X

Home to the world's greatest Hostels

33,000 properties, 170 countries Over 3.5 million guest reviews 21 million bookings

Le Regent Montmartre Hostel & Budget Hotel Reviews

37 Boulevard Rochechouart, Paris, France

Reviews & Ratings Explained

84%

Rating
3980 Total Reviews
  • 81%Value For Money
  • 85%Security
  • 87%Location
  • 90%Staff
  • 83%Atmosphere
  • 80%Cleanliness
  • 80%Facilities

The rating percentage is calculated from customers who booked within the last 12 months.

All ratings and reviews are based on the feedback and opinions of the customers who submitted them and do not express the opinions of Hostelworld.com. This way, you get an up-to-the-minute opinion of just how good a hostel really is.
Read our review guidelines »

  • Show:

29%

I've stayed in a lot of average hostels in my life (and great ones) but this one has to take the cake for most average. Some guy snuck into our room without paying and stayed 4 days, sleeping all day and making boring art with the light on all night. Reception made us buy 15€ of tokens for the faulty clothes dryer because the machine kept breaking down- no refund. Bathrooms & floors were hairy & feral. Wouldn't have mattered a bit if there was a great vibe at the hostel - but there wasn't.

Owner Comment (Hide)
Bonjour, Thank you for your feedback. We are sorry to read that you didn't enjoy your stay with us. I'm surprised to read that a guy slept in your room. Did you come at the reception to inform us regarding that guy. Unfortunately when people bother other guest with irrespectuf behavior we can't act if the guests annoyed don't come at reception to report it. I'm also sorry that you met problem with our dryer during the use. I'm surprised that the team didn't offer you a free token to finalise the drying. The carpet in the room is shampoo at least twice year and we vaccum every day and clean the bathroom every day. Best Regards, Laëtitia, Manager

97%

Easy and convenient, friendly staff.

  • 21st Dec 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • South Africa
  • Female, 41+
  • (1 review)


80%

-Lockers are free, but you didn't mention that I should get a lock with me to be able to use this facility. -If you can provide any kind of soap in the bathroom that would've been appreciated, especially that people coming by planes cannot carry any kind of liquids on board. - The quality of the juice offered on breakfast should be addressed, it was awful. - Upgrade the snail paced elevator, it seems that it needs an upgrade especially that it failed to work on the last day.

  • 21st Dec 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Egypt
  • Male, 18-24
  • (1 review)

Owner Comment (Hide)
Bonjour, Thanks for sharing your experience. Our guest's feedback are important to us to improve our service. I'm sorry that you weren't inform before you arrival that lockers are free but needing a padlock that we sell at reception. Hope you use the ones at the reception which are working with a coin of 50 cts that you get back when you finish to use it. About the soap in the bathroom we'll think about it, but it might increase the room rate if we put soap and shampoo in our bathrooms. We inform you that our orange juice is modified, hope that you'll appreciate it when you come back. We still believe it's better to have a lift even slow than no lift at all, when you have luggages it's convenient we assume. We hope that we'll have the pleasure to welcome you back. Best Regards, Laëtitia, Manager

89%

It was our first time in a Hostal. We has 12 hours to stay in Paris, we visited Sacrè Coeur. Beautiful... After, we registered at the hostal to take shower and continue our journey. I like the hostal location, The bathroom was in the room :) .

  • 21st Dec 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Colombia
  • Female, 41+
  • (1 review)

Owner Comment (Hide)
Bonjour, Thank you for sharing your experience with us. We are glad to read that you enjoy your first experience in a hostel and hope that we'll have the pleasure to welcome you each time you come in Paris. As mentionned we are indeed very well located in the Montmartre area, with the Sacré Coeur at 5 min walking distance from the hostel. The metro and bus station next to the hostel makes the visit of the other Paris' monuments easy to do. See you soon, Best Regards, Laëtitia, Manager

89%

There is black mold growing in the restrooms and elevator. Other than that, a very pleasant stay.

  • 21st Dec 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • USA
  • Female, 18-24
  • (1 review)

Owner Comment (Hide)
Bonjour, Thank you for sharing your experience with us. We are pleased to read that you enjoy your stay despite the fault you've seen in the bathroom. We unfortunately have problem with the ventilation in some rooms, but our housekeeping team clean the room and bathroom properly to avoid the mould to take place. We hope that we'll have the pleasure to welcome you back. Best Regards, Laëtitia, Manager

94%

This was my second stay at Le Regent Montmartre during a 15-hour layover on my way home and I definitely don't regret coming back! Easy to get to via Metro, staff is very friendly and helpful, and free breakfast is always a plus. Only negative is that the rooms themselves are pretty small. Wish we had more time to spend there!

Owner Comment (Hide)
Bonjour, Thank you for taking the time to share your experiences with us and we are glad to read that your renew your trust for your second stay. Unfortunately our typical parisian buiding offers only standard room for Paris. As you mentionned we are very well located to visit Paris with the metro and bus stations next to the hostel and easy to reach us also. Nice to read that you took advantage of our free parisian breakfast served every morning from 7.30 to 10 am. We hope that we'll have the pleasure to welcome you back for your next trip in Paris. Best Regards, Le Regent Hostel team

97%

I had a wonderful stay at Le Regent Montmartre Hostel! I came by myself and made friends almost instantly with the other travelers that were hanging out in the front area. The staff was super friendly and helpful. This was my first time ever staying in a hostel and it was a great experience.

Owner Comment (Hide)
Bonjour, Thank you for your positif feedback regarding your first experience in our hostel. We are glad that you choose us and that was a great experience. Our welcoming and friendly staff like to make our guest feeling like at home. We are also glad that you met new friends in our commons areas. We look forward to having the pleasure to welcome you back. Best Regards, Le Regent Hostel Team

100%

The staff is very helpful and accomodating! This was my second time staying here.

Owner Comment (Hide)
Bonjour, Thank you for sharing your experience. We we were glad to welcome you back. Thank you for renewing your trust is our hostel. It's nice to read that your second stay was good as the first one through our welcoming and friendly staff always happy and available to help our guests during their stay. See you back soon, Le Regent Hostel Team

100%

This was my favourite hostel in Paris, the staff really made it special (Leo & Cinzia especially)!

  • 14th Dec 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • England
  • Female, 31-40
  • (1 review)

Owner Comment (Hide)
Bonjour, Thank you for sharing your experience and for your nice compliment. Indeed Leo and Cinzia as the others in the team are welcoming and friendly. Our aim is to make our guests feel at home. See you back soon. Regards, Le Regent Hostel Team

69%

The hostel is in a good location. You can easily take the metro and go wherever you want. But beds are so uncomfortable, the room I stayed in was small and dark. When I arrived the woman staff didn't give me any information about hostel etc.. and didn't help me at all. I didn't like her behaviors actually. And If you don't mind the squeaking beds, it's okay to stay a couple of days.

Owner Comment (Hide)
Bonjour, Thank you for sharing your experience with us. It's nice to read that you enjoy our location with the metro and bus next to the hostel which makes the visit of Paris easy. Sorry to read you found our beds uncomfortable and the room size small which is standard for Paris unfortunately. I'm surprised that you weren't welcome friendly and you didn't get information about the hostel. Our team is always available and happy to help our guest during their stay and they are welcoming. I'm sorry for that and spoke with the team. We hope that we'll have the opportunity to welcome you back to show you how good we can be. Regards, Laëtitia, Manager

57%

I stayed 2 nights in a female room that was really dirty, I am not sure if it was because of the quantity of days some girls where there but I really see it disappointed. Also the girls were very disrespectful and made a lot of noise until 2am. The carpets are really dirty and it makes me feel uncomfortable regarding cleaning of the place, if they do not have enough time to clean they should put another time of floor. Also the place smell like urine, close to the men rooms.

Owner Comment (Hide)
Bonjour, Thanks for sharing your experience. We're sorry to read you shared a room with disrescpectul & messy girls making a lot of noise. We can guarantee you we clean every day the rooms & the carpets are shampoo twice a year. Unfortunately if the room is untidy it's hard for our housekeeping team to make their job properly. We do not have men rooms we then do not understand where you smell the urine. We hope we'll have to welcome you back to show you how good we can be. Rgds, Laëtitia,

100%

I was only there for one night and the hostel itself seemed cool and in a good location but the elevator was to small and there wasn't a toilet on our floor.

Owner Comment (Hide)
Bonjour, Thank you for sharing your experience which was positive, we are glad to read it. Our lift is certainly small but at least we have one which we believe is helpful with luggages or to avoid the stairs. We hope that we'll have the pleasure to welcome you back in a room ensuite maybe. Best Regards, Laëtitia, Manager

89%

Everything was fairly reasonable. Only complaint is that the bathroom smelled of urine, so we had to ask for towels to put on the ground. Also, the bathroom was not heated.

  • 10th Dec 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • USA
  • Female, 18-24
  • (1 review)

Owner Comment (Hide)
Bonjour, Thanks for sharing your experience. We are glad you enjoy your stay despite the points mentionned. We are sorry that you met a problem in the bathroom. I can guarantee you that our housekeeping team cleans every day the bedrooms and bathroom. Did you mention that problem to the reception ? We hope that we'll have the pleasure to welcome you back. Best Regards, Laëtitia, Manager

80%

They are friendly which is good

  • 8th Dec 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • England
  • Male, 41+
  • (1 review)

Owner Comment (Hide)
Bonjour, Thank you for sharing your experience. We are glad to read you enjoy your stay appreciating our welcoming and friendly team. We hope to have the pleasure to welcome you back soon. Regards, Le Regent Hostel Team

94%

I really liked it and the location is perfect. The staff gives an excellent service.

  • 5th Dec 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Colombia
  • Female, 25-30
  • (1 review)

Owner Comment (Hide)
Bonjour, Thank youf for your positive feedback regarding your nice stay. We are glad to read that you find our location convenient to visit Paris. Thank you for our welcoming and friendly team, it's nice to know that we helped you during your stay. See you soon. Best Regards, Le Regent Hostel Team

80%

veru nice hostel

  • 5th Dec 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Albania
  • Male, 25-30
  • (1 review)

Owner Comment (Hide)
Bonjour, Thank you for your feedback. We are glad to read that you enjoy your stay with us. Hope to have the pleasure to welcome you back. Best Regards, Le Regent Hostel Team

74%

Over all it was a good place to stay. I like the staff and the location. The bathroom need some work done cause when someone showers the curtain does not hold the water in and it floods the bathroom. Since there is no ventilation in the bathroom it makes the room moist. The people who I was rooming with was also idiots who does not know how to shower without flooding the whole bathroom for other people.


89%

I stayed three nights and would do it again.. Pretty good vibes and isn't too clustered with too many bodies.

Owner Comment (Hide)
Bonjour, Thank you for sharing your positive experience. We will welcome you back with pleasure for another nice stay. It's nice to read that you like the vibes of the hostel. See you back soon. Regards, Le Regent Hostel Team

77%

Location is a bit far from a good amount of attractions, but it is very close to Sacre-Couer, and a few metro points which get you most anywhere in the city instead. Staff was great! A worker did enter the room quite early to work on the bathroom, and I think part of it was leaking from the room above us, but it appeared to be fixed afterwards, so I can't really complain!

  • 2nd Dec 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • USA
  • Male, 18-24
  • (1 review)

Owner Comment (Hide)
Bonjour, Thank you for your feedback. Indeed we are just in front of the Sacré Coeur with some rooms with a wonderful view on it. The bus and metro stations next to the hostel makes the visit of Paris easy. We do apologise for the inconvenience that our technician may have caused you coming to check the origin of the problem to fix it. We hope that we'll have the pleasure to welcome you back. Best Regards, Laëtitia, Manager

80%

Wifi was terrible. Didn't work up in the rooms and barely worked in the lobby. Was given two sheets, both looked clean at first glance but when held up to the light one was covered in stains. This made me very skeptical of the brown blankets and the dark colored carpets. Free breakfast is a nice touch. Location was fine because they were near a metro station and the metro system is very good in Paris. Overall good hostel (minus the wifi).

Owner Comment (Hide)
Bonjour, Thanks for your feedback. We're glad you appreciate your stay through our parisian breakfast, our convenient location next a metro station. Now the wifi system is working properly as our computer engineer worked on to improve it. We are sorry for the bed linen, we inform our laundryman to make the laundry better. We hope that we'll have the pleasure to welcome you back. Best Regards, Laëtitia, Manager

(187 results)


View all Paris Hostels

Please give us your feedback