Hostelworld.com

Group of 15 or more?

Contact our Group Travel team directly for a tailor made solution for your group

Lausanne Guesthouse & Backpacker

Group of 15 or more?

Contact our Group Travel team directly for a tailor made solution for your group

Prices
map
reviews
8.8
Fabulous 1024 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 8.4
  • Security 8.9
  • Location 9.0
  • Staff 9.1
  • Atmosphere 8.1
  • Cleanliness 9.4
  • Facilities 8.6
BOOK NOW
8.8
Fabulous 1024 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 8.4
  • Security 8.9
  • Location 9.0
  • Staff 9.1
  • Atmosphere 8.1
  • Cleanliness 9.4
  • Facilities 8.6

The rating percentage is calculated from customers who booked within the last 12 months. All ratings and reviews are based on the feedback and opinions of the customers who submitted them and do not express the opinions of Hostelworld.com. This way, you get an up-to-the-minute opinion of just how good a hostel really is.
Read our review guidelines

  • Show:
  • Sort By:
31st May 2017
8.0

Definitely an odd hostel. 4 francs for a baguette and instant coffee is crazy. I only saw a couple of people that were under 30 years old.. everyone else was 40+ so no atmosphere/nightlife. Location is right next to the train tracks which is convenient, but loud. Kitchen closes at 2pm to clean, which is a weird time to do it, in my opinion. Kitchen itself was fantastic. No A/C, so you have to keep windows open at night and listen to the train, or be extremely hot.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
30th May 2017
8.9

If you're young and looking for other people to hangout and/or drink with them I might not recommend here. It was more of a hotel vibe and had much older, businesslike people. My friend and I were needing a chill hostel after our previous city so that worked for us. It was very quiet and clean. Also, there was a pretty courtyard and a full kitchen to use. **Note: to arrive at the hostel it requires a ~50 yard hike up a pretty steep drive. Maybe I need to do more cardio bc I struggled each time

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 6.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Finland, Male, 31-40
  • Novice Nomad
  • 2 reviews
26th May 2017
9.7

Nice beds and just the best location. Lausanne isn't cheap so this was worth the money. A walking distance away from Ouchy and the centre of the city. Beautiful view from the windows.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Canada, Female, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 5 reviews
13th May 2017
9.1

The hostel is right beside Lausanne Gare, then they give you a transit pass, included in room fee, so everything else in the city is super accessible. The staff are friendly and the hostel is quiet and very clean. They give you a discount on Olympic museum tickets, which is awesome. However the front door is open most of the time and reception has limited hours. The lockers are small. Some of my food got stolen from the kitchen, so I'd recommend storing dry/shelf stable goods in your room!!

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 6.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • England, Male, 31-40
  • Novice Nomad
  • 4 reviews
6th May 2017
6.9

Bit of a mixed bag. The building is nice & the location is handy for Luasanne & the train station. Most of the staff were really helpful but sadly with an exception of one who was not so helpful. It was clean but the lockers are outside of the rooms which is annoying. Not much of a hostel atmosphere during my visit as a lt of people were there for work & study.

    • 6.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 6.0Facilities
    • 6.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Hong Kong, Female, 18-24
  • Avid Traveller
  • 12 reviews
22nd Apr 2017
8.0

The hostel is closed to the train station. Everything was clear and good. The staff were nice and it is walkable to the main attractions. The kitchen is functional and wifi worked fine. The only one thing is that it could be a bit noisy at night cause the sound of train passing.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 6.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
  • kaitlynfreire225
  • USA, Mixed Group, 25-30
  • Avid Traveller
  • 10 reviews
17th Apr 2017
9.1

Less than a 5 minute walk from the train station. No breakfast included. We paid a few extra dollars to be upgraded to a private room. It was great, clean room, beautiful views, semi private bathroom. Kitchen and common area were clean. Easy walk down the side of the hill to reach the water, interesting climb back up after a few beers. Restaurants nearby up by the train.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 6.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
15th Apr 2017
9.1

Really nice hostel. Close to the main train station and about a 15 minute walk into the city center. I was in a shared room and both nights it was not completely full, more of a relaxed vibe in the hostel with people reading, playing guitar in the main areas.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
14th Apr 2017
10.0

Stayed there for 2 nights. Private room, so, not much like a hostel. But, a room on th 5th floor, view to the lake. The hostel is located at a 5-10 min walk from the main station. Very nice staff.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • peerapongl4801
  • Thailand, Male, 41+
  • Globetrotter
  • 69 reviews
10th Apr 2017
9.7

Conveniently situated near the main railway station, but relatively peaceful. All rooms including the dorm have panoramic ocean views. Excellent friendly staff, with spacious and well-sanitized rooms, bathrooms, and toilets. It is a good place to review and practice my French here.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness

Hostelworld Mobile Apps

Book on the go with the new Hostelworld mobile apps.

Search and book more than 33,000 properties in over 170 countries, from anywhere.

Newsletter Sign Up

Submitting your info

Thank you for signing up to our newsletter!

Sign up for our newsletter to get the best hostel deals and news sent straight to your inbox. You can unsubscribe at any time.