Hostelworld.com
HostelBookers Logo

Group of 15 or more?

Contact our Group Travel team directly for a tailor made solution for your group

Lakeside Backpackers

Group of 15 or more?

Contact our Group Travel team directly for a tailor made solution for your group

Prices
map
reviews
5.7
Rating 81 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 5.8
  • Security 5.3
  • Location 8.2
  • Staff 7.1
  • Atmosphere 5.0
  • Cleanliness 4.2
  • Facilities 4.4
BOOK NOW
5.7
Rating 81 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 5.8
  • Security 5.3
  • Location 8.2
  • Staff 7.1
  • Atmosphere 5.0
  • Cleanliness 4.2
  • Facilities 4.4
Lakeside Backpackers Located at 18 Lake Esplanade, , Queenstown.
Lakeside Backpackers
New Zealand
Queenstown Otago 9300 18 Lake Esplanade
57% 81
-45.0346275 168.6539447
Lakeside Backpackers
    Rooms available

The rating percentage is calculated from customers who booked within the last 12 months. All ratings and reviews are based on the feedback and opinions of the customers who submitted them and do not express the opinions of Hostelworld.com. This way, you get an up-to-the-minute opinion of just how good a hostel really is.
Read our review guidelines

  • Show:
  • Sort By:
  • Anonymous
  • New Zealand, All Male Group, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
23rd Sep 2016
5.4

Door had a lock. Beds were ok. Mouse running around the hostel which the staff didn't seem to care about. Bathroom had mould and in a dire need of a coat of paint.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 4.0Facilities
    • 4.0Staff
    • 2.0Atmosphere
    • 4.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Scotland, All Female Group, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
21st Sep 2016
7.7

Overall a pleasant stay! However the front door to the hostel being never locked it felt unsafe at night. Free wifi would also have made our trip slightly better as it was a struggle to book and plan things once we arrived in Queenstown.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 4.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 6.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Australia, Male, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 2 reviews
19th Aug 2016
4.0

if this place was demolished and then burned I still wouldn't touch the ashes with a 20 foot pole.

    • 2.0Value For Money
    • 2.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 2.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 2.0Atmosphere
    • 2.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Australia, Male, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
8th Aug 2016
8.9

Grate place close to town and cheap

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 6.0Cleanliness
13th Jul 2016
4.6

Absolutely horrible! Nothing worked in the kitchen, the bathroom was falling apart and covered with mould. The room was also mouldy and smelled like old cheese. Good location, but avoid at any cost!

    • 4.0Value For Money
    • 4.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 2.0Facilities
    • 6.0Staff
    • 4.0Atmosphere
    • 2.0Cleanliness
  • matthew_wood8318
  • New Zealand, Couple, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
2nd Jul 2016
4.3

The room stunk of mould, left the window open so there was some fresh air even though it was freezing outside. Our door had newspaper covering the window so not very private. Bathroom had no soap to wash hands, a melted hair dryer and only one locking shower. some curtains were black with mould around the place. Generally run down and unpleasnt stay. Great water pressure though.

    • 2.0Value For Money
    • 6.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 2.0Facilities
    • 6.0Staff
    • 4.0Atmosphere
    • 2.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Australia, Couple, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 2 reviews
30th Jun 2016
5.7

When we arrived the door to our room was open, when walking in the musty smell hit. The curtains looked mouldy, paint peeling off the wall, a shonky looking heater on a lean and the bed was not made up. walking through the kitchen and bathroom, they were extremely dated and I dire need of some kind of upgrade. The receptionist was very helpful however and upgraded us to a motel room for one night as they weren't able to sort out the linen. We ended up cancelling the rest of the stay there.

    • 4.0Value For Money
    • 4.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 4.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 6.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Australia, Female, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
28th Jun 2016
6.9

Really nice owners, girls in the reception could be a bit happier. This is a cute hostel in a nice location super quick walk to town. If you don't mind roughing it a bit it's not bad. If you're a chick try and stay in the all female dorm you'll just get a better sleep. Don't crank the heat too high when the room is full! The bathroom is cold and the heaters don't work all that well except in the rooms. Good vibe between the crew but do expect some late nights and early morning rowdin

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 6.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 6.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 4.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Indonesia, Male, 31-40
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
27th Jun 2016
7.1

The bed has so many white things like dandruff and stick on my clothes, I'm not sure what that is. They forgot to provide towels. Living room smells unpleasant. The receptionist is not always there. You have to press the black button provided. I read the instruction on the door, if you have any urgent matter, call by using phone behind the receptionist desk. But when I tried to call the receptionist came and I said I'm not allowed. Price and view is superb, you get a very nice lake view.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 6.0Facilities
    • 6.0Staff
    • 4.0Atmosphere
    • 6.0Cleanliness

Hostelworld Mobile Apps

Book on the go with the new Hostelworld mobile apps.

Search and book more than 33,000 properties in over 170 countries, from anywhere.

Newsletter Sign Up

Submitting your info

Thank you for signing up to our newsletter!

Sign up for our monthly Newsletter to get the best hostel deals and news sent straight your inbox. You can unsubscribe at any time.