X

Home to the world's greatest Hostels

33,000 properties, 170 countries Over 3.5 million guest reviews 21 million bookings

Lantana Lodge International Backpackers Reviews

60 St Georges Bay Road, Parnell, Auckland, New Zealand

Reviews & Ratings Explained

64%

Rating
520 Total Reviews
  • 60%Value For Money
  • 60%Security
  • 63%Location
  • 69%Staff
  • 69%Atmosphere
  • 63%Cleanliness
  • 66%Facilities

The rating percentage is calculated from customers who booked within the last 12 months.

All ratings and reviews are based on the feedback and opinions of the customers who submitted them and do not express the opinions of Hostelworld.com. This way, you get an up-to-the-minute opinion of just how good a hostel really is.
Read our review guidelines »

  • Show:

86%

Ich liebe diese Küche... Die Zimmer sind sauber und das wifi ist gut es ist kein Party Hostel aber wenn man einen schönen Aufenthalt in Auckland haben will ist man hier richtig. Nur für die Schlüssel Abgabe früh morgens brauchen sie ein anderes System.


46%

I haven't really enjoyed my say in Lantana Lodge. The staff isn't helpful at all, at my arrival they just told me that they were a kitchen and bathrooms but haven't shown me where. The kitchen isn't super clean and moreover the rules of being quiet and respecful is just applying to certain clients...

  • 14th Jan 2016
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • France
  • Female, 18-24
  • (1 review)


63%

A more chilled hostel in a quiet part of town, basically a large house which has been converted. Staff tried to be helpful, facilities pretty average but sufficient. Good comfortable bed. Neighbours consistently complaining about noise past 9pm. Not great value for money really but not bad for a solids night sleep outside the city centre.


74%

The outside area was really nice and throughout the hostel has a homely feeling about it. Taking shoes off inside added to that feeling, I liked it! The facilities where clean and plenty (bathroom as well as kitchen utensils). However, I thought it a bit pricy, and that a couple had to pay for two people when they had to sleep in one bed is just not fair..

  • 4th Nov 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Netherlands
  • Female, 18-24
  • (1 review)


51%

First of all I get there to realise that they had double booked my room even though I had booked weeks in advance the cleaners helped me and showed me where to go... The toilets smelt bad all the time and the noise in the room was shocking you had showers one side and a toilets on the other.. Don't stay here if you want sleep. The staff were hardly ever around but when you got them they did help you out! They always seemed to be cleaning in the mornings but I still found it dirty.


77%

Lantana lodge is a very good place to discover Auckland with great people. The room was very comfy, the atmosphere really kind, I recommend it

  • 16th Sep 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • France
  • Female, 25-30
  • (1 review)


51%

The staff is very nice, but the manager is the worst! There were some shoes stolen and he was just laughing about it. There were some people kicked out, because they were having a quiet cigaret outside after 10pm. The kitchen, badroom and toilet are a sort of cleanish. It could be a really cool lodge, but managed by so short minded people, don't mind going there


The reviews below do not count toward the property's recent rating.
Hide older reviews
66%

It was difficult to contact the front desk due to my last minute check in and poor signage at the front desk that provided directions on how to contact the manager. Once able to contact the manager, he was very friendly and helpful.


86%

Smaller hostel located a bit of a walk from downtown Auckland but had a great atmosphere. Staff and other residents were extremely friendly. All in all good place to crash for longer term residents.


97%

The best hostel I stayed in Auckland! Incredible people and staff (Micky, the receptionist is the best person ever) Love this place.

  • 8th Jun 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Argentina
  • Male, 25-30
  • (1 review)


94%

A very relaxed and clean hostel! perfect to hang around in auckland. located in Parnell, which is a quiet area. a very pleasant stay!


77%

Staying at Lantana Lodge is a really good option if you want to live close to the city center.It takes you about 20 minutes to get there.The hostel is located in a good area and it's a very beautiful house.The staff is very helpful and friendly.The kitchen wasn't that clean,but well equipped.Altogether we had a great stay!


71%

Die Lodge war völlig in Ordnung, Zimmer sind okay, wenn auch in Vollbesetzung etwas sehr eng. Ich war persönlich von der Atmosphäre nicht sehr begeistert. Ansonsten muss man such drauf einstellen jeden Tag 20 min. bis in dir Innenstadt zu brauchen.

  • 5th Apr 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Germany
  • Female, 18-24
  • (1 review)


63%

Kitchen was festy. Didn't want to cook in there. Was going to eat our breakfast on the outside verandah but was littered with ashtrays filled with cigarette butts. Off putting.

  • 2nd Apr 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Australia
  • Mixed Group, 41+
  • (1 review)


83%

Great hostel, very laid back welcoming place. Very accomodating manager, he helped us out a lot.

  • 30th Mar 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Canada
  • Couple, 18-24
  • (1 review)


49%

impossible to sleep before 12 or 1 in the night !!! No rules in this hostel except NO SHOES INSIDE! dirty bathrooms & ktchen. kitchen, dining and lounge area much too small for so many people! dirty / dusty carpet in room, pillows underneath pillow case VERY DIRTY. NEVER AGAIN.

  • 15th Mar 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Germany
  • Female, 31-40
  • (1 review)


86%

A very friendly and relaxed hostel that is kept very clean. Not too close to the ciy centre but in a great suburb full of locals. Kitchen area can get a little crowded and could benefit from another cooker


89%

Familiar and young atmosphere. More like a living community than an ordinary hostel. Very cool and friendly staff.

  • 17th Feb 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Germany
  • Male, 18-24
  • (1 review)

Owner Comment (Hide)
Hi Thank you for your review. We are looking forward to seeing you again! Have fun in New Zealand :)

89%

Great location, friendly staff, pretty quiet.

Owner Comment (Hide)
Hi Thank you for staying in Lantana Lodge. We are looking forward to see you again ^_^

97%

Lantana Lodge was a lovely place to stay, down the bottom of a very steep hill it provided a bit of exercise on the way up. It's located in a super pretty corner of Auckland - Parnell, we had a lovely time walking the streets around this vintage, artsy area. The hostel itself was a nice change from other hostels, much more homey which we really loved.

Owner Comment (Hide)
Thank you for choosing Lantana Lodge. Glad it felt like a home to you Looking forward to seeing you again :)

« first « Prev 1 2 3 4 5 6 7
(421 results)


View all Auckland Hostels

Please give us your feedback