X

Home to the world's greatest Hostels

30,000 properties, 180 countries Over 3.5 million guest reviews 21 million bookings

Lavender Lodge Kota Kinabalu Reviews

no.6 Jalan Laiman Diki, Kg. Air, Kota Kinabalu, Malaysia

Reviews & Ratings Explained

90%

Rating
416 Total Reviews
  • 95%Value For Money
  • 90%Security
  • 94%Location
  • 94%Staff
  • 82%Atmosphere
  • 93%Cleanliness
  • 86%Facilities

The rating percentage is calculated from customers who booked within the last 12 months.

All ratings and reviews are based on the feedback and opinions of the customers who submitted them and do not express the opinions of Hostelworld.com. This way, you get an up-to-the-minute opinion of just how good a hostel really is.
Read our review guidelines »

  • Show:

100%

Great lodge, very clean throughout and within 15 mins walk to Jesselton Jetty or a easy $3 taxi fare if feeling lazy. Night markets directly behind and a huge seafood dining place just across the street. Washing across road also very cheap to get done. Breakfast basic, toast and some fruit but fills the void for the few hours through till luchtime. Overall a nice place to crash while in KK, id come back here again if passing by once more!


100%

We really enjoyed our three nights at the lavender, the staff were brilliant, Daniel was so helpful, he helped us book our trip to mount Kinabalu and they let us store our big rucksacks while we climbed the mountain and then we spent the night after there to recover after the climb! The location is great, it's opposite a food market and there's a great restaurant on the same street where we ate a lot as the food was delicious. Would definitely recommend this place, it's quiet and peaceful, clean

  • 4th Nov 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • England
  • Mixed Group, 31-40
  • (1 review)


100%

Super clean place, extremly friendly staff and very helpful. If you need to spend a couple of nights in kk this is your place. Breakfast its good!


97%

Upon check in we were upgraded from deluxe double room w/shared toilet to one with attached toilet without any added cost so that was nice. Overall nice, clean hostel with a great location near Sedco Square. One gripe would be that the water pressure in our bathroom was very low.

  • 28th Oct 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Malaysia
  • Male, 25-30
  • (1 review)


91%

The staff are very nice to anwer our question and help us call the taxi etc. The room is very clean.

  • 21st Oct 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • China
  • Female, 25-30
  • (1 review)


97%

This is one of the cleanest hostels I have stayed in. The staff are very friendly and helpful. Good location. Definately recommend to others.


89%

In a word, Spotless. The place was super clean. No worry about bed bugs, we stayed for 4 or 5 nights Oct 2014. Nice enough location, very central, was very happy with our stay.

  • 14th Oct 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Canada
  • Couple, 41+
  • (1 review)


86%

Its a nice hostel, been there 3 times. Some rooms are without windows but all was clean. The staff is helpful and nice.. except the guy with the long hair could work a bit on his attitude. Overall I can recommend it.

  • 5th Oct 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Germany
  • Male, 25-30
  • (1 review)


100%

5 star service from helpful and friendly staffs.


89%

Wonderfull friendly staff with a five star service.


91%

very nice staff. a very friendly Stafenie and nice owner Mdm Nora


77%

The Lavender Lodge met expectations, nothing amazing but no disappointments. Decent internet and helpful staff.


89%

Everything was great! Comfy beds, clean rooms and bathrooms, hot water, Nice breakfast (included) and very friendly staff!


94%

The hotel is very clean and the staff are extremely helpful and welcoming. Great poster of a proboscis monkey with a boner in the hallway. Light breakfast - white toast and a bit of watermelon - but that seems to be the case everywhere in Sarawak and Sabah.


94%

Really nice, clean and respectable hostel. I was a female travelling alone and I stayed in a 6 person female dorm and felt completly safe and secure and the best part was it was seriously cheap! A couple of people who have written reviews for this Hostel complained that the staff were rude but I truly believe that this was a fault of the person staying and not the staff as they were perfectly lovely. The only thing I would say is this is not a party hostel so if thats what you want go elsewhere!

  • 2nd Aug 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • England
  • Female, 25-30
  • (1 review)


86%

Heel leuk hostel! Heel schoon, vriendelijke mensen en eigenaresse helpt je met van alles (wij hebben via haar een drie daagse tocht in de jungle geboekt, was heel leuk)! Zeker aan te raden!

  • 23rd Jul 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Netherlands
  • Female, 25-30
  • (1 review)


54%

Very, very noisy hostel with cockroaches in the bathroom. The room was relatively clean, but barely slept due to the noise of people walking down the corridor past the room.

Owner Comment (Hide)
HI Stephanie, Thanks for your comment. This is very unusual as we normally hear comment that the hostel is too quiet. unfortunately on your second night your adjacent room guests were a little bit noisier, but this is a very isolated incidence. we are actually the quietest hostel in the city. cockroaches are common outside all the buildings and once in a while it can sneak in especially if the windows are left open. But we do make effort to ensure there are non in the rooms, so far so good.

100%

The staff was great, central location and the facility was kept very clean. I would recommend the lavender lodge to anyone going to KK.

  • 21st Jul 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Romania
  • Male, 41+
  • (1 review)


94%

Very clean, basic, quiet hostel. Great value for money.


89%

Stayed in a dorm room and meet so many other single female travels. Great place and central located near the night market!


« first « Prev 1 2
(25 results)


View all Kota Kinabalu Hostels

Please give us your feedback