Hostelworld.com
HostelBookers Logo

Group of 15 or more?

Contact our Group Travel team directly for a tailor made solution for your group

Laughing Kiwi Backpackers

Group of 15 or more?

Contact our Group Travel team directly for a tailor made solution for your group

Prices
map
reviews
8.9
Fabulous 114 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 9.1
  • Security 8.8
  • Location 8.3
  • Staff 8.8
  • Atmosphere 8.7
  • Cleanliness 9.6
  • Facilities 9.0
BOOK NOW
8.9
Fabulous 114 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 9.1
  • Security 8.8
  • Location 8.3
  • Staff 8.8
  • Atmosphere 8.7
  • Cleanliness 9.6
  • Facilities 9.0

The rating percentage is calculated from customers who booked within the last 12 months. All ratings and reviews are based on the feedback and opinions of the customers who submitted them and do not express the opinions of Hostelworld.com. This way, you get an up-to-the-minute opinion of just how good a hostel really is.
Read our review guidelines

  • Show:
  • Sort By:
8th Feb 2017
10.0

Great very homey place with well stocked kitchen and very clean bathroom. We got a private double which had lots of space and a comfy bed. Really enjoyed our stay!

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
View Property Reply

Hi! thank you for your review and feedback! that's super nice of you it was a pleasure hosting you please visit again if your in the area :) safe travels- Trace

  • Anonymous
  • Slovenia, Female, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 3 reviews
5th Feb 2017
10.0

I can only write down positive things. It is a very good hostel, comfortable, nice. Kitchen and common room are big and very useful. Staff is really friendly. I recommend it!

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
View Property Reply

Aww thanks you for your review that's very lovely it was a pleasure hosting you :) visit again soon! safe travels- Trace

  • Anonymous
  • Norway, Female, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 6 reviews
25th Jan 2017
9.4

Really enjoyed staying at this hostel! It's a good one!!=)

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • deirdreshiels6582
  • Ireland, Female, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 3 reviews
24th Dec 2016
10.0

Loved this lace. The owners were so nice and friendly checking us and helping us with any questions. We were towards the back and the place had a nice big kitchen and lounge area. Loved the chicken that was running round the place. Wish we could have stayed here longer. Will definitely be returning

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
9th Dec 2016
9.1

Spacious, pleasant common area.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 6.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
29th Nov 2016
9.7

I had a great stay at Laughing Kiwi. The owner is really friendly. The place is very clean. The sheets were so crisp and white if I didn't know better I would think every bed got a brand new set of sheets each stay! I also found the bed to be very comfortable which I didn't expect for a bunk bed. I was the solo female in a room with 3 other guys which was a bit awkward for me, would have preferred an all girl room had one been available. There was lots of storage space in the rooms for luggage.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
4th Nov 2016
8.0

Nice hostel. Too bad the hot tub doesn't actually work.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
View Property Reply

Hot tub getting fixed :) a sock got stuck in the pump sorry you missed it! Visit again soon- Trace

  • Anonymous
  • Denmark, Couple, 18-24
  • Avid Traveller
  • 14 reviews
28th Oct 2016
9.7

Sweet owner, great wifi, good facillities. Near a supermarket and near the nationel park. Not a party place, if that is what you looking for stay in Nelson.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
View Property Reply

Thanks guest that's super nice! travel safe! - Trace

  • Anonymous
  • USA, All Female Group, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 6 reviews
5th Oct 2016
10.0

Absolutely amazing stay here! The cleanest hostel I've ever stayed at and the location is ideal. The owner, Tracy, is extremely sweet and welcoming. Would highly recommend!

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
View Property Reply

Thanks guest! visit again soon travel safe! - Trace

Hostelworld Mobile Apps

Book on the go with the new Hostelworld mobile apps.

Search and book more than 33,000 properties in over 170 countries, from anywhere.

Newsletter Sign Up

Submitting your info

Thank you for signing up to our newsletter!

Sign up for our newsletter to get the best hostel deals and news sent straight to your inbox. You can unsubscribe at any time.