Hostelworld.com
HostelBookers Logo

Group of 15 or more?

Contact our Group Travel team directly for a tailor made solution for your group

Langstars

Group of 15 or more?

Contact our Group Travel team directly for a tailor made solution for your group

Prices
map
reviews
7.7
Very Good 1,292 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 7.2
  • Security 8.2
  • Location 7.6
  • Staff 8.4
  • Atmosphere 7.7
  • Cleanliness 7.5
  • Facilities 7.2
BOOK NOW
7.7
Very Good 1,292 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 7.2
  • Security 8.2
  • Location 7.6
  • Staff 8.4
  • Atmosphere 7.7
  • Cleanliness 7.5
  • Facilities 7.2
Langstars Located at Langstrasse 120, , Zurich.
Langstars
Switzerland
Zurich Z 8004 Langstrasse 120
77% 1292
47.3792022 8.5275632
Langstars
    Rooms available

The rating percentage is calculated from customers who booked within the last 12 months. All ratings and reviews are based on the feedback and opinions of the customers who submitted them and do not express the opinions of Hostelworld.com. This way, you get an up-to-the-minute opinion of just how good a hostel really is.
Read our review guidelines

  • Show:
  • Sort By:
20th Aug 2016
6.0

This place is pretty rough around the edges. I honestly wouldn't stay again. Staff and location are A+, but the facilities being in need of repair and overall a bit dirty, limited check-in/out hours, and high price as compared to other hostels around Europe made this a difficult one for me to swallow.

    • 2.0Value For Money
    • 6.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 4.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 4.0Cleanliness
2nd Aug 2016
3.7

Staff were on phone when I arrived. No advice about what to do in the city. Area incredibly unsafe at night. No 24hr reception/security.

    • 2.0Value For Money
    • 2.0Security
    • 2.0Location
    • 4.0Facilities
    • 4.0Staff
    • 4.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
View Property Reply

Switzerland is a safe country, there are no troubles for tourists in the area! we have some free tourist information at the bar/ reception

29th Jul 2016
6.0

Clean hostel but in a very sketchy part of town. As a solo female traveler I was very afraid walking around at night and in the evenings as prostitutes and their clients were everywhere along the street. The raucous "partying" outside continued until 6 in the morning, so if you are a light sleeper you are out of luck. Staff were helpful when I had to check out the night before, however the man who checked me in was much more interested in his phone than his job. Will not be staying here again.

    • 6.0Value For Money
    • 6.0Security
    • 2.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 6.0Staff
    • 4.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
View Property Reply

Switzerland is generally a very safe country, all local girls walk around at night alone... Tourists are safe too, don't be afraid, as long you walk on the main street, it is absolutely safe 24 hours. weekends are noisy ( Friday and Saturday nights) the rest of the week the area is quiet.

  • Anonymous
  • Australia, Female, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 5 reviews
28th Jul 2016
6.3

good place to stay in Zurich, however in a street which was described to me as the 'seedier' area definetly felt this, security or back up here from hostel staff in these situations ( where unwanted attention or chatter was given) was limited due to entry door standing alone (no reception) and staff who are to the side too busy with bar/cafe. Limited atmosphere here, although staff friendly vibe in cafe/bar always seemed low, pretty clean, good wifi, lovely coffee in cafe! Easy walk to town!

    • 6.0Value For Money
    • 6.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 6.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 4.0Atmosphere
    • 6.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • England, Female, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 2 reviews
28th Jul 2016
5.7

Don't really know where to start with this hostel, the location is average; it's about a 15 minute walk west of the train station so not too bad but it's the other side of town from all the main attractions. I didn't feel very secure here, the hostel is on the strip of clubs and in the middle of the red light district so the noise went on until 6/7am, so don't expect a good nights sleep when you're here.

    • 4.0Value For Money
    • 6.0Security
    • 6.0Location
    • 6.0Facilities
    • 6.0Staff
    • 4.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
View Property Reply

The area is safe, as Switzerland is very safe country. If you feel unsafe, because in other countries these areas are unsafe, remember that you are in Switzerland : you can walk around safe 24 hours, don't walk in the dark small streets ,eventhough they are although safe. weekends are noisy (friday and saturday nights)

  • Anonymous
  • USA, Female, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
28th Jul 2016
5.1

The hostel was in a pretty sketchy area. It wasn't the cleanest and there was no air conditioning so it was extremely hoT, and we had to leave the window open because of how hot it was, but people were on the streets partying till 4-5 AM but again, not the nicest / safest area in town.

    • 4.0Value For Money
    • 6.0Security
    • 2.0Location
    • 4.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 4.0Cleanliness
View Property Reply

Switzerland is a safe country, so nothing ever happened to the tourists staying in our hostel. Locals are not afraid at all of the area! even women walk around in the middle of the night, just don't talk to strangers and don't go into the dark small streets > like everywhere.... weekends are noisy

26th Jul 2016
7.7

Great hostel for visiting Zurich for only a couple of days. Location was central enough because Zurich is not that big of a city. The bar downstairs was cool for hanging out at night. The only major downside is that there is only one bathroom per floor.

    • 6.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • England, Couple, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 7 reviews
26th Jul 2016
7.7

In a noisy part of town above a bar. But friendly staff and good lockers in rooms. Only one toilet and shower for two dorms, however.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 6.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • England, All Female Group, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 2 reviews
25th Jul 2016
4.9

The bathroom should be cleaned more regularly than it was. The staff were friendly, they didn't socialise with guests, instead were very social to one another which makes an awkward atmosphere, except for Sam, he spoke to everyone and anyone. Security was decent considering it's located in the red light district. Don't believe when they call it the party mile unless strip clubs, prostitutes and sleazy men are your idea of a good time. They should provide proper kitchen facilities.

    • 6.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 4.0Location
    • 4.0Facilities
    • 6.0Staff
    • 4.0Atmosphere
    • 2.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • USA, All Female Group, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 4 reviews
24th Jul 2016
7.7

The hostel was relatively clean and secure with a key fab entry into both the hostel and then the individual floors. They had big lockers for your stuff too. I'd recommend arriving in the daylight though as the area seemed a bit sketchy when my friend and I arrived around 11pm.

    • 6.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 6.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness

Hostelworld Mobile Apps

Book on the go with the new Hostelworld mobile apps.

Search and book more than 33,000 properties in over 170 countries, from anywhere.

Newsletter Sign Up

Submitting your info

Thank you for signing up to our newsletter!

Sign up for our monthly Newsletter to get the best hostel deals and news sent straight your inbox. You can unsubscribe at any time.