X

Home to the world's greatest Hostels

30,000 properties, 180 countries Over 3.5 million guest reviews 21 million bookings

Langstars Reviews

Langstrasse 120, Zurich, Switzerland

Reviews & Ratings Explained

78%

Rating
947 Total Reviews
  • 68%Value For Money
  • 82%Security
  • 80%Location
  • 87%Staff
  • 79%Atmosphere
  • 76%Cleanliness
  • 71%Facilities

The rating percentage is calculated from customers who booked within the last 12 months.

All ratings and reviews are based on the feedback and opinions of the customers who submitted them and do not express the opinions of Hostelworld.com. This way, you get an up-to-the-minute opinion of just how good a hostel really is.
Read our review guidelines »

  • Show:

86%

A good place to stay in Zurich, super expensive alike all Zurich.

  • 5th Jul 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Italy
  • Male, 25-30
  • (1 review)


77%

The hostel was really nicely laid out, had a good atmosphere. Be sure to check out the beers and food in the café downstairs! The staff was really helpful and they all spoke English. My only qualm was with the restrooms. They had cleaning stuff stored in them and there was one toilet, two showers for 12 people on my floor.

  • 4th Jul 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • USA
  • Male, 18-24
  • (1 review)


71%

Would have been fine but it was almost 100 degrees the two days we spent there and the staff provided no air conditioning or fans. During normal weather perhaps this isn't an issue but it was too hot while we were there to sleep or even spend time in the hostel.

  • 3rd Jul 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • USA
  • Female, 25-30
  • (1 review)


57%

Had a bedbug bite when I left...yuck! Rooms, linens and bathrooms were dirty. Staff was nice and helpful. Bar had a great atmosphere at night and really reasonable prices. Kitchen was small and didnt have things like pots to cook with. Expensive (This is Switzerland so I really shouldn't complain about that)


83%

Nice place! Helpful staff, little cafe downstairs. We had a fridge which was nice.


80%

The hotel was in a great location, and the bar downstairs had a great scene. Two negatives: (1) A printer for guest use is not available 24/7-I needed to print out bus tickets for the following day, and had to use an internet cafe down the street. I was told only the chef has access to the printer. (2) 10 CHF for breakfast seems pricey


77%

Hostel is on the main red light street, I was propositioned by a prostitute just walking to it after arriving via train. It's not necessarily an issue, just something to be aware of. Location is for getting to all the main parts of Zurich as well as the main train station. Reception is actually a bar, although staff were friendly and helpful. Rather noisy at night, since the rooms are above the bar in the red light district. Rooms are pretty much what you'd expect in a hostel.


63%

Area seemed sketchy. But I am sure it's safe. Close to train and bus.

  • 25th Jun 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • USA
  • Female, 25-30
  • (1 review)


86%

Very nice people, the owner is a really nice guy. It would help if they had more information about some places to see, but still, I really enjoyed my time there. Zurich is an expensive city, but the hostel has excellent beer for an excellent price. If you're on a budget, don't come to Zurich, but if you want a great experience, and to see one of the most beautiful cities in the world, this hostel is probably your best option.


69%

Beds were rubbish. Very narrow and saggy. For the price, it could be a lot nicer. YMCA hostel in Basel for the same price was far nicer. The Kiwi cafe on the ground floor was great however.


100%

Great experience! I don't understand why the hostel has so many negative reviews. The staff was super friendly and helpful, they have free towels available for use, it's a short walk away from the main part of the city/main translation, and they give you a FREE DRINK per night. Obviously it's pretty pricy compared to hostels in other countries but what isn't expensive in Switzerland. I also had the pleasure to meet several amazing people during my time at Langstars. Stay here!

  • 20th Jun 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • USA
  • Male, 18-24
  • (1 review)


91%

The New Zealand guy at the coffee bar in the morning is awesome! You guys are lucky to have him. The live music at night is really fun. Fantastic location although the directions that are written out on Hostel World are incorrect and need to be changed.


94%

Great deal for price and location. Rooms are pretty sweet and spacious, but I will say watch your head on those low bunkbeds. Staff was nice and you get a free beer each night. Wifi works great in rooms.


94%

Great place, great staff!!


86%

The hostel is very clean and well located, and the staff at the reception/bar was very friendly. As it is said in the description, the hostel is located in a noisy area and, trust me, it's not something you can fight just with earplugs. Silent hours were not respected by guests, who kept talking in a very loud voice in the common area until late. Many drunk guys arriving in the morning (and one vomited in the toilet, on the floor :/ ). Great environment for people in their 20s looking for party

  • 13th Jun 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Argentina
  • Male, 31-40
  • (1 review)


89%

Staff was great. Beds were comfortable. Can't ask for a better location along Langstrasse (the party mile)!!


71%

I stayed one night, on a friday night. It was extremely loud, due to the bar downstairs and the ones across the street. It was impossible for me to sleep. Location is good, just ten minutes walking to the train station. Bathrooms weren't very clean, but overall cleanliness was ok.


40%

Looks like improvised. It was a residential building on top of a bar (entrance is outside). To get in, even though a magnetic token-key is needed, the entrance is from the outside of the building, without passing in front of any staff. The rooms are not exactly clean and there is no "sheet" on the bed, just a "sleeping bag white sheet" (a tissue closed all sides but head, where you sleep in, just to save changing sheets). The place is in the middle of a ghetto. Super expensive (swiss prices)...

  • 12th Jun 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Germany
  • Male, 25-30
  • (1 review)


83%

The low rating on 'value for the money' is all about Zurich in general.

  • 12th Jun 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • USA
  • Male, 41+
  • (1 review)


71%

I think the hostel discription is actually fair. Don't expect too much for the price in the middle of Zurich.


« first « Prev 1 2 3 4
(65 results)


View all Zurich Hostels

Please give us your feedback