X

Home to the world's greatest Hostels!

30,000 properties, 180 countries Over 3.5 million guest reviews 21 million bookings

Le Papillon Reviews

18 Vansittart Road, Torquay, England

Reviews & Ratings Explained

85%

Rating
109 Total Reviews
  • 89%Value For Money
  • 81%Security
  • 81%Location
  • 87%Staff
  • 83%Atmosphere
  • 92%Cleanliness
  • 83%Facilities

The rating percentage is calculated from customers who booked within the last 12 months.

All ratings and reviews are based on the feedback and opinions of the customers who submitted them and do not express the opinions of Hostelworld.com. This way, you get an up-to-the-minute opinion of just how good a hostel really is.
Read our review guidelines »

  • Show:

69%

Difficult check-in: had to wait outside a while for another guest to finally let us in. No way of contacting owner, a resident passed by and had to find her. Then told our cabin was double booked (could have been informed 3 weeks ago @booking). Given dorm with double bed (no extra cost) but was uncomfortable: @least 2 mattresses needed replacing. 25 mins walk to Strand convenient. V. Secure. Informed 50p for 8min hot shower - chanced it and had free hot showers both days. Overall average stay.

  • 19th Aug 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • England
  • Female, 25-30
  • (1 review)

Owner Comment (Hide)
Hi Alicia Sorry we didn't come up to your standard Check in could have been easier for you if you would have stuck to the check in times or alternatively had contacted me phone numbers are on your booking form. I gave you a private 5 bed room, if you thought that one of the mattresses was uncomfortable why did you not try another bed ? Well at least you had good luck with the showers and saved a whole 1 pound I hope that made your stay ! best regards Marga

97%

Very clean, very nice staff, nice little cabin/shed in the back yard. Have to walk up to the main house for bathroom and shower(50p for 8 minutes..) but it's not a big deal.


80%

Clean and in a convenient location about 10 mins walk to the seafront and 20 mins to the harbour and the shops.Stayed in the summer house at the back of the garden. We had to go to the main house for the bathrooms which was ok as we had nice weather. Could be a problem if raining. Wifi reception was intermittent due to it being in the back of the garden. Large car park. Overall would stay again but in the summer house only if the weather is nice.

  • 2nd Aug 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • England
  • Couple, 41+
  • (1 review)


80%

loved staying out in the wee garden sunhouse only disadvantage is if you are someone who needs toilet during night as rear entrance to main house hasnt got a code access so need to walk all the way out of garden and round to front door

  • 11th Jun 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Scotland
  • Female, 41+
  • (1 review)


100%

Very clean and comfortable. Will visit again!

  • 1st Jun 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • England
  • Male, 41+
  • (1 review)


89%

This is a lovely quiet hostel with a beautiful large garden that catches all afternoon sun and good seating outdoors just beside the very pleasant dining room. Tidy and quiet within close walking distance to town centre and waterfront. I really enjoyed my stay here. Will come again :-)

  • 11th May 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Netherlands
  • Female, 41+
  • (1 review)


100%

Only thing I could say that the inner windows of the room could have had curtains. Felt a little uncomfortable knowing someone could have look into the room even if the glass was frosted.

  • 2nd May 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Wales
  • Male, 18-24
  • (1 review)

Owner Comment (Hide)
Hello Bryan thank you for your very helpful feedback We have acknowledged your comment and all the windows have been fitted with blinds. Best regards Marga

74%

Nice place, very sean an free wifi with all kitchen facilities.


The reviews below do not count toward the property's recent rating.
Hide older reviews
97%

The stay was very nice. Staff were super friendly and full of banter. The facilities were all there, just need to buy your own food from the local super market. Thanks for the lift we had and the jokes we shared! :)

  • 22nd Nov 2013
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • England
  • Male, 18-24
  • (1 review)


94%

It was indeed a homely environment in the hostel with friendly people, room was a bit small but very comfortable.

  • 15th Oct 2013
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Pakistan
  • Male, 31-40
  • (1 review)


91%

I enjoyed my time at Le Papillon. The owner is a friendly lady and her helper, James, is a friendly and encouraging chap. I adore the little dog, a Daschshund called Polly. The beds are very comfortable and there is a lovely view of the rear garden from the bedroom. It's a quiet and tranquil place.

  • 8th Oct 2013
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • England
  • Male, 41+
  • (1 review)


86%

Lovely hostel, the best in the area. However, we did get double booked, overpaid in the confusion and had to stay in a lesser hostel for one night.

  • 24th Aug 2013
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • England
  • Male, 25-30
  • (1 review)


89%

Just what we needed as a base for our weekend in Torquay. Close enough to the centre, very colourful, and friendly.

  • 2nd Aug 2013
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • England
  • All Male Group, 41+
  • (1 review)


91%

Charming little hostel (I guess it's a reconstructed usual house) with lovely decorated rooms, a comfortable living room with TV, separate toilets and shower facilities and a kitchen usable whenever you want. 5 Minutes walk to the sea, another 10 to the city centre. Unfortunatey there were some difficulties with the booking which I learned about only one week before my arrival. Nevertheless recommendable as a wonderful alternative to the usual big hostel buildings.


66%

It's was an okay hostel. Clean with a great decoration. It's only so annoying that we had to pay for the shower and this wasn't in the hostel description what is really unfair. I don't understand why just not add the shower in the price since everybody obviously need to shower. We had to put the 50p coin right outside the bathroom and then the shower would start working for about 10 minutes. If you need more time you just need to go there put another coin. I'd consider other options.

Owner Comment (Hide)
Thank you for your feedback As i have mentioned previously the reason for using our shower system I can.t wait to to hear from you what other options you may suggest ( the price reduction has already been implemented ) i really look forward to hearing from you best regards Marga

69%

I stayed here for 4 nights, the place is immaculately but it was lacking a bit in atmosphere there appeared no one to talk to in the communal areas... this should be the height of the season but there appeared to be very few people there.. Maybe they should just put the word backpacker in there name, for some reason I have always found that places that use this ten to be busier that those that do not

  • 28th Jul 2013
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • England
  • Male, 41+
  • (1 review)

Owner Comment (Hide)
Hello thank you for your feedback As we advertise we are a family friendly hostel so on your arrival time we had 3 families and only 4 single people staying at the hostel We do our best to provide a clean comfortable place for our guests but as for company you have to find your own best regards Marga

100%

Excellent. Would use again.

  • 8th Jul 2013
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • England
  • Couple, 18-24
  • (1 review)


74%

I loved the paintings on all the walls and really well equipped kitchen. But what I couldn't understand is a 50p charge for using the shower. I've never seen it anywhere and just seems weird. It's either because of making extra money on guests (but why not include that in the price because everyone needs to take a shower) or trying to limit how much water they use (8 minutes). Neither of these causes seems satisfactory for me. Apart from that I felt very welcome at that hostel

Owner Comment (Hide)
Hello Jakub thank you for your feedback Let me explain to you: using the shower system we have was the only solution for us from a problem arising that some people would shower for a long time while others were waiting and maybe in a hurry because they had a coach or train to catch. This caused more dissatisfaction than some people moaning over 50 pence. But i am glad that you otherwise enjoyed your stay Best regards Marga

89%

Good location for the town, ideal hostel for our stag do very welcoming to us with very nice moderm dorm rooms and comfortable beds. Recommended

  • 29th Mar 2013
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • England
  • Male, 25-30
  • (1 review)


83%

If you want a hostel where staff are around willing to help, you actually see them, this isn't your place, sorry. It is more of a quiet hostel where you are left to your own devices. It wasn't quite right for me.

  • 26th Aug 2012
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • England
  • Female, 31-40
  • (1 review)


« first « Prev 1 2 3 4
(71 results)


View all Torquay Hostels

Please give us your feedback