X

Home to the world's greatest Hostels

30,000 properties, 180 countries Over 3.5 million guest reviews 21 million bookings

Le Regent Montmartre Hostel & Budget Hotel Reviews

37 Boulevard Rochechouart, Paris, France

Reviews & Ratings Explained

80%

Rating
3133 Total Reviews
  • 77%Value For Money
  • 84%Security
  • 86%Location
  • 81%Staff
  • 79%Atmosphere
  • 76%Cleanliness
  • 78%Facilities

The rating percentage is calculated from customers who booked within the last 12 months.

All ratings and reviews are based on the feedback and opinions of the customers who submitted them and do not express the opinions of Hostelworld.com. This way, you get an up-to-the-minute opinion of just how good a hostel really is.
Read our review guidelines »

  • Show:

71%

PRO: Good deal. Wide variety of people stay and hang out here. Great location, near two metro stations and a few mins from Sacre Coeur. CON: Weird design.The shared shower outside some of the private rooms (?) is gross. Poorly ventilated, smells of mold and the fan is louder than an air conditioning unit. In our private room, the nearest bathroom was on the floor above us, and had no sink. Staff, while nice, didn't really know much about anything touristy, and therefore were not very helpful.


86%

I'd definately recommend Regent Montmartre Hostel if you've only got a couple of days to enjoy Paris!

  • 16th Dec 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • France
  • All Female Group, 18-24
  • (1 review)

Owner Comment (Hide)
Bonjour, Thank you for your review, we’re glad you had a great time while staying with us. We hope to see you soon in Paris. Best Regards, Laëtitia, Manager

63%

The front desk receptionist was not too kind. When asking general questions she had an attitude as if she was too bored with your question or just simply didn't want to help you. Furthermore the directions to the hostel were not helpful either.

Owner Comment (Hide)
Bonjour, Thank you for your feedback about your stay in our hostel. I'm sorry to read that you're feeling is bad concerning the assistance we provide you for visiting the hostel. I made a point to avoid that again. We are always pleased to help our dear guest to enjoy the most of our beautiful city. I hope that we'll have the pleasure to welcome you again to show you how good we can all be. Best Regards, Laëtitia, Manager

71%

Well it was just OK, I guess.. The breakfast was very poor and by poor I mean it was the worst breakfast by far in comparison to any other hostel that I've stayed & the woman who was in the kitchen was pretty rude and the bathrooms were really smelly! But I spend most of the time outside the hostel so if you're juts looking for a cheap place to sleep its maybe a good choice, it has a good location you've sacre cour church just a few minutes away walking and the metro station its also very close


80%

Very nice hostel, too bad there was no nice common room to hang out in. 4 person dorm was a bit small for 4 people and luggage


71%

Heater could not be adjusted, too hot in the room. Showerhead was spoilt. Safelockers could not be used.

  • 15th Dec 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Singapore
  • Female, 18-24
  • (1 review)

Owner Comment (Hide)
Bonjour, Thank you for your feedback. The heater is central, we try to satisfy all the guest regarding the temperature but it's quite difficult. We inform you that we have changed the showerhead and we are sorry that it has not been done before or during your stay. To use safelocker in room you need your own padlock. If you don't have we have lockers as well at reception for free just needing a 50 cts coins that you get back. Hope to have the pleasure to welcome you back. Regards, Laëtitia

46%

The bathroom sucked!


77%

Really lovely hostel, a 10 minute bus ride to Venice itself. If you like a relaxing, quiet atmosphere with really lovely staff, this is the place to stay. Would definitely recommend it to anyone :)

Owner Comment (Hide)
Bonjour, Thank you for your very nice feedback in our hostel. We are pleased to read that you did enjoy your stay with us and that my team provide it to you a warm welcome. We hope that we'll have the pleasure to welcome you back soon. Regards, Laëtitia, Manager

74%

We found that the thin blonde girl working the front desk showed little to no interest in her job or being helpful. It almost seemed painful to smile for her. other than that we had a nice stay with a very yummy breakfast. Location is just outside the metro station making getting around quite easy in a very complicated and packed rail system

Owner Comment (Hide)
Bonjour, Thank you for your feedback about your stay in our hostel. We are happy to read that you enjoyed your stay with us even if one of our receptionnist was not welcome and smiling. We hope that we'll have the pleasure to welcome you back to show you how everyone working at the hostel is good. Best Regards, Laëtitia, Manager

77%

Great location and good facilities, my room was incredibly warm and the shower mould was disconcerting but overall a good place to stay. The staff were able to make the room a little cooler but still too warm for me to sleep without the window open, but that might've just been my room.

Owner Comment (Hide)
Bonjour, Thank you for your feedback regarding your pleasant stay in our hostel. I'm pleased to announce that works are planified in January in the bathroom. We do apologise for the inconvenience. I'm sorry that you couldn't enjoy the result during your stay. We hope that we'll have the please to welcome you back. Best Regards, Laëtitia, Manager

97%

I only stayed for one night but everything was clean and the breakfast was good! I love the fact that they have free luggage storage and was able to leave me bag there while I explored Paris. Definitely worth the price!

  • 4th Dec 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • USA
  • Female, 18-24
  • (1 review)

Owner Comment (Hide)
Bonjour, Thank you for your nice comment regarding your stay in our hostel. We are pleased to read that you enjoyed your stay in Paris with us and you appreciate the work of our chambermaid and the Parisian Breakfast we offer. We hope to have the pleasure to welcome you again. Best Regards, Laëtitia, Manager

57%

The hostel was in a far part of town. While it was close to the famous church, the overall location was not good. The staff, specially those in charge of breakfasts were not nice, and some even rude. The rooms were decent and it had the advantage of having bathrooms inside the rooms. One thing that was EXCELLENT was the breakfast (except for the staff serving it)... Chocolate, croissant and other breads, juice, and coffee. I would try to look for a different place to stay...

Owner Comment (Hide)
Bonjour, Thank you for your feedback. We are sorry that you did not enjoy our location. We are 2 minutes walking distance from the metro station which allows you to move easily in Paris to enjoy the various monuments and museums. Regarding the breakfast's staff we had a meeting today to remember the welcome procedure. I hope that we'll have the opportunity to welcome you back to show how good we can be. Best Regards, Laëtitia, Manager

100%

It wasn't easy to find a good review of a hostel in Paris but this one had many. I can see why. The facilities are great and wee even had a wee veranda in our room with a great view. The staff offered loads of suggestions and the room had great access to a good shower and toilet. The kitchen was great for making food and we met lots of cool people. The area is perfect and right next to a metro station. You can really enjoy yourself.


40%

Mold all over the walls and smelled like mold. There is mold everywhere thr photos are of bice rooms you can tell they tryed to paint over the mold many times ans now the oaint is all peeled in the washroom. When i was there the pipes busted and Jermy was amazing working at night alone dealing with significant amounts of water and many ppl to sign in. When i tryed to compliment him to his female late 30's italian cash manager she didnt accept the comment i had about how well jermey worled.

Owner Comment (Hide)
Bonjour, Thank you for taking the time and trouble to write to us regarding your experience in our hostel. For some bathrooms some renovations are organised in couple of months. Concerning Jeremy, you're right he managed perfectly the unexpected situation. And I can assure that our front desk manager and myself are aware of that. I believe there has been a misunderstanding. I hope that we'll have the opportunity to welcome you to show you how good we can be. Regards, Laetitia, Manager

31%

This is possibly the worst hostel/budget hotel I ever stayed in. The hotel should not allow children to stay here as there is music blaring out until all hours and when your 4 year old child wakes at 3am, dragging them down 2 flights of stairs through a noisy reception to ONLY toilet (situated in the laundry room) for the whole premises is just not acceptable. My 4 year old child also pulled a pair of dirty boxer shorts from under the bed and got no apology when handed them to a staff member!!

  • 23rd Nov 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • England
  • Female, 31-40
  • (1 review)

Owner Comment (Hide)
Bonjour, Thank you for taking the time and trouble to write to us regarding your stay with us. I'm really sorry to read that you didn't enjoy your one night's stay with us. Our room are cleaned every day, as per your report, I made a meeting with my cleaning team to review our cleaning performance. I also spoke to my reception team for the lack of apologise which is not acceptable. I hope that we'll have the pleasure to welcome you back to show you how good we can be. Regards, Laëtitia

80%

Fab location in Monmartre, short walk to both Sacre Coeur and the Moulin Rouge. Located pretty much on top of Anvers metro stop and a 10 minute walk from Gare du Nord. Really comfy beds in a cosy 4 bed dorm, surprisingly warm night considering it's November! Staff were really helpful and spoke strong English (saving me from embarrassing myself in French!).

  • 23rd Nov 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • England
  • All Female Group, 18-24
  • (1 review)

Owner Comment (Hide)
Bonjour, Thank you for your nice review regarding your pleasant stay you spent with us. Thank you for the comment on my team, they appreciate. We will be pleased to welcome you again. Best Regards, Laëtitia, Manager

40%

i couldn't go to Paris at this weekend, I sent 3 e-mails trying to cancel my reservation to the hostel, and they didn't give me any answear,


94%

Stayed for 3 nights with a friend, excellent staff, very nice breakfast, and good facilities. You can rent out board games and guitars/ukeleles for free and they serve alcohol there too! Also ask for a room that looks out at the Sacré Cœur! Only a couple disappointments were that you can only use wifi on one device, and some of the events advertised don't run in the offseason, but other than that our stay was wonderful and I definitely would come back!

Owner Comment (Hide)
Bonjour, Thank you for your nice review on HW. We do apologise for the lack of communication about events. We kept the cheese and deli tasting evenings, they have a lot of success and are happy to share and let our guest discover french products. For the wifi, even if we developed it this year, if all our guests are using it in many devices it will not work properly. I hope that we'll have the pleasure to welcome you again. Best Regards, Laëtitia, Manager

100%

Perfect hostel in Paris, perfect hospitality.

Owner Comment (Hide)
Bonjour , Thank you for your nice feedback in our hostel. It's pleasure to read that we have fullfilled our contract making your stay nice. Hope to have the pleasure to welcome you again. Regards, Laëtitia Manager

83%

It was a well-kept, young hostel with friendly guests. Awesome location right in Montmartre and with reasonable prices for Paris, I'd definitely go back again. I also loved the convenience of having a main Metro line right down the street.

  • 19th Nov 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • USA
  • Male, 18-24
  • (1 review)

Owner Comment (Hide)
Bonjour, Thank you for your nice review. We were pleased to welcome you and happy to read that you enjoy your stay with us and met nice friendly guests. We hope to have the pleasure to welcome you again. Regards, Laëtitia, Manager

(97 results)


View all Paris Hostels

Please give us your feedback