Hostelworld.com
HostelBookers Logo

Group of 15 or more?

Contact our Group Travel team directly for a tailor made solution for your group

Lakeside Backpackers

Group of 15 or more?

Contact our Group Travel team directly for a tailor made solution for your group

Prices
map
reviews
6.4
Good 139 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 6.4
  • Security 5.8
  • Location 8.5
  • Staff 7.2
  • Atmosphere 6.2
  • Cleanliness 5.4
  • Facilities 5.2
BOOK NOW
6.4
Good 139 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 6.4
  • Security 5.8
  • Location 8.5
  • Staff 7.2
  • Atmosphere 6.2
  • Cleanliness 5.4
  • Facilities 5.2

The rating percentage is calculated from customers who booked within the last 12 months. All ratings and reviews are based on the feedback and opinions of the customers who submitted them and do not express the opinions of Hostelworld.com. This way, you get an up-to-the-minute opinion of just how good a hostel really is.
Read our review guidelines

  • Show:
  • Sort By:
  • Anonymous
  • Australia, Male, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 5 reviews
9th Mar 2017
6.3

AMAZING location right on the shorefront. This hostel is decent for a short stay when everything else is booked- buf honestly, the main problem is how crowded it is- the rooms are small and theyve tried to cram in as many beds as possible. The bathroom is tiny for the number of people using it. Basically, its a place you'll want to leave when you wake up and not return home to until its time to sleep. Dont expect an awesome place to hang out inbetween your adventures.

    • 6.0Value For Money
    • 4.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 2.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • England, Female, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 4 reviews
4th Mar 2017
4.9

We booked a provate room in the 'hostel' section. The rooms needs a good lick of pain as mould can be seen all around the room. The one bathroom / toilet that was shared between about 5 rooms water ran out onto the front of the building and the water collected in the shower. It was fine to stay for the one night but could do with a bit of vamp up for the money they charge. Very, very average..

    • 4.0Value For Money
    • 6.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 2.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 2.0Atmosphere
    • 4.0Cleanliness
2nd Mar 2017
7.7

Great little place, not very clean, no free wi-fi (payed cards instead). But the staff were fantastic and helpful, met a few characters too.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 6.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 6.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 4.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • USA, Female, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
13th Feb 2017
8.0

Quick walk into main area of town. No lock boxes in the room. The showers were nice and hot with good pressure. The main issue I had with this place was the girl at the front desk, a young blonde girl, was pretty short giving any sort of answer, like I was asking the world if her by asking a question. She helped me book my shuttle to the airport for 5:30am then didn't bother to mention there would be no one at the office to check out that early so I couldn't get my key deposit back :/

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 6.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 4.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Canada, Female, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 3 reviews
10th Feb 2017
3.7

This hostel is absolutely disgusting. A homeless man slept on the coach and harassed residents. Showers are gross and there are puke stains on the carpets. But the people are great and very welcoming! If you like to party and meet new people this is a good hostel

    • 6.0Value For Money
    • 2.0Security
    • 6.0Location
    • 2.0Facilities
    • 4.0Staff
    • 4.0Atmosphere
    • 2.0Cleanliness
8th Feb 2017
6.0

Nice location with good view that's a quiet walk along the lake just outside town. The social atmosphere was friendly, but the physical facilities could use some refurbishing. The kitchen is spacious and well-equipped (stove, oven, microwave, etc.), but people don't seem to take care of the space very well. The front door has a combo lock, but the door is difficult to shut from the outside since the lock mechanism replaces the door handle, making the lock a bit pointless.

    • 6.0Value For Money
    • 4.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 6.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 4.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Norway, Female, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 6 reviews
4th Feb 2017
6.3

Not as bad as many of the reviews say, but you do get what you pay for.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 4.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 6.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 4.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Australia, Male, 41+
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
2nd Feb 2017
7.1

The staff were very friendly. The linen was clean and the twin room was comfortable. The staff loaned some clean towels which was over and above the obligation. Thankyou.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 6.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 4.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 6.0Cleanliness
  • ellehcimclarke7991
  • England, Female, 31-40
  • Novice Nomad
  • 2 reviews
25th Jan 2017
6.6

Good views of the lake, not very attractive kitchen or living room but ok. Near to town. It is not the smartest place but it's fine. It was cheap.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 4.0Facilities
    • 6.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 6.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Hong Kong, Male, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
15th Jan 2017
3.1

The main door and the room door are never been locked. Everyone can get in easily. The room is really small and has a bad smell. The toliet and shower room is really dirty. The kitchen is messy and dirty too. No one is cleaning up their food and cooking stuff. The microwave dosent work properly and we cannot reheat our food. No free WiFi and you have to pay $2 for 250mb Wi-Fi per day. If you check out before 8am, there is no way you can reach the reception and $10 key deposit will be gone.

    • 2.0Value For Money
    • 2.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 2.0Facilities
    • 2.0Staff
    • 2.0Atmosphere
    • 2.0Cleanliness

Hostelworld Mobile Apps

Book on the go with the new Hostelworld mobile apps.

Search and book more than 33,000 properties in over 170 countries, from anywhere.

Newsletter Sign Up

Submitting your info

Thank you for signing up to our newsletter!

Sign up for our newsletter to get the best hostel deals and news sent straight to your inbox. You can unsubscribe at any time.