X

Home to the world's greatest Hostels

30,000 properties, 180 countries Over 3.5 million guest reviews 21 million bookings

Lazy House Reviews

91/13 moo 6, Koh Phangan, Thailand

Reviews & Ratings Explained

90%

Rating
318 Total Reviews
  • 89%Value For Money
  • 87%Security
  • 95%Location
  • 95%Staff
  • 91%Atmosphere
  • 87%Cleanliness
  • 86%Facilities

The rating percentage is calculated from customers who booked within the last 12 months.

All ratings and reviews are based on the feedback and opinions of the customers who submitted them and do not express the opinions of Hostelworld.com. This way, you get an up-to-the-minute opinion of just how good a hostel really is.
Read our review guidelines »

  • Show:

89%

Tacco is incredibly helpful! Anything you could possibly need, he'll help you with. He was always making sure everyone is having a great time !

  • 29th Jul 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Canada
  • Male, 18-24
  • (1 review)


91%

Really good social area inside and outside. Really easy to meet people and socialise with them. Staff were great and really helpful. Location is good in Haat Rin, mainly sunrise and sunset beach so perfect for partying. Definitely would stay here again.


100%

If you're looking for a hostel to cool off and sleep in at koh phan gnan this is definitely a great place to do it. The AC worked great and Taco did a great job cleaning up even with the high volume of people staying at the hostel. Taco definitely makes you feel like he has your back and was extremely helpful with planning and navigating your way around the city. That guy works hard!

  • 29th Jun 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • USA
  • Male, 18-24
  • (1 review)


94%

My stay here for Full Moon was brilliant. Ideal location for Haad Rin beach. A little further away for the other parties but you can't have the best of both on this island. Taco, the hostel manager, was really helpful and always on hand. I booked a 6 person dorm and it was linked to the 24 bed which was the only downside. I may as well have been in a 30 bed dorm. The aircon was on all day which was nice and it was pretty clean. Very social to meet people here if you're travelling alone.


91%

This hostel is perfect if you want to be near the party, just a 5 minute walk from the full moon party beach. The staff were friendly and the food was really good and a fair price. A special mention to Nee Nee the receptionist/ main man! He's so good with information of the island, his English is perfect and he's generally a sound guy. On the night of the full moon and those leading to it he plays the best music and amazing prinks, and the night after he set up a movie for us all. Great vibes x


94%

We were looked after so well by Taco and all his staff, he couldn't have done any more for us. Good and drink vouchers were included and the room was cleaned everyday. Air con was great as well! Definetly one of the nicer places to stay for the full moon, it's less than a five minute walk away but still far enough to get some rest.

  • 27th Jun 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Ireland
  • All Female Group, 18-24
  • (1 review)


83%

Nice sized rooms, though we were in the private section of the upper hostel area (Shenanigans) which we weren't exactly expecting. Luckily though Shenanigans also has a large lobby room to hang out and meet other guests. Walk was a bit farther than advertised to the beach (at least 10 minutes), but overall a good location for Haad Rin Beach.

Owner Comment (Hide)
we dont have any british staff . i am the only one and was in the uk for those date i can copy and paste the in and out stamps in my passport . also i have not had a drink in 7 years !!!!! remove this line from the review , i have no idea who the guest is revering to but he does not work for the hostel

83%

Stayed at lazy house 'shenanigans'. Great atmosphere, well priced, convenient location to Haad Rin sunrise beach (full moon party location) and friendly staff. Nice little grass patch to chill out on when you have had a few brews. I would stay again.


100%

great location for full moon beach and the local kid working at the reception is awesome! seriously! kindest person you will ever meet! and he knows every single corner of the island


94%

Taco, Taco, Taco!!!...his genuine hospitality made me feel at home. He is very knowledgeable of what to do, where to go, and how much it should cost. Goes above & beyond. He deserves to be tipped(it will help his Nepali family). Steve was an excellent host at the Outback restaurant. Funny guy. Pros: 1. Location in Haad Rin [5-7 minute walk to Sunrise beach(where the Full Moon Party takes place) & 2-3 minute walk to Sunset Beach(where ferry can take you to Ko Samui)] 2. Atmosphere


100%

Traveled in thailand for 7 weeks and by far the best hostel we have stayed at. Taco and his wife are absolutely amazing people who have the ability to not only run a fantastic hostel, but to also get to know everyone staying with them. My friend was very sick at one point and they went out of their way to help take care of her and make us feel at home even though we were half way across the world! I would go back just for the hospitality! Love you Taco!!

  • 31st May 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Canada
  • Female, 18-24
  • (1 review)


86%

Really Good hostel staff were amazing got breakfast included every day and was a really good selection, got a free bucket and dinner given to us the night of the full moon by the hostel really good ac would defiantly stay again.


71%

This is a rating for their sister hostel, "shenanigans" which I was moved to upon arrival without explanation, the owner tried to tell me I booked a different place, which was not true Pros: Ac was great Cool people staying there Emily was nice Cons: * Moved to different hostel for no apparent reason * bathroom broke multiple times * 1 bathroom for 18 people on top floor * the owner leaves nasty comments on negative reviews...I await his reply ;) * Service was kind of slow

Owner Comment (Hide)
We moved you to shenanigans because we had a over booking in your dorm . there are 5 bathrooms mate 2 upstairs on the landing and 3 more at the bottom of the stairs . we are 3 minutes from 2 beautiful beaches and you scores us that for location , is that because we moved you ? we had no break ins or thefts reported and you mark us down on security . LETS BE HONEST YOU HAVE MARKED US DOWN BECAUSE WE MOVED YOU EH !!! NOT SHOUTING JUST WANT TO MAKE SURE PEOPLE READ THIS !

94%

Staff is truly incredible. Made everything incredibly easy and knew all the great spots.

  • 31st May 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • USA
  • Male, 18-24
  • (1 review)


100%

this hostel gets my full rating and my 1st ever review for a reason. everything you need in a hostel on this island this place has it covered. from the owner Jon, to Steve and his bar team. great characters. special word must be said about Taco the hostel manager. This guy is just a breath of fresh air. Its good to know there are still people like him on this earth. a genuine top man. honestly my time at Lazy house was one of the best ive had yet. looking forward to next time!! Mark - Ireland


89%

The staff working here are the best! Taco goes out of his way to give you anything you need and always asks you if everything is okay. It can get loud but that is to be expected since it's so close to the full moon party. Still, it's far enough away that you can go to sleep if you need to. I recommend the hostel. It's perfect location and great staff.


86%

Loved it! Laid back atmosphere, central location on Haad Rin, clean, GREAT AIR CON, and great staff!! Taco, who runs the front desk, is hilarious, so helpful and so so kind. He definitely made my time at Lazy House that much better!


100%

Great location, friendly and helpful staff, good food and nice clean rooms. Very easy to meet people! Loved Lazy House

  • 30th May 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • England
  • Mixed Group, 18-24
  • (1 review)


83%

Staff really friendly and helpful, private rooms were all newly but and designed cool, but a few basics gone stray: mattress was terrible tho - could feel every spring. Mosquitoes screen should be put Over the air vents in the bathroom as they get in there. Didn't take from our stay tho, it was a great hos

  • 30th May 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Ireland
  • Female, 18-24
  • (1 review)


83%

Ne Ne was absolutely brilliant! He made our stay so much more enjoyable and helped us whenever we had an issue. The owner could do with chilling out in front of customers! doesnt create a great vibe when he is threatening his staff/son in front of guests! (he was nice most of the time!!)

  • 30th May 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Ireland
  • Couple, 18-24
  • (1 review)


« first « Prev 1 2 3
(53 results)


View all Koh Phangan Hostels

Please give us your feedback