don't stay here. If you are fine with staying in and talking to people it's perfect.


80%

breakfast can be better

Owner Comment (Hide)
Thank you for the feedback. We will try to improve the breakfast but it is really difficult because the room rates are so cheap and we can't offer a 5 star breakfast. Hopefully see you again, best regards, Pascale

89%

Absolutely beautiful location, right on the lake. The staff was very nice and helpful, and you get a bus pass which is nice because the bus is quite expensive. I would stay here again!


(43 results)


View all Interlaken Hostels

Please give us your feedback