X

Home to the world's greatest Hostels

30,000 properties, 180 countries Over 3.5 million guest reviews 21 million bookings

Le Montclair Montmartre Hostel & Budget Hotel Reviews

62, Rue Ramey, Paris, France

Reviews & Ratings Explained

82%

Rating
5919 Total Reviews
  • 81%Value For Money
  • 82%Security
  • 80%Location
  • 86%Staff
  • 83%Atmosphere
  • 82%Cleanliness
  • 79%Facilities

The rating percentage is calculated from customers who booked within the last 12 months.

All ratings and reviews are based on the feedback and opinions of the customers who submitted them and do not express the opinions of Hostelworld.com. This way, you get an up-to-the-minute opinion of just how good a hostel really is.
Read our review guidelines »

  • Show:

80%

Good hostel. Not in the center but a 5-minute walk to metro station (metro takes 10 minutes). Nice backpacker atmosphere, easy to meet other people. Cold beer sold at the reception for an okay price.


86%

Pros: Nice hostel with friendly and helpful staff!! eg Even though I had to check out before breakfast started the guy at the front desk came and gave me a croissant etc to take with me. Clean rooms with sufficient power points and hot showers. Clear directions to the hostel Cons: The breakfast was quite basic - tea/coffee, 1 croissant and bread w/ butter or jam. The stairs up to the rooms can be quite challenging with a full pack (esp if you are on the 5th floor) if that's a problem for you

Owner Comment (Hide)
Hi there, thanks for this comment, not possible for us to let you start the day without breakfast ! Regarding the breakfast, we are working on a better solution for juice, bred, ... Waiting to welcome you a next time, Romuald Manager

46%

The staff were extremely rude and acted as if it was a hassle for them to check us in and out. The entire floor I was on smelled like an open sewer line. I will never set food in that place again.

Owner Comment (Hide)
Dear Guest, I'm really sorry about your feeling about our Hostel, As Manager, i'm sure that our staff take care of every people staying here. I was at the desk yesterday during the check out time and you did'nt tell anything, any complain... We clean the rooms everyday as the common Area, we hope to welcome you a next time to proove you that we can do better, Romuald Manager

60%

Compare to other hostels, it was a little more expensive for what we received. Staff were great but the facilities and rooms were not up to a great standard.

Owner Comment (Hide)
Hi there,Thanks for this review, it help us to improve our services. Our staff is there to provide yo a wonderful stay. Concerning the rooms, we are working on it, we are installing the AC, we change all the blankets, we are waiting for new curtains, ... it's on the way ! We hope to welcome you a next time, Romuald Manager

89%

Loved it! Very nice staff, always happy to help! The breakfast is pretty good for a hostel and I recognize it makes a lot of difference so it's something that I value a lot. I stayed in a very nice room, everything was great. The hostel is in montmartre area and you have lots of places around that you can go to for a short walk, also it's close to a few subway stations so you can easily get anywhere else.

  • 17th Jun 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Portugal
  • Female, 18-24
  • (1 review)

Owner Comment (Hide)
Bonjour, Thank you for this comment, it's really a pleasure for us to provide you an unforgetable stay in Paris, waiting to welcome you a next time, Romuald Manager

74%

Nice location, beautiful neighborhood, close to two metro lines. Quite clean and safe.The staff was kind but not very friendly. Breakfast was poor (just one croissant per person, really?) Generally, a decent place to stay.

Owner Comment (Hide)
Hi there, thanks for this review, we like to have your feeling about our hostel, concerning the breakfast, you also have bred and as it's free, we try to keep enough for everyone, regards, Romuald Manager

97%

Great value for money here! Nice breakfast with fresh croissants and jams - the coffee was amazing too (very important aspect) ;) Nice location with markets nearby and cute little bakery's and cafes right around the corner. Really close to Jules Joffrin metro station so we felt safe walking around at night to the hostel. Friendly staff who were always willing to help and everyone in the hostel was social :) would definitely choose to stay in this hostel again if I ever go back to Paris :)


83%

The people at the front desk were very friendly and spoke excellent English. I think the shower system should be changed because everyone disliked having to push the button for water to come out for 5 seconds as it is very inconvenient. The rooms are very small, but I did not mind because I only need a bed to sleep in at night. It is not the hostel's fault, but many of the travelers did not clean up after themselves in the kitchen and this made it difficult for others to cook in it.


89%

Good place to stay. I especially liked the entire feel of the place, its very casual and friendly.

Owner Comment (Hide)
Bonjour, Thanks for this comment, our aim is to provide you a wonderful stay in Paris, we 're waiting to welcome you a next time, Romuald Manager

83%

AC was broken so had to keep windows open, could hear people in common area all night, children at school/daycare next door in the morning. Not very lively but located in cool neighborhood near metro and cheap

Owner Comment (Hide)
Thanks for this comment, we're happy to know that you've enjoyed your stay with us, we will leave a note for the night guy to be more efficient with the noise at night. Concerning the AC, it's not broken as it's not in fonction at the moment, it will start in July. Waiting to welcome you a next time, Romuald Manager

74%

It's really close to the Montmartre bars and restaurants It doesn't have elevator, so it's not suitable for old people The staff was helpful and friendly

Owner Comment (Hide)
Bonjour, Thanks for this review, it help us to improve our services. It's difficult in a old building to install a lift but we are working on a solution. We hope to welcome you again for a better stay, Romuald Manager

89%

I had a wonderful at Le Montclair. Everyone was super nice and knowledgable about the area. Would stay here again. Thanks!

Owner Comment (Hide)
Hi there, thanks for your comment, we're happy that you've enjoyed your stay with us, waiting to welcome you a next time, Regards, Romuald, Manager

94%

I spent my first ever trip on my own in Paris, I had a fantastic time there. I liked the hostel pretty much. I enjoyed speaking with the staff, I enjoyed sitting in the lounge. Breakfast was simple but it was nice. It was a great experience. Location was great very close to famous Sacré-Cœur, I went there just by walking. Many nice cafe and restaurants there with a wide range of choices. Very close to metro line.

  • 7th Jun 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • China
  • Female, 18-24
  • (1 review)


57%

It's an acceptable hostel in a good location. The showers were way too small but they were available most of the time so that's a plus. No locker boxes in the rooms; you'll have to pay for them which are located in the hall. No power outlets at the beds, so bringing a battery pack is desirable if you don't want to leave your phone at the door where the outlet is. Also, there's a lack of ventilation in the rooms. The residents seemed cool. All in all, if you're on a tight budget give it a shot.

Owner Comment (Hide)
Hi there, Thanks for your comment, we have some lockers in 90% of the rooms and the rest are for free at the desk, we hope to welcome you a next time for a better stay, Romuald Manager

77%

Great place to stay for a few days, easy to get into the city via metro. Room had a bathroom/shower attached which was handy and beds comfortable. More power plugs in the rooms would be good, only 2 for 8 people so they were always in use. Breakfast was a bit disappointing, only 1 croissant per person or bread rolls and juice/coffee. Staff weren't always at reception and seemed distracted/unpleasant when checking in.

Owner Comment (Hide)
Bonjour, thanks to let us know what you think about the Montclair, we are working to add plugs in the dorms, we do our best to help you to have a wonderful stay in Paris, we hope to welcome you a next time for a better stay, Romuald Manager

97%

Overall great experience at this hostel. One of my favorite in Paris. A couple of areas which could be improved: 1. There was only one outlet plug in my room. Since there are four people living there, it would have been much appreciated if there could have been at least a few more - some hostels I've stayed at even have one per person 2. Larger lockers in the rooms would be awesome so we could store more luggage. Otherwise everything was great - breakfast, Wifi worked really well,

Owner Comment (Hide)
Hi there, thanks for this comment, we are working on a solution for the plugs. Also we know that a good breakfast is a good start for the day. Waiting to welcome you a next time, Romuald Manager

86%

We really liked the hostel! Everything was fine :-)

Owner Comment (Hide)
Well, thank you so much for this review and we 're waiting to welcome you for your next trip, Romuald Manager

94%

Super clean super friendly a quiet time sign would be nice as som guest were super loud all night. But other than that , I would stay there again !

Owner Comment (Hide)
Bonjour, Thanks for your review, we'll welcome you with pleasure, Romuald Manager

100%

Hi, Very very good trip in this Hostel .The good place, at the good time, at the good price !!!! Thanks for everything

  • 4th Jun 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • France
  • Male, 31-40
  • (1 review)

Owner Comment (Hide)
Hi There, Thank you so much, we're happy that you like the time you've spend with us, Romuald Manager

97%

I loved the location- away from all the tourist craziness. Staff was always friendly and helpful, rooms were clean, bathroom was in the 4-bed room which was nice, breakfast and sheets were included, wifi worked well in all spots, truly a great place to stay!


« first « Prev 1 2 3 4 5
(96 results)


View all Paris Hostels

Please give us your feedback