Hostelworld.com
HostelBookers Logo

Group of 15 or more?

Contact our Group Travel team directly for a tailor made solution for your group

Lausanne Guesthouse & Backpacker

Group of 15 or more?

Contact our Group Travel team directly for a tailor made solution for your group

Prices
map
reviews
9.1
Superb 1006 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 8.4
  • Security 9.3
  • Location 9.2
  • Staff 9.4
  • Atmosphere 8.7
  • Cleanliness 9.7
  • Facilities 8.8
BOOK NOW
9.1
Superb 1006 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 8.4
  • Security 9.3
  • Location 9.2
  • Staff 9.4
  • Atmosphere 8.7
  • Cleanliness 9.7
  • Facilities 8.8

The rating percentage is calculated from customers who booked within the last 12 months. All ratings and reviews are based on the feedback and opinions of the customers who submitted them and do not express the opinions of Hostelworld.com. This way, you get an up-to-the-minute opinion of just how good a hostel really is.
Read our review guidelines

  • Show:
  • Sort By:
21st Feb 2017
8.3

It is located right next the main station, but you still need to walk a tiny bit uphill/downhill. The staff is friendly, warm, and helpful. Free transport pass around the city is nice. The dorm is extremely basic, just beds and lights and not much else, but it's clean and beds are comfortable. My main gripe is that the bathrooms aren't designed in a friendly way. No mats to prevent slippage, and no towel hanger within reach. Toilets are also separated from sinks, which is a bit annoying.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 6.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Thailand, Male, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
18th Feb 2017
10.0

Very clean and convenient location. The trains are a bit loud at night since the hostel is right next to the train tracks, but apart from that, my stay was superb.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • England, Male, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
2nd Feb 2017
9.7

I enjoyed my night, aside some corridor noise at night. Really friendly staff. I'd stay here again!

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Germany, Male, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 2 reviews
20th Jan 2017
7.7

Very nice and clean, compared to other hostels maybe a little bit sterile compared to other hostels. The kitchen is well equipped and organized. Just a few things: it is literally next to the rails, so you hear and feel trains passing by. This also means that you are very close to one of lausanne's few supermarkets that have long opening hours. The staff was very nice and helpful. My stay was clouded a little bit by staying in one room with a person who was begging for money/food constantly.

    • 6.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
13th Jan 2017
8.9

We didn't meet anyone but the hostel/guesthouse was mostly empty. Staff was friendly. It is fairly cheap compared to what you can find in Lausanne. Keep in mind that a transport pass for your whole stay in included in the price (This works for every hotel in Lausanne.). Kitchen is well equipped, bathrooms are clean. There is a supermarket open almost all the time at the train station. You don't ear the trains but bring earplugs : this is wooden floor and doors slam easily.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
3rd Jan 2017
9.7

Excellent hostel, extremely near the main train station and the metro (a 4-minute walk, maybe), with good Wi-Fi, well equiped kitchen and friendly staff. The bedrooms and bathrooms are really clean and comfortable. As a bonus, the building itself stands beautifully in the city center, with its sort of Belle Époque architecture. Would definitely recommend for travelers seeking comfort, peace, safety and the reliability of Swiss services.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Romania, Male, 41+
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
3rd Dec 2016
5.7

Hello, It was off my attention when I was booking the place that: 1.Parking has a fee of 11,00 CHF 2. Towels has a fee of 2,00 CHF Sad but true with no joy at all to be bumped with this unusual experience during the very 1st moment of when you have just arrived and caught up unexpected when you already know that you have agreed to pay planned 50 euro / night. By hearing this I was ready to ask if the air we breath here will be charged too ...

    • 2.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 2.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 4.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Indonesia, Female, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 6 reviews
10th Nov 2016
8.9

very clean , quiet , and i can sleep well in this Hostel. 2 tumbs up!

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
8th Nov 2016
9.7

Friendly staff and very chill, comfortable and clean hostel

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Italy, Female, 31-40
  • Novice Nomad
  • 3 reviews
1st Nov 2016
10.0

This is a lovely place! Located closed to the city center and train station. I stayed in a dorm for 4 nights, and they are big enough. The common areas in the lobby are cozy and great for working with your laptop, or chatting with people. The staff is really friendly. Overall, I absolutely recommend this place.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness

Hostelworld Mobile Apps

Book on the go with the new Hostelworld mobile apps.

Search and book more than 33,000 properties in over 170 countries, from anywhere.

Newsletter Sign Up

Submitting your info

Thank you for signing up to our newsletter!

Sign up for our newsletter to get the best hostel deals and news sent straight to your inbox. You can unsubscribe at any time.