Hostelworld.com

Group of 15 or more?

Contact our Group Travel team directly for a tailor made solution for your group

Lakeside Backpackers

Group of 15 or more?

Contact our Group Travel team directly for a tailor made solution for your group

Prices
map
reviews
6.2
Good 156 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 6.0
  • Security 5.7
  • Location 8.5
  • Staff 7.0
  • Atmosphere 6.1
  • Cleanliness 5.3
  • Facilities 5.1
BOOK NOW
6.2
Good 156 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 6.0
  • Security 5.7
  • Location 8.5
  • Staff 7.0
  • Atmosphere 6.1
  • Cleanliness 5.3
  • Facilities 5.1

The rating percentage is calculated from customers who booked within the last 12 months. All ratings and reviews are based on the feedback and opinions of the customers who submitted them and do not express the opinions of Hostelworld.com. This way, you get an up-to-the-minute opinion of just how good a hostel really is.
Read our review guidelines

  • Show:
  • Sort By:
  • Anonymous
  • England, Female, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 3 reviews
18th Apr 2017
8.6

We stayed here for one week which is the maximum stay here. All in all it was a decent hostel. We got a four bed female dorm and the beds were comfortable. The hostel is very basic but it's clean enough and because it's a small hostel it's never crowded when you need to cook or shower. The reception staff are lovely too. We would stay here again.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • England, Mixed Group, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
17th Apr 2017
4.0

I know it's cheap, but it's awful. The people there have no consideration for others and we're yelling and screaming untill the early hours of the morning and they would always leave the front door open so anyone could just walk in. The beds were uncomfortable and the rooms were super cold. The bathroom was dirty and one morning I went to have a shower and there was a used condom in it. Overall not a very nice place to stay.

    • 2.0Value For Money
    • 2.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 4.0Facilities
    • 6.0Staff
    • 2.0Atmosphere
    • 2.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Australia, Male, 31-40
  • Novice Nomad
  • 3 reviews
14th Apr 2017
4.3

The facilities were worse than I've had in developing countries. Shower floor flooded. The bathroom had pieces fall of it. Everything was like it was from 1975 but not in a good way. The wifi was not free. The only redeeming grace was the absolutely lovely receptionist who was helpful, kind and friendly.

    • 2.0Value For Money
    • 4.0Security
    • 6.0Location
    • 2.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 4.0Atmosphere
    • 2.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Australia, Female, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 8 reviews
12th Apr 2017
6.3

Very average last resort stay ended up cancelling and going elsewhere.

    • 4.0Value For Money
    • 6.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 6.0Facilities
    • 6.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 6.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Canada, Female, 31-40
  • Novice Nomad
  • 9 reviews
12th Apr 2017
7.4

Wasn't given a ton of information upon check in. Lots of passive aggressive notes around reminding people to keep things neat in the rooms, but there was no place to put things! Location and view were outstanding, though.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 6.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 6.0Facilities
    • 6.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Scotland, Female, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
26th Mar 2017
4.6

This hostel was dirty, empty and not very pleasant. After booking for two nights stay myself and friend booked somewhere else for the second night upon arrival. The staff were lovely however and it's a great location. Facilities were just awful

    • 2.0Value For Money
    • 4.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 2.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 4.0Atmosphere
    • 4.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • USA, Mixed Group, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 3 reviews
21st Mar 2017
4.3

Would not recommend this place unless it was the only place available (which is why I ended up staying here). Fine as a place to crash, but not to hang out at. Facilities were dingy and broken. Way overpriced for what you get.

    • 2.0Value For Money
    • 4.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 2.0Facilities
    • 6.0Staff
    • 4.0Atmosphere
    • 4.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Australia, Male, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 6 reviews
9th Mar 2017
6.3

AMAZING location right on the shorefront. This hostel is decent for a short stay when everything else is booked- buf honestly, the main problem is how crowded it is- the rooms are small and theyve tried to cram in as many beds as possible. The bathroom is tiny for the number of people using it. Basically, its a place you'll want to leave when you wake up and not return home to until its time to sleep. Dont expect an awesome place to hang out inbetween your adventures.

    • 6.0Value For Money
    • 4.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 2.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • England, Female, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 4 reviews
4th Mar 2017
4.9

We booked a provate room in the 'hostel' section. The rooms needs a good lick of pain as mould can be seen all around the room. The one bathroom / toilet that was shared between about 5 rooms water ran out onto the front of the building and the water collected in the shower. It was fine to stay for the one night but could do with a bit of vamp up for the money they charge. Very, very average..

    • 4.0Value For Money
    • 6.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 2.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 2.0Atmosphere
    • 4.0Cleanliness
2nd Mar 2017
7.7

Great little place, not very clean, no free wi-fi (payed cards instead). But the staff were fantastic and helpful, met a few characters too.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 6.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 6.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 4.0Cleanliness

Hostelworld Mobile Apps

Book on the go with the new Hostelworld mobile apps.

Search and book more than 33,000 properties in over 170 countries, from anywhere.

Newsletter Sign Up

Submitting your info

Thank you for signing up to our newsletter!

Sign up for our newsletter to get the best hostel deals and news sent straight to your inbox. You can unsubscribe at any time.