Hostelworld.com
HostelBookers Logo

Group of 15 or more?

Contact our Group Travel team directly for a tailor made solution for your group

Lakeside Backpackers

Group of 15 or more?

Contact our Group Travel team directly for a tailor made solution for your group

Prices
map
reviews
6.1
Good 92 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 5.9
  • Security 5.6
  • Location 8.9
  • Staff 7.3
  • Atmosphere 5.3
  • Cleanliness 4.5
  • Facilities 5.0
BOOK NOW
6.1
Good 92 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 5.9
  • Security 5.6
  • Location 8.9
  • Staff 7.3
  • Atmosphere 5.3
  • Cleanliness 4.5
  • Facilities 5.0
Lakeside Backpackers Located at 18 Lake Esplanade, , Queenstown.
Lakeside Backpackers
New Zealand
Queenstown Otago 9300 18 Lake Esplanade
61% 92
-45.0346275 168.6539447
Lakeside Backpackers
    Rooms available

The rating percentage is calculated from customers who booked within the last 12 months. All ratings and reviews are based on the feedback and opinions of the customers who submitted them and do not express the opinions of Hostelworld.com. This way, you get an up-to-the-minute opinion of just how good a hostel really is.
Read our review guidelines

  • Show:
  • Sort By:
  • Anonymous
  • England, Male, 41+
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
23rd Nov 2016
4.3

No, stay at YHA!

    • 4.0Value For Money
    • 4.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 4.0Facilities
    • 4.0Staff
    • 4.0Atmosphere
    • 2.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Spain, Female, 31-40
  • Novice Nomad
  • 6 reviews
21st Nov 2016
4.9

The location is great but the place needs a lot of improvement. The rooms, kitchen and toilets are really dirty and run down and there is not enough stuff for all the guests. The rooms were no ready at 14:00 despite this being the check in time. Also, the short reception hours meant that we lost the key deposit because we had to check out at 7:00. Despite returning the key and calling twice to remind them the deposit has not yet being reimbursed.

    • 4.0Value For Money
    • 6.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 4.0Facilities
    • 4.0Staff
    • 4.0Atmosphere
    • 2.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Australia, Female, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
14th Nov 2016
9.1

Good location, friendly staff, everything I needed :)

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 6.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Australia, Male, 31-40
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
23rd Oct 2016
9.1

Stayed for a quick night - staff were very friendly, accom had everything I needed - I was a little sceptical having read the reviews on here AFTER I had booked, though was pleasantly surprised when I arrived. Definitely value for money in this awesome town, will book my whole stay here next time for sure. chilled, great views.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • New Zealand, All Male Group, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
23rd Sep 2016
5.4

Door had a lock. Beds were ok. Mouse running around the hostel which the staff didn't seem to care about. Bathroom had mould and in a dire need of a coat of paint.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 4.0Facilities
    • 4.0Staff
    • 2.0Atmosphere
    • 4.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Scotland, All Female Group, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 5 reviews
21st Sep 2016
7.7

Overall a pleasant stay! However the front door to the hostel being never locked it felt unsafe at night. Free wifi would also have made our trip slightly better as it was a struggle to book and plan things once we arrived in Queenstown.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 4.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 6.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Australia, Male, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 2 reviews
19th Aug 2016
4.0

if this place was demolished and then burned I still wouldn't touch the ashes with a 20 foot pole.

    • 2.0Value For Money
    • 2.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 2.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 2.0Atmosphere
    • 2.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Australia, Male, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
8th Aug 2016
8.9

Grate place close to town and cheap

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 6.0Cleanliness
13th Jul 2016
4.6

Absolutely horrible! Nothing worked in the kitchen, the bathroom was falling apart and covered with mould. The room was also mouldy and smelled like old cheese. Good location, but avoid at any cost!

    • 4.0Value For Money
    • 4.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 2.0Facilities
    • 6.0Staff
    • 4.0Atmosphere
    • 2.0Cleanliness
  • matthew_wood8318
  • New Zealand, Couple, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
2nd Jul 2016
4.3

The room stunk of mould, left the window open so there was some fresh air even though it was freezing outside. Our door had newspaper covering the window so not very private. Bathroom had no soap to wash hands, a melted hair dryer and only one locking shower. some curtains were black with mould around the place. Generally run down and unpleasnt stay. Great water pressure though.

    • 2.0Value For Money
    • 6.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 2.0Facilities
    • 6.0Staff
    • 4.0Atmosphere
    • 2.0Cleanliness

Hostelworld Mobile Apps

Book on the go with the new Hostelworld mobile apps.

Search and book more than 33,000 properties in over 170 countries, from anywhere.

Newsletter Sign Up

Submitting your info

Thank you for signing up to our newsletter!

Sign up for our newsletter to get the best hostel deals and news sent straight to your inbox. You can unsubscribe at any time.