X

Home to the world's greatest Hostels

30,000 properties, 180 countries Over 3.5 million guest reviews 21 million bookings

Le Montclair Montmartre Hostel & Budget Hotel Reviews

62, Rue Ramey, Paris, France

Reviews & Ratings Explained

82%

Rating
6048 Total Reviews
  • 81%Value For Money
  • 81%Security
  • 80%Location
  • 85%Staff
  • 82%Atmosphere
  • 82%Cleanliness
  • 80%Facilities

The rating percentage is calculated from customers who booked within the last 12 months.

All ratings and reviews are based on the feedback and opinions of the customers who submitted them and do not express the opinions of Hostelworld.com. This way, you get an up-to-the-minute opinion of just how good a hostel really is.
Read our review guidelines »

  • Show:

86%

Staff was very helpful and always there. Not near downtown but close to metro stations and navigating the metro was super easy. Would stay here again if I ever go back to Paris!


77%

Pretty basic hostel. The included breakfast wasn't amazing. A baguette, croissant and some tea or coffee. There are heaps of good patisserie around if you're hungry for more. Also lots of supermarkets. Bed was comfy, rooms cleaned every time someone left, our attached ensuite was kept in good condition. Free wifi in the rooms, which was great! No problems with that. All in all it was a decent hostel to stay in but I was ready to leave after 3 nights.

Owner Comment (Hide)
Hi there, thanks for your review, we are working on a better breakfast, We like to provide the everyday cleaning for our guests, we hope to welcome yo a next time, Romuald Manager

100%

Amazing stay! Best hostel of our trip! Very close to metro, grocery, and laundromat. 12 minute walk to Sacre Coeur, which we could see from our window. AC abs wifi in each room. Decent breakfast and helpful staff. Highly recommended!


80%

Good hostel. Not in the center but a 5-minute walk to metro station (metro takes 10 minutes). Nice backpacker atmosphere, easy to meet other people. Cold beer sold at the reception for an okay price.

Owner Comment (Hide)
Hi there, Thanks for your comment, it help us to improve our services. We like to provide you a good moment in Paris, we're waiting to welcome you for your next trip, Romuald Manager

86%

Pros: Nice hostel with friendly and helpful staff!! eg Even though I had to check out before breakfast started the guy at the front desk came and gave me a croissant etc to take with me. Clean rooms with sufficient power points and hot showers. Clear directions to the hostel Cons: The breakfast was quite basic - tea/coffee, 1 croissant and bread w/ butter or jam. The stairs up to the rooms can be quite challenging with a full pack (esp if you are on the 5th floor) if that's a problem for you

Owner Comment (Hide)
Hi there, thanks for this comment, not possible for us to let you start the day without breakfast ! Regarding the breakfast, we are working on a better solution for juice, bred, ... Waiting to welcome you a next time, Romuald Manager

86%

Great location, cheap rooms, efficient service. We witnessed a very difficult customer throwing a tantrum and were impressed with how well the staff handled it.


69%

Nice hostel, but sometimes noisy young people (Americans?), who are something, you donť want to listen to at 1 AM. Good place situated in Montmartre near beautiful Sacre Coeur, cleaning every day, helpful staff... good breakfast, but silly restrictions (only one croissant! only one tea!)... but anyway, we were content.

  • 22nd Jun 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Czech Republic
  • Male, 25-30
  • (1 review)


74%

The hostel has a great atmosphere, easy to meet people, is very close to the metro and a range of cafes and bars in the Montmartre district, and helpful reception staff. I thought it was a little bit pricey for a hostel, but then this is Paris.


94%

I didn't expect that much from this hostel but I'm honestly surprised. Great rooms, kitchen, the breakfast was fantastic, people are helpful. I had a great time in Paris and at this hostel.


46%

The staff were extremely rude and acted as if it was a hassle for them to check us in and out. The entire floor I was on smelled like an open sewer line. I will never set food in that place again.

Owner Comment (Hide)
Dear Guest, I'm really sorry about your feeling about our Hostel, As Manager, i'm sure that our staff take care of every people staying here. I was at the desk yesterday during the check out time and you did'nt tell anything, any complain... We clean the rooms everyday as the common Area, we hope to welcome you a next time to proove you that we can do better, Romuald Manager

60%

Compare to other hostels, it was a little more expensive for what we received. Staff were great but the facilities and rooms were not up to a great standard.

Owner Comment (Hide)
Hi there,Thanks for this review, it help us to improve our services. Our staff is there to provide yo a wonderful stay. Concerning the rooms, we are working on it, we are installing the AC, we change all the blankets, we are waiting for new curtains, ... it's on the way ! We hope to welcome you a next time, Romuald Manager

89%

Loved it! Very nice staff, always happy to help! The breakfast is pretty good for a hostel and I recognize it makes a lot of difference so it's something that I value a lot. I stayed in a very nice room, everything was great. The hostel is in montmartre area and you have lots of places around that you can go to for a short walk, also it's close to a few subway stations so you can easily get anywhere else.

  • 17th Jun 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Portugal
  • Female, 18-24
  • (1 review)

Owner Comment (Hide)
Bonjour, Thank you for this comment, it's really a pleasure for us to provide you an unforgetable stay in Paris, waiting to welcome you a next time, Romuald Manager

77%

A well equipped hostel, we struggled to find the showers maybe point them out on check in.


74%

Nice location, beautiful neighborhood, close to two metro lines. Quite clean and safe.The staff was kind but not very friendly. Breakfast was poor (just one croissant per person, really?) Generally, a decent place to stay.

Owner Comment (Hide)
Hi there, thanks for this review, we like to have your feeling about our hostel, concerning the breakfast, you also have bred and as it's free, we try to keep enough for everyone, regards, Romuald Manager

97%

Great value for money here! Nice breakfast with fresh croissants and jams - the coffee was amazing too (very important aspect) ;) Nice location with markets nearby and cute little bakery's and cafes right around the corner. Really close to Jules Joffrin metro station so we felt safe walking around at night to the hostel. Friendly staff who were always willing to help and everyone in the hostel was social :) would definitely choose to stay in this hostel again if I ever go back to Paris :)


83%

The people at the front desk were very friendly and spoke excellent English. I think the shower system should be changed because everyone disliked having to push the button for water to come out for 5 seconds as it is very inconvenient. The rooms are very small, but I did not mind because I only need a bed to sleep in at night. It is not the hostel's fault, but many of the travelers did not clean up after themselves in the kitchen and this made it difficult for others to cook in it.


89%

Good place to stay. I especially liked the entire feel of the place, its very casual and friendly.

Owner Comment (Hide)
Bonjour, Thanks for this comment, our aim is to provide you a wonderful stay in Paris, we 're waiting to welcome you a next time, Romuald Manager

83%

AC was broken so had to keep windows open, could hear people in common area all night, children at school/daycare next door in the morning. Not very lively but located in cool neighborhood near metro and cheap

Owner Comment (Hide)
Thanks for this comment, we're happy to know that you've enjoyed your stay with us, we will leave a note for the night guy to be more efficient with the noise at night. Concerning the AC, it's not broken as it's not in fonction at the moment, it will start in July. Waiting to welcome you a next time, Romuald Manager

74%

It's really close to the Montmartre bars and restaurants It doesn't have elevator, so it's not suitable for old people The staff was helpful and friendly

Owner Comment (Hide)
Bonjour, Thanks for this review, it help us to improve our services. It's difficult in a old building to install a lift but we are working on a solution. We hope to welcome you again for a better stay, Romuald Manager

83%

Staff was very helpful and friendly, our room was right off the little courtyard though and right across form teh kitchen area, so it was very loud pretty late at night and we coulnd't open the windows to get some air because of the noise and smoking in the courtyard. Great (and very clean) laundromat within a block., about 5 blocks to the Subway. Lots of information for activities at the Hostel, locker storage and great breakfast! will definately come back here.


(123 results)


View all Paris Hostels

Please give us your feedback