Hostelworld.com

Group of 15 or more?

Contact our Group Travel team directly for a tailor made solution for your group

Lakeside Backpackers

Group of 15 or more?

Contact our Group Travel team directly for a tailor made solution for your group

Prices
map
reviews
6.3
Good 180 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 6.0
  • Security 6.1
  • Location 8.7
  • Staff 7.1
  • Atmosphere 6.0
  • Cleanliness 5.2
  • Facilities 5.2
BOOK NOW
6.3
Good 180 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 6.0
  • Security 6.1
  • Location 8.7
  • Staff 7.1
  • Atmosphere 6.0
  • Cleanliness 5.2
  • Facilities 5.2

The rating percentage is calculated from customers who booked within the last 12 months. All ratings and reviews are based on the feedback and opinions of the customers who submitted them and do not express the opinions of Hostelworld.com. This way, you get an up-to-the-minute opinion of just how good a hostel really is.
Read our review guidelines

  • Show:
  • Sort By:
  • Anonymous
  • England, Couple, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
12th Aug 2017
4.6

Great location. My partner and I stayed in a private room. Unfortunately the damp in the room was so bad we could hear a constant dripping on to our floor all night stopping us from sleeping. The wall paper was peeling from the damp. But worst of all the toilet seat was cracked right across and my partner injured himself just sitting on it. Definitely would not recommend this place at all. Stay away!

    • 4.0Value For Money
    • 6.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 2.0Facilities
    • 6.0Staff
    • 4.0Atmosphere
    • 2.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • New Zealand, Female, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
31st Jul 2017
7.1

I loved the view from backpackers girls room and staff were lovely and helpful calling me a taxi and keeping the key kept outside reception door on my arrival , thank you so much I had a nice stay.

    • 6.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 6.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 4.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • New Zealand, Female, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
17th Jul 2017
6.0

I feel like going back with a scrubbing brush and a big bucket of cleaning liquid...cobwebs, sticky floors, didnt take a shower as so dirty....floors in toilets collapsing and you have to put your shoulder behind the toilet door to open it as it sticks on the bottom, curtains ripping if tracks but!!!!....great location, awesome views tho...

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 2.0Facilities
    • 6.0Staff
    • 4.0Atmosphere
    • 2.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • South Africa, Couple, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
12th Jul 2017
4.6

Worst place I have ever booked at. Ended up getting a refund after 10/15 minutes of being there. Walked into the room and it wreaked of mould, found mould all along the wall right behind the bed. The bed wasn't made up, and had hair everywhere.....wouldn't be surprised if you'd get head lice and nits from it. Would love to know the health and safety rating of the place as we felt sick just being in the room for a few minutes. Definitely wouldn't recommend booking at lakeside backpackers.

    • 2.0Value For Money
    • 6.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 4.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 2.0Atmosphere
    • 2.0Cleanliness
  • lwebb1982
  • England, Female, 31-40
  • Avid Traveller
  • 10 reviews
10th Jul 2017
6.3

If you want cheap here the place to stay! Its far from anything and smells a bit and i wouldn't eat here! The best thing its a very small hostel and you make friends quickly! Also very close to town and great views over the lake...

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 4.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 6.0Facilities
    • 6.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 6.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • New Zealand, Male, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
29th Jun 2017
4.3

Room was not as advertised. Lots of mold on the walls and peeling paint.

    • 4.0Value For Money
    • 4.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 2.0Facilities
    • 6.0Staff
    • 2.0Atmosphere
    • 2.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • New Zealand, All Female Group, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
28th Jun 2017
8.0

a good but basic backpackers. not great on facilities but the location and cost made up for it. did what was needed but did not exceed expectations. could do with some repairs and extended facilities. the guests were great :)

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 6.0Facilities
    • 6.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 6.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • New Zealand, Female, 41+
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
27th Jun 2017
6.0

This place is shabby and very old. The toilet seat had a big split in it for example. I also doubt very much it has sufficient compliance if there was to be a fire. Exit point would be a problem with only one door in and out which is via the kitchen! Would I stay there again - no, not good enough for the price.

    • 6.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 2.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 4.0Atmosphere
    • 6.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Germany, Female, 41+
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
26th Jun 2017
8.0

Small room but good value for money and good location. My late arrival was no problem, everything worked out well.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • England, All Female Group, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
24th Jun 2017
5.4

Damp, cold, not clean. Room hadn't been made way after check in time. only redeeming feature was the Lady at reception very nice, gave us our money back as we made a booking somewhere else after seeing the room.

    • 4.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 4.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 4.0Atmosphere
    • 2.0Cleanliness

Hostelworld Mobile Apps

Book on the go with the new Hostelworld mobile apps.

Search and book more than 33,000 properties in over 170 countries, from anywhere.

Newsletter Sign Up

Submitting your info

Thank you for signing up to our newsletter!

Sign up for our newsletter to get the best hostel deals and news sent straight to your inbox. You can unsubscribe at any time.