Hostelworld.com
HostelBookers Logo

Group of 15 or more?

Contact our Group Travel team directly for a tailor made solution for your group

Lakeside Backpackers

Group of 15 or more?

Contact our Group Travel team directly for a tailor made solution for your group

Prices
map
reviews
6.2
Good 112 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 6.0
  • Security 5.6
  • Location 8.5
  • Staff 7.2
  • Atmosphere 5.8
  • Cleanliness 5.0
  • Facilities 5.1
BOOK NOW
6.2
Good 112 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 6.0
  • Security 5.6
  • Location 8.5
  • Staff 7.2
  • Atmosphere 5.8
  • Cleanliness 5.0
  • Facilities 5.1
Lakeside Backpackers Located at 18 Lake Esplanade, , Queenstown.
Lakeside Backpackers
New Zealand
Queenstown Otago 9300 18 Lake Esplanade
62% 112
-45.0346275 168.6539447
Lakeside Backpackers
    Rooms available

The rating percentage is calculated from customers who booked within the last 12 months. All ratings and reviews are based on the feedback and opinions of the customers who submitted them and do not express the opinions of Hostelworld.com. This way, you get an up-to-the-minute opinion of just how good a hostel really is.
Read our review guidelines

  • Show:
  • Sort By:
4th Jan 2017
6.3

The hostel is fine in a pinch, but there are better options.

    • 6.0Value For Money
    • 6.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 6.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 4.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Belgium, Female, 18-24
  • Avid Traveller
  • 10 reviews
23rd Dec 2016
7.1

Good for one night stayover. What you expect for this cheap price in Queenstown area.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 6.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 6.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 6.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • England, Female, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 4 reviews
5th Dec 2016
4.6

Nothing in kitchen to cook with. No room in fridge. Main door and bedroom continuously left open.

    • 4.0Value For Money
    • 4.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 4.0Facilities
    • 4.0Staff
    • 4.0Atmosphere
    • 4.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Wales, Female, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 4 reviews
3rd Dec 2016
3.7

Terrible hostel don't stay here. The rooms were never locked, anyone can get into the building. The toilets and showers were full of mold, the bedrooms were a mess. Didn't touch the 'living room' because the sofas are disgusting and really old, the tele didn't work and the kitchen stunk. You also have to pay for wifi which isn't ideal. Go anywhere but here

    • 2.0Value For Money
    • 2.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 2.0Facilities
    • 6.0Staff
    • 4.0Atmosphere
    • 2.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Malaysia, Couple, 31-40
  • Novice Nomad
  • 7 reviews
3rd Dec 2016
6.6

For the similar price, there are other much better options. We stayed here as other hostels weren't available. The place is old compared to other hostels, kitchen is small. Only the location is good which is by the lake.

    • 6.0Value For Money
    • 6.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 6.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 6.0Cleanliness
26th Nov 2016
4.9

AVOID AT ANY COST Good Price and Location but the place is terrible. Staff was not friendly, room smelled of mold, and the morning after there were still empty beer bottles everywhere. WORST HOSTEL IN QUEENSTOWN

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 6.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 2.0Facilities
    • 4.0Staff
    • 2.0Atmosphere
    • 4.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • England, Male, 41+
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
23rd Nov 2016
4.3

No, stay at YHA!

    • 4.0Value For Money
    • 4.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 4.0Facilities
    • 4.0Staff
    • 4.0Atmosphere
    • 2.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Spain, Female, 31-40
  • Novice Nomad
  • 6 reviews
21st Nov 2016
4.9

The location is great but the place needs a lot of improvement. The rooms, kitchen and toilets are really dirty and run down and there is not enough stuff for all the guests. The rooms were no ready at 14:00 despite this being the check in time. Also, the short reception hours meant that we lost the key deposit because we had to check out at 7:00. Despite returning the key and calling twice to remind them the deposit has not yet being reimbursed.

    • 4.0Value For Money
    • 6.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 4.0Facilities
    • 4.0Staff
    • 4.0Atmosphere
    • 2.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Australia, Female, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
14th Nov 2016
9.1

Good location, friendly staff, everything I needed :)

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 6.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Australia, Male, 31-40
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
23rd Oct 2016
9.1

Stayed for a quick night - staff were very friendly, accom had everything I needed - I was a little sceptical having read the reviews on here AFTER I had booked, though was pleasantly surprised when I arrived. Definitely value for money in this awesome town, will book my whole stay here next time for sure. chilled, great views.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness

Hostelworld Mobile Apps

Book on the go with the new Hostelworld mobile apps.

Search and book more than 33,000 properties in over 170 countries, from anywhere.

Newsletter Sign Up

Submitting your info

Thank you for signing up to our newsletter!

Sign up for our newsletter to get the best hostel deals and news sent straight to your inbox. You can unsubscribe at any time.