X

Home to the world's greatest Hostels

30,000 properties, 180 countries Over 3.5 million guest reviews 21 million bookings

Le Regent Montmartre Hostel & Budget Hotel Reviews

37 Boulevard Rochechouart, Paris, France

Reviews & Ratings Explained

83%

Rating
3524 Total Reviews
  • 81%Value For Money
  • 84%Security
  • 86%Location
  • 90%Staff
  • 81%Atmosphere
  • 81%Cleanliness
  • 80%Facilities

The rating percentage is calculated from customers who booked within the last 12 months.

All ratings and reviews are based on the feedback and opinions of the customers who submitted them and do not express the opinions of Hostelworld.com. This way, you get an up-to-the-minute opinion of just how good a hostel really is.
Read our review guidelines »

  • Show:

77%

Staff were very helpful and were very enthusiastic. Stuff that may bother guests: Hostel doesn't have active ventilation, so it got very hot inside during my summer stay. There were no lockers in the dorm rooms (they were outside in the lobby and seemed secure enough). Rooms felt a little cramped with four people inside. I got used to the hostel pretty quick and had a great stay. I'd stay here again.

Owner Comment (Hide)
Bonjour, Thank you for sharing your experience. We are pleased to read that you enjoy your stay with us throught our friendly and welcoming team always happy and ready to help our guests. Most of our dorms have lockers and for the others there are lockers available for free in the lobby as mentionned. For the air conditionned, indeed our hostel is not yet air conditionned. We'll be pleased to welcome you back again soon. Best regards, Laëtitia, Manager

80%

Great staff, especially Elfi who helped with my door key. Cooking appliances are good and beds are great.

Owner Comment (Hide)
Bonjour, Thank you for sharing your experience. We are glad that you enjoy your stay with throught our friendly and welcoming staff. We are glad that you took advantage of our shared kitchen fully equipped. Thank you mentionning our beds that you change often. Looking forward to welcome you soon again. Regards, Laëtitia, manager

100%

Bruno was a lot of help. This is a nice hostel, with a great staff! The only thing that I would say is if you are taking the metro to get to the hostel, dont get off at barbes rochechouart, get off at the next stop, Anvers. It is a lot closer to the hostel. In all in all, this is a great hostel! Thanks!

Owner Comment (Hide)
Bonjour, Thank you for sharing your experience. We are glad that you enjoy your stay through our welcome and friendly staff, especially Bruno who is always happy and read to help our guest. Indeed the most convenient is to use the metro "Anvers" which is two minutes away from the hostel. Looking forward to having the pleasure to welcome you back. Regards, Laëtitia, Manager

86%

Le Regent Montmartre Hostel services was good, I would say that they are very informative, nice, and helpful in getting your answers answered. I would say that place I stayed was adequate. The location was good, it was near the metro station and just a couple minutes up the street was the Sac Lacquer. Breakfast was not the best, it was okay. The atmosphere was chill and it was comfortable.

Owner Comment (Hide)
Bonjour, Thank you for sharing your experience. We are glad to read that you enjoy your stay through our welcoming and friendly staff always ready to help, our convenient location next to the metro and bus stops. We're close to the Sacré Coeur (5min walking distance). Happy to read that you took advantage of our parisian breakfast offered every morning. Hope to welcome you back very soon. Regards, Le Regent's team

49%

Knowledgable staff regarding to tourist spots. But with the price paid, we found the private room we rented is quite small and very inconvenience. Our room is on the 5th floor, and the toilets are on the 2nd and 4th floors. It might be ok if there were more than 1 toilet per floor, but that's not the case. So, we have to share these two quite smelly toilets with all the guests from 5-6 floors. Plus, without a sink inside, we have to walk back to our room without washing our hands first.

Owner Comment (Hide)
Hello, Thanks for your sharing your experience. We're glad to read that our knowledgable staff helped you during your stay. We're sorry to read that you didn't enjoy your stay because of the room type booked. We inform you that only 2 rooms per floor from 1st to 5th share the toilets. Our guet's feedbacks are important to us & we'll work on improving the toilets adding sink in. We inform you we also have ensuite room for your next stay. Hope to have the pleasure to welcome you back. Rgd

94%

Overall good experience at this hostel. I'd stay again and recommend to others.

Owner Comment (Hide)
Bonjour, Thank you for sharing your positive experience. We are glad to read that you enjoy your stay with us. Thanks for the recommendation. We are looking forwared to having the pleasure to welcome you back. Best Regards, Laëtitia, manager

83%

Hostel is easily reachable and the staff is great. Breakfast was, in my opinion, very minimal. As is common in France, the hostel was a bit expensive but up to par with competitors. The ensuite bathroom was quite dirty, however the common facilities were relatively clean. Overall I enjoyed my stay and would probably go here again when in Paris.

  • 5th Aug 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Netherlands
  • Male, 25-30
  • (1 review)

Owner Comment (Hide)
Bonjour, Thanks for sharing your experience. We're glad to read you enjoy your stay with us. I'm sorry to read you didn't really appreciate the breakfast we offer. We'd add fruits or ham but we'll have to increase the room rate & we don't. For the cleanliness I can guarantee you that our housekeeping team cleans every day all the rooms. We, even so, increase the standards of the cleanliness and hope that next time we'll welcome you, you will notify it. Regards, Laëtitia, Manager

83%

There were no lockers for personal items but they did have small safes that we put our money, passports, and other expensive items. The facilities appeared to be cleaned regularly and had plenty of lounge spaces.

Owner Comment (Hide)
Bonjour, Thank you for sharing your experience. We are pleased to read that you enjoy your stay with us appreciating our daily cleanliness work of our team. For the lockers most of our dorms rooms have them in the room. You need your own padlock. If you don't we sell them or we have lockers at reception working with a coin that you get back. They are big enough to put computers, cameras, cash.... Hope to have the pleasure to welcome you back. Regards, Regent's team

86%

I like le regent, they were helpful with directions and around arid. I wish breakfast had a bit more to it than just bread based products and croissants. The cleaners were great and everyone had plugs by their beds in my room which was nice! Wifi was good but cutout sometimes it could be stronger. Overall I'd recommend the hostel!

  • 3rd Aug 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Canada
  • Female, 25-30
  • (1 review)

Owner Comment (Hide)
Bonjour, Thank you for your time for sharing your experience. We are glad that you enjoy your stay with us through our team who helped you giving tips, the daily cleaning work of our team. Sorry to hear that you had problem with the wifi, it has been fixed now. For the breakfast, it is included in the room rate which are reasonnable for Paris, we would have to increase the room rate if we add cheese, fruits... Thank you for your recommendation. Best Regards, Laëtitia, Manager

74%

The carpet in our room smelt moldy. When we asked to have taxi called the staff behind the counter efused and had us walk to he nearest taxi station, when we returned because, as e predicted there were no taxis (we waited 5 minutes), she again refused and told us to try to hail one outside. I came back in ND was forced to make a scene so she would call us a cab. This whole thing took 30 minutes, which caused us to miss our train. Recommending that we fine our own is fine, not refusing to call.

Owner Comment (Hide)
Bonjour, Thanks for your feedback. I do apologise for the bad experience you had. I'm surprised to read that the receptionnist didn't want to call a taxi as it's a service we offer. There were maybe a misunderstanding, usually we inform our guest that the taxi takes a charge on the meter if we call. Anyway our guest's comment are important to us to improve our service. We clean deeply twice a year the carpets, we inform you that we'll change them before the end of this year. Rgds, Mgr

74%

Get what you pay for good value for money xx. Allocate beds so groups could stay together

Owner Comment (Hide)
Bonjour, Thank you for your feedback regarding your stay with us. We are pleased to note that overall you enjoy your stay. For information we have private rooms for 3, 4 and 6 persons if you want to make sure to be all together. However we try our best to allocate beds in the same dormitory for people booking beds in mixed or female dorms. Hope to have the pleasure to welcome you back. Regards, Laëtitia, Manager

83%

When I return back to Paris, I will stay there again. The location is great: metro is just 20 metres, besides, the area is safe to walk even at night even if you are blonde with blue eyes.


60%

Advertising you have a kitchen seems a little ridiculous when you can only use it for certain times of the day. We had to check out early (7am) and found the kitchen was locked, meaning the food we had bought for lunch that day was also locked in there. When we went to cook food for the day after breakfast we were told we weren't allowed to either. The views of Sacre Couer were really the only good thing about this place but that isn't a reason to stay here. .

Owner Comment (Hide)
Bonjour, Thanks for your feedback. We are glad that you appreciate our location next to the Sacre Coeur. Our kitchen is open from 12h00 to 10.30 pm to enjoy the main meals. During the breakfast time 7.30 to 10 you can have access to the fridges & before that you should ask the receptionnist to open the kitchen. After the breakfast we clean the kitchen room for the confort of our guests. We hope that we'll have the opportunity to welcome you back. Best Regards, Laëtitia Mgr

74%

The breakfast was really nice, better than expected, but the bathroom in the 6-person-dorm was shabby. The staff was very nice and friendly.

  • 27th Jul 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Finland
  • Female, 25-30
  • (1 review)


94%

The staff is great they help you a lot and they speak lots of languages!

Owner Comment (Hide)
Bonjour, Thank you for posting such a positive review of Le Regent Hostel.I am pleased to learn you enjoyed your break and received a friendly and warm welcome from my polyglot staff who were friendly and helpful throughout your stay. Looking forward to welcoming you again. Regards, Laëtitia, Manager

100%

Very clean and with a great atmosfere. Staff really nice and kind.


74%

Close to metro - easy to get around. Breakfast included with croissants which was a bonus. Not enough plug outlets for four people in one room.

Owner Comment (Hide)
Bonjour, Thanks for sharing your experience. We're glad to read you enjoy your stay with us. As we are next to the metro station it's easy to visit Paris & its main attractions. We're also 5 min walking distance from the famous Sacré Coeur. We're pleased to know you appreciate our parisian breakfast with fresh croissants & breads served every morning. Our guest's feedback are important to us to improve, we'll study the increasing plug outlets. See you soon. Regards, Laëtitia Mgr

77%

Thank you for making my short stay in Paris a memorable one.

  • 22nd Jul 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • India
  • Female, 25-30
  • (1 review)

Owner Comment (Hide)
Bonjour, Thank you for your feedback. We’re flattered that your experience with us was so good! Everyone from the team is welcoming and assisting guests during their stay to make the stay of our guest memorable as you. Thank you !!! We hope to see you soon back in Paris! Best Regards, Laëtitia, Manager

83%

The staff is amazing, really cool and nice people and they speak lots of languages!

Owner Comment (Hide)
Bonjour, Thank you for your feedback. I am pleased to learn you enjoyed your break and received a friendly and warm welcome from my staff who were friendly and helpful throughout your stay. See you soon. Regards, Laëtitia, Manager

71%

The room for 2 was very cute with all that was required and the cleaners deserve medals as this is the most clean hostel we've stayed in for 3 weeks! Downsides were that all windows looked into a tiny space where there were only everyone else's windows so conversations, music etc was shared with everyone! Also there was one toilet over the 6 floors located on floor 4 or 2 downstairs, which wasn't ideal. Laundry facilities were good and breakfast also good. Would stay here again but get ensuite.

Owner Comment (Hide)
Bonjour, Thanks for your sharing your experience. We are glad that you enjoy your stay with you appreciating the daily working of cleanliness of our housekeeping. They were glad to read your comment. You were staying on the courtyard & due to the summer the windows are open. Only two rooms/ floor are sharing the toilets for information. Looking forward to having the pleasure to welcoming you back. Regards, Laëtitia, Manager

(175 results)


View all Paris Hostels

Please give us your feedback