Hostelworld.com

Lakeside Backpackers

Prices
map
reviews
5.4
Rating 66 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 5.3
  • Security 5.2
  • Location 7.5
  • Staff 6.2
  • Atmosphere 5.5
  • Cleanliness 3.9
  • Facilities 4.1
BOOK NOW
5.4
Rating 66 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 5.3
  • Security 5.2
  • Location 7.5
  • Staff 6.2
  • Atmosphere 5.5
  • Cleanliness 3.9
  • Facilities 4.1
Lakeside Backpackers Located at 18 Lake Esplanade, , Queenstown.
Lakeside Backpackers
New Zealand
Queenstown Otago 9300 18 Lake Esplanade
54% 66
-45.0346275 168.6539447
Lakeside Backpackers
    Rooms available

The rating percentage is calculated from customers who booked within the last 12 months. All ratings and reviews are based on the feedback and opinions of the customers who submitted them and do not express the opinions of Hostelworld.com. This way, you get an up-to-the-minute opinion of just how good a hostel really is.
Read our review guidelines

  • Show:
  • Sort By:
  • Anonymous
  • Australia, Female, 41+
  • Novice Nomad
  • 3 reviews
23rd Mar 2016
3.7

You did keep asking for feedback! We were booked to return for three nights 29/3-1/4/16 but booked into YHA Lakefront which was beyond comparison for just $5/night more for our twin room. At Lakeside Backpackers, the room was passable, the shared toilet/shower were not terribly clean, the kitchen had few utensils and was left messy and untidy. The residents had low regard for tidiness. We reported the freezer of one unit was so frozen up the door was burst ajar about 6 inches.

    • 2.0Value For Money
    • 4.0Security
    • 6.0Location
    • 2.0Facilities
    • 6.0Staff
    • 4.0Atmosphere
    • 2.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • New Zealand, Male, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 7 reviews
19th Mar 2016
6.0

Pros; the hostel is right on the lakeside and a close walk to the center for an OK price. Cons; probably one of the most run down places I have stayed at in many years/countries backpacking! We used cafe bathrooms instead!. The shower was broken on our floor (apparently it had been like that for a month). It seems like the owners don't care as they are waiting to knock it down and build something flasher. I think charging for wifi is odd in this day-and-age.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 6.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 4.0Facilities
    • 6.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 2.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • New Zealand, Male, 41+
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
18th Mar 2016
4.0

This facility is in a great location, but in very bad repair, paint peeling off walls, shower not working on the floor that I was on, kitchen a mess, lack of kitchen utensils. On the good side the shower was hot but no curtain. Would I recommend this back packers, that would be a emphatic NO.

    • 2.0Value For Money
    • 6.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 2.0Facilities
    • 6.0Staff
    • 2.0Atmosphere
    • 2.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • England, Female, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
12th Mar 2016
5.1

If you like staying in smelly teenage boys' bedrooms, this is perfect for you

    • 6.0Value For Money
    • 6.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 2.0Facilities
    • 6.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 2.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Germany, Female, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
8th Mar 2016
3.4

Lakeside Backpackers was the worst hostel during my stay in New Zealand. It was the most expensive one, as well as the dirtiest one. I would NEVER stay there again. The only good thing about it is the location not far from the town center and the incredible view of the lake. However, I would definitely NOT recommend it.

    • 2.0Value For Money
    • 6.0Security
    • 2.0Location
    • 2.0Facilities
    • 6.0Staff
    • 4.0Atmosphere
    • 2.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • England, All Female Group, 18-24
  • Avid Traveller
  • 14 reviews
28th Feb 2016
6.3

Having read the reviews on this place we were expecting a lot worse than we actually found. The dorms were average, clean beds, satisfactory kitchen and the bathroom was fine. The price was pretty decent for Queenstown and it really wasn't an unpleasant stay as some reviews had led us to believe.

    • 6.0Value For Money
    • 4.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 6.0Facilities
    • 6.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 6.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • England, Female, 41+
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
13th Feb 2016
4.0

Desperately needs some attention. Bathroom is shockingly awful.... shower not working and basin falling apart. Very poorly maintained. Would not use again.

    • 4.0Value For Money
    • 4.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 2.0Facilities
    • 6.0Staff
    • 2.0Atmosphere
    • 2.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • USA, Female, 31-40
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
26th Jan 2016
4.9

This was the nastiest, skankyest backpacker I've ever stayed at. Dirty, rundown, room the size of a closet with a weird smell and peeling paint. On a floor with three private rooms, shower constantly occupied by people from upper floor who left bathroom soaking wet from floor to ceiling and hallway carpet saturated, which apparently is the norm. Maintenance and cleaning by kids living there on work visas. Final touch was a bug crawling out of my food bag. Absolutely disgusting.

    • 6.0Value For Money
    • 4.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 4.0Facilities
    • 6.0Staff
    • 4.0Atmosphere
    • 2.0Cleanliness
  • tjcop3116
  • England, Couple, 25-30
  • Avid Traveller
  • 20 reviews
10th Jan 2016
3.7

This place is a dump. It's as if by calling it a 'backpackers' has given them the right to neglect the place. This place makes a public toilet look like a 5 star hotel. Room stank of mold, kitchen a health hazard, no staff and the piste de resistance was getting woken up by people knobbing in the bathroom.

    • 2.0Value For Money
    • 6.0Security
    • 6.0Location
    • 2.0Facilities
    • 4.0Staff
    • 4.0Atmosphere
    • 2.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Canada, Mixed Group, 41+
  • Novice Nomad
  • 2 reviews
28th Dec 2015
9.1

They over booked so our room got upgraded.. AWESOME

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness

Hostelworld Mobile Apps

Book on the go with the new Hostelworld mobile apps.

Search and book more than 33,000 properties in over 170 countries, from anywhere.

Newsletter Sign Up

Submitting your info

Thank you for signing up to our newsletter!

Sign up for our monthly Newsletter to get the best hostel deals and news sent straight your inbox. You can unsubscribe at any time.